(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="808080"><font face="tahoma">JTS,
sunday i bought " Sweet Cheeks" Baby wipes from NTUC, on promotion , usual $3.95 for 1 pack of 90wipes, when i bought it, it was 1 for 1, at $3.95, but not sure if promotion still on. Alcohol Free Thick Wipes, like quality of Tolly Joy got blue &amp; pink 2 types of packaging, find it very worth it, Tolly Joy is 3 packs for $8.50</font></font>

Krispy, you're so funny! Sunkist commercial!!

ioio...http://www.aloharesorts.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=338&amp;Itemid=733

This is the link, my family always book it for birthday celebrations, we find quite nice as its near pasir ris beach and downtown east and it has 4 bedrooms each having their own bathroom and aircon.. but must get civil servant to book ah, then can enjoy $170/$140 per nite.. if public book its $420/$540 per nite depending on PH or not...its very popular so must book 3 mths in advance

<font color="aa00aa">Me just back from visiting my collegue's whom just delivered weeks ago!

bizznow, for my case, is the moderator (cant remember is Chin Leng or Bee Leng) email me saying i can post in WTS and oversea thread liao leh.</font>

bizz,
u want to post in WTS thread issit? U can email moderator for access. Give them some time to revert tho', me took a while also to have access granted.

cactus,
i am at my wits end of his waking up so frequently in the night. just hope its a phase and he will get better.

<font color="blue">tera,
yah..wanna post in WTS and the overseas thread..i've juz sent an email to the address that leng leng gave me..so wait lor..

leng leng,
thks for the email address ah.. how come u not wking now?? convert to SAHM liao ah?? </font>

Tera, I believe it's just a phase. Hang in there k. There are times when I found it very trying and tiring also... but it's the smiles which are so rewarding.. and to see Matthew grow up day by day.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">tera.. on average i think i wake up 2-3 times every nite oso.. if he is well.. then jux make milk feed him he will sleep..else will have to carry, feed him and then rock him back to sleep.. realised tt i always got not enough sleep these days.. guess maybe i can sleep 2 days 2 nitedun hv to take care of bb? ha ha...</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">roxy.. tks ya.. yup quite but got to find civil servant a bit tough lor.. aiyo.. maybe sld ask whether the ministries want me as a cleaner?? he.... </font></font>

hey mummies, i'm thinking of making apple puree for matthew but don't know how to do it.

Should I just peel, core, cube, then blend (adding water if necessary)? Or peel, core, cube, and cook in water, then blend/mash?

Also, I hope to make pear puree. Do I follow the steps needed for apple puree?

thanks in advance!

Cactus, You have to core or slice it then either steam or boil the apple / pear first till tender. After that, just mash. I tried it without first steaming / boiling it, and I was left with some rather large chunks.

You use the same method to puree apples and pears. Hope it's helpful.

Btw, forgot to mention. If you're boiling, don't put too much water to boil the apple / pear. After that, you can use the water to dilute the apple / pear when you mash it.

Krispy, I've tried making nectarine puree with white nectarines (the hard type). Just wash, core, and blend. no lumps. I'm wondering if I can just peel, core, cut into chunks, then blend well? without needing to steam or boil? cos I'm worried that nutrients will be further lost...

I came across this recipe -
Peach or Apricot Puree

Bring a small saucepan of water to the boil. Cut a shallow cross on the skin of 2 peaches and submerge them in the water for 1 minute. Then put them straight into cold water. Skin the peaches and chop them getting rid of the stones. Steam the peaches until tender (approx 5 minutes) and then puree.
You can prepare fresh Apricots in the same way. Both can be eaten raw after your baby is 6 months as long as they are ripe. Freeze any excess puree

Do you know if this means that if bb is over 6 months, fruit can be given raw as long as they are ripe?

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. i peel, cut into slices, steam then blend.. i feel like giving him raw since he is coming to 8 months liao ;p</font></font>

ioio, that's an interesting comment that you made! "feel like giving him raw since he is coming to 8 months".

Is there any reason you previously gave him steamed apples (after blending)? Is it food safety concerns? digestion issues? or if it is steamed, the apples are less lumpy?

Giant had apple promo for 2 weekends in a row. $1.99 for 5 large fuji apples. they are very yummy. I bought 40 last week. haha! Still have about 10 at home.. so thinking of giving Matthew some since he's not tried apples yet.

For mummies who frequent Giant, there is a kitchen knife stamp exchange promo going on now till August. I like the knifes that that range. cos the blade to the handle is just one piece of metal. very nice to look at and safe (no fear of plastic handle coming off when chopping meats and bones)!

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. it's breaking down sugar and fibre thus easier to digest.. ;p</font></font>

Tera, I need to pull up my cot railing these days whenever he sleeps in the cot. *dangerous*

Let's all hang in there for our sleepless nites for now.

I've scraped apples for my girl before. But that would mean I remove the apple skin, then take a metal spoon and literally sit there scraping the apple for her. I tried blending fresh apples, but I couldn't achieve the smooth consistency you mentioned.

I've been giving her fresh fruit since she was 7.5 months. So far, she's tried papaya, apple, and watermelon. She loves it... and nothing untoward happened.

I think if you're able to blend the apple till smooth w/out having to steam it, why not rite? I think they're old enough to eat fresh fruits.

oh! I forgot about papaya! I bought papaya 3 times liao, but each time, I ended up eating it with th erest of the family and Matthew didn't get to try it. Okay... settled. I'll give Matthew apples tomorrow, and papaya on Sunday. :p

Krispy, I think if we add a bit of water, we can get smooth blended apples? I've not tried with apples, but have tried with the hard type of white nectarines. very lumpy and hard unless I add water. but now, I'm starting to include lumps in bb's food. some of the lumps are soft (bananas). others are hard (nectarines, brocoli). I see a "chewing" motion when matthew eats his food now.

