(2008/06) June 2008

Zuen:
Saw my fren used it to drain the bottles before putting them into the steriliser as she has to wait for few bottles before starting one cycle of sterilising. She dun wan to just sterilise 1 or 2 bottles at one time.

Felicia,
Where to buy e bottle drainer?

ZuEn,
Must be bery tired today hor...
The drawers we bot hv to be assembled by ourselves lor...quite heavy also....

SO in e end u bot anything frm ikea?

I tink after washing e bottles, have to drain off e water, cos e steriliser can steriliser 6bottles so was tinking of washing the bottles and put them in e drainer, only when there are more bottles, then sterlises them lor...Save electricity...hee

angel_z,
Where u bot ur bottle drainer?Is it those normal dish drainer?

Feifei:
I bought from robinsons, the brand is lionheart or something like that..

Its for baby stuff, slightly diff from the normal kind of dish drainer. Can hold like 6-8 milk bottles at one time. Then got columns on the sides for you to dry misc, things like pacifier, teats..

Feifei:

No problem. But robinsons just ended their sale last week.. Not sure when is the next sale wor..

Maybe you can see whether the baby fair at both taka or expo got sell? Furthermore got disc even better. ^_^

ZuEn/ feifei,

Cant remember where i bot the drainer coz it had been more than 2 yrs. hehe...
Btw, i dont bot steriliser, coz i'm using traditional way, boiling method. When bb just born, i only wash all the bottles and put in on the drainer and accumulate till maybe 3-4bottles, then one shot boiled all in a big pot. After than drained it again. Mine is a normal type w/o cover, so i'll use a clean cloth to cover all the drain bottles. You can look for those got cover type so wont collect dust.
Btw, maybe you can see if taka fair got sold the drainer.

Avent pump not too sure. I got a friend whom work in Philips, but she's using medela as she told me Avent pump is bit noisy as well but not sure which model she's refering.
You plan to buy before delivery?

angel_z,
Tks for e infor...I will....waiting for e fair to start...hee =D...willu be going to e bb fair?

Felicia,
Ask u hor, after u sterilise ur bottles in the pot, u take them all out and put in e drainer again?

Feifei:
No problem. ^_^

Ya. Will be going to the bb fair. Have been waiting for it since Dec 2007.. Haahaa..

But on the first day (6th Mar), hubby is busy with work so he won't be free to bring me there.. But i reali like to go on 6th Mar to see whether got special promotion on 1st day or not..

If i can, dun mind going alone to look look see see.. But hubby stubbornly refuse cos he scare too crowded then later i got pushed or faint or something bad happen at the bb fair.. Sigh..

So mummies who are going to the bb fair on the 1st day do let us know what are special deals available.. At least can get to hear something about bb fair even though can't go on 1st day..

felicia,

Yup, intend to buy during e fair if there is good offer. If not perks, will ask hb to buy for me when I discharged...

Tink i read somewhere that John Little is having diapers sales 15% for cardmembers frm 4-6march leh..hmm...rest of e items are 20% except for Avent items..hmm...

feifei,

My method (actually,learn from hospital)is boiled the bottle in the pot with water , then throw in all the teats and cover the lid and turn off the gas stove. Leave it for about 5-10mins, then take out everything and drained it.
In fact everytime i'll wash the bottle with the liquid cleanser as well. So, sterilising only done once everyday morning.

feifei,
i think i saw in the mother and bb mag that if u subscribe their mag during the fair, u are entitled to some free gifts. one of the gift i saw is 2 packs of huggies...

feifei,

oh..really? JL got sales for diaper? Maybe will go to take a look tomolo after work if i'm able.

