(2008/06) June 2008

for me i oso nvr go see hw much milk/water i add to the cereal.. i jus add and see the thickness.. once i got wat i wan i will stop lor.. my boy like thick.. watery he dun like..

oic... since very little milk is needed to add into the cereal, then it will be very wasted to make 1 ounce of FM le. Think i'll just add hot water instead. Do you heat up the cereal or add hot water / milk will do?

This is the 1st time i gg to gv my girl cereal, hope she likes it hehe. Initially my mum wants to cook porridge but i'm afraid my girl wont eat much and waste my mum's effort.

lattelover,
i start of with my boy drinking FM den left wif abit i add in to cereal n feed him.. but i realised he dun really like.. den once got no FM.. so i add hot water.. den realise he prefer tat! so frm den on i add hot water..

i warm up milk then pour in the cereal. firstly i pour cereal into feeding dish, then i pour milk in and mix.

porridge is for 9mths and above.

Hmm... maybe i shld try with the milk 1st, if she doesn't like then i add hot water instead.

Porridge is for 9mths ah... my mum said she will cook for my girl end of this mth. she told me last time i also start with porridge one.

Healthytimes is very popular, very fast out of stock in ntuc.

ellysia,
my pd told me to start feeding porridge leh. any idea why must wait till 9 mths?

bbcupid,
carrefour at suntec still has HT. i just bought 2 pkts to try cos my boy also taking heinz now.

lattelover,
all the elderly will tell u start porridge 4mths old.. kekeke.. standard one.. my mil has been bugging to gif my boy cereal since he 4mths old.. anyway some ppl really gif porridge early.. so up to individual lor.. for me i intend to start once i cleared the individual allergy test.. kekeke..

babycupid,
how much puree u gv ur boy at a time? how many times in a day? i see those canned puree type must finish within 48 hrs aft opening. i m eager to start my girl with all these too but must follow the 4 days rule hehe

feifei,
do you add soya sauce to the porridge? my mum told me she will add meat, veg and a few drip of soya sauce but i read fr somewhere that dont add sugar and salt, soya sauce also consider salty rite

lattelover,
i gif ard 2 tablespoon of puree now.. once a day.. den another feed will be cereal.. yes those canned one is 48hrs.. if ur ger cant finish u eat lor! kekeeke..

any mummies tried giving thier bbs bottled juices?

lattelover,
Nope, i din add salt or soya sauce cos our bbs not supposed to take saltish things wor...Just add fish or pork, then vege like brocoli, spinach, carrot, potato,pumpkin, taste bery sweet and nice le..U can buy butternut frm Cold storage , bery sweet lor, i like also =D.

lattelover,
no nd to add salt/soya sauce etc one.. jus use those potato carrot veg to make the stock.. den will haf taste le..

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">Babycupid,
i gave my baby heinz baby juices like pear &amp; apple, i think he prefer pear, as i can see from his face that apple is sour, usually will pour half, keep the other half in fridge for the next day, i boil apple juice before but he dont like, maybe the royal gala apples too sour</font></font>

hi gals...
aiyoh... busy with full-time work and part-time job now.

my girl has turned 6 mths yest... i hvnt started her on anything... will prob start her wif the bellamy rice cereal i bgt tis weekend.

babycupid...
i been giving Eve the bottled juices. so far, tried the Earth's Best apple juice, and Heinz apple and pear juice. she loves it. she takes abt 40-50ml each time. tis is the oni thing besides BM i give her. i feed her that cos i was trying to see if that will help her to poo more regularly.

fennie,
my ger also dun really like e bottled apple juice lor..tink no taste de cos i tried b4..pear one better =D.

soyabean,
u feed her with spoon or put in milk bottle for her to drink?

Cos now i trying to train my ger to drink frm spoon lor, then she can boooo all out on my face &amp;*(#@

lattelover

Yes, it run out of stock very fast. i order online in bulk.

