(2008/06) June 2008

iamsnow,
yah..can be put inside freezer one..i also dunno leh..my fren said normally 1 storage bottle not enough..so use via cups lor..

felicia,
ooh..1 set of 9oz Avevnt bottles is $36.72 ah?? consider cheap?

roxy,
then u juz wait n c wat the doc said lor..

Bizznow,
I am using NEPIA for my gal. This round I will be also ordering direct. Its cheaper & soft. Some bb can be even sensitive to Pampers this brand so no harm trying NEPIA ( frm japan).

Hi Five Felicia,
I didnt use steriliser too hehehe MIL also find it troublesome. I shall see if this round going to buy or not cos used to do the traditional method boiling! My frd using pigeon and she say v convenient. Able to steriliser max 8 avent bottle. She didnt buy avent steriliser cos too exp..

bizz,

Normal price for 9oz is
$17.2 for double
$23.30 for triple

So, 8 pcs at $36.72 seems like very very cheap leh. A bit unbelievable!

iamsnow,
Storing BM. I using avent bottles lo. Cos the cup is disposable & not worth the value. I also buy avent BM bag. I not sure if this round bb fair selling or not lo. Use & throw & cheaper alot. Bag is used to store BM which can be keep in freezer max 4mths. Bottles can just place in the fridge separate compartment 48hrs. FYI.

felicia,
wah..cheap leh..i did the calculation..it's almost 40% disc lor..maybe we can buy 1 pack n share with those who want the bottles as well..

felicia, cynthia,

I started off the traditional way of boiling to sterilise my bottles too. But it takes very long, 10 min ++ for water to be boiling, then another 10 min for the bottles to stay in boiling water. 20 min must stand in front of the stove. Plus it's very warm. Especially during confinement when we can't shower as freely. Then have to continously stir the bottles, if not will melt. I melted some Avent covers.

Bought the Pigeon Sterilizer after a while, and steriling became such a breeze. Just put in, press button, then can leave the kitchen.

Pigeon steriliser better. Cheaper plus can take any brand bottles/ breast pumps. Avent sterilizer can only take Avent products.

Cynthia,

VIA cups cannot store in freezer rite? Cos I heard some mummies told me their cups break when store in freezer

bizznow,
My previous Aug forum mummies plenty of us also using Nepia. Feedback very good. If order direct cheaper than buying at NTUC & NTUC not all branch have NB. I cant recall NB how many pc but cost $15 standard for all sizes. If phone in buy direct min purchase of 4packets & delivery to ur hse within 3working days. Sat is the most busier.

Felicia,
Ya sometime if buy den MIL dono wan to say what again & blame us from wasting $$$. Unless ppl send as gift hehehe

Kelcqi,
I nv try using VIA cup. So I not sure whether they can tahan in freezer. But since its disposable & pricing not so cheap i didnt purchase it lo. Using disposable avent liners works better i believe.

Juz came back from taka fair. I din really look thru the whole fair as I have most of the baby stuff. A good buy would be Pigeon sterilizer cum warmer cum starter set at $150. There is 20% off all pigeon pdts. I din view Avent as I dun use their pdts, sorry.

kelcqi,
my fren said can leh..she put b4 inside the freezer..

cynthia,
but if order direct must order 4pkts ah?? maybe i try buying 1 pack 1st lah..if bb likes it then i will buy direct..hehe..thks ah..

This is the disposable liner i refer to. Come with bottle where u can express BM into.

1284640.jpg

bizznow,
Yap min order of 4 packets. If you want can check with other mummies here & share among. Another alternative way is to buy from NTUC & try 1st. At the moment all the feeback are ok and didnt heard from any bb using sensitive etc. Just sharing

Muffin,
Pigeon steriliser as what u mention as a package, other than this, DO they just sell separately like only steriliser come with bottles or other package?

cynthia,
the liner is a bag is it?

how does it work? we transfer the BM into the bag and freeze, then unfreeze liao then pour back to feeding bottle???

piyoz,

You din had to stand in front of the stove, just put all the bottles in and on the stove. Then go back to look after 10mins, when water is boiled, off it and throw in the teats and oth plastic type material. Then u can left it there for another few mins before go bak to take out.

