(2008/06) June 2008

felicia, veniz,

I also buy my desitin and first teeth from sprees here. Some times can get even cheaper ones from mummies who want to clear their extra stock.

My first desitin cost me $14 from my pd, and it's only 2oz. Spree around $9++ for 4oz.

ya, I saw at guardian first teeth selling for $21+. Then straight away I order from the spree here.

Felicia, btw, are you the one who mentioned Kiddy Palace can custom make mattress to the size we want? Yesterday I threatened my HB again, telling him I am getting restless, he will have to get all stuff asap, he went to do measurement of my baby cot, we realised the width is smaller than the sizes of mattresses available in retail, so I guess we may have to custom made this time round again, thanks to my MIL, who took our old one and gave it away.

roxy,
Thanks for the info but I couldn't help laughing when i read the TMC fair is held outside the toilet. Quite an unglam location, hehe. :p Will see if it's still there when I go for my check-up this wed.

roxy,
the nurse told me hor, take at 9am, then drink an orange drink , then take again at 11am lor..hiaz...must be starving by then...

I was ask to do the test becos my feet swelling and my weight increase 3kg fo rthese 2 mths lor...so gynae wants to confirm lor..

feifei,

When i took the test last week, i starve and feel so hungry. Immediately after the test 11.30pm, i quickly go to Delifrance downstairs to eat liao.

This is how my test is:

9.15am:- I go to clinic take blood sample
9plus: - Nurse give me orange drink and ask me to take to Doc's room to drink. I drink when go see Doc and scan bb. After scan, i went down to Delifrance with hb. Cos it is raining so we sit at delifrance while hb eat his breakfast, but i cannot eat and cannot drink anything. Only can drink plain water if want.
11.30am:- I go back to clinic 5min earlier (cos need to wait sometimes), nurse quickly take blood sample again then I can go off liao.

Tera,

I have sensitive nose so i tink i rather not go to library cos sometimes i may keep sneezing due to dust.

If possible u help me to zap, any zap cost can let me know. thks.

I only interested in the postnatal care book.

veniz, ya, bought from dramaqueen...

I ks, order from those with bigger order and those who organise many times.

scared they take money and run.

Veniz,
No, not me! Not sure was it mentioned by Crystal or Cactus. I saw the post oso.
If you wanna custom make, maybe you shld go to ask them to custom make for you since now is almost end of March aredy.

Veniz, I replied to a post from someone (can't recall who) suggesting there's no need to custom make mattress for bb cos high density foam mattress or hard spring mattress are good enough. there's really no real difference between custom make and factory produced mattresses.

Mogu and piyoz, thanks.

Felicia, I also go for those who repeat their spree orders one, at least they are reliable and won't give problems. I guess will have to go and check it out this coming weekend at Kiddy Palace Lot 1 since I going CCK. I am thinking of going to baby festive at expo but then scare too many pple (heard lots of babies contests going on). See what gal gal's daddy say first lar.

In June, when I am about to due, my hubby will be having his exams, I think he won't have time to help out. Haiz, he is now blaming me for not teaching my son english at home, when I have to do housework and am more tired nowadays. Felt so 'yuan wang' by his scolding. Yesterday, accidently pressed wrong TV station on remote control and ganna scolding from him for this small incident, heard him scolding me 'stupid' undertone, and yet when confronted him (coz he said this word when son was there) he denied flatly and told me I have problem got to see physco doc. Felt so demoralised by this small incident.

cactus, thanks for the info. Actually, I am looking at custom making the mattress because of the size, my cot is smaller than those retailed out there, thus may have to custom make the size. I will get a firm one, as for baby, they don't really have to sleep on high density foam/spring mattress. Maybe I have to search for mattress factory to custom make in case retail shops do not have.

Ellysia,
Okie, I suggest this. During Mrs Wong's class when she sells the books, I will check how much and then sms u the price. Because based on my recollection, each book is around 40-50 pages. It might make more sense to get the book in the end. Then we can work out how to proceed from there, whether to zap or buy.

Veniz, tell your hubby that u r tired and need his support also mah, esp we are approaching into our third trimster, sure more tired one. For me, I am so tired that I can't even do housework nowadays.

Veniz, you may want to go back to the place you bought your cot from, to ask where you can get suitable mattresses. You may want to check with some mattress/furniture shops at HDB estates. My mom told me last time the old chinese furniture shops will custom make cotton bedspread for bb's cot/mattress. they may custom make mattresses too.

ellysia,

you want to get the TMC books? Were you the one who pm me that you were interested? Sorry, didn't receive the money from you. So I sell to another mummy.

you can check the 'want to sell' section. there are mummies selling new copies too.

if I see any, I let you know.

States in the TMC letter each book cost $18. But can get from this forum much cheaper. Have got photos inside the book. So maybe get actual book better.

veniz,

Yes, kiddy palace can custom made mattress. Saw at the compasspoint outlet. You check from their available sizes already? They do have quite a selection of sizes available.

feifei,

Nurse say can drink plain water, but do ask yr nurse again in case will affect the results. I didn't drink plain water cos i afraid will affect the results.

Piyoz,

yes i am the one who email to you. I have been waiting for your reply but didn't receive any email, then later i forget to ask in forum who is the one who is selling ( i also forget it is you).

Only recently then i remember i ask in forum, i tot is TF who is selling.

