(2008/06) June 2008

Cactus
I didnt get the chance to go Carrefour. Ended up buying 1 cotton white top fr Hynopsis (Fr $40 to $19.90) and 3 other tops at $8 to $12 from COAX sale the basement forum. All as my maternity top cos i dun like those design selling at Maternity shops where these can be worn even aft maternity. If u ok wif COAX, they hv gd discounts clearing at the forum (G2000) side.

Thanks TinyFeet!! Sounds like you had very good buys! I have a craving for NYDC's baked rice.. or actually for anything cheesy..
that's why thinking of going to suntec later!

Felicia, yummy hor??!!

Ellysia
Were u asking if anyone getting Mum Essential items? I'm looking for Dry Shampoo, is Mum Essential only brand? U have the website? Y'day I went to Watson Suntec and saw the Klorane Dry Oat Shampoo at $14.90. Wonder wh is better

shycloud, that's a perpetual weakness of mine!! I love awfully chocolate's cakes!! Royals' choc truffle is so yummy too!! Do you like choc in general? If so, do try Royce's choc coated potato chip if you've not had them recently! YUMMY!!!!!

Hi Mummies....

Been ages e last time I really drop here liao. Wonder still rember me ahahahahaha.

Liew, Don worry if you can or cant make it to buy stuffs. Cos there are also other stuffs U can buy after bb 1st mth. For my case, my 1st gal she turn her head around 32 weeks but not engaged. Sometime they can be very noti and turn around again! So start to prepare anytime from 36weeks is the best. Since Taka BB Fair is next week, I believe only few items are worth to buy bah. Like steriliser, brast pump, breast pads, pram, strollers.

2nd thoughts of getting a yao lan? Ya I believe this must reallly think carefully cos I have been hearing alot of stories among my frds with their b sleeping in yaolan giving them alot of headache when bring them out. MUST YAO alot to sleep. So avoid it unless really no choice. For my case, I didnt use that. I only place my gal on the bed & pat her to sleep. Till now 18mths she stil prefer to pat on bed, not relli in my arms and whenever I bring her out frm young, she can just sleep from her stroller without me patting her too. I think this makes our life easier in future lo.

Felicia,
Snacking normal la. But don over it for sure cos of MSG. I also snack but this round seldom liao lo. Cos hb didnt stock up chips
and I also lazy to buy. Have craving for ICE CREAM! But also cant take too much of it. Sometime ppl say preg can have all e fantastic privilage & eat wat u wan..hai bull shit la..

Breastpump.
I am swear by Avent Manual Pump. Been using it since my 1st gal. I also never experience engorgement too. Maybe e massage silicon do helps yeah.

Hmm hope I am not talking too much here ya..

Cactus
Ya, been wearing those Lycra T-shirt when i'm out n my mum says undersize away already loh. Then i told her like tat then take MRT least still got chance of seat cos stomach obvious enuf for them to see. Mum said try harder..haha. Which is true, the other weekday aftn, not crowded, I entered the MRT and this young man in 30's rush the same only available seat wif me. Some more the seat is right under the pregnant sign. When he sat down, i pull my top to show more obvious to make him guilty who he is rushing wif. He pretend n close eyes. Really useless man. I dun mind those nt giving seat, worst is those rush wif u n man some more...haiz.. wat a "gracious" man

TF, I know what you mean by ungracious men on train. if it's a woman, I tend to be more forgiving cos they may be pregnant too (just cannot tell) or they may not be feeling well (menses,etc). But for able bodied men, I cannot understand loh. Usually, when I take train to work from Bishan to Raffles Place, I prefer to stand although 4 out of 5 times a seat is offered to me cos better ventilation for me to stand near the door than to be seated in the middle of the crowd.

Hi Cynthia, I hope Avent's manual pump works as well for me as it did for you. Think I'll need to use it after my ML ends.. just once a day.. but still important to use it lah if have supply.

Feifei
There's quite many types of chest of drawers at Ikea, nt so sure wh u going for. The obvious n cheap ones are like the 4 plastic carton box wif wood (cost less than $50, i think), the steel wire 4-tier drawer wif frame, at $11. I didnt particularly look at the wooden furniture type, but shd have some less abt $50 to $100 bah.

cactus,

How come got people offer u seat?

in the morning i take train from AMK to raffles place usu no one offer me seat. Tis morn i took and everyone pretend to sleep, no one offer seat.

Hi Ellysia, I don't know why pple offer me seat too.. I don't look very pregnant though. just normal. But not every trip I get offered a seat lah. only 4 out of 5 times. usually it's the younger ladies or younger men who offer me their seat. there was once, it was a middle aged man.. But so far, I never take the seats.. just tell them I'm getting off soon so dun need. I really prefer to stand cos when I sit down, lack of oxygen cos too crowded. I've felt very faint before. almost black out that type...

