(2008/06) June 2008

Hi K Ong! Don't fret! Don't worrY! There's still alot of space for bb to turn back. Nothing's cast in stone yet! Your gynae is wise. best not to discuss anything incase get hopes up high. I'm also waiting for bb to be engaged first, then will talk to doctor about birth plans.. unless doctor initiates discussions first.

Ellysia,
wah... you get ur admission letter liao ah? well, my gynae will give me only when come to week 36.
well, nowadays my stomach getting heavier and bigger.... tired

hi cactus,

oh... we nv take advantage of them, abt e $40K grant on e resale flat is taken cos we bought a flat near MIL's hse. As in money matters, even our wedding is paid on our own money. I only got my maid after i got my boy which is 11/2yrs back and at e point of time MIL is already idling at home. We let MIL n SILs moved in since e day we got e flat tat time we got no maid n no kids. Watever rental my MIL get from her flat we also nv get a single cent. e only thg they pay before is during renovation n buying of furniture for e new flat 3 of them did contribute a small sum of money(which is ard $2-3K each, cant remember e exact amt). Before moving in i did told my hubby tat is good to ask SILs to contribute to some of e utilities in e hse but hubby says tat will be like he is renting e room to his sisters.
i agree tat hubby is already very good towards me cos watever i say he will stand by my side for eg. before we have maid my MIL always makes e kitchen very oily n dirty so i will ask hubby to tell SIL go clean up cos i will nv clean up a mess tat is not make by me(sorry to say tat cos even i clean e next day it will be oily again) and also hubby also got to make MIL n SIL do hsework when we are doing cos if next ask them do they wont do.... During those days me n hubby always quarrel becos of all these hsework stuff cos i cant stand seeing my hse dirty n yet ppl can just ignore.
e point tat hubby dont chase them out is becos he find tat he got to duty to look after them until they get married n also I'm e one who invite them in.

bizznow, I also missed the video and bathing of the baby coz was late by 30 mins for the 7pm class, hehehe. Hope she show us this coming Sat, must try not to be late. I asked her about the funnel and towels, she said can machine wash lei, only the disposable wipes must be hand wash.

hi serene,
thks for sharing with me ur story.... we are like sitting on e same boat but for my case at least hubby listen to me. I think now both of us can only wait till e day SILs get married or they turn till e age when they can buy their own flat as a single.

cactus,

Tats why for my eye prob tat time i also go govt cos i tot they do more research so they will have more methods. Then also good bec govt hospital bills can be charged to my company insurance. So in the end i didn't pay much.

But i dunno abt KKH service, cos my mum said the nurses who do mamogram always v rough and doesn't seem trained.. and recently my colleague also said the same thing. Though the doc who attend to my mum seems experienced. In fact he treated us pte patients better and give my mum more time and patience.

liew,

The admission letter i ask my gynae to give one. Maybe my gynae suppose to give at 36 weeks also, but its not much difference since today is ored my 34th week.

elaine and serene,

after hearing yr stories, my heart goes out for u 2.. if its me i dun tink i can tahan..
seriously i considered this kind of issue before i get married and its also one of the reasons why i didn't end up with some of my exs before. I knew my bad temper and know i can't get along well with parents in law if i stay with them together.
Both yr hb quite conventional thinking i tink, they tink they shd be responsible for their younger sis also.. am surprised cos nowadays not many guys are tat..
but then such guys are also responsible types.. both good and bad but they will be responsible hb and father too.

k ong,
don worry so much, i believe ur bb will turn down soon..

hi cactus,

ya i understand, becos of tis pregnancy n all e hormones changes i know i'm pushing him a lot recently until sometimes when i bring up abt our kids future he will faster change topic..... i know he is facing lots of pressure from me but i just cant help to think of all these thgs everyday n becos of these sometimes i will give my MIL black face for no reason.....anyway she wont dare to tell me off except to complain to my SIL. Hai..... like wat u say at least hubby loves me tat makes me stay in e hse till now.... if not i have left this family long ago cos i dont need him to survive n can always go back to my parents' hse with my boy n he will left with nothing....

cactus,

MY mum old thinking, always tink KKH is good if not then be TMC cos both specialise in gynae services.

Then again my eye doctor (who also is my mum eye doctor) has just resigned from SGH and went into private service (a private clinic outside), i dunno whether i shd go back to SGH or went to his private clinic lor. Cos this eye doc is one of the good senior consultant at SGH and not many seniors eye doc at SGH from wat i know, me and my mum still tinking whether to go back to our doc who is in pte service or go back to SGH, for checkup services.

