(2008/06) June 2008

Hi JP,

You are a SAHM... envy..
Actually tot about the possibility of quitting after birth. However, with the current lifestyle, not possible to survive with DH's income.

Hi gers,
Do you all experience disturbed sleep. I have 8 hrs of sleep every night but felt more tired the next morning cos my sleep will be disturbed by toilet call, sudden awakening and stupid dreams almost every night.

I need my beauty sleep...

Morning ladies! I'm working from home today.. felt so good waking up later than usual. Usually I wake up at 630am if I need to go to office.

Morningz MTBS..

Me juz had laksa for breakfast..lucky nt spicy..if nt cannot take it..

So shiok..U all can work from hm or be SAHM..i dun think i wil haf the chance coz hb income nt enuff to survive..

Hi tinyfeet,

sorry if I've been sounding overzealous with sharing my diet with the rest of the ladies here. I believe a happy MTB will have a happy baby and food restrictions can make a MTB unhappy especially when she has cravings. A low salt, fat and sugar diet comes easily to me because of the way I've been brought up since young. actually, I used to drink soft drinks, but ever since had a bad tummy ache from too much gas, I've stopped drinking. So perhaps, it's also that my body can't take such stuff too. I think when the child mentioned in your post grows up, she'll definately learn to adapt to the normal way of eating foods and she'll probably request for healthier eating options when eating out. I have to admit I'm keeping a watchful eye on the things I eat now since I'm pregnant cos I'm quite short.. and I dun want to have difficult losing weight post delivery.. haha. it's vainity!

hi Twinky,
I can only work from home 1 day in 2 weeks... I feel it's arleady quite a blessing. It's a new initiative that the company implemented.

hi morning...

my checkup yest was good. baby now about 10 weeks, and even saw it move when gynae probe ard during the scan.

wats more, i woke up this morning feeling good... up to now, no heavy nausea yet... *touch wood* hope it stays this way.

JP...
can help to change my EDD to 26 Jun? Thanks!

tinyfeet...
i guess a child's diet oso has to depend on the state of health of the kiddo. some mummies are a little more ks cos their kids may be premature etc, so it's impt for these kids to be on a strict diet for a few yrs of their life. but i do agree with u that in general, we shldnt go overboard on things and moderation is the key.

btw, when u seeing dr mary yang again?

cactus...
actuali u r nt wrong in your advice lor... i do agree with wat u say... esp on the part on salt intake... salt can cause water retention, and this can be a problem for many of us at a later stage... the cure to water retention is to reduce salt intake and drink more water.

keke... i differ on the carbonated drinks part... for me, on bad gassy days i take a can... cos it can make me burp burp burp out all the gas... keke...

JP,
thankfully my sup took it well. Some more ask me if want to take no pay leave after the 3 months maternity. ya lor, really didn't plan for #2 so soon!!

now one more mouth to feed, all the more cannot be SAHM. Must earn money for milk powder.

cactus....
so good, can work from home =)

twinky...
I had sinful roti prata.... yum yum!!! Yesterday BK whopper mushroom swiss..... AIYO!!!!

cactus, you shaking your head??? this greedy mummy.... hee heee .... can't resist good food.

soyabean,
I take one can coke light some days too. Feels good to burp out huh =)

cactus,

My oven dun have such function, only time and some function like top/bottom/preheat. someting like tat. Anyway i always agar agar bake, then see the colour of the meat then if got smell means roughly okay then i take out to test and see if it is okay.

What i meant is the taste not so nice because i dunno wat to marinate lor. Anyway yesterday i went supermarket to buy more marinating sauce, maybe it will be nice hee.

Btw, i just bot ZTP concentrated bird nest (buy 5 get 1 free), i bot 6 cans at 1 shot! Use my own $$ leh, really expensive. sob. But more worth than Eu Ren Sheng lor.