Have you guys started cooking for your babies other than the usual porridge? My girl isn't very keen on porridge so I've been wondering what to cook for her.

So far, tried avocado, oats and yoghurt in a meal before. Thinking of maybe grilling fish with tomatoes and broccoli next. And maybe steaming broccoli, carrots and topping it with grilled cheese. Other than that, I'm at a complete blank. Any other ideas?

Krispy, I've only given Matthew root veg + potato/sweet potato, root veg + plain porridge/chicken stock porridge.

Maybe you want to try potato? or jap sweet potato? for the carbo component?

I try to make my meals more interesting by changing the root veg that I add to the porridge/potato so it is a different taste each time. It's fuss free, as I prepare the purees ahead of time. I just have to cook porridge the very morning that I want to feed Matthew. even potatos, I prepare them ahead of time and freeze them.

Yup. I've tried sweet potato. My previous mistake.. Haha. Jap sweet potato with carrots. :p

We tried feeding her porridge over the weekend. She was ok for 2 feeds, then she totally rejected it. Maybe she got bored. So I'm trying to make things more interesting for her evening meals since she's eating porridge for lunch.

How do you cook the porridge in the morning if it's for his evening meals? Slow cooker? Would the porridge become to mushy?

oh yes.. sorry! I forgot about your previous post!

For porridge, I prepare brown rice powder in a huge batch (wash, dry, grind till very very fine). Then I put in the fridge in airtight container for storage.

In the morning, I will take brown rice powder and cook with water or chicken stock using my microwave oven. It's a very old Sharp microwave oven with many functions including cooking porridge. It takes about 3 minutes to cook. Then I put the porridge into 2 Avent food jars - put in 4 ice cube sized root veg into each food jar - then place in the fridge. When it is time for lunch/dinner, the maid will take one jar to heat in the avent bottle warmer, then feed Matthew. I currently feed Matthew 120ml porridge + veg per meal.

I recently bought a new sharp microwave oven with the function of cooking porridge and can also steam fish and meat. It is R898. Just bought it over the phone earlier today so have not had a chance to see it or try it out. but it's arriving on Thursday. I will probably try out its functions on Sunday. Keeping my fingers crossed it's as good as the old model.

Hmm... I didn't realise we could keep porridge in the fridge. I've always thought porridge must be eaten fresh. Will give it a try.

Went for seminar for the whol day. No chance to login until now.

Felicia,
Aiyo, silly me. Didnt realise. Tahnks for correcting.

So few of us interested in the bash niah?

long time never post here though i read thru' the posts daily..

my 8mths boy does not like to take porridge, he will only have it once a day.
prefer cereal than anything else. does not sleep much too. sleep at 8.30pm till 4.30pm daily. as for his nap times in the day, total less than 2 hours.
up to now, still got no teeth yet. so far he had tried steam sweet potatoes, pototoes and fruits.

yohoo!!! jus back frm bkk! kekeke.. my boy able to sit upright on his own liao~ yeah! but he still cant crawl yet... hmm.. mayb he will skip tat stage and walk cos he can stand pretty well now..

hmmmm......I thought my reanne was the only one who don't really like porridge...seems many babies also don't like...hehe..

Zuen,
Yupz...not much response..hiaz..like that then drop the idea liao lor..

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

No more birthday bash???? So sad! Is must be real interesting to have so many babies celebrating on the same day leh.</font>

Morning girls.

Midweek liao.

Felicia,
We see if any more mummies keen. Otherwise, it looks like we really have to call off the idea. -.o"

<font color="aa00aa">ZuEn,

Me go back to look for the list and realised only 4 mummies???

June Babies 1st Bday Bash
Suggested date: 16 May (Sat)
Time: Afternoon

1. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn &amp; HB)
2. Reanne (janiviy &amp; hubby)
3. YuJie (Felicia, hubby, #1)
4. Chloe (Christina &amp; Hubby)</font>

Morning ladies..

Was on mc yest...felt so giddy yest morning when I wokeup so stayed in bed...

Wow, lots of posts here...

ZuEn,
I won't be able to join the bb blash cos I am still having exams during taht period lor...

Bizznow,
I should be going for the bb fair at expo...Submitted charlotte's photo for the contest yest..hee

Krispy,
I just bot BB cheese frm cold storage yest...tinking of just giving my ger as snack..I mean just a few thin slices 1st...

My fren recommend me to cook somian for my ger..those organic somen lor..use pork and vege to make the stock, then boil the somian til bery soft =).

Roxy,
Wow, aloha bery big lor...actually I also looking forward leh..hmm...

babycupid,
welcoem bk ...bot alot of things?hee

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
how are you feeling now? U oso have low blood pressure?

Just now heard from radio, that this year deepavali was change to 17 Oct (sat) instead of 15 Nov, gone our long weekend holiday.</font>

felicia,
the list MLP is missing leh.

4. Chloe (Christina &amp; Hubby)
5. Jayden (Carol)

<font color="aa00aa">hi ladies,
do inclde me for tis bday bash, k? will be doing gwen's bday on 9th May (vesak day) in advance cos her actual bday falls on a weekday.

5. Jayden (Carol)
6. Gwendolyn (Crystal &amp; HB)</font>

Include me too pls
paiseh can I bring along my maid? else very difficult to manage a running toddler and spend time with Nicole...

5. Jayden (Carol)
6. Gwendolyn (Crystal &amp; HB)
7. Nicole (Piyo, hubby, #1 and maid)