(2008/06) June 2008

shucks..i have natural frizzy hair...need to do rebonding cos i will be cutting my hair short...it will be a real mess if i do not get my hair straightened.

Recently i read in motherhood magazine (or baby magazine, cannot remember the name) that if bb is too big, then have to use induced labour. It talk abt the implications of such induced labour etc, quite interesting.

Ellysia,
Thanks for your advice.

shucks..i have natural frizzy hair...need to do rebonding cos i will be cutting my hair short...it will be a real mess if i do not get my hair straightened.

Angie,

Better avoid facial during this period..

I only tinking to put on facial mask (home use one) after 1st trim.

Now only using facial wash to clean. Got pimples also no choice. My face even got 2 patches peeling off! Ugly but really no choice, sianz.

u can steam your hair though. can make your hair softer. if do those heat steaming, tell the person not to turn up the heat too high. else u can go for those oxygen steam.

huh...but but i can't live with messy hair..and i intend to keep it short for my confinement period...what to do?

any suggestions?

janken,

how long is your hair now? Can tie it up? Also, maybe can try using some hair products to calm the frizz?
Do you frequent the same hairdresser? If yes, maybe can ask him/her for suggestions as well.

my rebonding is also wearing off and i have just trimmed my hair to shoulder length. Think I will have to start tying it up becos if not, it is very "pong". Then in May next year, I will cut it short.

I think if you girls are desperately in need of some beauty treatments, perhaps it is time to do some research on natural beauty treatments. E.g. those homemade natural treatments for skin and hair that use products like eggs, salt, honey, fruits, etc. You can make simple scrubs and masks from these.

Last time I have seen articles on these, in newspapers, magazines and email, but of course I didn't need to pay attention because I could rebond & have facials LOL! Now I think it is time for a review!

teragram..
yes can tie..but if cut short my hair will be like "bird's nest" diff to manage ...guessed i will cut it short in may and meanwhile go for regular hair steaming...

hi Janken,

If you need to do facials, you may want to check the ingredients on the products that they use on your skin. There are some ingredients like retinol, salicylic acid and BHA which should not be used. the rest are ok. after all, facials are once in 3 weeks or so.. and the facial skin is just a fraction of the surface area of skin on the body. It's not that bad.

Hehehe.. FYI For my 1st gal, I do rebonding & DYE highlighted my hair. I think within 1st tri. cos cant stand messy hair. Also nothing happen.

Intend to do maybe Jan. Its up to individual & there is no scientific proven only some studies mention it MAY harm. I think still up to individual. EVEN MY auntie who is 40plus old she say after 1st tri den do lo cos bb alot stable hehehe.

Maybe u can tel ur hairstylist not to touch so much on ur root. Think still up to own bah. I have alot other preg frds also do rebonding or perm n dye etc. Pedi medi they still do. Facial too.

cheekmonkey - So sorry to hear that! *hugs* Look at it in another way, sometimes our little one will self abort him/her self if he/she feels that he/she will not be a healthy baby. I too had a MC before I had my son. Take care, rest well and hugs!!!

Wow....never come online for a few days and so many posts liao..he!he!

Vacations - Wow...so many ppl going for a vacation. I wish we could go for a break too but with my #1 being so hyper-active and my MS being so bad, I don't think DH will survive the vacations...ha!ha!

A huge welcome to all new MTBs!!!

Sometimes even if tell hairdresser dun touch scrap etc the helpers also didn't take extra care also.. my colleagues who are preggy also didn't do rebond, and i have many colleagues who are preggy or preggy before (cos we have many females here with families).

When I bot the pregnancy book, my hb also bot a pregnancy book (for daddies) written from a men perspective.

RE: Pregnancy Book

I am reading "What to Expect When You're Expecting"
by Heidi Murkoff, Arlene Eisenberg & Sandee Hathaway

My hubby bought it for me during my 1st pregnancy, and now in my 2nd pregnancy, I still find it very useful. Always by my bedside table hehee

Actually just go to kino and dish through those books that u find comfy and got good info then can liao. Its up to individual reading preference, some people prefer simplier language, some prefer more info.

hi ellysia
My first is a girl. My hb is the only son. Although my ILs are quite open, I think they will love a grandson. So in some ways, I think having a boy would make them VERY happy. As for me, well, a child is a child, all the more precious esp when I cannot conceive and carry it easily... Since I already have a girl, why not make them happy leh?
But hb still prefers girls lor, so that he can have "stereo" effect from left and right when both girls sai-nai him.