Kelcqi,
Yes, the Via cup can be put inside the freezer. My friend is using it now.

Cynthia, I think now Avent dun have this product anymore. The new ones I saw online is liners in cup form. Can use with the bottle?

Bizznow,

Really ah, cos one mummy told me to buy bags better. But now buy Via cups, they don't hav the adaptor. I called up Avent last week, they said now the VIA cups with adaptors out of stock...

Kelcqi,
Not selling? Hmm really? Last time I bought in Taka fair so I not sure this round will they bring in the stocks or not. Liners in cup form? eh... nv use before.. cos since e last time i BF abt a yr back liao hehehe.. didnt really update myself with e new products except using what i mention lo. I not sure if other mummies here know about this liners in cup form??? Hehehe paisay...

iamsnow,
This is liner. Like a mini bag. They come with a bottle whereby u slot in e liner & express ur BM & tie it store in freezer. Also come with stickers to write when you express to keep track of the date. When you going to use it, bring out of the freezer let it defroze (no microwave). After that u can pour into the feeding bottle. REMBER whenever after defroze or out from fridge, bb cant finish don store back. DIscard any residue.

I bought liners with the ziplock bag sort of thing - Medela sells them. To use avent bags need to buy clips.I'm not sure if they still sell the avent bags though but they definately don't sell the clips anymore. couldn't find them.

Erm.. i'm not sure if we're talking about the same type of liners, but the old Avent liners that I have have the instruction that if we use to store frozen milk, need to pack through 2 layers. medela, only 1 piece of liner even if want to freeze.

I tink i am most ke lian. Work like mad today.. so tired now.

Just read the postings. Looks like the pump at Robinsons sale is worth it. I hope it won't go out of stock later. Tink i will go over to take a look, bec' if PIS has big discount i will buy that instead of Ameda.

Tera,

the $512 price for PIS is at Taka or Robinsons?

Thanks for the suggestion, Cynthia. I just returned the bags to my SIL who gave them to me. Bought Medela instead, cos more convenient. Also, the old bags my SIL gave me required me to use 1 liner over another if I wanted to freeze milk.. I thought it was wasteful.

Reminder,
Those who intend to use bottles remember to buy sealing disc.

cactus,
Medela i think is 1 piece as what my frd done last time. when i use avent also 1 liner. But i think as what they mention avent liner not selling liao.

cynthia
yes they do sell seperates but no other package. So I end up only buying only the sterilizer and warmer as I hv lots of bottles.

Cynthia, yeah.. Medela is 1 piece only for freezing. I think Avent (at least the type bought 2 years' ago) bag is 1 piece for storage, 2 pieces for freezing.

muffin,
Oh separate.. means steriliers with 20% discount? Or just normal price?

bizznow,
Eh I dono hw to explain over here. When we express our BM to our Avent bottle (for eg), of cos we store in the fridge without e teats cos not v hygiene. So we take off the teats & place e sealing disc instead. Did I explain ok? hehehe

The $512 pump is at Robinsons.

TF asked me a qn which I am also not sure. Hope you all can help. The qn is can babies sleep on soft mattress?

Let me try.. .

bizz now, a sealing disc is just a round plastic piece which slots nicely over the bottle. If we want to feed the bb, we just remove the slot, and replace it with the teat. Then can feed.

Soft mattress? How soft? I buy those normal mattress from kiddy palace to place on my previous playpen. If wanted to buy can invest more exp one will b Baby Safe. I bought their pillows for my gal.

Cynthia,
The sealing disc u mentioned is those round type of thin dics which cover under the teat, rite?
But i tot this disc normally will come together with the bottles. I saw that in Avent bottles oso.

