(2008/06) June 2008

i oso realised my bb tummy up n down only when he is slping.. other than tat wont.. like lying dwn awake wont lor.. feeding oso wont..

babycupid, my bb breathes this way too, it's normal cos like wat ur PD says, pasage too small so they use the stomach (diaphram) muscle to breathe. it happens during deep sleep.

jus to share, i noticed lots of bb has blocked nose n many realise it's due to aircon. it happen to mine the night he came back from hosp. n i realise tat aircon dries up bb's mucus in their nose, which they always have, so bits of mucus starts to dry up then become pi sai, small or big, both will block up thier nasal passage so end up need saline drops. so no aircon seems to be the best option for most bb

U know have entered a new chapter in life when at 3am u r awake not b’cos u have gone clubbing or caught a show but b’cos u r awake post feeding & can’t fall back asleep

Leng2, no problem in asking you to join us at the gathering, the more the merrier.

Mrswrx, wow, your hb really encouraging leh, buy a size smaller than you pre preggie. I am sure you sure work hard to fit in.

Shern, hee, its ok to feed baby at mrt station lar, I am sure the staff won't mind, but your pocket will, coz the more time we stay in mrt stations, the charge will be higher. Glad to hear that your first shopping trip with baby went well. Same thought here, I will be into debts if I SAHM and joining all the sprees.

Feifei, dont be upset ok. Its for good of Charlotte, the most you visit her almost everynight lor. One month very fast finish one, just to think of it, my ML also very fast finishing.

Update on 01/08/08

Buffet Gathering - Hi-Tea at Carousel@Royal Plaza on Scotts

Date: 4th August 2008 (Monday)
Time: 3.30pm - 5.30pm

Price: Adult - $26.00 (after discount,taxes & service charge for first 10pax Original price is $30.00 for non discount rate. Will split cost according to total paid if more than 10pax)

1. Veniz + baby
2. Priscilla + baby
3. Jenny
4. Xris&Maia
5. Christina
6. Mrswrx + baby
7. Morraine
8. Mag Kline + Mum + baby
9. MLP
10.K Ong (+baby?)
11.Fennie + Mum + elder son + baby
12.Tan Leng Leng + baby
13.Bon Jovi

Please advice if I have missed out anybody. Thanks.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
dun be sad, i was the same as u...initially left bb at MIL's plc &amp; bring back over wkend. cannot tahan not seeing her at nite. finally gave up n simply move into MIL's plc over wkdays, instead of shuttling back &amp; fro daily &amp; bring her home on wkends still. any chance u ve the choice of moving to yur ILs' plc on wkdays as an interim measure?</font>

Hi babycupid,behalf of aprilmun(Shirley) she will be joining us on 7th August.

Hi roller,fish&amp;co good idea!I can eat my fish &amp; chip..hahaha

jesslyn,

can only sit near the lift though

let me know what's the preferred choice

actually another choice is the sushi, same level as the fish &amp; co.

we can take the inner corner, overlooking amk mrt :p

Date : 7th Aug
Time : 1130am
Venus : AMK Hub (Fish &amp; Co) OR Toa Payoh Hub (Subway / Delifrance) OR Bishan Cafe Cartel

1) Cynthia (bring #2) (All location ok)
2) Roooller (All location ok)
3) BabyCupid (AMK Hub)
4) star
5) Jesslyn
6) Priscilla
7) aprilmum
8) jenny (most likely)
9)
10)

Mummies Please indicate preferences

Hi Fennie and mummies with >1 kid,
Which bank are you signing up your CDA account with-OCBC or Std Chrt? any dif?

Hi mummies who TBF,
When do you plan to use the frozen stocks of EBM in your freezer? anyone started using already or planning to start after going back to work? Need some feedback, thanks!

Hi Veniz,
Is it too late to join in the gathering? Tot of leaving hse for awhile take a breather haha...

dont think there's a deadline, just that today is the 1st day we can open CDA Account for our babies, i need to open it asap bcos using it to pay the fees to Cordlife

piyo,
i will take some mothers advise by taking OCBC bcos it has more branches, easier for banking in future, standard chartered very few branches and not so accessible

EBM:i have started collecting during the 5 days i put bb on FM due to breastfeeding jaundice, have started using some, on occassion when i goes to the movie with hb n #1, leave bb with helper, so ask helper to warm the EBM when require, of course i will bring it out fr freezer earlier and place in fridge to thaw

Dear Friends

We welcome August with a slew of fantastic offers to celebrate the World Breastfeeding Week … all promotions are valid from 1 - 31 Aug inclusive.

