(2008/06) June 2008

piyoz,
Wow, steady wor..hehe...hope i can use mine for long too =D..hee

Shirley,
I would recommend u to attend Mrs Wong Boi Boi's class at TMC. I attended her class and benefited alot lor...she is a nice lady =D...Tink u hv to call TMC Parentcraft for infor on the rates liao..

JL = John Little =D

morning ladies!

thanks to all who went for the sale and gave real time update on prices....

i saw in the straits times today that robinson & ck tang having sales on bb items. those who intend to get avent manual pump can get a good deal at ck tang i think.

also saw in the papers a full page adv on taka fair. stated there are some offers only over this weekend.... not sure whether it's worth it. coz i only glanced thru. did not take a real good look.

seems like most of u have already bought your pumps. jia lat. I'm still lost over what pump to buy... PIS is definitely out of budget.

kelcqi,
the isetan sale is at parkway only? or also at scotts? ends on sat ar? I want to see capella strollers leh....

Morning gals

Feifei
U really Man Zai Er Gui. Pei Fu your shopping y'day wif 4 bags
Somemore attending class thereafter!

Veniz
R u a NUK fan? I am since hoping to breastfeed. Even then, i didnt get the teats or bottles yet cos if i'm a believer of breastfeeding (hope there's milk supply), I shd believe i dun nd milk bottle so urgently, so maybe during the GSS will have another chance of 20% + 15%. Will update u if come across any NUK items in mkt tat's cheap. Have you consider to get the one wif wide mouth or narrow one?

Ellysia
Keep your faith in the PIS Advance, still have time to hope for a better px somewhere.

Sweat not, no hurry on the Taka sales since until 23 March, unless u r trying to get those from today's advert wif while stock last promo.

iamsnow,
u mean this wkend hv more sales at bb fair?

DUn panic ger, really hv to buy according to budget wor...I also on budget side so bot the MEdala mini electric pump =D..hee

hi kelcqi,
I use rubber band b4 never leak. Last time i also have clip so ok.
Any mummies giving birth at mt alvernia? They wil give us free baby bath tub upon discharge! I been using til now yeah.

feifei,
i saw in the papers leh. can't be wrong....

ya, i will stick to budget. will go taka sales to use up my taka vouchers. coz considered free mah. haha.... the rest, just wait for sales and buy a bit here and there....

Heard tat the hospital provide 1 free pkt of diapers for new born, how abt Maternity pad, do they provide or do we have to get it ourselves? If to buy, how much do we really need?

Y'day, came across the Maternity pad, Kotex wif loops or adhersive and I ask the lady on what circumstances to use. She explain that for normal delivery must use Loop cos can't wear panties aft delivery.

I read that the lochia will flow heavy on 1st 2-3 days, so wonder will 1 pack of loop (10pcs) + 1 pack of adhersive be sufficient?

TF,
hee..no choice lor cos wan to quikcly settle those items..so now most of my bb tings bot liao..next mth will be buying all the herbs etc since my edd is 29th May, worried might be early and tummy will be too heavy to walk..yest when i went home, legs swell big big..hiaz...

Wats the promo today?

Yesterday i just received my gynae called, they ask me to prepare deposit delivery charges liao.. they said ard 29-30weeks sure will collect. Times flies... suddenly i start to scare liao...:p

iamsnow,
since u hv taka vouchers, go taka see lor...U intend to get single or duo pump? if u dun mind the mini eletric to be noisy, thats wat i read frm other threads, can buy the mini lor, =D.

TF,
I heard hospital provide maternity pads, but hor, quality like not bery gd leh, will leak one wor...got a fren even told me when one lady standup, her AF dip onto the flr lor..so malu lor...I bot the kotez maternity pads yest...those belt type on 10pcs for $1.40, saw they hv those paste one, $5+ i tink..

I bot 3 packs of the loop maternity pads since its so cheap...

