(2008/06) June 2008

ROxy,

the 35% for birthday month, is't cheaper compare to the promo. price per bottle?

JP,

what is the price for a bottle of Fenugreek after promo price?

Hi Jenny
Sleeping he is ok, just that every waking moment, he cannot lie there and be quiet!! Sigh... cannot be making him all the time or carrying him all that while. He is 4.5kg now leh,

How long do your baby stay awake? My #1 can play by herself after milk for quite a while lying on her cot wor.

Wah!! Roxy going BKK?? So nice!!
Enjoy!!

<font color="aa00aa">JP/ Fennie/ ZuEn, Looks like you gals is having left breast more ss, but mine is right more ss.

roxy, so envy! I still had long way to go for my confinement, yet u r goin for BKK oredy. Btw, when come back do share how u clear custom with your EBM? I'm quite curious on this and might be useful when next time i'm goin for a holiday. hehe.....</font>

<font color="aa00aa">EBM storage:
Can someone advise me where to buy the cover for the milk glass bottles?
Btw,i had some glass bottles comes with metal caps. Can i use it to keep my EBM in the frozen compartment? </font>

Felicia,
I got the caps n disc from the pharmacy at MAH, its $7+ for 10sets in a bag, got few colours,and NUK or Tollyjoy i think, can fit the glass bottles from nursery

aprilmum,

GNC fenugreek selling at $29.50 per bottle of 100capsules, VIP member get to buy 2nd bottle at 50% off, that means each bottle comes up to abt $22, if member's bday 35% discount, each bottle will be ard $20, so its slightly cheaper

Morning all, I was handling #1 and #2 alone yesterday (Sat) by myself and found it quite tough. My hb worked 6 full days one. Any mommy facing this prob yet? How to cope leh? Luckily it is Sunday and can send hb and #1 out kai kai.

Tingkat lunch: I am going to order tingkat lunch soon. Anyone got any caterer recommendation?

Felicia,
For those metal caps, not for long term use. Once rusty, must throw liao. So long as the bottles &amp; caps are in good condition, you can use to store EBM in freezer. Tat's wat I did, as per the nurse's instruction when I was bringing my EBM to the hospital for my bb.

Sharon,
Now my bb drinking > wat I express too. To catch up, I might try to express 2 hourly while she feeds 2.5 - 3 hrly.

nss,
I cannot handle 1 kid on my own, let alone 2. Due to lack of sleep (3 to 5 hrs of interupted sleep per night), I get cranky by late afternoon. Then I get fustrated when my bb gets cranky, hahaha. I need someone to help me here and there. At least give me time to shower, express milk, eat, etc.. ;p

ZuEn, bopian.. just telling myself only temp, once ML over, hopefully can get my sanity back. I directly latch on bb, so can save the trouble of pumping and sterilizing

aprilmum - As Fennie mentioned, 1 bottole is $29.90 and 50% off the 2nd bottle. Quite OK lah.

Linda - Yup, my #1 and now my #2 wants to be carried all the time. However, #2 is much fussier. When you sarong her, it must be the sarong sling and NOT the sarong rocker.

Roxy - Wah..going to BKK liao? So envy!!! Bringing you boy along?

Felicia - Same-same lah..
I bought the covers from Parentcraft.

nss - I am also handling #1 and #2 alone. But for this 1 month (confinement), DH is home-based unless he has important things to attend to. Very siong leh but am taking it one day at a time.

<font color="aa00aa">Fennie, the caps and disc u broughts is plastic, rite? Does they sell only the disc? Coz TMC gave me the new caps with teats, so maybe jus need to buy disc only.

ZuEn, I'm confuse over this. Coz my friend told me she heard tat metal cap is better than plastic cap if keep in freezer. But she did mentioned if rusty must change lah. Is really confusing!

JP, can get from parentcraft? Any idea the parentcraft in AMK hub sell the covers?

nss, for sure i'm not able to handled 2 kids alone, i think i'll jump from my flat. haha......relax...juz joking. Like wat ZuEn said, i'll need someone to take over when i'm showering and eat lor. My #1 is super active, cannot sit still. Even watch TV, oso can walk here, walk there. She likes to climb on our furniture as well. But luckily now, got mil and hubby was on 2 weeks leave, so i pray hard dont want to had such a chance to handle them alone.</font>

JP, Felicia, handling 2 kids alone is tough, but time will pass fast. Need a lot of patience and also good temper and time management (and also panadol for my case). Luckily, I need only handle 2 kids on Sat. #1 goes to bbsitter during weekday during day time.

