(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia
Ha, looks like our criteria for stroller is same same. Actually, i been the 2 at Kaki Bukit n the one Baby Avenue (near TMC). What i was browsing was going around feeling the weight of the pram first. The lightest in the mkt is the Combi one at 4.2kg. Other than tat, the others are around 5kg - 7kg. So mentally u must be prepared abt the weight u will accept than u see the functions. Betw 5-6kg is still alright.
Another thing is tat even when i went to these marts, esp the kaki bukit one over weekend, the sales people are always busy n some prams are place on top shelving, can see, cannot touch. But I collect all the brands catelogue, knwing nw the functions, I browse the catalogue or surf website first to look at the models or comments. Least dun hv to make those trips. Maybe try Baby Avenue at Balestier for a start since near TMC.

zuen,
my hubby and I are thinking of erecting a baby corner at our current dining area. coz we knock down our study room and convert to dining area at the living rm. so we might shift the furnitures a bit for bb to play there.... the study rm is prob only for sleeping purpose....

TF,
u also going to TPS? which gynae u seeing? I'm also at TPS. actually i think TPS not exp leh. quite ok. and they do not charge for the scan.... if i go clinic D at KK, they charge for the scan leh....

u all going for the abbott talk?

Veniz,
Wat? No seafood for 1st 3 mths? Chiam….then I think I can go knock my head against wall oreadi….including the 3 mths u mentioned, I’ll off my fave cockles n kidneys for almost a yr then…oh dear… Yup, I remember the pacman tibits too now tat u mentioned, any idea where I can get it now? Dun recall seeing them ard for a long time oreadi.

Muffin,
Give me a 5!
I know geylang has a shop selling nice kidney mee sua but I dunno the exact address cos it is always hb who drove me there. I ve not been there for ages since preggie liao…another nice plc for great kidney (in my opinion) is the famous balestier bak ku the shop but always long queue for dinner. On cockles, my hb is like yurs, also always make the ‘yucky’ face when I ate them before preggie + he will go to the other end of the room cos he said cant stand the sight of bloody cockles. I thick-skinned lar. Ignore him n continue eating lor. Alternatively, I eat at hm when he is out at work n I on leave….hahahhaa…

Tera,
*nod nod* will take advice n try to refrain from the fries n nuggets, will keep myself ‘entertain’ wif jus the fillet…

Angel,
I’d crabs ever so often before n during preggie cos my FIL cooks lots of them….for lunch, dinner n supper…so yes, I m one of those who is on crabs during preggie n no prob so far. Steaks? Not for me, so cant comment on tat….

Tinyfeet: Congrats on your minnie!

Cactus
If u can go overseas, go! I knw smtx its so hard to decide to quit job (wh took me 3 years to think abt) but this time, least u quit for a reason n also able to be wif your baby during critical growing years. Yup rent out for extra income if u nd, then later renovate.

Ellysia
Ya if really headache, dun rush to buy. Initially i tot is a must have item. But later aft much tot, still ok to do w/o for 1st 6mths. Practically we will be carrying the baby during this stage. Maybe after the 2nd mth, u can slowly shop wif ur baby.

I like the Gracco cos they have nice little table top in front for the baby but agn, heavy. Capella initially put me off due to the big wheels n make in korea (i think) so still keeping options open.

Feifei
Ya, hope that got some gd bargins at kids corner. I will get the changing diaper pad (abt $10)

crystal,
i also never eat seafood for 1st 3 mths leh. except for fish lah.... only until around 4 mths plus, then i start to eat crabs, prawns, sotong, pig intestines etc.... but in moderation lah....

i also like to eat kidney mee sua. last week i just went to ate... heavenly.... and my hubby show me the digusted look! haha.... and talking abt cockles, before preggy, i also ate those half cook cockles.... yummy.... hee hee

morr & mrswrx,
u want to go? I dunno if i shld go leh. looks useful.... u all wanna go??

morr,
i tonite ask my hubby if he ok with me going. coz just nice that week my anenatal class break. so class, thats y i see the date so 'giam', quite tempted....

mrswrx,
i tom let u know if i going.

the website say goodie bag worth $100.... dunno how true. skarly all vouchers... haha...