Then again today i feel my eye problem seem to deterioate slightly.. sigh, i can't go for any checkup at the moment cos cannot do x-rays. So have to wait, and i prefer to wait until i finish BF 6mths or at least 6mths when bb issues are settle.

Ellysia,
actually i keep thinking to stay together becos i also wish tat one day if any of my brothers who get married to look after my parents n stay with them.

cactus,

actually my fingers does not bloat now. But it still hurt. so can't really tell its swelling also, but gynae said likely to be due to swelling. maybe its common problem. anyway she didn't see my fingers also.

i guess u still have to let yr gynae check lor, just to have a peace of mind. watever it is, it shd be pregnancy induced and may go away after delivery.

and my fingers will hurt the most in the morn and lesser as the hours go by. Gynae said this is so for fingers, but if leg bloat it will be opp cos it will bloat the worst at nite.

elaine,

understand.. we also dun like to be too bad to old folks too..

my brother has depression problem and sometimes my mum suggest tat if anyting happen and left my brother alone then she want me to take care of my brother, but all of them knew i am v ma fan so they didn't suggest for my brother to stay in.. and prob my bro also dun want. i dote on my bro but at the same time i also sometimes purposely dun do too much for him cos i knew its not v good for him, i.e. make him more dependent. Some things my bro also take me for granted but i will always remind him and tell him other people sis never do this etc for bro so he shd appreciate wat i doing.

yr hb way of taking care of his sis is good but it also make his sis dependent on him and they probably won't appreciate tat much also. worst i tink maybe they take for granted for such things ored.

cactus,

Since it is ored last trim and u only some weeks to go, if u can ren its better or else dunno wat medicine has any effect as wat yr hb worries has a valid point.

Gynae may still knew a bit cos may have patients who got this b4 too, and they have safe for pregnancy medicine too. tats why still need to consult them.

Hmm i tink my eye doc is dr yeo. Ya and teh facilities are good at SNEC u are right, but wat i hate most is the waiting hours. i usu wasted 3-4 hrs there.. tired.

cactus,

sometimes push men too much also no use and make them dislike us more.. tats wat i tink..
can push but maybe need technique, push a bit today then a bit tomorrow etc and need to wait one.. cannot rush.

I just tell elaine issue to my hb and i said sometimes men dun like to brew issues up, they prefer to "maintain peace" at home and they tink of such complaints as "brew things up" which they will try to avoid as much as possible. i guess it is men mentality.

OH yes, just now my gyane told me can deliver anything from 36 weeks onwards, which is my next appt liao. so i am suppose to get ready my stuff by 36-37 weeks, cannot keep tinking the date as my EDD date.

Then i realise siao liao, i haven't cut my hair, then haven't bot mattress for my mum and bro stay, haven't arrange my study room for the malay massage etc.

I haven't put out the cot mattress for cot too, haven't wash the bed sheets too.

pengz.

ellysia,
oh issit.. so we really mus get ready by 36wks.. bery fast!! this fri seeing dr wong.. my bb shld be ard the same size as urs bah..

think it will be scary when we c one mom follow by another mom giving birth n counting to our turn... mine is towards end June.. so think will see most mummies popped first.. ;p nervous, anxious, looking forward and scared.... ha ha..

My gynae also recommend Dr Ong EK as my BB PD and Dr Loh WK as my anaesthetist.

Any comments on them tat u all know of?

hi Ellysia,
Dr Ong EK is my boy PD since birth n he will be my girl's PD when she is born few wks later. He is a very nice PD but his clinic super crowded everyday n his consultation fees is slightly higher too but so far I still find tat he is good so i will stick to him for my girl.

btw Dr Ong also very good in giving jab, my boy seldom cry when he take jab when he is younger only after he is older n start to understand wat Dr Ong is doing then he start to cry when he take jab.

Felicia:

You mean you call dr ang in the morning before the clinic is opened? He is in clinic aledi meh? Or you call the emergency no?

Dr ang told me that he want to see me on 16 may cos he going for short holiday that weekend as mon is a public hol. So dun know whether will he pack too many patients on that fri before he leave for his holiday or not..

Thats interesting cos i thought fri night will have more ppl cos its evening and friday too.. Usu i will avoid evening appts to avoid crowds..

angel,

Ya, i'll try to call him before clinic open. Actually the clinic number will be diverted to his mobile if nobody pick up in the clinic. So, u can save up the nbr in ur hp , in case for any emergency.
After last Fri check up, my hubby oso save up the phone nbr, coz he heard Dr ang mentioned if got tat 3 labour symptoms we had to call him immediately, my hubby said he sound like i'm goin to delivery anytime. haha....