On Home page 18:
For Fri to Sun specials--
1) Graco Bassinet Play Pen (UP $299) - $179 (Ltd 50 pcs)
2) Nania Driver Car Seat (UP239) - $149 (While stk last)
3) Aprica Nelccobed Stroller (UP 869) - $399 (While stk last)

TF, yes, I am a NUK fan, as following the trend of my husband's side. I will be getting the narrow neck bottles and teats as they are much cheaper than the new wide neck ones. Their bottles can last for quite long, only that we have to change teats frequently (as apply to all other brands as well) for hygiene and safety purpose.

One thing no so good about Nuk is that as teat is flat, when baby sucks hard, the milk flow may be slow. But I always cut my son's teats (when he is older) to like cross shape so when he sucks hard, the milk will flow out faster accordingly.

As for maternity pads, have you seen the Taka fair selling 'Kotex' pink package maternity pads (tie string type)? So far from my understanding is that TMC and Gleaneagles will provide 1 pkt of the same brand, the hospital will also provide the string for you. I had came across a couple of mothers who have too much flow, they finished the maternity pads provided before they left hospital. Maybe you may want to pack a few more sanitary pads for your hospital stay and if not enough, then get family members to go back take the rest.

Feifei
Ya, I had wanted to buy the pad too. But duno how many pkt of loop or adhersive to get, so tot no hurry n find out first
At tat time also almost bgt the huggie, then tot later if i sign up the magazine in Expo, got some more huggies, so hold my decision :p

liew,
so fast they collect liao? can pay by credit card? me yest wk 28 liao...fast lor..i also scare..esp after viewing the BF video yest...Mrs Wong showed us all the diff type of engorgement B*****...some really swell til so bad leh..really lor...Was taught to buy big cabbage and wash it clean..put abt 6 pcs in a plastic bag and put into e fridge for 10mins, after that, put in onto our boobs, then milk will start to come out, and no more engorement liao..

TF, I tried to grab a copy of The Straits Times this morning but very fast no more. I am looking at nania car seat but the $179 one, and the $399 Aprica stroller (only black available). Asked my bro to help me chip in the stroller he just laughed. Maybe should tell him next time all these will be passed to him so he will chip in as half gift?

Veniz
Abt Flat teat -- Did you use the Large hole size for the milk or despite tat still very little milk flow? Understand the smaller hole size for water n bigger for milk. So base on your experience, shd we even get small hole, or just get medium (water) n large (milk). U refer to BM or FM?

Abt wide neck-- I heard the wide neck one is to prevent the baby from biting the teats (in mouthful) cos the narrow neck is easier. Is it true base on your experience?

Pads -- in tat case, I get 1pkt of loop and later nt enuf then just go provision get the adhersive.

feifei,
yes. tomorrow will going down for mthly checkup 29weeks while pay for the deposit loh.. my gynae only accept cash and nets cannot pay by credit cards. meanwhile they will give me the gynae delivery charges list.

TF,
hehe...ya lor, if sign up at the Expo fair, can get 3 jumbo packs of Huggies lor..tink sure alot of ple one lor..But too bad I can only go on the 2nd day leh..Was tinking of asking for S and M size for the diapers..hehe...

Veniz,
hi ya...Ya lor, i also scare my flow alot so bot 3packs to standby since its so cheap =D...

Veniz
Gd idea huh, is he married already? I saw the Aprica models y'day, tot it would be steadier than Combi, but didnt expect it to be so flimsy still leh. Cos I wnt stoller that can Reverse the handle bar + 360 turn on 4 wheels + light (less than 5kg) -- 3 main criteria. And Aprica's less than 5 kg ones 360 turn only on 2 wheels. So may end up on Combi miracle turn.

feifei,
think most of the gynae will collect ard 650dollar.

i'm also bought 2 big pack of drypers and mamy poko diapers liao (s/m).

TF, dun buy large. from my experience, I bought a no of large ones, the flow very fast. My son could catch hold of the fast flow and almost choked on his milk (I also added 1 or 2 scoop of cereal in milk for him and flow is still very fast). Even now, he is 4yrs old, I dun think he can handle the flow from large hole. Best to get, when baby young, use small hole, then around 3-6mths, use M size. If still have difficulty to suck, cut a bit near hole lor.

