(2008/06) June 2008

Yest at mum & babes while waiting for my mum (i meeting her for dinner) so i beo all the prices of interesting stuff, saw this Breastfeeding pillow - foam type tat can wrapped around waist, but quite ex, cost $70++

regarding breastfeeding pillow, I'm not sure if they are worth the $ leh.. I think all that is needed is lots of comfortable pillows properly arranged?

cactus,

My colleague said if buy pump too expensive but in the end cannot use, can sell 2nd hand away.. so won't be lugi or waste of $$.

anyone can recommend which brand the best for baby wipes? next weekend i intend for shop bb stuff... daipers, mattress, elect yao lan and wipers.... seem we left not much time for shop liao..;p

cactus,

Ya i find the breastfeeding pillow overpriced. $70+ is a lot. I hope to find cheaper breastfeeding pillow.

Actually i feel that $300+ pump is a good investment for target 3mths pumping (3mths latch + 3 mths pump) because milk powder for each month is around $100+ so by end of 3mths pumping, the cost will be recuperate back and just nice.. leaving any extra mths pumping as a bonus/savings.

liew,

I also intend to start buying... we have to start buying from march, got to get ready everything by end apr.

Then suppose to pack up hospital bag by end apr too. I still haven't found the cheap cheap breastfeeding pyjamas yet.

Ellysia, true. we can try to sell, but the safety of using 2nd hand pumps, esp motor pumps, is questionable.. I dun know leh... I don't think I will buy a pump then sell it cos scared what happens if another user uses it and gets an infection..

I did a google search before . safety use 2nd used pumps.. something like that. websites state that in the US it is illegal to sell 2nd hand pumps cos fear of cross-infection. Pumps are meant to be single user. It's a FDA regulation.

We don't have these restrictions in Singapore but i don't think I want to take the risk to sell 2nd hand pump. conscience. manual pump is okay to resell though cos everything can be sterilized. but not motor pumps.

felicia,

Ya i also tink breastfeeding pillow is useful cos v hard to support the weight of bb, i dun tink i can carry him so long while latching!..

Ellysia, on the topic of cost of pump and cost of milk.. I think it's a bit more complicated than that. cos if we invest in a more ex pump, it appears that that pump is more likely to work for us (more complaints are about lower end pumps as opposed to the high end ones). and ex pumps tend to work more efficiently thus cutting down on pump time during office hours. Finally, higher end pumps tend to be more identical to bb sucking too.. and can better maintain supply. I have a colleague who was pumping on PIS till daughter was 2 years old! Another colleague is pumping sill when son is already 9 months only.. PIS. I don't see that happening to colleagues to buy other pumps... maybe not enough exposure to pumps in office too..

ellysia,
i start worry i have not much time for prepare all this stuff..my sis also pregnant now and early than me one mths time. she just called me and said his baby boy head had turn down liao. her gynae already ask her get prepare for anytime bb delivery..this make me scare siah...

cactus,

Wat i mean is those pumps that is hardly been used due to no supply on milk. It is almost close to brand new so i dun tink any conscience on selling. If have milk supply and can pump for a few mths or so, can keep the pump for 2nd child liao.. so no need to sell too.

In anyway u are also using used pumps from yr SIL too.. at least u still have pumps from reliable person to use.. i dun have any used pumps to back up..so have to buy new one no matter how.

but if the pump is faulty or no good, then i dun tink i will sell it out lor.

For hygiene purpose will recommend to get replaced parts (the part in contact of nipple) for hygiene.

liew,

SO FAST!! bb head turn down ored??

Her EDD will be april right?

Ya i am afraid i dun have time to buy liao. So gonna grab from taka sale then remaining quickly buy elsewhere.

cactus,

tat is wat my colleague told me on the ex pump issue. she said ex pump will get more milk and maintain supply, so if buy cheaper pump may end up worst and waste $$. Tats why she told me to seriously consider medela PIS than ameda.

bad news...

the pigeon steriliser i got from Carrefour..

guess wat. carrefour person say there isn't any warranty for those steriliser on sale bec' pigeon dun intend to give warranty for these special promo items.

So my 20% discount is offset against the warranty! shucks!

I suspect those sterilisers at taka sale for pigeon may be the same, no warranties.

so pls check the box before u grab them during any sale..

ellysia,
yes. i'm also shock of this.. her due date is 22nd of april. her gynae said her bb is mature,so maybe her gynae just let her know have to prepare bb anytime standby. so she ask her not to walking too much or too long hour this time.she even prepare the letter for her liao..

liew, I think bb head down doesn't mean anything.. can always go up again, UNLESS already engaged lah. If engaged, then it may be a sign of imminent birth! So exciting hor!!

Ellysia, yeah.. I'm probably going to be using SIL's pumps.. she only has 1 manual and she didn't use her electric before cos no supply. she actually bought the manual pump, but can't work.. so she thought need to have stronger pump.. but even the electric also cannot. Guess you are right.. if no supply on milk, it's okay. but I don't feel good selling 2nd hand pumps lah... if I lend people my used pumps, less pricked by conscience cos I lend them FOC..

speaking about pump parts.. very expensive leh!! I went to check medela parts.. 3 valves already $36+ leh!! the valves are so small leh!!! Gosh!!

actually, some pple may find cheaper pumps good. my secretary used medela mini electric and she said it was very very good. but I came across reviews which said it's not good too. If you plan to sell your pumps, I don't think it matters if you think the pumps don't work well... but it may be a good idea to sell the pumps when they are still within the warranty period. If I were to buy pumps, I'd be wiling to pay higher for a pump with warranty.

liew,

so shocking and so fast!

cactus,

NO, carrefour didn't put in any sign or advertisment.