Felicia, my baby is also same pattern as yours. Been awake from 1am to 4am, and fussing. When offered a feed, he suck a while and fall asleep, only to wake up in a while for more feeds. He only want to be cuddled before he can sleep. I am hoping that this reversed day/night will right itself soon.

Felicia,

Yes, those i bought are plastic ones, i bought caps with disc as the nursery at MAH gave me 12 glass bottles with no caps, i saw that they also sell just the caps alone, but not sure if they sell just the disc though, mayb can post it here to see if anyone know

Hi JP
Yah!! We have the same fate... My #2 needs to be carried...sigh. I always scold him, "no need to do other things, just carry you only lor." My poor #1 very lonely.

Just as you say, a day at a time lor, until they can sit walker then easy liao.

i just bought my little one to swimming and massage today. quite fun. think he enjoy it..especially the massage

hope he will have a good and longer sleep today

maybe you all can try...it's at punggol plaza or another one at harbourfront.

Hi Jenny,

Can I ask the shipping address for ordering from drugstore, do I enter same US address given by vpost, or our SG local home address, so they can deliver to our home?

Your little one, as in your newborn bb?learn swimming already?

cynthia,
colic will lead bb to be cranky.. sudden crying in pain.. squeezing the body.. stretching.. my bb oso colic.. i brought him to pd yd morning.. and was presecribed a drop which boost up his immune systems n gut.. to allow better digestive system.. hope his colic will go away..

finally done wif my bb full mth party yd n today.. bery tiring.. my bb is 4.7kg as of 5 jul (almost a mth gained 1.6kg..)
they grow bery fast.. i have 2 newborn rompers he cant go thru the head hole liao.. new one leh.. wasted..

nss,
I oso looking forward to gg back to work.. I think I m gg crazy soon watching over the little one 24/7. Haha..

Fennie, how many bottles of GNC Fenugreek did you bought last Wednesday? So you sign up the membership discount card?

I have been latching and pumping out milk everyday and so far can see some improvement of milk supply, not much though at the moment. Now thinking of getting more bottles to keep for next few months for EBM storage purpose and for when back to work in Sept.

Jenny, if I join your spree, collection will be only around north east area isit? Any meetup collection in town or something? If there is, it will be great for me.

Zuen, I dun feel like going back to work, coz will be double work for me (work, express BM, fetch two kids to diff nannies, etc, haiz, scary jus to think of it now). But then, I know you are workaholic, so understand your stand, hee.

veniz,

i only bought 1 bottle as i can get 15% off paying by NETS,MLP has the VIP card, mayb u can check w her when she's buying

roxy also offer her bday discount of 35% for month of july,she said going to get after next week, PM her if u like her to get for you

Veinz,
Actually, it is more so bcos I am escaping wor. Now, I have to take care of the bb, once I go back to work, my mum will be the main caregiver. i cannot stand taking care of bb whole day. Time just fly by, so scary. However, like you say lor. Things might be worse after I go back to work, have to juggle work &amp; family. -.o'' Maybe time fly even faster then. ;p

hi shirley and ritz,

noted on your order.

hi veniz

if town, i can get my hubby to pass it to you. btw, usually where is convenient?

hi fennie

yes, u have to indicate the us address. yup, my newborn baby - one month one week.

it's quite fun. i signed the package too. should be bringing him once a week. i have also signed up a massage course in kk but only commenence in aug cos july one full. hope to quickly learn so that i can help my baby to massage. think it's very good for him.

My gal is 1mth 3 days old and under FM. She's now 4kg (gain abt 1.2kg since birth), is she under weight? Anyone has the growth chart to share? My hb's been complaining I feed too little liao (every 3hrs). Pls advise. TIA

Hi Jessica,

think your question is best answered by a PD. The PD can advise you on this matter. Different babies gain weights differently. One PD told me before that parents' genes are one of the considering factors too.

