(2008/06) June 2008

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">will be more nu li and jaiyou!! will pump after lunch... at least try my best else next time will regret.. ;p</font></font>

ioio...
wat i do is a hv a little notebook. inside i track my girl's feeding time and my pumping time and quantity. so that i can rembr and wldnt forget to pump. oso keep a record of how much i harvest. and when the amt goes up, i see liao oso very happy.

soyabean,
i did that for #1
no2 lazy to keep track now
wanted to show them next time how 'hardworking and xin gu' their mummy is. lolz

rooller...
haha... i did that for my #1 oso... i'm continuing for this as well. i keep it by my bed so that i can jot down whenever i express. i very paranoid abt my milk ss lor... cos 1st one, i didnt manage to total bf... had to supplement.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, i hope i can climb the stairs but i always feel fainting just a few steps only. So i can only do the squats. Ok, will try the deep squats.
Last week check up, baby is facing side way; to my left side. The week before she's facing right. So i think she's moving a lot inside.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Yesterday very upset over hubby and MIL. Already spoken n agreed with MIL that she will take over to take care of bb after my ML ends.
But then yesterday after she hear from my hb tat my bb is very difficult to handle, she got scared and tell my hb she cannot handle all the weekdays. She wanted a break of a few days per week. But then we will be bringing bb back home at night so whats there to be difficult?!!

Then my hb try to push to my mum. My mum can't help and i ored tell my hb many times before yest incident, then he still somemore tell his mum tat my mum can help out.

My mum not v happy abt my hb.. me also v upset with him. he keep protesting n defending his mum.. i said his mum so relax at home why cannot take care of 5 days somemore no need night time.

Then now become me and hb have to take leave alternate weeks so tat my MIL just need to take care 4 days.. who knows scarry later she didn't even want to take care 4 days everything push to us..

then the more i angry is when i dun want to let her come during confinement, she complain n say how come my mum can come help during confinement she cannot.. then now she heard bb v difficult she scared then try to escape.

This is 1st boy grandson of my IL family then she still push push. Then i buay song my MIL somemore hb still defend her. Even more buay song.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, why not hired a babysitter? Then maybe u dont had to see your MIL's face and can settle it nicely with hubby oso.

Taking leave is not a long term solution, is better to work out someting before ur ML ended.</font>

Hi Starmoon, yah, was up expressing BM then... My boy is also a big drinker... I can faint! He is only 1 week old but drinks about 80~90ml of milk! Whenever I latch him on, I need to top up with some FM or EBM to satisfy his appetite.

As for regurgitating of BM, do you burp him even after he latch on? I learnt that even latching bb on need to burp him... cos mine did vomit all the BM 2 days ago also... whereas that didn't happen for FM.

Ellysia: Ya, will take note not to leave the cabbage for too long.

Congrats to mummies who have just popped!

Cactus: Jia You!!! since u r already dilated, dr will burst ur waterbag n put the induce drip...

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, u're still working? So is confirm you'll be induce on this wed if nothing happen this 2 days?

Can i check with your the drip induce will cause labour to prolong, rite? I remember u gals were discussing about this induce thingy previously but can remember which one is more painful and will cause prolong labour.</font>

HI mogudog, your baby is so chubby and cute.. Mine is very tiny lor.. Wat is your baby weight at birth ??

By the way. any babies got serious jaundice?? mine is very serious kind.. and hits 272.. so worried...

ioio,
i also feel like giving up breastfeeding many a times but am pressing on in the hope that my supply will go up soon. :p I tried latching on but it got too tiring cos he will be crying for milk after half an hour! So now, I am just pumping regularly, day and night. Btw, rem to drink more fluids.

Mog,
I think ur gal looks like u. Agree with icegal, she is very chubby and cute.

Felicia and Cactus and all still waiting,
All ze best!! Jia you!

Ellysia,
Felicia is right. Better to work out a long-term arrangement for babycare. How about infantcare or babysitter?

Felicia, some pple have told me when we start losing weight, that's when bb is starting to arrive. not sure if it would apply to you. it's applying to me though. week 38, I lost 300gm. week 39, I lost 1.1kg. week 40, I lost 300 gm. but bb is still putting on weight. now about 3.3kg...try some low and deep squats. no need to do the quick quick type.. those will help tone your leg muscles only but to help bb's against your cervix, you need constant pressure so deep squats and holding the position will be good.

Ellysia, thanks. I really hope bb comes naturally and comes soon. so excited!

Hi mylittleprince, my doctor told me he will probably just burst waterbag. he doesn't think there's a need to use the drip. Im' quite scared of the drip cos I was told if overstimulate the uterus, bb will be in distress and emerg c-section.. I've come so far already naturally.. really dun want emerg c-section.

