(2008/06) June 2008

lala,
u already know what u going to buy? i still clueless. I only know I have one entire list to buy. I have almost 0 items now. haha....

Hello mummies-to-be..

is any of you planning to use traditional diapers for your bb? how much napkins you plan to get? On second thought, feel like letting our bb use diapers all the way.. use and throw away.. but do we really save a lot if we use traditional diapers?

tera..U sound so cute.. just like reporter...

felicia, count me in as well.. im on leave tomorrow but today already super no mood liao, if only i could take leave today too and be at taka fair now..

crystal... congrats that everything is fine with your bb. Thanks for educating us... wow your gal is really quite big her for weeks gestation and so envy you only put on so little weight..

Can I ask you all whether have you have felt baby's movement every 1 second a light thud (just like your own heartbeat) near low pelvic area and lasts for 2 min at least. I had very bad stomach pains ydae, duno was it cramps or bowel movement, prayed and the pain went away. Then this morning, I suddenly got this consistent thudding in lower tummy area which i never encountered before.. at first i thot it was my own heartbeat but when i checked my wrist, my heartbeat dun correspond to the thudding. Was it baby having hiccups or was it my bloodflow to to the womb? Anyone experienced this before?

Felicia,
Need your advice since you are prob the most experienced here, hehe. My coll was recommending me to get around 4 bottles (the 4oz ones). Do u think that's enough? As for the teats, do I need to get additional or just 4?

roxy,

I always feel thudding at lower tummy area.
If u feel v fast beat and repeatedly, maybe is bb hiccups.

Tera,

Wah so many people already gone to the sale?

Me busy with work.. and maybe gonna be busy tomorrow and next week too.

Medela is $650, wat pump is it?

lala,
u sure u wanna use diapers all the way??i think gonna be super exp lor..i think use the traditional cloth type can save more leh..

roxy,
i always feel a light thud at different parts of my tummy lor..but hardly continuous 1s..even if continuos only maybe 3 or 4 times continuous then stop liao..so i dunno is it hiccups or wat lah..

For teats, i didn't get any extras. Some milk bottles got give extra inside the package.
I intend to let bb try first then see if bb like, then if teat wear out then buy more. Else if u buy more, scarry he dun like the teat then waste.

tera,
my fren asked me to get those starter pack will do..inside i think got 4 also but different size..n i think better to get additional teats lor..standby juz in case mah..

iamsnow/ roxy,

You're another 'ke lian' ppl stuck in office. Oh..no! Total 5 'ke lian' ppl here. hahaha....
I think will be more...

bizznow,
I'll use mamy poko newborn(actually oledi brought one NB pack). Buy one pack will do. Coz you wont know how big is ur bb when born. Pampers is good oso. But i think i'm really a big fan for mamy poko.

ellysia,
wah..very exp leh like dat..

felicia,
oorh..ok..ok..hehe..mamy poko cheaper than pampers rite??

roxy,
i think i have felt what u are describing, in fact, i felt it just this morning. there was a very consistent beat at the lower tummy. I also not sure if it was heartbeat or hiccups. I think hiccups most likely cos the beat was rather slow, like every 1 second.

bizznow,
oh, got starter pack? What does it consist? Bottles and teats? Sorry for the qns. I dinch know cos have not been keeping a lookout for bottles until I hear u girls discussing. :p My SIL has offered to get for me but i realised i will need an extra set so i might as well buy at the upcoming bb fairs.

Tera,
Dont said like tat leh. Just sharing/xchange my opinion here. hehe....
A bit diff to answer your question coz this is very depending on individual. Like do u plan to wash and sterilised frequently or once a day? Let me give you some guideline on the frequency of milk session for a newborn. Normally they'll required to be feed around every 2hrs. And do u plan to BF? Latch on directly? If yes, you can save up more bottles washing. Btw, is better for you to stand by 9oz bottles as well, in case ur bb is big eater. hehe...
For teats, if u had 4 teats, i think shld be more than enuf. Very quickly u'll need to change to another stage of teats.