My MIL told me porridge is 9mths n above. start with cereal first.

HT puree can stated 3 days (72 hours).

feifei,

u are on stage 2 lah cos u start at 4mths mah. we start from 6mths, shd be porridge for 9mths.

soyabean

i oso bot earth best apple juice, but dare not give after i read tat apple juice shd only be given when having constipation, cos juice has little nutritional value.

babycupid,
you r right, if my girl cant finish then i will eat hahah... I've a btl of heinz apple juice but havent start giving yet.

feifei,
ok butternut... noted. thks! are you the one who mentioned abt the friso pdt date 8may08 vy diluted? i gt 2 tins with that pdt date at home, i called friso but the lady told me the milk powder is ok, only that they forgt to add the stabiliser thats y alot of bubbles.

For HT cereal, i heard tat the barley and oat cereal is more popular. some said the barley cereal is very nice and help in constipation. But they always recommend to start with brown rice for weaning. so i only intend to give barley cereal maybe 1-2 mths later.

If you decide to offer fruit juice as a "drink" try waiting until baby is at least 8 months old!

**Offering juice as a constipation remedy is acceptable as young as 4 months old with the consult of your pediatrician**

Giving your baby water as a first "beverage" instead of juice will be healthier in the long run!

Always dilute any juice that is offered to babies and toddlers. We recommend diluting 75% water to 25% juice. Keep diluting for as long as possible!

Juice should never ever be offered in a baby bottle! Juice in a bottle is a major cause of dental problems. Also, never allow your baby or toddler to drink from a sippy cup of juice throughout the day!

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia... oh ya... does pear cos phlegm oso? cos last time i give pear.. after he eat like a lot of muscus in his throat.. ;p

</font></font>

Fussy and seemingly inconsolable babies may be at risk for digestive problems from certain types of juice.

The study found that these so-called "colicky" infants were more likely to suffer from gas and sleep problems after drinking apple juice, which contains high concentrations of the sugars sorbitol and fructose. What's more, infants with these digestive difficulties were more likely to have tried fruit juice at an earlier age than other babies who had no digestive problems.

The results of the study, which support the American Academy of Pediatrics' recommendation to avoid giving babies fruit juice until at least 6 months of age, may help the millions of parents who suffer through months of their child's high-pitched crying and unpredictable sleep patterns. Roughly 10% to 25% of infants have colic, which can last up to 4 months.

Parents should be advised to avoid early introduction to their infants of fruit juices, especially if they have symptoms of infant colic. Previous studies have shown that certain fruit juices produce excess gas, a common symptom of infant colic.

Ellysia,
i see..tks..But how come give juice in bottle will cause cavities?

lattelover,
yup, I was the one..hehe...Hmm..then u can call the friso hotline, insist to change the FM lor, cos hor, its bery dilute leh, my ger dun feel full lor...

Spring,
U are? Jane?

ioio,
Hi five!
1968075.gif

Spring,
Oh i see...

thanks for all the mummies replies..

cos my mil oso kept asking me to gif my boy juices.. haiz.. anyway i will try one of these days.. kekeke..

ioio

i can't find any articles on pear. so dunno will cause wind or phlegm.

feifei

I dunno. but many articles i read say no bottle feeding for juice due to tooth problems.

Anyone introduce banana puree?

i read in many articles tat banana puree cause constipation. but i tot banana will help in bowels.

