(2008/06) June 2008

All,
I need to ask for some advises here...when we tender hor, on our envelop, do we have to type anything? Say "To the management" etc?

soyabean, pai seh! I'm very sorry. I must have gotten you mixed up with another mother on this forum. I recall a June mommy sharing she wants #2 to be a gal, like me, then close shop! ;)

Felicia,
U have company! i will also be working till 3pm tmr too!

Feifei,
Err..i usu leave it blank wor cos i usu hand it to my supervisor/manager directly so see no point indicating. I suppose u can put ur manager's name?

Babycupid,
tks for the infor...I also long time nv tender..haha..work here coming to 8yrs liao =)...Asking on behalf of my hb lor..

cactus,
tks for the advise..hmm..name then cc to HR on the envelope?

feifei,
just checking, u are adding fruits into ur puree right? and charlotte likes it? Lucas is starting to lose interest in cereal, eat a few mouths then start to boo out. U think i shld add fruits?

<font color="aa00aa">ioio,
Mine made tera’s lucas cry lar. So we were saying she bullied lucas lor although both mummies “match make” them liao.

Veniz,
Early morning, u made me flip wif yur comments both abt shern’s boy &amp; our gers.</font>

Tera,
Tks ger =)...My hb was tinking of putting his manager's name lor =)...But I tot of leaving it blank so need some advises here lor..hee..

Tera,
yes, u shd add fruits inside liao cos everyday eat the samething sian liao lor =)...I feel u shd start adding pear to ur cereal lor..Hv u let him eat pear puree or apple puree before?

feifei,
thanks, i will start to add. this morning cereal so wasted.
yah, i've given him pear and he likes. me quite lazy, other than pear and apple, have not let him try others. :p will go and get some avocado or peach this holiday to let him try.

crystal,
gwen was just being affectionate!
she was so cute when she put her head on lucas shoulders but silly lucas was just being a grouch and started to cry. sigh. nvm, we will try again next time when he's in a better mood, hehe. :p

<font color="aa00aa">tera,
but seriously i think i better teach gwen some social manners liao cos if not she will be grown up thinking all boys are like her gor gors at home who let her get away wif anything &amp; everything. *signz* also i think must let her mingle wif more gers liao. unfortunately my extended family all boys, no gers....

feifei

thks for the list, v useful

Tera,

I ever add apple puree inside cereal but my boy dun like. end up whole thing he refuse to take.

morning ladies...
wanna check. how often to change the milk bottles and teats? even if it's meant to store BM only...must change frequently?

was thinking of stopping BF soon so dunno wanna change the bottles now anot...

Zu En

my boy also pull my hair. my colleague says she tie her hair so her bb can't pull.
for me i will hold on to my hair and ask him to release his hand.

<font color="aa00aa">Tera, Hi*five! hehe....
Actually quite sien lor to work till 3pm when most ppl stop half day work.

feifei, wanna ask u about the puree to mix with cereal. The process of the puree still the same, steam and blend, rite?</font>

Felicia,

even if yr bb want to have more cereal, dun increase too much at one time but gradually. cos tat time my boy also seems to want more so we increase the amt then his stomach cannot digest in time.

so far my boy have tried the HT BR cereal, HT pea puree, Earthbest Sweet potatoes, Gerber prune, and my homemade apple puree. so far, he like the sweet potatoes best and dislike my homemade apple.

ellysia...
cool thanks...meaning we got to throw away the bottles lor...can reuse for storing other things other than BM?