tera,
i also like u leh..dunno anything..i think inside got bottles n 1 set of teats for each bottle lor..later @ nite i go see liao then i update u again 2mr.. u interested in buying avent also ah?? my fren said if i wanna buy avent bottles then it's better to buy avent breast pump n buy the via cup storage..better..@ least all same brand..sure can fit 1..

ellysia,
I think the $650 is for medela PIS Advanced, which currently Mums & Babes is selling at $688.

bizz,
Ya, i think pampers is more expensive. Have been long times din purchase pampers as my #1 cannot wear pampers size XL. So always get mamy poko.

hi felicia...

yes stuck in office
but i tink im going to pay my gynae a visit now... ydae had the bad stomach pains.. now having it again, i suspect it's stomach flu and not bb related, but to play safe.. im asking gynae whether he got slot to see me or not.. esp as now the pain comes on and off...

tera, ellysia and bizznow.. i also never felt this consistent thudding for so long.. lasted for at least 2 min, with a few ripple movements in between... only ended when i ask bb are you ok, pls go sleep.. then it stopped... perhaps it's hiccups

bizz,

I think the via cup storage 10pcs in a pack does not comes with the lid, so u'll need to buy lids separately. I'm looking at this products oso. If cannot BF, at least can use it to keep oth items.

Felicia,
Thanks for the advice and qns Hmm, for me, I am intending to try BF first. Ok, please don't laugh at my next qn hor...do we need to sterilise the bottles very often? I was thinking of sterilising once a day.

cactus,
hehe, u also in office, misery loves company! Just wanted to tell u this bit of trivia - your gynae Dr Devendra was interviewed about breech babies in this mths' Motherhood mag.

roxy,
ya, better to go and see gynae just to play safe. don't worry too much, keep us updated.

bizz,
Yes please, that'll be great, as in let me know what is inside the avent starter kit after u have checked it out tonite.

felicia,
the via cup storage no lids 1 ah?? i didnt noe leh..i think via cup useful lor..cos my fren said can be used to store some tidbits like biscuits for the bb when bb grow older..so multiple usage..shld be a gd investment..

roxy,
yah..i think better go see ur gynae..keep us posted ah...

Another update from TF, this time at Robinsons:
"Medela PIS Adv is at $754. But less 20% + 15% with Robinson's card. The 15% is only applicable today."

roxy,

ya, better for you to go down and check with your gynae. Do take care.

Tera,
Nothing to laugh about ur qn lah. We are not born with all the knowledge, i'm also learning.
For me, i sterilise once every morning. Then subsequent wash will use the liquid wash and in between will pour hot water onto the bottles and teats, maybe once or twice in a day.
Actually i din buy many bottles. During my #1, i only managed to BF for 2 weeks, so i din buy xtra bottles or containers to keep milk. And i had to be thankful to my mil and hubby whom is very diligently in washing the bottles after every feed. So, i just brought about 4 bottles, 2 small, 2 big.

Just went to toilet to LS... tink I feel better now.. now really duno was the pain due to diarrhoea or bb related? Haiz and my gynae havent called back yet.. stuck in some operation...now duno whether to go down or not since I LS already....unscheduled visit to see him will set us back by $150 at least excluding cab fare...

roxy, I think just monitor and see how you feel lah. actually for normal illnesses, can go to GP. dun need to go gynae. that's what I do. unless bb moves little or none at all for no reason.

bizznow,

I saw the cups when i'm in JL few days back, and found how come the pictures like no lid, so i called my friend whom work in Philips,s he told me there cups with lid.

bizznow,

Just got message from Veniz, she said Taka got the cup with lids sold at $17.50/=. Worth to buy leh. So tempted to go down now.

Piyoz,

The Isetan Baby fair I think is for public, but they called to inform me. Cos that day I was at Isetan looking at breast pump, the lady asked me to fill in this contact list and she said baby fair coming and they'll notify me. And she also gave me a booklet on caring for baby. Very gd service.

I saw at Taka what they have at the fair today. They hav ard 5 playpens, 5-6 cots on display, 2 changing tables, and those brands like Avent, Medela, Pigeon etc. But alot of prams and car seats. Got the Ferrari Car Seats also. Think for infant one is going at 279.

