(2008/06) June 2008

Morning everyone!

This morning is a bad one. Boss scold me in the early morning. He saw me eating bread at my desk and said i never eat discreetly. Actually he said many times already then last time he said eat below cubicle parition is OK! Then today he say i never follow orders and why no eat discreetly although i eat below parition already.

I told him my partition is in the middle of nowhere and everywhere i face also will have people spot me eating. Moreoever everyone just eat at their cubicle, some even eat while walking. Then he say those are not under his team so he can only only control me.

Isn't this sickening??!! I Quarrelled with him, ta bo leh tahan cos he has been nagging on this for many times over past 2 years since we moved to this new office layout with open system.

Then he very buay siong i quarrel with him. In the end i gotta apologize to him in email (cannot say in person i scare my temper shot up).

Now i have no choice but to hide in the files compartus area to eat breakfast! Very chiam and i need to eat few times during the day cos need to break into small meals mah. Somemore will grow hungry.

Hi iamsnow,

red, green, white, black tea refers to the degree of fermentation of tea. All tea leaves/floral petals have an ideal degree of ofermentation to bring out the best aroma.
Green tea would be like jasmine tea. Black tea would be teas like oolong. I don't know what red tea is though.

poor thing, Ellysia! Your boss not very understanding hor.... sigh... just have to hide and eat lah.. and maybe eat in small mouthfuls to be more discreet. I hope you feel less angry soon.

ellysia, an zua ur boss like that? got co. policy that staff cannot eat at their own table meh? if not, then it shouldn't really matter mah...i'll faint if i can't eat at my table!!!

Wah Ellysia,

Y ur boss like tt one..He shld understand tt u r pregnant..When ur stomach grow bigger hw?? U gg to hide and eat oso?? I think 2nd tri we wil b eating more coz bb is absorbing very fast for growth..Maybe u can speak to ur boss..

Dun feel angry..U muz b happy so ur bb wil b smiling always..bb can feel our mood one.. Cheerz =)

ellysia
huh...aiyo y your boss like tat...your boss having PMS ar so fierce to you...btw are you able to eat at your pantry instead? outta his sight? or you can request to share the space with ur colleagues when having bf?

Rose tea can drink?? tt time i watch tv..then gt one fellow selling floral tea was saying rose tea nt suitable for preggy..but becoz of wat..i can't rememer..

hi Twinky, I don't know whether rose tea can drink. Cos the question was about caffeine mah... so I was sharing that black tea has the most caffaine whilst floral unfermented tea has the least/no caffeine. I don't know if rose tea is safe to drink but not for caffeine reasons. Lavender tea has no caffeine but I understand shouldn't drink during 1st trimester cos can cause contractions and miscarriages.

Dear gals,

I told my boss i am preggy.

So sad and upset. Just now i so angry i shout at him also.. cos i feel it is v unfair everyone at office is eating openly why he only target me just because i am his subordinate.

Pantry has no space to sit, moreoever he will say not discreetly because he can see me eating! Basically must be away from his sight.

As my cubicle is v open, i dun tink i can eat inside my cubicle if he insist tat no one has to seen me eating. Moreoever, i just sit next to his room.

My boss is like tat.. sometimes v unreasonable, like take leave or watever he will want to know the reason even if i say personal reason. V sian, somemore i work here for 6 years already.

Ellysia, what about drinking during office hours? You can buy soya milk or fresh milk. These are healthy and will make you feel full. Surely he can't object if you drink right? If he doesn't like in those fancy disposable cups, then you can buy those 1 litre tetra pack, pour into your mug in office and drink.. just like plain water or coffee...

Or else, you can consider buying those energy bars. those health snacks. They may keep you feeling full for longer periods of time, so you dun need to snack so often. Also, these snacks have no smell, no messy and no sound when you eat.

Aiyoh, you all dun like this leh, all the talk abt tea... i drinking teh-o now wor. I realised now I dun like the taste of milk in coffee or tea. I prefer them black. Funny things that pregnancy does to us.

Hi Janken
TY steamboat is the one at Marine Parade SC basement foodcourt huh? Must go try this weekend.

Hi ellysia
Dun angry lah... Last time my work place, we were NOT allowed to eat AT ALL during official working hours at our desk leh. Only pantry and they close one eye during lunch time. They say it is corporate image lor, esp when there are visitors. So your boss still not the top most unreasonable one lor.