Btw, i ask cordyceps price from ZTP and they are cheaper than Eu Ren Sheng. The smallest quantity (1 liang) cost $480. Tink i will see how much bonus i get then decide whether want to buy or not.

piyoz,

Ah yesterday i just take chicken curry rice again!! HOT AND SHIOK! but really sinful, tink i better dun eat too many times.

Yest i drank milk lah but cos lack of lactose, my stomach get bloated with air again.. sianz..

today i drink soyabean drink, hope it be better.

Actually for coke/cokelight, dun drink more than 1 can cos of the caffeine.

everyone's needs are different mah. For me, I cannot and will not give up what I like to eat or drink even when pregnant. But some are healthy by nature too, and when pregnant, are more conscious of what they eat.
As long happy can liao!

Hi Piyoz,
Sinful meh? keke...I think I am the most sinful one here lor.

I had lor mee for BREAKFAST yesterday, 1.5 crispy skin curry puff with a pc of grilled lamp chop and can of soft drink for lunch, only dinner more normal.
Hmm... i suddenly think of oozing melted cheese from BK mushroom swiss leh.

Hi ellysia
Curry chicken!! Aiyoh, now i find that my taste buds changed completely, I want to and can eat more spicy stuff. My mum who is the spicy champion in the house also cannot tahan me these days. yah yah...

You lactose intolerant, maybe it is the coconut milk in the curry that made you bloated?

Hi Kelcqi,

Try reduce cold drinks. We can drink slightly more when reach last tri as our body need to cool down and ready for delivery.

Too much cold drinks may also result us in getting leg & muscle cramps too.

Cactus,
As for sugar intake I think up to individual taste. mention all in moderation. some preg they like to eat more sweeter taste as taste buds feels so metallic BUT some prefer less taste. Too much sugar may result diabetes while preg too. That is the reason everytime when we see our gynae, we need to do urine test too. So ladies, moderation yeah.

Hai, so good that all of u able to take milk. I drink a little bit soya milk already wan to vomit! Not even fresh milk or anmum or any. Now i totally condemn milk! Even milo also don feel good. Also dono can make mi good...

Hi Tinyfeet,
If I am not wrong, my 1st preg i took neurogain (fish oil) from 20weeks onwards as advise & buy from gynae.

All MTB,
Don't worry so much in what kind of food to eat etc. Like tonic also. We can take from 20weeks as its e best time whereby we & bb is absorbing. That is when our weight will really gain from there. We can ask another best person, OUR MOTHER. They are more knowledgable than us and in case of buying tonic, they know where to get, better price etc so we wont be cheated by SOME shops.

Sit back relax, don stress enjoy the pregnancy. Don forget, we stress also not good for bb okie!

Hi Piyoz, mushroom swiss is good. once in a while I have craving for it too! fast food may not be unhealthy loh. mushroom swiss has musrooms and cheese. beef patty is good too. I actually craved for mushroom swiss yesterday but didn't go buy cos too lazy to go to BK..!!

Wah keep toking abt BK mushroom swiss.. is it really v nice??

I also dun eat v healthy.. sometimes eat fish noodles, yong tau hu - healthy.. but sometimes also eat fried food and spicy food.

Ellysia,

I will often pat dry the chicken before I marinate with sauces.. if not, you will find the sauces very diluted after all. I will pat dry, then marinate, put in fridge, after 4 hours, remove the diluted marindate, then marindate again. then just before putting into oven, I will brush on marinate one more time. One brand I like is kikkoman's terriyaki sauce. But these days, using more dried herbs.

Linda,

Coconut milk inside/cheese etc will not be so bad.. drinking milk directly will have the worst effect.

I was bloated before i eat the curry chicken - i drank the milk around 4pm and bloated until 7plus.. so in the end i take curry chicken to spice up my appetite lah heee.

Ya like u, i also been taking more and more spicy food. Didn't really like sour food leh.