Anyone of you heard of 3 in 1 sterilizer, bottle and food warmer. Philips have that, I'm thinking if I should invest in it to save money?

tera,
ok..ok..i note down what's inside..hehe..wah..TF so fast walk to robinsons liao ah??

felicia,
u nvr buy the steriliser rite?? u use the traditional way to sterilise the bottles hor..my mum asked me not to buy the steriliser..juz use the traditional way..boil water in pot then put the bottles in..

roxy,
since LS liao u wait n c if u the feeling come back again anot..$150 a bit exp rite..but then again if u are worried then better go n c lah..

bizznow,

Ya, i din buy the steriliser and use traditional way. My mil dont like to use steriliser, she find boiling way is much easier for her.

felicia,
really ah??then i will go n grab that liao..i also hv a fren wking in Phillips but he not online..so nvr ask him abt the lids..hehe..taka selling $17.50 for how many cups with lids?

iamsnow,
it's via cup..ppl normally use to store milk after u pump out..my fren said it has a bigger storage space compared to the bottles..n can be used to store other things as well..so i think might be able to store some milk powder when u bring bb out..

Felicia,
Thanks thanks, I think I "agar-agar" know how many bottles I need.

Haha, we are all so distracted by the ladies at taka. I soooo wanna take off to taka now!!

Cactus,
Based on what I can recall, Dr Dev mentioned that 37 weeks is usu the week used to determine if bb will be breech. He also said that there is a method called EGV (forgot the actual abbrev) where they will attempt to turn the breech baby by pushing on the mummy's stomach. All these is done while monitoring the bb's heartbeat v closely so that in the event that bb is in distress, they can perform an emergency c-sect. Each EGV can only be done for 5 min and can be performed multiple times. Oh oh, and Dr Dev says he has delivered breech babies vaginally before but i cannot rem the actual figures.

But Felicia..

If you use steriliser.. You dun need to use one pot of water. and you dun need to boil it at every wash.. you merely need to sterlise the bottles once a day.. and after that just take out and cap the bottles

Tera,

Thanks for the outline of the article!! I was a stubborn bb ... was breech then was turned around by my mom's doctor... then at next appointment 1 week later, was breech again.. then turned around, then was breech one week later. in the end, doctor gave up and luckily for my mom, I engaged head first! Last time, I think fewer doctors dare to try breech babies...

bizz,

According to veniz , is the 10cups in a packs which is 6oz cups.

Lala,
Only need to boiled once everyday. This is a traditional way used very very long times back. The step of pouring hot water to the bottles is an xtra step that my mil want to do. In hospital, the nurse oso teach this method.

Tera,
Really make me tempted to go and buy tat PIS leh.

cactus,
hehe, wah u really one stubborn baby, keep on changing positions despite being "pushed".
yes, u are right, the article had some mention of breech babies in the 70s and that the options then were much more limited.

Tera, yeah.. I"m still very stubborn now! :p It's good to know that Dr Dev is quite a risk taker - I like! I think there are few doctors who dare to try turning bbs around today.. it is not without risk loh...

The clinic finally called me back aftr 1 hr.. so pissed, if really emergency then how, alot of tings can happen in 1 hr leh.. the nurse told me my case sounds not serious etc etc could be i ate something wrong, ask me not to go down.. if tmr still painful then go down and see the Dr coz today they are very packed, esp as gynae had an emergency c-sect just now... at first I was not very happy abt it.. but I said ok loh...
Later my hubby asked me, did the nurse speak to Dr in first place or she ownself push away as they are very busy... so i thot wat he said made sense and I called the nurse again and wanted to ask her was her advice to me from dr.. then she said will get Dr to call me... so now waiting for dr to call me and see wat he says... if he also say same thing but at least i will feel better...

bizzsnow,
the cup for storing BM? then can put in freezer one? I thought must use storage bottle? thought pump into bottle directly and store inside?

aiyo... jia lat. I really clueless!!!!

iamsnow,

Yes, the cups is suppose for milk storage. For BF , not neccessarily must use bottles unless u r using the same brand breast pump. For this cups, you'll need to transfer ur BF milk from the pump bottle to this cup and keep in fridge or freezer.
Then this bottles can be use to keep oth things oso like kid's biscuits.