Xmas
Anyone can share where to order Xmas turkey, ham from? I got several leaflets from NTUC, Cold Storage but dunno which is good. I read some of you mentioned Carrefour, but I tried to search online their website, no details leh. We are hosting a Xmas party on 25th Dec so must start to source and plan the menu liao....

Ellysia,
*sayang*...Ur boss really bad leh...how can like that...haiz...Now ur tummy not so big yet, still can hide, next time how to leh...DO u hv a pantry?

linda..
yes...tats the one! you should go try it... simply delicious. but be prepared that weekends can get pretty crowded.

ellysia, your boss is really horrible..... did u offend him in anyway before???

eat bread already very discreet, no sound already leh..... aiyo... he control freak ar...

ladies, my MS is back... back since last evening. no appetite to do eat anything. feeling very xian. sucking on sour plums now.... the only thing that makes me more alive.. sigh. Friday some more..

Linda,

Why i say he is unreasonable is bec' everyone is eating at cubicle but he dare not scold them cos they are not under his team. Then he only picked on me. My team mates not preggy of course no need to eat so many times wat.

iamsnow,

No didn't offend him. But he like to pick on such mini details.

Hi Janken
Normally Sat we eat late like 8plus, after waiting for hb to knock off. So by that time shld be ok bah?? It is ala carte? Can have 2 choice of soup in one pot? Cos bringing my girl, she cannot eat spicy and I feel like having tom yum wor.

Hi ellysia
I think he a bit siao siao lor, maybe he see others all like that but yet cannot control and still angry, so throw all the anger at you. Or maybe he scold you just to show them and to voice his displeasure? Sigh....
Have you thot of changing a job? Cos if his personality is like that, next time when you have a baby, lagi worst and diff for you to take leave when bb is sick or need injections.

Carrefour is good? Do they deliver? Hmm... I dunno how to get the brochure leh, esp when these few weekends tied up liao.

Hi Ellysia, sorry to hear your boss is such. Just have to do your eating discretely from now on liao, no choice. Just hate guys who always just talk, and pinpoint when other pple can do it. Very bad. You can consider to change job after you give birth since you have been working there for so long and taking all his demands, scolds, etc.

My Company is shifting to a new office, and as the only office person around (including my manager lar), nobody is helping me to do all packing. Luckily the files and items not that much, so at least I one person can manage. Mgr said will help, but just sit there do his own personal things, and the store guy just care about his store, and when he finished his shift, I asked that Mgr said can move my packed files over, he said nobody tell him, I also acted like 'ok lor'. Towards the end, he will still have to help to shift, otherwise, I will strain my tummy.

Just too bad I am pregnant now and can't leave after bonus this year, otherwise, I will not stay in this 'selfish, self centred MCP' environment. Have to Ren....

Just yesterday I had a heated arguement with Singtel customer service, they give wrong info on my company fax machine relocation and gave double standarded info, thus I was quite pissed off and tell them as the only service provider and so big co, they should be able to do something about my case and not take our disavantages to their advantages. 1st time in this pregnancy that I felt so angry.

linda, i bought from cold storage turkey ham last year and some honey ribs. quite nice. the only thing I did not like is that the turkey ham is roasted together with the net. i had such a hard time trying to take the net out..... by the time i remove the net, the turkey ham looks horrible.... haha...

twinky, i also have that bitter taste feeling. worse still, after I eat very strong taste food like mee siam, i feel the bitter taste again. i told my hubby my mee siam taste bitter, he looked at me as if I'm an alien!!!

u gals r making my mouth drooling after the talks on christmas feast..

Me wil be holidaying in korea from 18/12 & back on christmas eve evening..guess wil b too shag to celebrate christmas..

sianz..most of the korean food spicy or not is bbq..i dun think i can enjoy much for this holiday wif my condition nw..Sob Sob~~..no skiing for me oso..gynae say muz avoid..

twinky, u going korea? that time i also went korea around xmas time.... i went to the wonderland, very good xmas atomsphere.... but i was quite sick of the food. every meal also got lots of kimchi... and mostly bbq meat....

I'm so tired! can hardly keep my eyes open. so glad I'm going on leave from next mon! just need to tahan today and tomorrw half day

iamsnow,

Was it fun there? i scare the cold weather i cannot tahan since i nw little bit little bit oso easily cold..my colleague say by rite pregnant shld feel hot one..Do u all feel cold easily oso??

Ya lo..actually i love kimchi..but nw spicy tolerance level went downhill..so i dun think wil enjoy the food lo..also bbq food preggy cannot take too much..