I am trying to BM now, coz my hb 100% support BM (he won't allow me or my mum give son FM when he was back from hospital to home as I no BM supply, and told me quick quick do Breast Feed. But son very stubborn and impatient, refused to suck till more BM, so in the end, hb give way to all my relatives who told him son already lost weight have to drink at least some FM. So I pumped out some BM give him occassionally). This time round, I am prepared to try all the way BM for my gal.

hi all...
good morning... today no mood to work... so thot i will come in here to chat for a while.... so busy lately...

btw, on the topic of bfg, a fren of mine strongly recommended this book call The Ultimate Breastfeeding Book of Answers by Dr Jack Newman. she said this book is very useful and informative and helped her alot when she was bfg. i believe it will be good for us to read up before we give birth too.

Veniz
Thanks. Informative to hear fr your NUK experience. Wat abt the narrow base teats? Does your son really easier bite on the mouthpiece, as in the teats get broken at the base part since u used the narrow one (compare to the more expensive wide base)?

About the maternity pack, last time I ks brought one whole packet go hospital as standby. I couldnt even finish the hospital free pack, so bring them home again. I suggest, bring a few individual pads (around 3) from home, use the hospital free pack first, if going to finish, ask your hb go home and grab some more over to hospital lar, better this way. Most impt is, don't pack too much things over, coz when come back, have to carry more things (incl Baby and goodie bags, also incase pple give you hamper gifts, etc).

hi mrsqrx, crystal, tera and all mummies
My gynae finally called back ydae abt 6plus... told me same thing as nurse, said more likely stomach upset.. wait and see if today still got pain then go see him today... Praise God, pain is gone.. this morning suddenly got abit of pain too but went to have diarhoea then it's ok, so i guess i ate someting upset that didnt suit me...all these while bb has been quite active in wiggling and kicking so i guess he's safe.. thanks for everyone's concern

Wow, so many posts on the taka, JL and robinsons fair... so in the end, is it worth it to go down to buy? Im going later, not sure whether to go JL/robinsons first then taka coz thinking of comparing prices.. or no need to compare? Thanks, i'll go grab a copy of straits times...

Wow TF, Graco playpen got sale ah? Last time me and hubby saw, very tempted to get it liao coz it's red and so nice!! And the changing station is much higher than other playpens...

Feifei, btw is the medela mini electric pump that you bought better or ameda? I was tinking of buying ameda but seems like no offer....

TF, no my bro is not, but planning to. But then he will only plan to have kids maybe 3yrs later lor. I have 1 combi lightweight (4.3kg), not the new 360deg turn one, but front wheels can turn 360deg. When I keep, I have to use two ways of folding and clicking it shut, so a bit mafan. Also, my mil misused it (she very rough one lar), the wheels are not as strong as before. I test push and fold aprica one at the fair yesterday, it was quite good, more steady than my old combi.

For the narrow teats, as my son does not have bitting habit, very seldom the teats will get broken. Even when he is teething, so far the teats are quite strong, also to replace narrow teats, as they are cheaper, the replacing will not cost much lor.

Feifei, TF said you were at the fair when I called her, as I do not have you contact no, didn't contact you. A lot of preggie ladies there yesterday. Some non preggie very rough, bump into me, majim like at pasarmalam rush here and there to find lelong stuff.

hey ladies,
finally finish reading all the posts..i went to taka fair yday also..i dunno is it gd buy or not lah..cos nvr check around for prices..hehe..but i bought a few items lor..