Linda,

Mine is totally opposite fr u..I cannot tolerate spicy stuff anymore..Little bit of chilli i cannot tahan liao..Last time i can eat the spicy volcano ramen fr Aijisen..but last few wks when i go & eat again..i realise it is too spicy for me..Sob~Sob~
1094754.gif

Cynthia,

I also cannot drink milk leh. Just now drink soyabean drink, also a bit bloated hee. But not as bad as milk.

twinky...
hug hug... i can understand... i oso cant take spicy food now... cos of the heartburn i wld get... but ren ren ok?

ellysia...
try not to take too much curry... cos the yellow spice if taken too much will not be good...

Do you all realise that before meal, your tummy look normal and not big..But after meal, tummy look real big??

For my case is like that..In the morning when i wake up, i dun look like preggy..tummy size like normal..But after meal, my tummy like suddenly so big..like 4-5mth pregnant..And i onli eat abt 40-50% of my food..Wonder y like tt..

twinky,

Cos our stomach is bloated. Mine also like tat, can be small and big sometimes.

soyabean,

Is it bec of the "huang Jiang"? My mum also mentioned cannot eat too much Indian food cos of the huang jiang they used.

Hi Twinky, I'm experiencing the same thing too. After I eat, tummy big big.. and it will stayo very big for many hours! I also eat less than before.
I read somewhere that our food gets digested very very slowly when we are pregnant so that the max amount of nutrients is "derived" from the food as the food passes very slowly through the intestines. It's for bb's benefit. That's also why we tend to feel more bloated than usual.

oh.. just to add - we tend to have alot of gas because the food remains in our intestines for a very long period of time (to derived max amount of nutrients for bb), and ferment in our intestines.. causing gas.

cactus,

Ya. Anyway colleague just commented my stomach "show" v early. Hee. I wonder is it bec' i eat quite a lot. Cos i tend to get hungry easily, my appetite before pregnancy is ored bigger than normal due to higher metabolism rate.

Today i wear back my old top, ored v tight at chest area and stomach area. So far i have only bot 3 tops but i guess i have to stock up soon or else all my clothes are gonna look tight and short and not so nice..like "bao ba zhang".

twinky..
im also going through the same...my tummy seems bigger whenever i finished my meal...and felt so much heavier!

just came back from lunch!!! had prawn mee soup...aiyo so sinful...cannot take prawns for the next few weeks liao
high cholesterol...

Haha Shycloud,

Me sunday eat prawn noodle, yesterday eat fried hokkien prawn mee, today eat laksa..more sinful than u ah..

But i think prawn noodle the prawn very small..cholestrol level wil nt b very high bah..

Ya Ellysia,

My mum oso tell me nt to eat those full wif alot of artificial colourings..Not so gd..But i like to eat indian nasi briyani leh..monday juz went to northpt there & eat onli..Haha..Feel so shiok..although cannot finish and eat abit..

Lucky i nt the only one like tt..sometimes i feel fatter wif the bloated stomach..coz feel like those pple ard me look at me as fat woman instead of preggy..So demoralising..

twinky...
the prawn i ate seems medium size to me...haha anyways must restrain myself from taking seafood cos i heard it can irritate the BB skin and their skin wun be as nice and smooth. dunno whether true anot. but but im a super prawn lover...how?

just to share on my jap dinner last nite...ate chawanmushi, fried salmon skin, fried tofu, scallop wings sushi...very full already..

the chawanmushi contains crab meat!!! argh...in the end have to dig that part out to share with my gf...sianz...im not supposed to eat crab...jia lat!

Shycloud,

Me oso like to eat crabs and prawns one..But nw reali gt to cut down or refrain lo..