Cactus,
Nowadays, whn i enter the train, i dun dare to put hope there's seat already. No expectation, no disappointment..haha.. just duno why recently my tail bone is so piercing pain when walking or standing

cactus,

Ya sianz! shd have check the box on the spot before buying. I usu got check one but hb dun have the habit and i influenced by him nowadays!..

actually, I feel that while it is nice if we get offered a seat, we shouldn't demand for a seat. I just hope my children don't be so selfish when they grow up. It speaks more for the character of the person than charity for us.

cactus,

OIC i prefer a seat bec my legs cannot tahan standing too long nowadays as the weight of bb. I told my hb my legs are used to support a weight of 56KG but not 62KG.

cactus_79...
ya..what u have mentioned...simply love it! im a super duper 100% choco lover!

royce's had potato chips??? must go try liao haha!!!

For me becos i have spotting in 1st trim so tat time i take taxi.

Then recently i took back MRT (but monday i take cab due to the crowd at AMK MRT).

In 3rd trim when tummy is v big i will see how whether need to change back to taxi or not.

Cactus_79,

DOn worry. Will helps. Main you also must relax while BF lo. U can use it to reduce if having engorgement doesnt realli have to wait till ML ends. I start using on e 2nd week cos 1st weeek no matter how u wanna pump, e result is bad as milk flow is not here yet. Normally after 1st week yeah. For my case as flow bit too fast & full & my gal she choke b4, so I will pump out abit and latch her again. After latching i willpump out too. Store up in the frigde in case I m so worn out during nite time I have HB to help mi feed her using teats. She doesnt have any confusion between teats & nipples so ok. Think I quite lucky too so hope this round also

cactus,

dunno how to find carpool leh..

previously i tried this express bus but always end up late bec' they reach shenton way at 9am and my office starts at 8.45am.

my hb dun feel safe letting me take normal bus. in fact i tink if take normal bus i may as well take mrt.

cactus,

I have colleague who stay Yio Chu Kang MRT but dun tink she will drive me. Last time we go wedding dinner together she v unhappy drive me back cos she forced by my boss to drive me.

On the way back, she keep asking me why my hb didn't drive, why no car etc. Make me feel so embarrassed.

haven't logged in for a while due to work/study. Now having a headache, I took up a diploma course 1 Yr+ ago and has been studying and working . the exam was orignally in mid July 2008. Just found out that the exam this year has been brought forward to late June! and my EDD is mid June.

Wonder if I should go ahead and take it or postpone to next year.

Ellysia, maybe you ask if she is willing to give you a lift to work if you pay her for her cost and inconvenience? You can pay her for less than what you would pay a taxi driver?

Hey Kylene, I think I would postpone to next year... not easy to handle newborn leh.

Some info abt Maclaren prams from other sites:
Aprica is expensive because their prams uses aircraft grade aluminium for the pram struts and structure... which makes them super light .... the other brand that uses aircraft material and is super light and about 50% cheaper is Maclaren .... an alternate brand u may like to consider

I'm quite tempted to get Aprica, can go as light as 3-4kg. But very expensive, but sturdy then Combi. Trying to source via U.S website to see if cheaper. Anyone uses Aprica so far? Comments?

i also dunno why? My stomach always pain, those i told my Gynae, she ask me got spotting then i say no, then she never say anything le.. But teh pain is quite pain leh.. My cousin say may be this is contraction pain leh...

Kylene
If u can defer the exam, or find when is the next available, I encourage u to. Maybe difference of another 6mths if u can join next batch exam. Dun stress yourself during your confinement, enjoy every moment of wat u doing.

ellysia,

when i was at baby ave, i was asking if they can dun "stamp" on the warrenty card for the date of purchase or not..then the salesgirl realised there was no warrenty card in the first place. she checked with her boss who called the agent n they said that the receipt wil prove the date of the purchase n hence the commence of the warrenty period. hence i decided not to buy till a nearer date.

so whether u buy it at original price or not, there isnt a warrenty card at all..just a instruction manual inside

ellysia,
in that case, you standing in front of them and remember use your hand to hold ur stomach. and try to look at them... they'll definitely standup directly... i try twice le.. it works

Haiz, i also dunno wat happen leh... Haiz.. Lets see how lor, meantime, i monitor my baby kicks first.. As long as he kicks then should be no problem right?

Tinyfeet,

I use Combi & Maclaren. Not bad I can say.
I also heard good commentson Aprica. Can take alot when you are gg to Taka BB fair see if any better rates.

Icegal,
Ur pain is what ah? When u turn side to side while sleep or? Sometime i forget i am preg & turn v fast tat is when start to have e stupid pain cramp feeling. Or maybe its jus braxton hicks? Can start experiencing this from 24weeks lo. If pain keep persist, best to visit ur gynae okie. Take care

Felicia - I love the stuffed crust pizza!!! yummmy!

Icegal - don't worry too much about the pain if your doctor says it' sokay. actually ther'es no need to monitor your bb's movements till after 28 weeks or so cos now our uterus should have alot of space for bb to move about. if it's too big, hard to detect.

cactus,

Dun tink so. Anyway she is also one of my superior, tink a bit hard to ask her.

liew,

OK i will try but the people in front of me all closing their eyes.. sigh.

Tis morn i am heng, i waited until TPY got people alight then i quickly snatch the seat.