Hi angie
Went for facial on Wed... ok leh. My beatician told me to avoid the high frequency machines like the eye lifting and the anti-bacterial machine. I had a good sleep!
But i realised my skin condition very bad since this pregnancy leh.

janken
What i did was to cut my hair only nearer to birth. Then after I delivered and my wound healed, I went for hair services. :p wanted to look good for full month mah!

Re cramps
Slight cramps are expected cos your womb is stretching to accomodate growing baby. Pls do not get paranoid!!
It is only dangerous if it is continous, sharp and you most likely have backaches too.
M/c is first trimester are mostly unavoidabledue to self-abortion thru DNA faulting. There is nothing we can do to avoid nor it is anything we did to incur it.

Bleeding - Might NOT always be a slight of m/c. I had 2 m/c which started off as pink discharge which gradually turn redder. It doesnt stop and it gets heavier like menses. Normally it is the body's way of dispeling the pregnancy as it have ended back some time ago without us realising it.
I had fresh red bleeding this pregnancy. I thot it was the end already, but it didnt continued on. It was just one wipe, one episode then nothing follows. And baby was blinking away on ultrasound the next day.

So as long as your spotting doesnt get worst, pls try to rest as much as possible but dun worry too much.

My MIL yesterday saw my tummy, then she touch my tummy and grin from ear to ear.. aiyoo..

last time i saw her, she touch my buttock and say now become more fat liao..

sigh, dun know why my MIL become so touchy recently, a bit scared of her.

MTBs....discovered something interesting....whenever I felt that my MS was going down hill the other day, I took mentos fruit. Wah...nice!

Wah i wonder whether my MIL is doing some pang dang stuff.. anyway it make me so uneasy that she is touchy.. but i can't do anyting also.

agree with linda..to rest well and rest more!

soon after i discover that im preggie..i have stopped all household chores except washing laundry...cos really tired and feel breathless (lucky my tenant is there to help me out)

my HB did not even mind abit (especially tat he hates the floor hasnt been swept etc) and asked me to go and rest. He has also volunteered to handle the housework which he has never offered b4!

haha felt like a queen ;p

Today i got discharge again.. Last 2 days dun have. Since started duphaston last Wednesday, been improving but still got 3 days out of 7 days have.

RE: MIL
mine told me jus a mth back during dinner tat if i ve a bb ger, it is because i ve a wk constitution. if i ve a strong body constitution, i will definitely ve a bb boy. i was so damn pissed. retorted her tat boy or ger depends on her son (my hb- which btw is the oni son in the family), nothing to do wif me. immediately she black-faced. i was so damn pissed off! she is oni in her late 50s, dunno wat kinda of mentality she has even!

i'm back from my C/U. everything is fine... finally saw baby's heartbeat *phew*.... my cramps might be due to breastfeeding. anyway e gynae gave me some hormones pills to take just in case although i dont experience any spotting. will be seeing him again 2wks later.

paulnelaine, u shld stopped breastfeeding now....cos it triggers contractions plus yr body is now preparing for this pregnancy so all the more u shld not BF.

ellysia...
not to scare you..
but my MIL also very pang dang and she did some disturbing acts during my AD that i got to know after tat. HB is unaware of her actions and i do not intend to tell him.

i have sweared since to ignore her whatever unreasonable requests or superstitious beliefs that will cause me discomfort. in case she starts to listen to those nonsensical "aunties" that taught her how to "tame" her DIL.

"wo bu shi sheng you de deng" !!!And of cos will not let anyone touch my belly except my hubby and my mum!

Hello Ladies,

I heard from my friend that we preggy ladies should not take vitamin A stuffs. You heard of it before? Why can't we take vitA ah?

Hello Ladies,

which part of the body do you normally have cramps? last night i experienced the cramp after urine.. right at the belly button. Then this morning, when i attempt to stood up, there's a slight cramp near to the right ovary.. do you have the same cramp too?

lala, cramps are normal. do not worry. initially I was very worried also. but now used to it liao.... coz sac expanding....

Hi crystal
keke... My MIL went like "HUH? is it? Then last time the women all so poor thing, kena framed by ILs, say cannot give birth to boys...Aiyoh, never study is like this" when I told her boy or girl depends on hb. I guess in their times, no one knows lor, and all along had been taught tt boy or girl is women's problem.

Hi Janken
If she pang tang, let her be lor. What she says just "or, yes, ok" but go home you do anot also she doesnt know.

hi ellysia
your discharge is what colour? Pregnant women can hv more normal yellowish discharge due to hormonal changes, which can also easily lead to vaginal infection. Rest well and avoid using too much strength.

janken,

My hb also dun believe, he tot his mum is not pang dang. But it is so obvious wat.. my MIL last time also ask my HB to bring back old utensils (from their house) to our new house as a gift..
then on my customary tea ceremony she also do some pang dang stuff (not so obvious one).