Tera, thanks!

baby got nipple confusion, mom gave her pacifier, causing the trouble. struggling to breastfeeding her now, very frustrating

tera, will stick on n try harder, even if i failed, at least i try my best...
ellysia, i k understand, mine oso 1st grandson but opp, mil hardly visit but when she comes will nag me saying i dun eat tis n tt and how will bb hv enough nutrition, in fact i hv ate all food which my CL cooked even those tt i dun like, she dunno anything n jux nag nag nag, my husband will jux side his mum saying tt i treat her concern as nagging.. wat 2 do? next time she will help take care of bb n stay w us during weekday, me really dunno how 2 survive. Besides tis, she likes 2 say my bb fat in front of him, hope my bb not pandang...

tera, will stick on n try harder, even if i failed, at least i try my best...
ellysia, i k understand, mine oso 1st grandson but opp, mil hardly visit but when she comes will nag me saying i dun eat tis n tt and how will bb hv enough nutrition, in fact i hv ate all food which my CL cooked even those tt i dun like, she dunno anything n jux nag nag nag, my husband will jux side his mum saying tt i treat her concern as nagging.. wat 2 do? next time she will help take care of bb n stay w us during weekday, me really dunno how 2 survive. Besides tis, she likes 2 say my bb fat in front of him, hope my bb not pandang...

Felicia,

not sure where to get babysitter near my house..
haiz. i prefer to have MIL or my mum take care dun like strangers.

ioio,

my mum is v pandang if anyone say bb big size or watever my mum will shut our mouth le. But some people always dun bother such pandang will anyhow say one.

shirley,

u need around 1 week n constant trying to break the nipple confusion.. my bb also got nipple confusion when he just came back from hosp tat time 1st week.. me took pains to correct him.

cactus,

break waterbag liao will be faster generally.
dun worry i tink 4cm dilation is quite a good start. hope u can tolerate the pain and achieve yr aim not to use epidural.

hi littleprince
me got burp bb everytime after he drinks my BM irregardless latch on or bottle but sometime even after burping he still votmit. last nite merlion again so dis morning i brought him to PD since my girl oso running high fever. PD checked and said my boy has reflux and hence the colic drop wasnt of any use. She gave me some medication for the reflux and told me to continue to BF so now i will try to BF exclusively even in the nite so as to maintain the supply and hopefully the reflux problem will be fixed in no time. PD told me to burp my boy half way and asked me to give him 3-4oz of milk instead of 4-5oz cos she said he is drinking too much milk. But i was thinking of latching him exclusively (too lazy to pump) so prob wun be able to track lor. today burn hole in pocket...my 2 kids see PD and cost $260 for both of them.

cactus...
my gynae broke my water bag and put mi on drip when i was 2 cm and my labout was about 6hrs lor..

induce will be quite painful but i tried my best not to use epi... can try without epi...

Hi Girls,

No time to pop by...now that DH, DS and DD are all asleep, I told myself to log-in quick-quick and play catch-up.

Felicia &amp; all who are still playing the waiting game - Jia Yu!!! Sending over lots of ELVs, quick and smooth delivery vibes over!!!

To all mummies who have popped - Congrats! Welcome to motherhood! Welcome precious ones too!

5-in-1 or 6-in-1 : I will be taking the 6-in-1 package for #2 also, status quo like #1. Have to find out the price from Kidz Clinic. Where are you all taking the jabs?

Congrats to all NBs who have cleared their jaundice!!! Mummies, good job and well done!!!

Cactus - Sending over lots and lots of ELVs!!! Still sending over lots of "Natural Labour Vibes" over and crossing all fingers for ya!

Ellysia - Ya, better to sit down and have a long talk with your DH. This need to be iron out as you guys will be going back to the work force soon. Maybe go into infantcare?

Mogudog - She is so precious, chubby and sooooooo cute!!! *hugs*

soyabean, roooller - He!He! I did it for my #1 and am doing the same for my #2. Gosh, she is only 4 days old and drinks so much more compare to her bro. So, bo pian, have to sub with FM.

Cynthia - Love the photos! Indeed, a precious moment captured on camera! How is your #1 taking it with #2 at home and crying in the middle of the nite?

MLP &amp; Rizty - Thanks for sharing your birth story with us! Welcome to motherhood!

Question:

Mummies, during your first 1 week after delivery, do you feel pain when you walk esp at your V to inner thigh areas? Does your hands and legs swell up like elephant legs? Wonder if its due to water retention?

starmoon - My #1 also had reflux. This worked for us. We were told to buy a baby rocker (the ones with the netting and can be reclined to 45 degrees) and to place him on it after burping him. This helps his reflux alot. Good luck!

mylittleprince,
I nv burp my ger after latch cos aft that she will be sleeping leh, then i just put her down lor..hmm....

Tera,
Jiayou ya...can understand how u feed..my MS also getting lesser now..so sian..cannot statisfy my ger lor...

hi cactus,
i think you should worry less. If you can't relax, harder to dilate. Don't be too hard up about epi. If you need it, just get it. I had similar fears as you for #1 and then #2 I was also v scared of epi because of my first experience.