1. All nursing tops including new arrivals, are going to be given a 15% discount while VIP members will enjoy 10% more. (ie. VIP members get 25%)

2. All nursing bras are given a 50% off second piece.

3. Playtex milk bags are going for $19 for a box of 125 pieces. ( 8 oz. capacity )

Do read the August issue of Mother and Baby Magazine or Motherhood Magazine for more perks.

We also have a new blogsite…. Follow this link to check it out!

We are also going to be at BMSG’s event to celebrate WBW 2008 on 16th of August! Do come down to lend your support for breastfeeding worldwide and nursing mothers in Singapore too… as all breastfeeding mothers are encouraged to breastfeed together, simultaneously to break last year’s record feat. We are going for Gold! ( like in the Olympics )

New arrivals for nursing wear and maternity wear and all other new colours for slings are all in the shop at United Square #B1-64. The updates will only be posted online a week later. We do apologize for this delay. Nonetheless, it is worthwhile a trip to trot down to United Square coz Toys R’Us is also having a bazaar sale!

Hope to see you around!

Marie &amp; Partners

www.moms-rus.com
www.parentsgalore.net
www.zaistudios.com
www.curvesmarineparade.com

United Square Shopping Mall - #B1-64, Tel : 62593326
(open daily from 11am to 9pm except Fri and Sat till 9.30 and Sunday till 8pm)

Cyn,
ya!need to get away from my maid for awhile :p I tot of going up north to meet you n the rest of the ladies here cos tot of going walk walk ard but timing may b a prob.. so tot of joining the other group :p

Hi Fennie,
For CDA account, we can only deposit funds, can't take out or do any transfer right? banking svs will be limited to depositing funds only?

I have 2 sets of EBM, 1 set of fresh EBM in fridge and 1 set of frozen in freezer..I can't finish the fresh EBM per day and ended up storing.. then I worry bb can't clear the frozen stash in time b4 expiry so wondering shd I take out and use at the same time??but if I take out frozen, IK would have more fresh EBM left over.. tot of giving bb fresh EBM since she is still newborn..*confused*

MLP, bgt fr any medical hall. Ya, mine will sudden scream if got fright, whether day or nite. Poor thing.

LengLeng, ha, i take so long to try my bm cos all the while I've been accumulating my courage..ha..

Leng Leng, Shern - Yes, nw i learn the put bib, hanky n tissue on standby. Else if breast too full, i dun gv, squeeze out in bottle 1st. Usu gv half breast nw.

piyo,
yes only interbank giro and funds deposit, but if bank is not available near house or work place, it may be a problem

Fresh EBM of course is the best, but if bb cannot finish, you will have to freeze it within 24hours from fridge, and it can last up to 3-4months if freezer is a separate compartment in your fridge, if it is those whereby once open fridge door, can see freezer, then it cannot store for so long, you can check out www.breastfeeding.org.sg, they should have some storage tips

Hi roooller,
I never take stock of my daily expressed amt..exlusive TBF but not exclusive pumping. I jus keep latching when bb wants milk n pumping after latch or every 3hrly even at night but sometimes too sleepy miss 1 pump ended up drag till 5-6hr then pump but in bet got latch cos bb wakes up..

AUGUST 2008 NEWS

Special promotion in conjunction with World Breastfeeding Week 2008

In conjunction with World Breastfeeding Week in August, www.maternalove.com will be having the following promotions at our online store between August 1 - 31:

1. Storewide sale of 15% off nursing wear orders of S$100 and above. To enjoy the discount, please key in the discount code WBW2008 in the discount coupon box (not the comments box) during checkout.

2. Place orders of S$100 and above to receive a gift voucher worth S$10. The voucher can only be redeemed during the month of September 2008.

3. Make any purchase during the month of August and stand a chance to win 3 essential breastfeeding packs in a lucky draw. Each gift pack comprises breastfeeding tops from our new Basic nursing and consists of a 3/4 Sleeve Split Neck Nursing Henley, a Gathered V-neck Breastfeeding Tee and a Double Layer Nursing Tank.