Iamsnow
Wat is TPS? Actually i used to attend TMC only until this month, transfer to KKH. I still trying to adapt to KKH various dept. So nt sure wat is TPS. Orientate me further if there are better ways to see the doctors there. So far I started wif the usual Clinic at the 2nd floor, seen by Medical Officer, Wendy Teo (cos under subsidy), then she refer me to the Cardiac Center for scan and to the Fetal Maternal Clinic for scan too. And all my scan was done by the Head of Dept.

bizz,

My fren also say can buy stroller after bb is born.. but i dunno whether got time to source for a good one when come to that time.

TinyFeet, the waiting time for TPS patients is generally shorter. If you want evening appointments, TPS is the only place in KK for that too. Note that TPS evening appointments are about $10 more ex per consultation than TPS normal office hour appointments (I heard this from other forumners). TPS patients pay private rates and deliver in A or B1 wards.

Cactus is the one seeing. Actually TPS issit where you get the exclusive pte gynae on your day of delivery? I hope to end up there one of these days tho'

Any gd delicated gynae there to recommend if i do consider to move back to pte later?

cactus,
ya, we pay pte rates. but deliver either 1 bed or 4 beds. no diff from normal clinic. just that normal clinic can choose for 6 bedder if u want....

they also dun offer 2 beds one....

no no... I'm not seeing at TPS anymore.

There's no need to go to TPS if you just want your chosen doctor on day of delivery.

In KKH, there are 3 tiers of services we can go for: Subsidized outpatient clinic - Private outpatient clinic (normal outpatient clinic, office hours) - Private Suite (premier service for private patients. At the Children's Tower, not at Women's Tower. Have choice of evening appointments. can even see doctor of your choice at clinic at AMK or SengKang if you are a TPS patient).

If you want your chosen doctor to attend to you on day of delivery, you just need to opt for A or B1 delivery package. I believe all private patients and TPS patients must opt for A or B1 delivery package.

actually, what you can do, TinyFeet, is to continue with the subsidized clinic. then when you are at 32 weeks or when delivery is imminent, tell KKH you want to be a private class patient, opt for A or B1 ward for your stay. From then on, all your outpatient checkups will be charged at higher "private" rates. you will also see your chosen doctor at those check ups and also on the day of delivery.

TinyFeet, I think for choice of doctor, you may want to choose someone who has good working relationship with the neonatology department of KKH and someone who is familiar or comfortable taking on your file due to its complexity.

Where floor is the TPS located? Maybe next trip i go n take a look. Its individual pte clinics right? So are all your scans done in the gynae's clinic itself? I will check wif them also when will be latest tat i nd to consider to have exclusive gynae. They did ask me to consider since baby need attention, rather than visiting doctors on day of delivery. I'm weighing against the NICU n Operation cost. So if baby dun nd Operation immediate aft delivery. I will go pte. Cos i believe later when re-admit him for operation in 6mths to 1 year, can consider subsidy agn.

hi TF,

how are u going to print yr flash cards?

i was thinking of drawing them myself..is there is a print version, even better!

crystal07,

thanks for yr well wishes for my little girl=)

ive already signed up for the abottt talk as i saw the ad on tv yesterday n my hubby will be going along with me.its our first time attending baby related stuff!

morr & mrswrx,
i would luv to go for the talk as well, seem interesting n informative but happen to ve my gynae visit tat day n prob end ard 2+pm, so think ve to miss lor...

Haircut:
anyone here has went for haircut or thinking of getting one before bb comes along? i've almost waist length hair till now n jus tis am went to saloon n got myself a bob haircut. suddenly cant reconcile wif my new look myself but also feel so much lighter on my head...kekeke...

been playing wif the tot for a while oreadi cos of upcoming confinement n jun period is the hottest mth for us but wat pushes me off n go ahead wif it was my MIL again. heard from hb tat she yd brought up the old confinement issue again abt wanting us to stay over at her plc, etc etc....long long story but think she got upset when hb told her our final decision on staying put her in our own hse during confinement. now then she say, according to hb (left wif 75 days to my delivery date), "since u guys so insistent on staying at yur own hm, dun blame me for not going over to do confinement for u, u think u ve extra $, then go get yur own confinement lady now...."

i heard from hb liao i also damn pissed (pardon my lang), cant sleep the whole nite. today fed-up, went cut my hair to bob 1st thing in am, at least i ve one less thing to bother abt during confinement. actually sad to c my hair go too cos never have short hairstyle since i was 8 yrs old....now so late liao, where to find experience, good n reliable nanny even if i ve the $? Idiotic MIL who reai pushes us to the wall. Damn!

since beginning of preg we oreadi told her we wan get confinement nanny n she refused to let us hire, now then come n say such things when so close to due date, reai wan snap liao....