Feifei, no. I would CC: HR at the bottom of my letter. on the envelope, put HR still. So the different envelopes will have different addressees.... but the letter will be addressed to your immediate boss, then CC: your department head/HR/etc.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
Thanks for your advise.
On the 1st and 2nd day we only give one small spoon amt of cereal. So today i asked my mil to increase to 2 spoons but still diluted type. Thinking to maintained this way till weekend, then might start to reduce the milk amt to make it more sticky type.</font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">crystal, if my boi is there prob he will do the same thing.. putting other hands into mouth to suck...

zuen... my boi oso put my hair.. and when i like oops oops oops..he will laugh loudly .. terrible hor..
</font></font>

Ellysia,
No prob ya =).

shycloud,
I changed my ger's teats recently when we add BR into her milk ..hmm..as for milk bottles, i haven change leh..she has been using it for 5mths le..

Felicia,
Yup, steam, blend and then add to the ready mix cereal =).

Cactus,
Tks ya =..

Felicia, I started giving liquidy porridge, but now thickening more. I noticedm y boy having no problems swollowing, so decreased the milk amount. I just introduced porridge on Saturday.

We still give milk every 3 hours but give porridge too, between 11am to 1pm, and again between 430pm to 630pm, depending on when the last milk feed was, and the nap times.

On saturday, we gave 1/2 cube porridge and 10ml milk twice.
On Sunday, it was 1 cube porridge and 15ml milk
Yesterday, it was 1.5 cubes porridge and 20ml milk.
Today and tomorrow is 2 cubes porridge and 20ml milk.
Then from tomorrow onwards, maintain 2 cubes porridge and 20ml milk, then add 1/2 cube potato with 5ml milk. Then slowly increase amount of potato over the days to 1 cube. So it is 2 cubes porridge, 1 cube potato. Then on WEdnesday, will give pumpkin instead of potato but still continue to give porridge.

I plan to give root veg first, then fruit. cos fruit is sweet.. in case bb reject root veg.

Just to add, important is to monitor bowel changes, if any. If constipated, or stools are hard, then give water or more BM if you are still giving BM. At the moment, I'm not giving water yet, cos my bb is not constipated. Instead, I keep up with BM. Erm, I feed my boy on demand, but he self regulates to 150ml to 200ml every 3 hours, even with the porridge. Only at 7 months (after we confirm no allergy through important food groups), we will substitute food for milk. Then milk should drop to 500ml to 750ml/24 hours. and give 3 semi-solid meals per day.

shycloud,

if u need to freeze solid food.. but tat will mean u also have to sterilise. so still not so advisable.

cactus,

yr assumption is bb milk intake will decrease when solid food increase. however, my colleague said her boy at 1 year old can take up to 200-250ml milk, and it will increase. therefore she has to give FM at tat point.

for the beginning 1st and 2nd mth of solid food, bb can't take much food yet so they won't get much from solid food. and BM or FM is still suppose to be main food while solid food are just 'supplements' or 'desserts' and not meant to replace milk.

BabyCupid,
Oh okay! I thought cannot buy those so i nv buy and looking for whole pumpkin cannot find.

feifei,
ok. later i go search for the 'mi'. I have to buy slow cooker too.
anxious to cook for my ger. About bb pull hair... My ger last time also pull my hair. Now she seldom pull. maybe she know what is pain. When I say pain she will let go. I remember when she put her finger in my mouth i bite it n ask her pain anot? maybe this way teach her what is pain.

Tera,
What cereal did u feed?

Zuen,
My ger only pull her hair when she wants to sleep. So i will faster rock her sleep. My hair stop dropping already... Can see alot short hair growing...

Felicia,

After i feed for 2-3 days, i ored able to decrease the milk amt to make the cereal more thick. maybe u can try tat if yr bb is ready.

after u let yr bb take cereal for 1-2 weeks, u can start puree liao. once yr bb is able to take cereal well without dripping much out, can take around 70% in, u can try puree.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, wah, so fast intro porridge liao? I think i'll only start porridge after she finish up this cereal. Then shall give one porridge by noon and one cereal by evening. Will monitor my ger progress 1st.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
Noted, thks! Since this week i'll be with my girl most of the times, so will monitor her progress to intro puree if she's ready.</font>

For me, i intend to start porridge only at 9mths. cos cereal has more added iron, vits etc, more nutritional than porridge. then also can add meat and more vegs etc tat time cos ored finish few mths of 4 days allergy test.