U eat chawanmushi stil ok..Me worse..ate chuka hotate (marinated snail meat if i nt wrong..cold dish somemore), fried hotate (fried scallop), soft shell crab on sat nite..my hubby dunno i ate all these..otherwise he wil kill me..hahha..

im not gonna let my HB know too...later he will start to control wat i eat liao...but of cos i will practise self-control first...haizz

ellysia,
yes its the "huang jiang"... cos of this, we oso shld refrain from eating too much noodles that are yellow in color... go for more beehoon and guo-tiao...

Yes Soyabean,

I agree wif u..Coz my colleague when pregnant wif her 2nd child, she crave for those yellow noodles..ended up nw her daughter skin condition nt very gd..face like yellow yellow..tt's y she regretted..

So she tel me, try nt to eat so much of the yellow noodles..nw i prefer eating those 'thick beehoon'..guo tiao after long..too soggy...dun reali like..like 'nuar nuar' one..

shycloud,

I am also a super prawn lover!! Very hard to control not eat prawns heee.

Twinky and shycloud,

My hb dun bother wat food i eat.. guess i tell him wat food i eat he also dunno whether can eat or not for pregnancy. In fact he didn't read the pregnancy book for women so he didn't know wat can eat or not, info all frm me. He only read pregnancy for men (i.e. fathers) which tok abt mental preparation n how to comfort MTBs.

Twinky,

I dun like to eat yellow noodles.. only occasionally eat Indian food and curry heee.. so i guess not tat bad..

But tok abt bb complexion colour.. they say drink more soyabean and milk.. but i always drink milo and chocolate milk.. all dark dark one.

Halo mummies

Im a FTWH having my 2nd bb nw, EDD on 2 June

Have been following the thread but to shy too post aniting .. keke

I am nw in my 13 wks & realise tat my tummy is veri big ... does ani mummy here oso facing tis problem?

10Q

Hi ladies! Just woke up from my nap.. yawnz. weather so nice to sleep in ... rainy.

Hi Lamb! welcome to this thread how old is your 1st one? We were just chatting about how bit our tummies were after meals!

Ya my tummy bloated and look fat now, esp i drink coke just now at lunch and eat rice.

Just have a small walk around office but can't reduce bloatness.

Mine is 1st one leh..maybe my tummy dun have much muscles lor.

hi soyabean,

i will see dr yang on my 10th week. im now at 9 weeks. cant wait to see her n hopefully my baby has grown to his/her desirable size for a 10 weeks old.

what are we expected to see for a 10 weeks old? estimated size?

soyabean,

are u using tummy scan already?

coz my womb apparently is titled backwards(according to dr yang and im not very sure what it means)

but i know its more difficult to do a scan via my tummy for the first 2 visits as the baby was then only at 5 weeks.

hopefully i can do a tummy scan next week!

Hi cactus_79,
so envy.. can take nap ... me wrking & so slpy nw.. *yawn* my daughter is coming 18 mths ald

ellysia,
ya lor, me oso bloated & cant stand it wen burp.. realy makes me wana vomit.. but nw it was gg away & my appetite becomes beta.. can eat quite alot.. keke even the doc oso sae y my tummy so big.. haha she even joke tat I might haf twins~!

hi tinyfeet,
i hv the same prob as u! my uterus is also tilted to the back... so i finali managed to do tummy scan when i saw her yest! for yest's scan, baby is about 2.87cm and abt 9w5d old.
u going to be 10 weeks so shld be able to do tummy scan... not a prob...
hope to hear update from u then...

Lamb,

Me also same.. 12 weeks and MS has subside, so has been eating a lot more! Guess i will grow fat soon..

ND,

sorry i tink is 9 weeks and 3cm. 11 weeks is 6cm.

9 weeks i am ored able to do tummy scan (before tat at 7 weeks does a virginal scan). So as long as it is not too bloated with gas, shd be able to do a tummy scan.

soyabean,

actually i tink anyting also dun over indulge then is safest.. cos sometimes we are not so sure which food got wat content etc.

So play safe i try not to let cravings last too long, try to change different menus so won't get sick of certain food easily and also won't over indulge.