Ya, is quite funny tat Fri nite not much ppl leh. I remember a week before i oso was there on a Fri nite, and i met Dr Ang in the lift before 9pm. Not sure evry Fri nite oso like tat or wat.

O..he's goin for holiday? He din told me maybe my next appointment is jus exactly tat week (for 4 weeks lead time).

Catcus,

Maybe if before u sleep at nite, try to massage it for better blood circulation?

Felicia,

Haha, paiseh. I forgot liao. I only have that impression of someone suggesting Twinkle twinkle little star but dun remember who it is liao. Haiz, memory failing...

Ellysia,

Heh, good for u. U got tell your hubby to put it back for u next time when you give birth?

Elaine,

Your SIL really abit too much already. Haiz, I dunno leh. Sometimes some ppl really needs a telling off. I dunno if it'll work but I would say it's the last thing that you can do to get your way. Ever thought of scolding them? And telling them if they wanna be so selfish, you are going to make them start paying for the house. But try not to get your hubby involve in this, cos your hubby will feel very trapped in between also.

Felicia:

Oh.. I thought only the emergency no. will be diverted to his mobile.. the normal clinic no. will oso be diverted to his mobile?

Icic.. next time if i ever need to change my appt, will try out fri evening n see..

Yup. When i went for my appt today, dr ang told me that he is going for short hol after 16 May but he wants to see me 1st before he leaves..

Yesterday i was very moody coz had some disagreement with my mil. Ended up, i go to sleep at 9pm. All because of my ger.
This morning when i wake up , i find in fact yest matter was nothing serious or wat, but maybe due to preggie, tats why become very emotional and senstive. Hopefully i dont get into depression. hehe....

angel,

For emergency call i'm not sure if it'll divert to Dr Ang's hp. BUt for the clinic nbr, he's the one told me it'll divert to his hp if clinic nobody pick it up.
So, i think is better to save up the clinic nbr in ur hp as well.

Elaine,

By sharing my story, i hope you be strong for your baby's sake. We are now at the stage where we can get depression easily so don't think so much now. Where things do happen, just let your hubby handle it. Do take care.

Morning ladies! It's a rainy morning and was just thinking if it's wkend today. reality strikes tt it's a Tues!

Anyway, we have lotsa holidays in May and next Thurs is a public holiday. Woohoo! =)
Have a good day ahead!

morning ladies.

It is indeed a nice morning to sleep in, if only don't have to work. hehe.

morr,
u back at work already? How's things?

mylittleprince,
yah, me counting down to next week's PH. cannot wait!

felicia,
So feeling better liao this morning? That's good! Yah, it's all the preggie hormones kicking in, making us easily irritated and depressed. Hang in there, June's just around the corner!

<font color="ff6000">tera

yeap yeap back to work nong nong ago.. *heh*

everything is fine and shall see how long i can 'survive' working before i seek help with HL from my gynae! *lol*</font>

Morning ladies!!

Kelcqi, thanks for the suggestion! I will try to exercise my fingers before I sleep tonight!

Felicia, if anything not happy, just share with us on this forum. Sometimes, talking about it makes us feel better. Anyhow, hope you are starting to feel better now!

hi crystal
Glad to hear bb gwen is fine.. dun worry she's definitely not small... bb Isaiah also only weighs 2kg at wk 33.. so bb gwen is definitely fine!

hi angel_z
ive been on twice weekly visits since my 29wk, my gynae wanted 3 wks at first, i ask him 2 weeks can and he obliged me heee.. for sterile cotton buds, you can buy them in pack of 10 from pharmacy... it's recommended to bring a pack to hospital for delivery, so can use it to either wash the v-area/c-sect area womb, we wouldnt want the wounds to get infected...just in case hospital dun provide

hi k ong
Me same as you... bb head up also.. gynae also not discussing birth plans.. just tell me if by wk 36, dun turn head down, i prob c-sect haiz. And i ask him can he help me turn bb down, he said very dangerous for first time mtb as our muscles still very tight, so he refuse to do it...

Hi gers,
I am not working today. Gg for my doppler test in the afternoon.. Gan cheong.. Had been sneezing away since morning. Now my nose is totally blocked. Sianz..

Crystal,
Glad to hear that little Gwen is growing well. Had been praying hard that little ZuEn will grow big &amp; strong too. I guessed my doc will suggest the next course of action after looking at the doppler test results.

