(2008/06) June 2008

thanks for the list sparks. really very useful. esp for blur sotongs like me.....

Hi Sparks, my SIL said she'd be passing me her breast pumps (one manual and one electronic) so I guess I just need to buy the parts. I can prob borrow her cot and stroller from her since she has 2 of each also...

Your list just reminded me to buy baby wipes. I think that's really really important! As well a couple of bottles and teats. I think the rest, I will just wait and see.. cos the bb will be the first grandchild on my parents' side, and I'm very close to my aunts and uncles, so bb will be quite doted by them.. I have a feeling they will be buying practical usable items for the bb so I dun want to waste $ buy pre-empting them.

i feel so lousy today, my tongue is so bitter e whole day.... sian. Having nausea too. Just dont feel like working today but already taken MC yesterday. Can anyone teach me ways to stop this bitter taste, I tried eating n chewing but once i stop eating the taste will come back again..... n i cant practically be eating the whole day rite... hai~ My nightmare started again.....

cactus_79,

actually u dont have to buy too many baby wipes to store. When I have my 1st boy, i used cotton wool(those we use for facial type-square shape) damp with water and clean his buttocks whenever he poos....then dry with tissue paper... is much cleaner n economy especially for BF babies cos they can poos 7-8times or more per day so can u imagine a pkt of wipes can only last u few days..... then when my boy grows older I wash his buttock under running water whenever he poos..... so in e end I still have lots of baby wipes stock at home for 11/2yr liao.

Thanks for sharing that tip, paulnelaine! I will definately try it out! Perhaps we can use cotton wool at home, and when we are outside, we can use wipes.

hi catcus, feifei
The baby was shaking itself all over, sort of like wriggling for quite a while... So I could see on screen.

Catcus,
When you mentioned yours still look like a peanut, that's cos it was still early mah... I bet you can see a very dinstinctly human shape for your next visit. they grow FAST in there.
Yah, wait for hampers and gifts. You will realised there can be alot of things you dun need to buy. Just get the neccessary for birth till full mth. The rest can wait.

Bottles and teats - dun get overly excited and buy too many of the same botts cos the designs are cute. Some babies have preferences and might not take to the teats/ bottles which you have bought. Just get one first then if baby is ok, buy somemore. Same goes with diapers brand.

Something I love to ask MTBs to prepare, the prolactin liquid which the hospital gave to clean ourselves down under after birth. Like antiseptic. VERY good. Most of frens can survive on the remaining from hospital, but I cannot lor, I KS and scare of infection. So every single time i use the toilet, I wash myself and apply the liquid.
My wound heal very fast.

Hi paulnelaine
Now I am using Angel wet wipes. Only $2 for 80pcs, quality alike tollyjoy. Compared to Pigeon $3.30, wow, save a lot lor.

Hi Linda,
I was really happy to see the heart beat and to see how bb has grown. It was just a sac 3 weeks and nothing but a sac! Now at least can see a form. And it's almost 1.9cm.
Now that I hear you ladies share that you are able to see your babies move, it sounds terribly fascinating! I can't wait to go for my next scan to hopefully see mine move too!

mary,

Mothersvogue is really quite ex.

I prefer to buy at shop cos can see and try on the size. Online is a bit risky cos cannot try on.

Perfect mum is located at Suntec and The Arcade (Raffles Place MRT)

check something wif u.. I tinking of getting someone to accp me to my visit on 22 nov.. is the person being allowed to go in together wif me? and see the scanning etc..?

babycupid,

I read somewhere at this forum that our hb can accompany us for the scanning. If the person is not yr hb but yr close relative, maybe just explain and shd be fine, i guess.

Hmm..does anyone know how long the NT scan is? Cos my scan appointment is at 250pm. My appointment with doctor is at 350pm on the same day.

janken,

i'm worse, i still have 3 more weeks to go till my next visit on 5 Dec.
like you, i am also wondering how is the BB growth now. which week are you in? is ur next appt the OSCAR test? hang in there!

cactus,
ya lor.. my hubby oso cant make it on 22nov.. haiz.. he ask me to change the appt.. but i lazy.. already fixed.. kekeke..

teragram...mine is on the 3rd Dec..i shld be in my 10th week now!
Oscar test anot haven decide yet..will wait till im there for the doc's advise...