Tera, my understanding is bbs should sleep on firm mattresses and not soft mattresses. It's okay to sleep on softer spring mattress but not on soft foam mattress. In the hospital, babies are place on hard surfaces (like a taut plastic sheet pulled from end to end). Firmer mattresses are safer for bb but make sure it will contour to bb's body shape. Also, another thing is, bbs are not supposed to use pillows until 1 year old, although there are pillows in the market for bb who are 6 months and above. Bearing this in mind, if the mattress is too soft, bb's head may sink down and may choke on own milk/vomit cos it will flow back.

i jus came back frm taka bb fair... was ther ard 11am... early bird so not crowded.
most items on 20%, taka cardholder NO additional discount, onli acc points.
i was ther to check on prices for strollers. few brands available: graco, combi, aprica, pre perego, quinny, maclaren n some smaller brands. the stall wif quinny, pre perego, macalren, indi is BB hypermkt @kaki bukit. the staff told me, they offer slightly betta prices than kaki bukit.

saw 3 brands of bb dish rack. safety 1st n 2 other brands (din take note of branding..kekeke) but prices cheapest is safety 1st @ ard $8.40, e other brand nearer to big TV ard $15, and 1 ang mo brand nearer to cashier @ $27.

pigeon ster sellin @ $149 - incl ster, food warmer, starter kit, 2 bottles... same package as robinson n isetan.

spend $50 n above, 1 chance of lucky draw.. 1 goodie bag given @ e lucky draw counter. (goodie bag items: 1 blue bb top n btm, 1 hanki, 1 medicine spoon, 1 colorin bk, 1 small pkt of wet tissue n few other things)

Tera,

Ya, i agreed with Cynthia, better buy good quality mattress for the baby. I oso buy Baby safe mattress and pillow for my girl.
Btw, Baby Safe will had a booth at Baby festival, do tell TF.

Felicia,
Its like a rubber form. Got sell separately i think cost about $2.80 for 2 pcs. I not sure if all come with avent bottles as last time i bought they don come wit it.....

Felicia, the sealing discs only come with storage bottles. not feeding bottles. For avent, their storage bottles and feeding bottles are the same size but some parents may want to also have sealing discs for the feeding bottles too so there are more "storage" bottles.

mrswrx,
U saw 3 bb dish rack? I only saw 2 the safety 1st n the munchkin one at 15. Is the other one prince lionheart (something) brand? I was looking for that!

Bizznow,

Sealing disc for Avent is to transform the bottle teat to a flat cover. Those milk storage bottles all comes with sealing disc. Dun really know how to explain to you so you gotta see for yourself to know. http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/BMilkContainers.aspSorry leh.
http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/SCF143_06.asp
Cant help much here.

Cynthia,
I stroll through Avents website, no more storage bags already. I got a few pass down storage bags, but no clips, I also dunno how to use.

Tera,
For I start i didnt let my gal sleep on pillow. So maybe u can consider using diaper cloth (about 2-3pcs) fold. In the market they also sell those pillow with hole. Normally when my gal sleep she sleep on e diaper cloth instead of pillow. When pillow came in is after feeding about 10mins, place her on pillow to prevent vomit milk as NB reflex is different & will vomit milk easily. That why we are only advisable to lay them flat at least 30mins later.

I agree with cactus. I only start using pillow for my gal when she turn 1yr old. As bb neck are still v soft so doesnt really need pillow to sleep.

So invest in a better mattress to let bb sleep comfortable too yeah.

Kelcqi,
Oh ur storage bag is which brand? I never try other brands before and not sure if the method can be same as what i use last time with Avent hehehe. Last time when clips spoil i use rubber band. Some say can use those wire (like those we used to tie up wire v soft one) But I never try. I think Ikea sell clips..

i din check on avent or breast pumps cos not buying them... gotta wait for other mummies to update for u gers.

pigeon bottles cleaner ard $17, refill bottle cleaner pkt 2 for $17.50, wet tissue 3 for $10.10. generally, not veri good bargain.

im lookin for e followin strollers tat y take note of e pricing. in case any1 interested in e followin strollers:
maclaren xlr - $567.80
pre perego p3 '07 pure - $468 (onli color)
pre perego p3 '08 - $558
quinny buzz '08 - $934
quinny zapp '07 - $588 (wif maxi cosi infant car seat)
graco stroller - $399/$439(wif infant car seat)