I tot since yrs is a brand new one, so i rather buy from u.

Now i tink nevermind.. me just want the postnatal one can liao cos i ored buy 1 book on bb care (from Kino). A photocopy will do.

just want to recommend a book that I read from the library - Asian Parenting Today. Very interesting. I saw it being sold at some bookshops too.

Veniz,

Dont let tat incident affect your mood. Sometimes, i think we preggie woman tends to get more emotional as well. Discussed with your hubby and let him know you're tired. Though i had not enter into 3rd trimester, but me oledi started to feel easily tired.
I'm telling my hubby we shall go to the BB festival early morning try to avoid the crowd (hopefully), coz is a Public holiday. Normally those bb contest will held in afternoon.

Mogudog, I dun have to measurements offhand, but I had took down the availably sizes of mattresses in Kidsmall and mine is much smaller than those they have.

Cactus, I will check around the furniture shops around HDB estate if I can't find any in Kiddy palace. My MIL got someone to custom made our old mattress last time, but I am afraid getting her to help again as she wasn't very happy to help us the other time. Thanks for advice.

Piyoz, ok, will check out Kiddy Palace this sat for available size, otherwise, then will try HDB shops as what Cactus mentioned, or go back Kiddy Palace to custom made.

Mogudog, no use telling him I very tired, etc. Coz he will compare with me how tired he is, and also, he always think that I should be the one teaching and caring more for my son (traditional thinking), etc. But really, I hate this thing about telling me to go see doc since I am sick in my mind. I am his wife, currently preggie, he should know I am very sensitive at this period of time. I got a mild postnatal depression before due to his insensitive remarks and I can see that all these are coming back again. I just have to stand strong along now.

piyoz,

sob. me waiting for yr reply le. Tat time i told u i am interested to buy, ask u wat price then later no reply liao. Later i tot maybe go to my junk folder then got auto deleted. I went to find around inbox cannot find and junk mail folder also dun have. Then i forget who liao. More blur during pregnancy le.

ellysia,

the tmc books no postnatal care leh. You referring to the childcare book?

I got one more book "What to expect in the First Year" from Times. Find it useful. Cos go by each month of the baby's development. GSS, they usually have 20% sale. can consider.

I bought their "What to expect when you are expecting" too. also go month by month into the pregnancy.

tera,
no problem. Got cheap deal must share. But you must check if it's new copy or not.... or any other considerations that you have, before paying.

ellysia,

I email you the price and bank account leh..... then you never reply. I also very sad.... sob sob....

hee.... heee.... miscommunication lah. my email don't know fly where.

If I see people selling the tmc childcare book, I'll remember to inform you.

But actually the childcare book quite brief only. Good for generally reading. But to find specific details for each sickness, I find it quite vague.

Veniz,

My mum also got post-natal depression after giving birth to me. Tat time she visited many doctors and spend a lot of $$ seeing doctor but also no use. My dad wasn't v supportive tat time too, sometimes quarrel. She manage to overcome without taking any medicine, though sometimes i tink she is a bit over-sensitive lah and maybe still have some mild depression on and off. My mum said most impt is self must stay strong lor.

Dun worry and dun bother too much abt yr hb comments.

piyoz,

The post-natal book is on childcare?? I tot is post-natal care for ourselves?

If it is on childcare only, then i dun need the book liao. The book i bot from kino is on child care though it is U.S. based.

ellysia,

Ya, as the TMC books are very concise written, I find for childcare wise, the 'What to expect in the First Year' is much better as I have both books. If you want, Tera can zap for you, otherwise, I can zap the TMC book in office then post to you, see if you are ok with the zapped copy or not.

Ellysia,
No prob, I tonight go back check and update u.

Veniz,
Hang in there and share ur frustrations here if it makes u feel better. We preggies, tend to be more emotional now. And then our hubbies, maybe overwhelmed by their own work frustrations, can be a little unsensitive towards our feelings. So do cheer up, ok? *hug hug*

ellysia,

ya, tmc book on childcare. No post natal on mummy.

veniz,

pat, pat.... must be strong. Ignore your hb's comments. they always have their insensitive times. My hb also scold me stupid even though I scolded him and told him not to don't know donkey times.

Ellysia,

In fact, for post natal blues, its similar to normal depression, medication may not help as I feel most impt is as you mentioned, ownself medication. That's why I mentioned have to support my own and be strong by myself, treat this as a learning stage for self-independence. HB is I choose one, even though during dating such flaws are not being shown till after we got married, guess its of different family upbringing. His family members on and off will say crude remarks so I have to practise shutting my ears to them and educate my son not to be so much like them in this manner.

As for TMC books, they do have one about breast feeding, you want? I always come to office an hour earlier, so can zap without letting colleagues seeing what I am doing.

I've just added two files to the yahoo group....

one on Chinese Herbs for Confinement.

one on baby's weight week by week through the pregnancy..... can show you all the file here...
1302844.jpg

veniz,
*hugs hugs* cool down 1st then ve a word wif yur hb, tell him how u feel abt wat he said n tat u do feel offended. also not nice for him to say such things in front of yur son. in the meantime, vent to us here, okie....

<font color="ff0000">thanks star for the update.. its for isetan scotts outlet?

the limited stocks u saw got turqiose colour?

where they place the stocks? near any particular brand?</font>