Elaine,
My case is different cos my parents sold the flat and we shifted in with my bro &amp; sil. So there's no where else we can move to. Moreover, my bro was the one who suggested the flat selling and shifting in then. I am 4 years younger (than my bro) &amp; my sis is 8 years younger. I dun supposed he can ask his aging mum and younger sis to move out now. My mum is always caught btw my bro &amp; us (me &amp; sis). She dotes on my bro alot. Many times, I bet my SIL felt the same way as you did. In fact, they had their 1st kid 3 years ago &amp; they just had their 2nd kid. My mum's room has been turned into a store room and she's sleeping with my sis now. I think I will oso be unhappie if I am still staying there and they start storing bb's stuff in my room. It is hard to explain. Yes, I noe it is their house and I dun contribute to them finacially but... somehow, we feel that my bro has a responsibility to take care of us (especially my unmarried younger sis, now that my Dad is no longer around) and they made that decision to let us shift in then. In a certain way, we felt like they should honor that choice and not make us feel like parasite.

roxy, If you are keen to have bb rotated downwards, you may want to ask your doctor again? Cos I understand there are some doctors who are well trained in such things (called a "version"). A muscle relaxant will be given to the mother, and the bb will be rotated.. usually around 37 weeks. Usually in OT incase bb is in distressed and needs to be born soon. If your doctor is not trained in versions, maybe he can give you a recommendation to someone who is trained? I'm not suggesting that your present doctor is not good (I'm sure he is good in other things which other doctors are not good at), but as a mother to be, we need to know what options are open to us. My understanding is there are doctors out there who will willingly rotate our bbs head down, but subject to certain conditions lah.. like bb must be 37 weeks. enough space to rotate down, and mother must be willing to acccept emergency c-section if bb in distress during rotation.

Tera/ cactus,

Thanks for ur concern. Much better this morning, hormonal problem, i think. But i dont this to bother me too much oso as i want to deliver a happy go lucky baby. hehe....

cactus,
ytdy went gynae liao, knee swollen not due to preggy leh. bb is fine n wt 1.5kg liao. sudden grow.
then he refers me to orthopaedic wo... drew 4 tubes of blood for test, if blood test is normal, then hav to draw e fluid out frm knee to test!! he cant cfm wat is e probl aso cos i no injury, not due frm preggy, no family history etc... nw hav to wait for report then can decide. haiz... on MC til thurs then go back review. nw i m practically limpin ard.

morn ladies,
wat a wet wet morn..reaally dun feel like wking..

mrswrx,
aiyoh..soounds serious..better take care..drawing fluid from knee must be real painful..i am imagining now lor..makes my whole body weaken..

Felicia, good to know you're feeling better now. hormones get to me too. I'm usually more depressed in the evenings than in the mornings. :p

Mrswrx, poor thing!! 4 tubes of blood is alot! I hope the blood tests are conclusive. the fluid from knee thing sounds scary. which hospital/clinic did your doctor refer you to?

bizznow, don't scare mrswrx leh.. drawing fluid from knee shouldn't be real painful cos local anaesthetic will be injected first. that will sting for a couple of seconds and that should be the only pain... but it's quite gross lah, and should be done by someone experienced. I'm just wondering which doctor Mrswrx was referred to...

ZuEn,
Keep us posted on little ZuEn's progress. ;)

mrswrx,
Have a good rest. Was there any medi given for your knee? Try not to move around too much for now.

mrswrx,

It sound scary to me leh. 4 tubes of blood?!
Everytime if want to draw blood i sure look else where.
So, when will your report be out?

HI elaine,

thks for your feedback on Dr Ong

Felicia,

My gynae also said if got the 3 symptons must look for her lor.. same also make us feel more gan cheong.

Kelcqi,

Yes i told hb to put back the rings for me after i give birth.

roxy and crystal,

as long as bb hit 2KG shd be fine.. dun worry.

Zu En

interesting to hear a sibling thinking..

me is eldest, so dun know wat the feeling of younger sibling. I dun tink it is the responsibility of eldest to take care of younger, if there is responsibility will be good but if not, also not obliged and can't be taken for granted.

Maybe cos sometimes i feel i also make a lot of sacrifices for my family too, eldest is quite chiam everything also must help out. haiz. Younger sibling probably won't understand much.

mrswrx,

did yr gynae tell u how he know yr knee is not due to pregnancy?

cactus,

My gynae didn't look at my fingers after i told her my fingers are bloated and pain.. but now bloatness has disappear, however still pain. hopefully nothing serious.