Both my #1 and #2 were induced at 40wks + 3 days by breaking waterbag plus oxytocin drip. For #1, I was only 2cm dilated. #1 labour ended up 12 hrs, 1 hr pushing. #2 was like a walk in the park in comparision. I was 3cm dilated went I went in. In less than 3 hours after gynae burst waterbag, baby came out. Hubby described our baby coming out like conveyor belt, didn't need to push hard at all, out within 3 contractions, just 5 min or so. I only needed 1 stitch this time compared to #1, where I tore badly. But even for #1, I was less dilated than you, my boy was born 3.5kg, still managed to come out after 12 hrs. Everybody's body is different, as is every pregnancy. Just trust in the Lord for yours.

hi all !!
quick update : delivered on 19 June.
baby was 3.35kg, 50 cm
labour was not as short as i thought it wld be !!
but did it natural all the way !
will pop in when i'm settled at home.
we stayed for 3 days as baby had jaundice and needed phototherapy in the hospital.

All the best Cactus/MrsWRX and the others who have yet to pop !!

finally got time to login here .. how everyone?? doing fine?? me just back from kiddy, bought an avent cooler bag and a pack of the first year milk bags.. got 20% disc.. but still feel the milk bags a bit exp..
.. i find the avent via cups is better in investment to store the milk cos can be reuse.. hehe..

feifei,

how're you?

my ger this sat full month liao.. hehehe.. confinement going to end soon..
>.

K Ong,

Aprilmum,
Hows ur MS? Me hor, so little until can't even fill up a bottle..hiaz..

Me huh? tired lor...hee...but heng i been taking chicken essence so not so bad...Mine is yest lor...=)...So happy cos confinement endin gsoon liao...hee

feifei,

my MS not so much too.. everytime only like 60-100ml nia, no improvement.. cos my ger not gd in latching!!! .. so i still need to top up with formula milk for one or two feeds a day.. but is ok lah.. just give as much as we can
i'm ok with formula milk.. cos my elder also formula milk since 1st month.

Ellysia, yeah I agree with Felicia, hire a babysitter, that's what I intend to do also,
I also can't depends on my IL, also damn pek chey with them. Only knows how to carry and
play with baby, baby poo push to hb to change, machiam everything also donno.

icegal, thanks so much
Her birth weight is 3.39. If your baby jaundice, need to go under
photo lei. My gal was under photo for 2 days in hospital.

Tera, yeah, a lot of pple look like me, coz my cheeks also very chubby :p

JP, thanks

I do feel pain at the area yu mention, gynae says it's called Symphysis Pubis
Diathesis (SPD for short), it's something like the baby pushing against the pelvis bone for a
long time during labour, with painkiller, it should go away in about 2 to 3 weeks time. Swelling after pregnancy is also common, due to water retention.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, thanks. Now i'm more or least can understand b/t the pills and the drip and their's 'responsibility'. Coz i think high chance i'll be induce this week oso, so at least with some info i can discuss w my gynae. In fact my gynae was bit reluctant to induce me if i still 0cm dilate, coz he knows high chance i'll be ended up emer c-sec, but no choice oso.

ellysia, can understand ur uncomfortable feeling of letting ur baby to be taken care by a stranger but sometimes if your MIL is not so willing, then u might ended up with more probs.

aprilmum, the avent via cups can only be used to store milk in freezer up to 4 times only. Cannot keep reuse leh.

JP and Mog,
I also have the SPD pain. My gynae said that some ppl will get it after delivery.

feifei,
So u are still breastfeeding? I can only say it is very stressful and not easy, at least for me. So tempted to give up but frens keep telling me the supply will increase over time. I am going to take fenugreek and see if it improves.

K Ong,

<font color="aa00aa">Btw, anyone had mrswrx's news? I remember she's goin to induce last week, rite? not sure how is she now?!</font>

Tera, I am still on painkiller lei, worst is I still got the c-sec wound. Haizzz ... up here pain, down there also pain. I still can't really walk normally and need support.

About breastfeeding, my supply also not much. I pump about 70-80 ml in 20 mins for each time. It's so tiring I agree, so far I've not consider taking the fenugreek yet until supply still no improve for the coming week.

yo gers,
tok behind my back ah! haha.

me delivered on 21/06 sat noon! jus came back tdy, settle bb, CL here, chase my mum n mil back hm liao then can online.

20/6 late noon: was inserted pill @ clinic, then went on ctg for 1hr. mild contraction start 5mins after e pill!! 0.5cm dilated.

1hr later: send up to delivery suite n was on ctg nw n then. felt abit of contractions on n off. din notice how often but ctg machine shows contraction all e way.

21/6 mornin: was told to clear poo b4 gynae came. was on laughin gas when gynae broke waterbag. then on drip liao. ask for epi. was 4cm dilated after 23hrs!! felt intense contraction even on epi. check n fully dilate in 1hr. cal for gynae n gynae arrive to check, was ready to deliver becos bb pressin on bladder.

bb delivered in less than 5mins.

<font color="aa00aa">mrswrx, congrats! Hehe...just talk about you only, then an hour later saw ur post here.

Can i know u only insert one pill to induce, rite?</font>

felicia,
yess.... insert 1 pill onli (full tablet) then next mornin burst waterbag then on drip. doc est evenin then delivered, given tat i dilate super slowly. drag 20 over hrs stil onli 4-5cm dilate.