Felicia,

yup, i usu timed such tat i intro certain impt food when i am at home with him, so tat i can monitor myself.

Btw, the nuby spoon i bot is really good and easy to feed. if u find difficulty to feed, can try change spoon.

shycloud,
ur ger is it using Avent teats? If yes, u can get the 3mths+ variable for thicker liquids one..There are 3 types of flow we can control, level 1,II and III. We started on level 1 lor, then find that after 4wks, she like sucking abit hard, so switch to level 2 lor..I find the teats bery good lor...then some of the BR still hv abit of lumps, then we will turn to level III when towards the last bit of milk...

ioio,
got meh?hehe..Onli the thermos n the bibs now wor..keke...the bibs really good quality lor, i hv 3pc and not enough cos my ger uses 2-3bibs aday so wan to get more lor..

Sharon,
ur ger so cute hor, know pain..hee.. As for mi, can go provision to try.. =).

Felicia,
as for porridge hor, i feel it depends on bbs lor..if they swallow well and cereal can't really fill them up, then its time for porridge liao.. =)..

I tried out something new last wkend..I use a pc of pork and potato and boil the soup, then add the rice, then pour in some of the bottled Healthy times sweet potato , then add brocoli into her porridge, she likes lor =)...

Felicia, I didn't think of giving cereal cos the PD told me I just need to give carbo like porridge or cereal. Give one type good enough. What I do is to grind brown rice, then cook into porridge, then mix with milk.

Realised that I need a bigger diaper bag now cos need to put in the thermal contr for porridge, bowl,hot wate rflask etc..my current one like not big enough lor...Saw frm the BPS all onli hv carters lor, anyone has idea where to get big and cheap diaper bag?

feifei...
nay me not using Avent leh...i was thinking of enlarging the hole by cutting it abit bigger but when switch to milk only the flow might be too fast...so how ar?

btw...my ge khiang MIL started my gal with porridge liao...she seems to like it leh...finished 2 small small bowls. then my BR cereals how? she skip my steps lor...haizz

shycloud,
u can give ur ger cereal for BF lor..porridge is for lunch or dinner lor =)..U can either cut or use needle to poke holes at the teats so the flow won't be slow..

Or u might wan to add BR to ur ger's milk like wat I did lor =)..

Now my ger is taking HT barley cereal, Happybellies BR cereal and friso cream on alt days for bf so she won't feel bored lor..hehe..we will add fruits to it also lor =)..

Then lunch give her porridge, afternoon will give her fruits puree and the pigeon biscuits..then dinner onwards will be BR with milk liao..

feifei,

i got a bag from kiddy palace, cost around $30++ only. cheap and big. and nice looking. i use it to store my BM and pumping barang.

PLS DUN POKE HOLES in teats!..

my mum said got bb ever got cut due to tat. either buy teats with bigger holes or just spoon feed. dun poke holes.

Ellysia,
KP have huh? ahyo, how come i din see it yest...nvm tonite i go see again..tks ya..does it come with alot of compartments? wat color huh?

MLP<
err...Here it goes..

7am - Cereal or brown rice with fruits puree
10am - teabreak (biscuits)
12/1pm - 1 bowl of porridge, sometimes 1.5bowl
4pm - teabreak (fruits or biscuits)
7pm - Brown rice with milk (240ml)

sometimes she wakes up at 10pm or 12am for her last feed, but sometimes doesn't and will wakeup at ard 4am or 5am lor..it depends de, everyday also ard that timing de lor..

What most people do is to give cereal in the morning as breakfast, porridge as lunch or dinner. in btw with veg and fruit puree.

For those who start at 6mths, according to KKH guide is to start with only 1 meal per day. Around 7mths can increase to 2 meals. 8mths/9mths can increase to 3meals.