items bought:
1) 2 packs of 42 breast pads from pigeon ($8 each)
2)1 bottle of liquid detergent from pigeon plus 8packs of refill (haha..kiasu hor..cos my fren told me worth buying..so i buy lor..)
3)pigeon air-filled mat (not sure if dat;s the correct name) for $9.90
4)1 pack of pigeon cotton ball
5)avent steriliser for $136 which comes with 1 pacifier, 1 9oz bottle, 1 4oz bottle and a brush
6)additional 9oz and 4oz milk bottle from avent
7)avent via cups with lids for $17.50

i was looking @ the pumps from avent..there's a package sales for the manual 1 which comes with the storage bottle..inside got a few items..cant remember liao.. but i am more interested in the manual pumps with the via cup..cos it comes with the adaptor which i think it's out of stock @ the moment if u want to buy the adaptor separately.. but i didnt buy the pumps yet..cos yday my fren told me dat doesnt mean got big boops then hv milk supply 1 hor..so i think think think..better dun buy 1st lah..i wanna make sure i really got supply then i buy..oh yah..another thing is that hor..if u buy $120 worth of avent products u can get a free pillow or bolster for ur bb..but i 4get to get from the sales person yday..

hey iamsnow,
i didnt buy the starter kit for the avent bottles cos my fren bought the steriliser set for me as a gift.. hehe..but i can tell u wat's inside the starter kit lah.. there's 2 9oz bottles, 2 4oz bottles, 2 additional teats for newborn, 1 bottle brush and 1 pacifier for $36.72.

Veniz
Ya, i will bring few pieces to hospital. Ha, my bro also nt married yet. He's still long way, waiting to get hitch first. Aiyo, really the Combi material nt gd huh, still the airplane aluminium in Aprica thumbsup tho flimsy. Let me see if i can source for less than 5kg n all 4 wheels turn. Do u knw Aprica has the showroom at Tagore Lane? Ok, i will stay to narrow teats then, save my $.

Ha, those not preggie ladies in taka are actually once preggie, i guess. So KS, nt tat the sale is fantastic. Maybe the do during their lunch hour.

Roxy
Yes, I like the Gracco playpens too. Very tempted to get but each time i wnt to get big item, my mum will comment no where to put, sigh. Y'day was just telling my hubby i feel so miserable tat i cant enjoy setting up a nursery for my baby. Maybe is the "nesting" phase of a motherhood that we are going thru b4 the delivery.

roxy,
I duno abt ameda pump wor cos i din see e pump yest...bwt, JL n Robinsonx sales ended yest leh...Taka onli hv Medala booth wor...Relieved dat u are ok now..try to eat someting light...

Veniz,
ya lor...=D..hehe...TF called me lor so we met up awhile then shop for our own things..then met up at Robinsons again..hehe =D...ya lor, so rude de hor..

feifei, TF,
I oso heard that the pads provided by the hospital not as good. My friend who just gave birth says no need those loop ones. Just get those night use, heavy flow, extra long ones will do. But if heavy flow, will have to change very frequently.
Any experienced mummies can advise if can wear panty after normal delivery? If possible, I would hope to opt for those pads with adhesive and wongs.. more secure. Hehe.

iamsnow,
I go and flip papers later and see if there's anything on robinson & ck tang sales.

roxy,
I am oso looking at ameda pump. If no offer anywhere, I will get it from mumsfairy.

TF, my bro choice of bride is not what we like, but then we have to give them blessing if they really in love together (I am just afraid this gal is just after nationality status). Combi is quite good lar, maybe from start my MIL already very rough, thus not consider well maintained. I do not know about Aprica showroom, but I am always looking around for their discounted range of strollers. No point going there, look and going yaya over their 1k range coz i will not even buy.

feifei, so good that you managed to meet TF. Till date I haven't really meet up with any of you MTBs. Heehee, maybe no fate.

iamsnow, cotton balls are very important leh. for cleaning newborn baby's face when they are bathing, cleaning the cord area with medicated lotion, etc. Also, if for gals, clean their viginal area.

Hi Liew,
So fast ur gyane collect fees? Hmm which gynae u visiting? I tot normally deposit is collect upon you admitted to hospital for the bed you choosen and after that all the gyane charges will be calculate accordingly lo... My last birth was also this way. Cant recall around week 32, gynae will ask which hospital choosing & fill up a form to notify the hospital. After that hospital will call mi up to double confirm the room. Ard 36weeks, gynae gave mi a form to standby anytime going to delivery just bring to hospital for admission, that is all.. till pay deposit, final interim bill will churn out upon discharge.

iamsnow,
You can also buy those whole roll of cotton & tear fit them accordingly to ur prefer size & put in a container. That is what I do when I am very free. If not I will use My facial cotton as & when lo.