I'm not sure. even before pregnant, I 'm the type who's scard of cold. but now I can feel it's worse. I've to adjust my office temp to 25/26 degree C now.

twinky,

I also easy cold. Friends says maybe I'm weak as I eat very very little. I have lost 5kg ever since my MS appear.

Hehe Kylene,

Me opp..B4 pregnant, i nt scare of cold..But nw super scare..Everytime when i step into office i wil sure adjust the air-con temp to 25 degree c too..sometimes i cold until i tel my colleague gotta off the aircon for a while..coz i'm shivering liao..lucky they understand..

Sharon,

u lost 5kg so much ah..hw many wks r u in nw??..i lost almost 3kg oredi so suffering. U muz b feeling very bad..

Take carez yah..

linda..
tat timing should be alright. yes its ala carte so order according to wat u can eat..if not will be wasted and the prices have increased though...

they have halfpot of each soup base so dun worry on tat...your gal can enjoy the clear chicken soup base.

me also feels cold easily...i shiver on MRT...esp. when it goes into the tunnel...and when am cold, i cough..which makes me gag... :S

hey gals...
i also tend to feel cold easily especially in office. my fingers will grew numb and i can't adjust the temp due to it's centrally controlled

at home...whenever i'm in bed, i will switch off the fan as my feet will feel damn cold and i will cover myself with blanket from head to toe...so my hubby has to bear with the "heat" throughout the nite...poor man

i should consider wearing socks whenever i go to sleep. tats wat i do usually when im in aircon room..so that i do not shiver in my sleep.

twinky, it was very cold. but i'm someone who's afraid of cold lah... was already wearing 3 layers. thermal wear, my normal top and winter jacket. still not enuff.... i even took my hubby's winter jacket to wear on top of mine.... looked like a fat penguine.... haha.... i remember there was even one day which rained.... wah, really horrible then!!! but maybe u can tahan cold better than me. I'm someone who cannot tahan cold.... even in mrt also can feel cold loh....

my little one 8 weeks old yesterday. gynae said edd 3 july. but I'll probably deliver mid june i think. Mind if I still hang around here???

cactus, iamsnow, i gained 1+ kg at 8 weeks. but this is on top of the 4 kg unlost weight from 1st preggy..... get hungry very easily nowadays. don't know when then can fit into my pre-preggy jeans!!! btw, my maternity jeans really value for money.... wear for so long.

HI gals,

Back frm my lunch talk.

I dunno next time if take leave for childcare or watever, whether he will allow or not.. gotta see how.

But during maternity maybe is a good time to apply for job cos got time at home. Now preggy also hard to change job. My company is okay for family planning but my male boss never have any subordinate in the past who is preggy so I tink he won't be so open. He somemore said my other colleague (another team one) that taking maternity is so shiok can rest and enjoy.

On the topic of feeling more cold, after getting preggy i did feel more cold easily. Sometimes will be warmer than usual but most of the time colder.

One perfect mum staff told me it is like tat in 1st trim to be feel cold so is normal.

Veniz,

do yr heart pump harder when u are angry. I can feel bb heart also pump faster cos my heart pump v fast nowadays if i am angry.

Linda,

Carrefour have delivery with charges. Last year my hb fetch the food frm the supermkt so we didn't have the delivery. The food are cooked and then chilled to keep. Once u received the food, u just heat them in oven or microwave and can eat ored. The turkey however, u have to use the stocking and put in and cook awhile in the oven so the smell is nicer.

I dunno wanna order frm jack place catering.. dunnno is it more nicer.

Hi all MTBs, Just to share, I hope you all can benefit from this recipes to cope w yr MS.

Chix Congee w Dangshen and Duzhong
30g Dang Shen
15g Duzhong
60g glutinous rice
600g chix
15g ginger

1. Rinse all ingredients.
2. Put Dang Shen and Du Zhong into a cloth bag and tie the bag tight. Put all ingredients into a pot. Cook until the rice is mushy.
3. Season w a little sale and cooked oil. Serve

This porridge is good and norish and warm your gastric especially after vomit. I tried it several times too.

Another recipe

Lotus Seed Congee w Mai Dong
Ingredients
10g Mai Dong
12g lotus seeds
40g long-grain rice

1. Put Mai Dong into a cloth bag
2. Rinse rice and lotus seeds. Add water and bring to boil. Put in Mai Dong and cook until the rice is mushy.
3. Discard the Mai Dong in a cloth bag and serve.

You may ask about and buy from Medical Hall the Chinese herbs to cook the above porridge.