Actually i tink it is really bo liao.. why they must do this kind of thing, i really dun understand. My mum said next time dunno if my MIL may do some other stuff on my bb cos my bb will be taken care by my MIL.

As for the belly incident, she 'attacked' me out of sudden when i am not cautious. Last mth she also touch my buttock, i tot is bec she just touch for fun but this round its more suspicious.

My hb said if i feel uncomfy he can tell his mum but do u think got any use?

i think putting on make up is fine... u would still want to feel n look good even with yr pregnancy rite??

maybe we shld just avoid lipstick.

i dun think some powder, mascara or blusher will reach the baby in any way

Hi lala, yes, we shouldn't anyhow take vit a supplements but I'm a bit confused about taking food rich in vit a/beta carotene. I did ask my doc about it. she said take everything in moderation....

crystal,

How come yr MIL say such things, then yr hb never say anything?

I also suspect my MIL will like boy and may blame me if i dun have, but usu my ILs does things in a subtle way and not so obvious to catch one. Even if they want certain thing they just mention one or two sentence to me.

Wow, Crystal and Ellysia, your mils like that one. Sometimes I dunno what are they 'pangdang' of. Mine will, but not to such extreme, she just want to make sure baby is fine (I dun anyhow say words without thinking, and if baby sick for too long, she will go down and burn incense pp which really works) and her son is being taken care of by me (her only son mah).

I rem when I had first child, she went to medium, call up her passed away mil, and ask the sex of baby in my tummy. She was told gal, but when come back checked with me, I told her mine is boy. She couldn't believe until the day i gave birth.

For customary tea ceremony, she never stick any red flower in my hair or anything, just seized my hand and force the diamond ring she bought for me down one of my finger, thats all.

Anyway, this time, so far so good, she even got me ginseng, asked me to cook myself since I have got quite some birdnests myself.

Lala,

Cramps can be near yr 2 pelvis bones. I also have cramp for 1 day (few days ago only) just at bottom area.

Vit A, can take but not too much. Cos may cause defects to bb.

Linda,

My discharge is brown colour. Yellow colour i am not so worried.

I tink even if MIL got study one, also won't know cos last time education never teach biology and stuff like this.

Ellysia,
u having discharge?? I hv been having discharge since wk6, like white discharge lor...My gyane says its normal one =D...

lala,
I agree with iamsnow cos i also experience cramps sometimes...like stretching of ur womb...Guess bb is growing so its okie ya =D..

janken,
Me same as u lor, ever since i know preggi, i also stopped all hsework except folding clothes =D...

All,
Any ladies can advise where to buy bird nest to get e real and pure one? i heard Hock hua not that good leh..

Linda, at least yur MIL bothers to listen n accept. Mine oni listen to wat suits her, things tat doesnt suit her or goes her way, no matter how logical or scientific she also acts stupid one lar. Tats y is pisses me off. Although she is a hsewife, she has quite a big social circle of frens, etc, so u cant say she dunno all tis things, somemore she is educated till P6, still says such rubbish. Siao.

Ellysia, think since u uncomfy abt her touching, let yur hb tells her to stop. I for one would not let others touch my tummy nor my butt, those are personal property areas, hahahha..esp MIL.shivers at the tot
Goodness knows wat goes on in MILs head. My hb jus say treat her as singing lor, one ear in, one ear out. Sure, I do tat but once home, his ears kenna blasting from me! Mine has been saying n doing all sort of stupid n idiotic things since she knows I m preggie. In the past, she wasnt like tat*sign*..

we can take bird nest now meh? thought advisable to take from 2nd trimester?

bird nest u all buy and cook yourself or buy those ready bottled ones? i not sure wat to buy also...

Veniz,

Wah yr MIL really more tough! If like that i tink i will complain to my HB like siao.

For me if i am unhappy over MIL words or some incident, normally wat i do is i skip my fortnight visiting to their house (though my hb still goes visit his mum weekly), then the next time they see me their attitude will be better.

My MIL also want me to wear the gold jewellery she bot for me on my customary but i refuse to wear, citing the reason that it does not goes with my wedding gown.

The problem is my hb does not believe his mum is pang dang and tot she is innocent. But he will help me to tok to his mum if i told him i am not happy with certain things.

fei fei, i got mine at Eu Yan Siang. They are having promo now, 1 box @ $128.00 instead of their usual $178.00. But this is not the best out of best. The lady there told me this is above average grade and quite a lot pple get from there. Actually buy birdnest have to see if you know anyone reliable selling, so at least you know they recommend good and non-inferior ones to you.