<font color="0000ff">Latest updates for our First Xmas Lunch Party for the little ones...</font>

<font color="ff0000">Date : 20/12/08, Sat
Time : 12pm-4pm (depending on ur bbs)

Venue : Sandra's lovely hse
No 49 Jalan Limau Purut
S(468223)

Dress Code : Pink for BB girls
Blue for BB boys
Parents any colours

Gift Exchange : Will start at 2pm sharp
Gifts around $10 (but can be more than $10 if you wish)</font>

<font color="119911">Attendance :-
1) Feifei + Hb + Charlotte
2) Babycupid + bb + helper
3) Warrior_angel + hb + bb
4) Tera + hb + bb
5) Felicia + hb + 2bb
6) Bonjovi + hb + bb
7) iamsnow + bb + maid
8) Veniz + bb
9) Sandra + bb + hb + PIL + SIL
10) bizznow + hb + bb
11) crystal + hb +bb
12) janiviy + bb
13) ice + bb + 3helpers (dun include buffet, join gift exchange onli)
14) Christina + Chloe
15) Angel_z + hb + bb (dun include buffet, join gift exchange onli)
16) Mag + hb + mum + bb
17) MLP + bb
18) Priscilla + helper + bb
19) shycloud + bb
20) Mrswrx + bb
21) Mogudog + hb + bb (dun include buffet, join gift exchange onli)
23) Tinyfeet and baby Gwenneth.
24) Fei Ling + hb + bb
25) shern + hb + bb + helper
26) Zuen + hb + bb (join gift exchange)

Total strength : 26mummies + 26 lovely bbs

<font color="aa00aa">Bizznow helped to order the logcakes already, so please pay her <u>$3.30</u> on the day itself. Thanks. This amount is only applicable to mummies in this forum - meaning if you going with ur hb and helpers, just pay 1 share will do</font>

Oh yes, almost forgot, our dear Tera will be helping us to do the tags sticker for our nicks and names to be pasted for us on the day..If not sure will forget each other's name de =)..

Tera,
Tks ger!

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia... tks! ya.. i oso read abt the same banana</font></font>

Ellysia, thanks for sharing the link between apples = colic. I was planning to give my boy apple when he turns 6 months, but now prob will only give pear to begin with. Yes, banana will cause constipation. It somehow causes stools to form. dun know why. No need to steam banana. just choose very ripe banana to mash. Can mix milk into it too.

Re: Lil ZuEn's blocked tear duct
Her tear duct had been blocked since she was 2 months' old wor. I haven since her right eye cleared for many, many months liao. The wiping often cause the surrounding to become red and puffy. Sometimes, she will rub her eye too. -.o" We tried the eye drop and massaging but it is not helping. Haiz. We will bring her to teh eye specialist tonight for a 2nd opinion lor. Then see how it goes.

Angel,
She is 2 days from 7th month wor, but I dun see the condition improving. I dun think it will suddenly go away. I think we will bring her for a 2nd opinion then see wat the eye specialist recommends.

Re: Juice
I gave me girl gerber pear nectar which is sweet lor. Much nicer than the other brand (cannot rem wat). She reject wor. Ended up happily drinking water instead. So the whole bottle of juice went to hb. -.o"

feifei,
My ger too! I gave her off-the-shelf kind and she gave me a disgusted look. Hoho. She was ok when I tried giving her her banana leh. I scrap off some to feed her when hb was eating a banana.

cactus,

I happen to read the article on apple and colic while i am introducing apple to my bb. as my bb have colic during his 1st 3 mths. then these 4 days when i intro apple, he seems more cranky. Then yest he got a lot of accumulated wind inside his tummy. But apple is the only new food i intro.

so follow the 4 days rule is good. in the meantime we will exclude apple for him n maybe intro to him much later like next mth or 2 mths later.

anyway i kept a food diary so tat i know wat food is ok or not.

Banana - i read in one article today tat have to ensure tat it is ripe banana as unripe banana has harmful bacteria which may cause harm to bb.

and yes, dun need to steam.. just scrap n feed. or mash. or blend with milk.

Mummies who r keen to know more abt AMC pots, please call Alice @ 93809837. Tell her Mag gave u her number.

Feifei, u can call her cos I dun have your hp number.

feifei,

i found the section on why cannot bottle feed for juice:

"Drinking from a cup does not cause the liquid to collect around the teeth, and a cup cannot be taken to bed."

it suggest tat bottle will cause liquid to collect around the teeth thus more chance of cavities.