Nowadays walk little bit will feel tired and dizzy. Had to walk few mins, rest few mins. So, afraid by 3rd trimester cant move a lot, so yesterday go to ntuc healthcare to buy some bb medicinal products 1st, else hubby sure din know how to buy.

felicia,
i also facing tiredness nowadays.... think my energy level depeleting again..... have to faster get all the things in mar already. else i think apr sure no energy left....

angel_z,
Me shd be going down on fri nite cos meetign soem frenz at taka for dinner...Will be going to e fair with hb on sun =)..hopefully there are gd deals lor =D..

felicia,
Tks for sharing...cos I only bot 1 sterliser, and e steriliser will be put at my mil plc as she is helping me to take care of my Minnie when my ML ends...so fri and wkends, bb willbe at my hse so tinking of using e tradional way to sterlies bottles n teats =D..How long do u boil e bottles?

After sterlising, u take out e bottle and drain them in e drainer, and then use a pc of cloth to cover them? so as n when u need to use e bottles, just take it there?

I also intending to get Pigeon claning detergents for bottles..

Felicia,

can breast pumps be sterilised in the same way? i.e boil in water? cos my friend told me she bought the steriliser and uses it for bottles and breast pump.

iamsnow,
really? wow...so u going to subscribe? 2 packs of Huggies...hmm..

Felicia,
I am not so sure leh, cos i tink i read somewhere leh..hmm...or mayb u can double check frm JL webste? ya lor, i also feel tired these days...so really must chop chop buy bb things liao...cos me by thurs is 3rd trim liao =D..

feifei,

Ya i be getting a dish drainer for bb bottles, teats etc.

felicia,

Same.. and i find that recently harder to balance my weight liao.. when walk sometimes will either overlean to front or back as the weight of bb pull me.

feifei,
i went ikea tampines on sat.. but did not managed to see any nice chest.. so did not buy any..

is those wooden cot - 300+ or those playpen cum cot - 100+ better? I still tinking which to get.. i might get playpen for my plc cos my bb only at my plc for 3mths ML and wkends..

When we use the steriliser, after sterilising, where do we place the bottles? Should we close the bottles? Else if anything goes into the bottles, then become dirty again.

feifei,
i might subscribe if I go down. i think the mag quite informative. if you don't want the diapers, there are many other gifts to choose from... u can pop by mag store to browse the mag and see the adv on the bb fair....

JL sale,
yes, there is JL sale on diapers. I saw it on the papers....

iamsnow,
Wonder how much is e subscribtion hor..hmm...

Thats great..keshi i dun have JL card lor, if not have 15% dicount wor..

Ellysia,
ya lor, I also intending to get a drainer so now wondering how e drainer looks like..hee..i tink we leave e bottles in e sterliser after sterlising wor..hmm...

felcia,
The drainer u posted seems quite ok leh..hopefully taka has it lor..hmm...

did anyone saw the adv on mother and bb mag? there is one thermometer which is 2 in 1, for forehead and ear selling at the bb fair. any idea if this is good? I've never heard of the brand before though. can't recall what is the brand now...

feifei,
not sure how much is the subscription.... never read in detail. coz i was browsing thru the mag at bookstores... haha....

feifei,

I tink i saw it selling before. Seems to be at mum and babes at AMK. I confirm again when i look at mum & babes again.

I am sure places like Kiddy Palace do sell.

I also have to buy a small table to put these bb stuff cos my kitchen is ored fully occupied with cooking electrical items.

I guess the magazine subscription should be at least $100, could be $200.

Cos i suscribe to i-magazine ored abt this cost but mother and bb mag sure more ex.

feifei,

I din count how long, just till it boiled, you throw all teats inside and switch off, will do. Ya, will cover after take out from the pot. Just use when needed. But make sure you know once which is sterilised and which one is not sterilised after use. Btw, you can just pour hot water onto the bottles after each wash oso.

Kylene,
Yes, i used the same method to sterilisered my manual breast pump. But remember dont put those rubber material into the pot too early. Put in only when the water is boiled and switch off the gas stove.

ladies, i'm the subscriber of mother & baby mag. hehe...
If i remember correctly, there's about 6 types of gifts to choose if you sign up the their package on the spot. One of the gifts is huggies diapers , another one is tollyjoy hampers. Oths cant remember, coz i'll renew my subscription on the fair as mine ended this August.