Fennie,
Yes that's how I manage my milk inventory but I m wondering when to start using my frozen stock cos so far I only latch and supplement fresh ebm from fridge. I scare my earlier`frozen stock will expire b4 i use.

Btw, frozen stock can keep till 6mths lei, not 3-4mths if in deep freezer.

Hi Jenny,

My order from babycenter store.

Nick : Happysnowflake

Item #1 : Ask Grandma Bodysuit by Carter's
URL : http://store.babycenter.com/product/baby+clothing/carter%27s+clothing/basics/ask+grandma+bodysuit.do?asc=falseQty : 1
Size : 9 mths
Price : 2.99 USD

Item #2 : Mommy's Monster Bodysuit by Carter's
URL : http://store.babycenter.com/product/seasonal-special+categories/clearance/baby+clothing/mommy%27s+monster+bodysuit.do?sortby=price&amp;asc=true
Qty : 1
Size : 9 months (if oos, 6 mths)

Item #5 : Grandpa's Sidekick Bodysuit by Carter's
URL : http://store.babycenter.com/product/seasonal-special+categories/clearance/baby+clothing/grandpa%27s+sidekick+bodysuit.do?sortby=price&amp;asc=true
Qty : 1
Size : 12 mths

Total: 8.97 USD

Felicia, ha, i also got fever phobia after spending 5 days wif bb in hospital during his 1st mth.

LengLeng, ha..u still promoting mamas here to drink own bm. Actually i begin to like in more n more. Will get hubby to taste when he's back..keke

Mrswrx, you steady siah. Fit in. Tho' i lose back to my pre-preggie weight in 1 mth, i still cant fit my working pants, got the tummy fab there leh. So i wondering where i lost the weight frm.

Fennie, is Playtex bag gd? I read fr this forum so far that the Boots is gd wh i'm getting fr a frd travelling to BKK.

Piyo,
Deep freezer means like those stainless steel, commercial kind of freezer, not our home fridge freezer if i am not wrong.

TF,
I think Playtex not bad, quite thick, but not zipper type, so need a tie or clip to secure to store milk, its quite cheap

MrsWrx : ahh, i forgot abt pacific plaza
thanks for the parking rates !!

CDA account : i thought we just had to submit the forms (which were given to us at the hospital) to MYCS ??

Do we have to personally go to the banks to open the CDA account ???

TF,
Playtex is similar to Avent liners (stopped prodn liao). I would be using this when my Avent Liners run out. CHeap and good

Fennie,
OIC.. My freezer quite cold and seldom open hehe

hi jesslyn n roooller

ok confirm gg on thur...cos i just went to see gynae for my papsmear report, worried need to go back next week so that's y indicate maybe.

i heard from my friend that standchart goodie bag is very attractive for the baby bonus. but of course, for convenience will be ocbc. heehee

fyi, i got a toothbrush to be used from birth from mothercare. to circulate the bb gums...usual price 11, and now selling at 4. so cheap

aiyo, me dont dare to go to look at sale liao....i already spend 1k online shopping since my bb born till now...not including those from singapore directly...haha

Date : 7th Aug
Time : 1130am
Venus : AMK Hub (Fish &amp; Co) OR Toa Payoh Hub (Subway / Delifrance) OR Bishan Cafe Cartel

1) Cynthia (bring #2) (All location ok)
2) Roooller (All location ok)
3) BabyCupid (AMK Hub)
4) star
5) Jesslyn
6) Priscilla
7) aprilmum
8) jenny (AMK Fish n Co)
9)
10)

Mummies Please indicate preferences

fyi the babycentre order have reach USD200. for those who are interested to get anything, pls quickly place ur order as i can still accept another USD30-40. if not i will be closing the spree.

for mummies who have ordered,
pls keep track of the post, i will be collecting the payment soon. but i will post the list to let you all confirm on the items before you make payment. thanks.

piyo, i'm also on tbf &amp; expressing inbetween but i dun suplement with fresh ebm. but whenever going out, i'll always use the oldest frozen bm so atleast replenish stock is with fresher ones

jenny, wah impressive leh, i only spend couple of hundred &amp; DH got worried