TF,
TPS at first floor. beside the 7-11. It has a shared registration / payment counter. the rms are individuals rms.

yes, the scans are done inside the gynae's rm....

crystal,

Most likely i will be getting a hair cut maybe end of Apr or early May.

Can u get yr mum to help in this case? Its a bit late to get a good confinement lady now.

It may not be too late to get confinement lady through agency. My friend got hers through PEM. very good service and experienced confinement lady despite some bad feedback elsewhere. Cos if go through agency, we can't choose the confinement lady mah. if we are lucky, we get a good one even if we book very late! Better than getting unpopular one now.

crystal,
u cut your hair from long to short? aiyo.... i sure heart ache. i only went to trim length loh. around 4-5 times liao.... still maintaining it at shoulder length....

i can understand abt how u feel towards your mil. coz i also facing similar pblms.... mil giving lots of pblms. and worse, she moved in to stay with us....

have to learnt to be blind and deaf towards her.... haha.... i very bad hor....

Cactus
Thanks u answered part of my qn already. Wat does Neonatal means, specializes on? Yap, i agree on wat u mentioned abt the gynae tat shd be someone comfortable to deliver my complex case. I see if i can find the gynae names in the KKH website, if nt, think they will knw who to recommend since so far they've been getting me the Head of Dept to do most of my case.

just came out from my meeting and saw so many posts! Reali cannot catch up!

Crystal,
U cut to short hair? If me, i wont had the courage to cut my hair short.

crystal,
if u want to look for CL, i know of one who's avail in june. coz initally i wanted her. but she clashed with my mil. so in the end, i have to give up her and choose my 2nd choice. she was being used by my coll. my coll find her not bad. she suprising, i saw her being recommended in one of the CL threads..... pm me if u need her contact.

Crystal
monday i just went for haircut and rebonding and treatment... till my backside so painful... cos sitting down thr too long hour..
haircut and external treatment no problem for us. but do remmeber don go for colouring hair.

crystal,
dun be angry..try to find 1 CL nw la. i believe shld be able to get eventhough onli 2mths notice. or get yr hb to talk to yr MIL n ask if she rely not comin to help u? sometimes old folks jus say 'qi hua' but in their heart they r most willing to help.
as for yr hair, no worries, u sure look good in yr new bob.

Hey TinyFeet,

Just to share something about the Heads of Department. Actually, all senior consultants are good enough. The Head is usually an administrative post. It doesn't mean he/she is better than the other senior consultants in medical stuff. In some departments, the Head is a rotated position too... Are you seeing KT Tan presently?

Neonatology is the study of bb medicine. from birth to 1 month old. this department is also in charge of stablising young bbs with complex situations before passing them on to other departments like surgery.

tinyfeet
I'm still reading from the website on hw the flashcards looks like, etc.. and explore whether are they just alphabets only or wif black pic, etc. Cos i knw in the 1st 3 mths, baby can only differentiate black n white. So easier, no nd color printer, just make big big fonts n copier...keke...
Unless its really very complicated ones aft 3 mths, then i will buy the Phnograms online. Have u read the weblink i sent? Very interesting n critical in 1st 3 years abt the right brain stimulation.

cactus,
my mum will help me for confinement and taking care for my bb too. i will decide to give my mum ard 400bucks every mth.

cactus,

During my #1, i nvr give my MIL AP leh.My hubby just give her more allowance only. If confinement lady, i think the market rate for AP is around $30-50. Some might give more if they find the CL is good.

morr,
u 15th mar cannot? aiya..... nvm, see if mrswrx is ok. else i ask my hubby along if he ok....

cactus,
i know my friend gives her mum $700 allowance monthly. then her mum take care of her bb after she give birth. she is giving her a total of $1000 now.... and she never give any AP....

i guess it's up to individual. most imptly, both parties are comfortable with the arrangment.

TF,

can u provide the link for the flash card one? i can't find the posting u made just now..this thread move too fast.

cactus,

Just realise i miss yr thread on the yao lan issue. at least yr one got mattress below. Tat time when i use for my bro, no mattress below. I tink i ever knock on his head once too, cos mum ask me to take care of him while she is busy and i am too playful so i sway him too hard.

Tat time i was only Pri 2 so i dunno the seriousness of such acts also. Now then i remember when u all toking abt the topic.