<font color="ff0000">morning ladies..

haiz time seems to pass by so slowly.. still have 3 more months plus to go... </font>

iamsnow,
=)..In e newspapers hor, did they state the JL sales 15% for diapers and 20% for other brands?

Ellysia,
Tks ger =D....Me also hv a foldable table frm ikea to put lor..easier also..

Felicia,
tks for e infor...so can use e hot water to soak in e bottle also?

mother &amp;baby mag is @ $66 per year for 12 issues (if not mistaken). Just remember , besied tollyjoy and huggies, oso had free gifts like nestle hamper, and palmer gifts. You can choose either one upon subscription.

feifei,
yes, you can soak it into hot water but no matter what i wud recommend sterilised using pot or steriliser at least once a day.

feifei, thanks. Most likely must have someone to go with me to the fair else faint already also no one to help. Think I be going this weekend too

angel_z, ya loh coz $15 per pax not very cheap lei, me disuss with hubby see how. Hee .... maybe u can discuss with ur hubby too. I agree with ur hubby not to shop alone now coz you may not know when you will feel giddy, better have someone around to take care of you.

Any mummies here sign up for the First Mum Congress liao ?

My mum said have to steriliser every time need to use the bottles/teats..

so i guess best to buy more bottles and accumulate then steriliser once at the end of the day.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

yeah tat was wat i did.. have more bottles to interchange so just nice end of the day can just sterilise all at one go</font>

Felcia,
Tks for e advise..understooded liao =D..hehe..

Wan to ask a bery silly question hor, if we latch on bb, just clean our breast, then put bb's mouth towards it, thats it? do we need to buy anything to put over e breast? ;p...this sounds silly but me just curious...and wan to make sure i do e correct thing...keke

Felicia
Y nt boil the water already then throw the bottle in to sterilize? I still skeptical in boiling wif the bottle inside leh, wont the plastic disintegrate w/o our knowing in long run?

For breastfeeding mummies, can consider buy milk bags to store the EBM. Wondering the clip on bags better or the ones with zipper will do, any mummies here got experience ?

TF,

I dont think the bottle was made of plastic, rite? Cant remember what is the material. This method was teached by hospital nurse when i delivered there. They actually teached us 3 types of sterilisation. One is using the electrical steriliser, 2nd is the boiling, 3rd is using tablet. And this is oso the reason why i said only put the teat only when water oledi boiled and switch it off.

I had been using this method for 2 yrs liao, so far the bottle seems ok leh. Btw, my mom told me last time when there's no steriliser, they oso use this method.

Ellysia,
I bot 7 260ml Avent bottles and 4 126ml one..cos when we bot e steriliser, there is a big and small one inside, also at Mrs Wong's class, we hv a free 125ml milk bottle =D...so gd hor...

Did u buy anything during e clasS? this wk Mrs Wong will bring soem towels, thermometer to sell to us lor..she saying e towels are bery good one, can use to swaddle our bb, can use as a blanket etc...

morraine,
ya lor, afreed =D.

feifei,

U buy so many bottles?

My instructor says we can buy at parentcraft. I also dunno want to buy or not.

Actually the towels can get at anywhere lah.. not necessary buy from parentcraft. Tonight i be going for my 5th lesson liao.. wah v fast. Next lesson will be the doctor's talk liao then course will finish

I didn't get any free milk bottle from my class leh. My steriliser also no milk bottles given so i guess i have to buy from scratch.

i intend to buy 6 bottles, 2 small and 4 big. Maybe can increase to 8 bottles bec' we may be getting a small steriliser (2 bottles) for my MIL house.

Mog,

I be getting milk storage bottles instead, either from Pigeon or Avent brand. Milk bags i heard some leak easily and it seems more flimsy.

Felicia
Yah, olden days uses this method n my mum going to use tis method loh. Yes, nt plastic, there's a special name for it but forget liao, wh have been much talk about recently in states abt the material disintegrating.