Hi Jenny,
Thanks for the advise on using vpost.

aprilmum,
i have no idea how to use vpost, and jenny has been so helpful, teaching me step by step,i thought order on my own, so its easier, not sure how to get the items from jenny if ask her to order on my behalf.

btw, how do you get to know about the Goat's Rue?does it really help in MS?is it better than fenugreek?

hi sprilmum

yes i heard of this too. one of my friend did recommend me this, but since the lactation consultant recommended me fenugreek and many mummies are using, and so far it has been quite gd for me, so i will stick to it.

but if you will like to get using vpost, i can share with you. maybe via email. you can email to me at [email protected]

hi fennie

you are most welcome. enjoy your online shopping

Fennie, using NETS has 15% off? Hmm, the preg sales staff didnt tell me about it since I also pay via NETS. I also bought a bottle, when you contacted me, I was trying out jeans at Marina Sq, heehee, and hor, seems like my rear grown a bit bigger, haiz.

Jenny, in fact I am staying at Redhill, pretty near town area. If your hb does come by around Redhill Mrt Station, it will be great. Do let me know so i can post my order here, otherwise I may ask roxy to help me get from next week on (provided she can meet me at Jurong Point).

ZuEn, I can totally understand. Later this morning at 10am, my confinement lady will be going off and it will be me and baby. Although hb on leave for 1 week, I am afraid baby's crying may irritate him as he is preparing for his exams.

I was a sahm with my #1 for half a year, it was like hell. I can only talk baby words, all friends working and I couldn't call to chat up with them. My brains were working very slowly when I went back into workforce (this may not be your case). But gosh, its good to be back at work, racking my brains, earning own money, talking understandable human languages with colleagues even though it seems a bit tough with the taking care of baby in evening and early morning. I am sure your good hb will help you so dun worry so much.

veniz,
I very kiasu , always will ask if there's any promotion with the various credit card, you nvr know, ask and mayb you get a surprise

Hi Jenny
My son is 1 mth 2 weeks. He is 4.5kg, he gain abt 1.5 since discharged from hospital. I thot he a bit big lor. Awake moments he drink abt 3 hrs. If sleep can stretch till 4-5hrs.

Hi Zuen/ Verniz
Can understand... If you had been enjoying work a lot, it is hard to adjust to be a SAHM for baby 24/7.

kekeke... For me, it is opposite, I prefer to be home. Although when the baby fuss and the #1 screams for attention, I wish I was back in my office room with peace and quiet. But that feeling normally dun last long. I prefer standin over the stove cooking their porridge than over the photocopy machine.
But I like having my own money more than anything else.... so...have to work lah.

<font color="aa00aa">morning gers! It’s MONDAY again….back to wk for me….
My bb also dun sleep very well at nite. Every wkend when hb n me bring her home, we end up sleeping in the living room wif her cos she doesn’t like aircon (MBR is air-conditioned) but she perspire so easily, hence we end up having 2 fans blasting away in the living room &amp; hb &amp; me make do wif sleeping on our sofa &amp; sofa beds. dunno wat to do liao except now waiting for her to grow out of this phase. On good nites, she can sleep from 1-5am, wake up for feed, then back to sleep frm 5.30-8am. But these nites r countable on my hands still…

babycupid,
My MIL also said 40days, so tat time jus follow lor. Confinement oreadi lots of food cant eat, an additional 10days cant be tat bad considering some food are already allowed after 30days. For me, even now I still cant take a number of food which contains Eggs, Cow Milk &amp; Nuts cos bb on PBM &amp; PD wans to take precaution tat bb may ve asmth attacks. Also, my MIL still forbid me to take seafood of any kind except fish + certain type of vegs cos in her thinking my c-sec wound (internal) still not heal yet, cannot eat such stuff till goodness knows when. If it helps, u know tat at least u fare better than me lar.

Linda,
My bb did go for the rotavirus doses. Cost me $190 for 2 dosages @ 2mths apart. She had her 1st dose a week back when she went for 6-in-1 jab.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">piyo,
as promised, here's a couple of photos of my ger after her 1st mth haircut. dun u think mine look more boyish than yurs? u know wat, over wkend brought my ger back to RH for massage class &amp; a lady there actually asked me - is yurs a boy or ger? Darn! my bb worn a white dress &amp; not swaddled at all, how can she looked at my bb at face n ask such a stupid qn. i told hb tat she must think me mad to dress a son in a ger's dress! hb said prob bb reai look like boy now, so pple make such comments lor...sianz....