Cynthia, I like your idea. I think it's good!! I'll probably buy a whole roll + the flat facial cotton. Think the flat type is easier to clean surface area. the balls are easier to clean around the creases of the skin.

Cynthia, I used to do that before i gave birth to #1, then later, gotten lazier and lazier, so we went to buy those from giant, which was cheaper. Heehee, I was fun to tear from the whole roll when thinking of it.

Veniz,
Hehehe normally 1st birth is always a difference frm the second one i think.. this round preg with 2nd seems not as anxious or as excited OR even to really prepare any stuffs cos usig back and thus save $$$ too... now sometime I still tear & roll & my gal she will be beside me messing up everything! Hahaha. Fun!

Just happen to come across Robinson sales on today straits time. Avent VIA pump come witha package costing $150 include wipes, bottles, starter kit. Seems quite worthy too!

Later gg to Taka bb fair.. wonder any more great deals hehehe.. believe alot mummies gg today too oh..

Cynthia, ya lor, it seems low tune now with 2nd preggie. But I am still trying to get a no of those front buttons romper for my going to be newborn baby. I used to let my #1 wear those 'head in first' rompers and found those difficult to wear. Yesterday at Taka, those front buttons ones not many, even tie blouses are for bigger babies. I do think my gal will be small size thus looking for NB size only.

About the cotton, its fun if we have our #1 helping, but hor, later the spares cotton flying around the house, have to clean up. Haha, I won't think of doing it with my son.

YOu enjoy your shopping then!

Hi.

I'm from Jan 2008 MTB thread.

I have a small tube of Medela PureLan 100 nipple cream for sale. Still have more than 80% left. Bought at $9.10. Now selling at $6 plus 6 pcs of Avent breast pads FREE! Payment by bank transfer & postage will be at $0.80.

Interested party pls PM me.

Imsnown, Feifei,

Isetan sale at Scotts is on 13th March. Capella strollers, I saw it at Isetan parkway, but dunno isetan scotts carry them or not. This weekend if I go see, I update u again.

Cynthia, I try to find the clips see can find or not. Else really bo bian hav to use rubber bands. I have ard 40 bags, should be enough rite?

Veniz,
Oh u didnt see any open front button ones? Front button is of cos alot easier to dress our NB till they reach 2-3mths den frm head in first. I stil have some left & recently jus discard those very old & dirty as all are pass down.. Thought of getting more later... hmm think go kiddy palace instead or Bugis liao.

Kelcqi,
40 bags shld be more than enough. When really need to have more can still buy after birth so not to worry.

hi girls...
i understand a number of u were looking for the kodomo wipes at watsons a while ago... i jus came back from Holland V watsons... there are stock there.... jus in case any of u wld like to buy...

hi feifei,
txs for yur concern, start to feel a little bit of movement at extreme rite of tummy yd nite, keeping my fingers cross n monitoring still.

i just saw my colleagues received OG member voucher for Next week OG member sales.then you all know what...Pigeon Steam Sterilizer only 97.90dollar. (include 2 milk bottles)... so cheap nia~

Cynthia, for the rompers with front buttons one, not many there, otherwise is they are bigger in size. But if you are looking for two pcs type, blouse and shorts, they have quite a no there, some are like $10 for 3pcs. I never get, only got two shorts and 1 romper set from elle ($8.00/pc) as the material is soft. My son's old clothes, my MIL refused to take out for me now (store in high high place in her storeroom). She said when time is nearer, she will take them out and wash till clean clean for me, so now have to base on my memory to agar agar buy the no of pcs really needed.

For front buttons rompers, I find buying from BP here is much worth it. So I will wait for some mummies to post their BPs these few mths.

Soyabean, thanks for the info.