Feel kindda cheated. they should state in their signboard or something like that.

I dun intend to sell my pump if i am able to pump well and pump is not wasted. But if my milk supply has problem and i can't pump much and the brand new pump is wasted, of course has to sell liao.

Tok abt this i bot several gap bb tops through the overseas spree. But they look v small, i am afraid my bb won't be able to wear them if he is big size. So i am planning to sell them if my bb really cannot wear them. But if my bb can wear them even for 1-2 weeks, won't sell them then.

Eh, Ellysia, want to write to CASE to complain? It sounds really unfair loh. It's like buying a laptop on discount but no warranty..

cactus,

I dunno should i write to carrefour first. the info came from their service guy through phone only. maybe best i get something in writing.

Wow!! Leng Leng, but heads down not engaged yet lah?! Or already engaged at 5 months? At 19 weeks, my bb was transverse. At 20 weeks, upright. Apparently still had alot of space inside to move around. :p

<font color="ff0000">wipes*

i use pigeon wipes from day one
and i oso like the fact they have the yellow series which is baby friendly &amp; gentler &amp; can use to wipe the mouth and oso pacifier and all if its dirty

baby turning down*

i think this are very individual so need not fret about it
i have oso heard before babies turning down early but end up oso turn back *hee*</font>

ellysia,
the pigeon steriliser comes wif warranty!! i bought mine during previous round of isetan sale and it comes wif warranty wo.. 20% off, + rebate + freebies + free bb food warmer. my colleague said worth tats y i buy, i sent e warranty liao lor. tink e sales ger at carrefour too lazy to find for u izzit?

I just send an email to carrefour asking them to confirm whether got warranty or not. How can be no warranty. If no warranty, they shd state somewhere wat.

Ellysia, seems from mrswrx and piyoz's experiences, the sales person was just lazy loh. yours should come with warranty.
No fret!! Do you still have the carrefour receipt? If have, then you should demand the warranty card given to you! Since you have proof of purchase even!

ellysia,

Does carrefour have a money-back return policy within a certain no of days? Vaguely remember they do. Can just return back the steriliser and get your money back? Can get it again at another 20% sale elsewhere.

speaking of this issue. i tink mummies shld test yr elec-products soon after u purchased them. in case it dun works, we stil got time to change b4 bb arrives.

*im kiasu, testing my pigeon stre nw.* kekeke.

I was cheapskate.. I went to buy Pur's microvable sterilizer! Only $7.90 from JL. Good thing is it's much cheaper than normal sterilizers. Bad thing is need to use microwave oven to sterilize. At one time only can sterilize 4 wide neck bottles, or 6 normal neck bottles... if want to sterilize bigger bottles (ie 240ml type), can only do 2 at a time. but can do 4 or 6 120ml bottles at a time. Good enough for us. :p

cactus,

they have return policy? yeah!!

Ellysia,
just put back the steriliser in box and return it to them.

15 months warranty is very important.... never know when the electronics will spolit.

My Nokia handphone was sent for servicing 3 times after only 2 months!!! nowadays electrical products are so "fragile"

piyoz, I remember Carrefour have cos I've bought wines and champagne from them before (for our wedding). I rememebr them saying can return for wines but cannot for champagne cos something to do with the foil... will spoil... so I remember they have return policy. must keep receipt. I think 14 days or something.

cactus,

Pigeon says every steriliser shd have warranty card.

So there is something fishy here. If there is no warranty, most likely will return to them for a full refund.

I still have the receipt, yesterday check the box and the receipt is in the same plastic bag.

There is a return back policy for Carrefour. But i cannot remember how many days also, anyway i write in now (by post &amp; fax &amp; email) super kiasu all modes of complaint so they cannot say never receive our complaint. see wats the reply is.

hi gers,

TGIF!!! Yippeee....

BB's 1st Mth celebration:
my ILs had cnf above to be held on 14th Jun - buffet luncheon at hm...i definitely dun look forward to the cleaning afterward though but no choice. we probably go wif Jazz Catering which hb n i had used before for our xmas party last yr. on the cake-wise, for practicality reason we will go wif cake vouchers from bengawana solo lar....so keep everything simple n fuss free...

hello ladies
I'm back. Y'day shop whole day at TPY and Suntec. Tis morning went Ikea sale. Bgt only small items (cos my mum hse no space) like cot fabric mobile (fr $12 to $5) and baby bath towel wif hood (fr $15 to $7).

anyone snacking on mamee? Coz just now during lunch, i brought bak a big packet of mamee and distribute to my collegues. Guess wat? All my collegues looked at me and asked 'r u sure u going to eat this?' I told them since pregnancy i nvr touch such snack, only just happen to crave for it.
They all forbid me to eat. Cannot eat meh?

I'm not snacking on mamee.... but on other rubbish like twistees, potato chips.. :p

maybe you want to look at the ingredients of mamee? See if there's anythign bad there?