1538707.jpg
1538708.jpg

cynthia,
mine not "botak" yet but not much better lar...i still prefer mine wif her. now waiting for her hair to grow...hahahaha...</font>

Hi Zuen, motherhood is to work 24/7 lor...no choice..no off day oso ..
i use to b one of those tat cant stay hme to look after kids.can bored u down..xpecialli if bbs still small..basicalli u dun hv time to do anytin except carryg bb..:p
Somehow my mindset changed now tat i am on maternity...watchg how my no.1 grow ,play..makes me feel i left out lotsa his growing phase..which i hope to hv wif him ..regretted not havg so much time wif him..so now though tired of being a 'cow' ,tired of carryin and handle bb during their fussy period...cries...i now tell myself if i missed this stages of their life..u'll never get to experience it again...early stages of bbs life is oni cryin and milk lor..after u cross this phase ..it'll he easier..
take it easy...kp smiling..

<font color="aa00aa">crystal, for c-sec mummies, really had to take care of the food we are taking. Some foods is better to avoid for at least 3 mths leh. Duck oso very 'poison', so had to avoid oso.
Now me havnt 2 weeks, my MIL oredy remind me not to take this, take that even after confinement, coz she said i breastfeed, will passed to baby.
We, mummies, really make lot of sacrifice.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ZuEn,
U r note alone lar…I oreadi cannot fit back into most of my pre-preg work wear esp those with buttons or zippers in front due to the bust increase. Even my bras, I ve to throw out all my 10 over pieces tat I had cos it went from a 70B to a current 75C. Darn….thank god, bottoms not so bad, can still fit back to pre-preg pants n skirts.
When u r back @ work, u going to miss yur lil one at hm one…at least tat is wat is happening to me now. I was going crazy staying at hm wif diaper changing n the feeds n wish to be back at wk soonest. Now back at wk but mind is at hm, thinking n missing the lil one…sign…

Felicia,
M experience is 101% the same wif my bb on wat u r going thru. My hb says could be tis yr is Rat yr &amp; rat’s characteristic is to be very active at nite n sleep during day. Hahhaa…now can oni wait for them to out-grown this phrase lar…
My rite also pump so much lesser than my left. Left side, I can get abt 120-130ml each pump but rite side, even after massage oni 30+ml if I m lucky…

Roxy,
Envy, envy!!! Going to BBK wif bb n all. I dare not even think abt it. Now bringing bb out to shopping mall / PD oreadi got to prepare so much things + carry so much things, dun dare to bring her out of SIN for now till she is older…too much hassle. Enjoy yur trip!!! Yes, I going to ask the qn tat Felicia asked too – pls share how u can clear custom wif EBM cos I forsee having tat problem when I travel for biz trips…</font>

Hi Rooller,

I just used hot water. After 15 mins, used cutton bud apply at the face that have pimples.

Meanwhile, let bb dink some warm water after feed milk 2 hrs, can clear some heat inside his body.

hi veniz
redhill is gd, cos my hubby work near there. ok so u like to have a bottle?

hi aprilmum
sure. thanks for sharing

curious... did anyone here went to jurong sakae sushi yesterday nite? saw a mother breast feeding her bb wor. looks like a bb boy.

Hi Jenny,

I have just ordered with drugstore.com, however, now i worried if vpost will charge a 2nd time shipping charge as there is 1 item in my order which is out of stock now, and drugstore will send it at a different time, I have wrote to drugstore as well as vpost to ask,its really not worth paying the minimum shpping charges just for 1 small item, have you ever encounter out of stock issue?

hi fennie

i have not encountered that. but there may be 2 charge if they send separately. however if not too long, you may wait cos vpost has a one time min charge and subsequently charge by weight. so u may consolidate before shipping to singapore.

Jenny,
Thks, you mean I can tell vpost to hold on my order until drugstore has the stock for that particular item, then send together, so I no need to pay double shipping charges?