Jamsnow / twinky:
Co have every right to retrench preggie employees. Ive checked with MOM already when I 1st found out I m preggie. The law only protect union blue-collar ees. Pple like us are considered as white-collars, so no coverage. Moreover, company can retrench us before we are in 6th mth & avoid payment of 3 mths maternity benefits. Plus, this retrenchment in my company is a business decision due to revenue target not met, not personal, so pple like me have no case against company at MOM.
Another one of my colleague whom I mentioned earlier was also preggie, now in her 5th mth is also on the list of retrenchment & she is so down. *sob sob* for her..cos she still ve an older DD now abt 18 mths + her hb not earning lots, so she is reai worried abt finances. so m i actually but if scrimp a bit, i can still survive on my severance pkg lor....just no savings for whole of next yr.
Cactus is rite tat there isnt such an act in SIN which protect preggie ees like us. My gf in AU says they have wat is called the discrimination act against preggie women. Not so in SIN, in SIN we ve to all look out for ourselves. Btw, my is a really huge n well known German MNC, this also happenwat is there to say?
I told hb tat bb reai didnt come at the rite time cos although I get severance pkg but I cant get another job till at least well after maternity which for us will be in jul / aug 08, rite?
At least if not preggie, get my severance pkg already, I can still find a job next jan or something, now I cant do anything at all. Hb afraid I go into depression. I must admit though in my working life of 9 yrs, tis is the 1st time I encounter such a set-back.
when I m alone, I reai think a lot. Last nite for 2 nites in a row, I cant sleep again. Dun even feel like coming into office but my boss also dun wan to early release me. Sian.
JP: I m the one kenna retrench lar, not cactus. Headcount at regional office (where I m at) was reduce from 500+ to 200+. Morale now very low cos the retrenchment is across Asia Pacific as well & the numbers here does not include AP cuts.