hi cactus_79,
NT scan is actually quite fast if ur baby cooperates.... hehe tat means if baby is in e position tat e "photographer" wants tat it will be very fast if not then e "photographer" will teach u methods to make baby moves to e correct position. Other than tat is actually quite fast except for e waiting time.

cactus,
my appt wif Dr Wong is 1130am.. den after tat i called to bk my oscar.. the nurse booked for me 930am.. den she mentioned.. ard 1030am i can go see dr wong.. so i assume the test is ard an hr?

i see.

i am in my 9th week, which means our next visit is in our 12th week. well, we just got to be patient and wait it out, like what cactus said, good things are worth waiting!

cactus,

according to my colleague, the scan takes abt 30min if bb is co-operative. Else it can take up to 2 hrs for the bb to turn.

ellysia,
not sure oso.. but i heard someone here saying.. orange juice! sweet stuff.. bb movement will be more..

yes, let's jia you together! is your MS very bad? mine was esp bad last week up till yesterday.
plus feeling of bloatedness and indigestion. but today, it seemed to have gotten a little better but i also know from frens that it varies from day to day so i'll never know if it is coming back full force tomr.

when i feel nauseous, i will take a bit of those apple candy strip from candy empire. the sourness works for me. i guess "suan-mei" prob serves the same purpose. does ginger tea work for you? or how about some lemon slice in water? apparently these work for several ppl so maybe you can try?

as for sleepless nites, i dun have an issue yet but i guess u can try a hot drink eg milk or milo just before bed? supposed to ease u into sleep.

actually my MS is not tat bad...just tat every morning when i wash up...always seems like gonna vomit although nothing comes out...

i drink ginger tea...makes me feel better..lemon in water? haven try b4..will try it

tried the hot milo and milk..not really effective. however i had some meesua last nite before i turned in...i had a good nite sleep though
;p

Yesterday i have so much air that its almost killing me. I drank ginger tea, yakult then apply tiger balm on stomach to reduce, finally the stomach reduce in size (else its so bloated) then finally not so bad.

I wonder this bloatness is it only for 1st trim or throughout whole pregnancy. Somehow the air keep appearing and have to constantly reduce them, find so ley chey.

Hi Janken, you could be experiencing a gag effect when you brush your teeth. Try to brush quicker and more carefully, and keep a relaxed mind when you brush. These tips worked for me.

From http://www.babycenter.com/0_gas-and-bloating-during-pregnancy_247.bc

Why do I seem to have so much gas now that I'm pregnant?
Everyone, pregnant or not, has some gas. The average person produces between 1 and 3 pints of gas each day and passes gas about 14 times a day. That said, you may experience even more gas than usual during pregnancy.

Don't be surprised if you find yourself belching like a champion beer drinker or having to unbutton your pants to relieve bloating weeks before you begin to show.

Why does this happen? The primary reason is that during pregnancy you have much higher levels of progesterone, a hormone that relaxes smooth muscle tissue throughout your body, including your gastrointestinal tract. This relaxation slows down your digestive processes, which can lead to gas, bloating, burping, and flatulence and generally create miserable sensations in your gut, especially after a big meal.

In later pregnancy, your growing uterus crowds your abdominal cavity, further slowing digestion, and pushes on your stomach, making you feel even more bloated after eating. During pregnancy, you may also start to experience heartburn or constipation, even if you've never been bothered by either one before.
Where does gas come from?
Gas gets caught in the digestive tract in two ways: when you swallow air and when bacteria in your colon (large intestine) break down undigested food. Most stomach gas results from swallowing air and is typically released by burping, though a small amount can continue down to the large intestine to be released as flatulence.

Most of the gas that causes flatulence is produced when bacteria in the large intestine break down food that was incompletely digested by enzymes in the stomach and small intestine. Certain carbohydrates are the main culprits. Protein and fat aren't major gas producers, although fats, because they slow down digestion, can contribute to a sense of bloating.

How does pregnancy figure in? Pregnancy slows digestion, which gives the bacteria more time to work on the undigested material before it's excreted. More time leads to more fermentation and, as a result, more gas.

Actually, anything that slows down bowel function can mean additional gas, so constipation can also make you feel more gassy and bloated.

Some people get a lot of gas from foods that don't bother others at all. For example, people who are lactose intolerant don't make enough lactase the enzyme that breaks down lactose (the sugar in dairy products) so they can get bloated and gassy if they have too much milk or ice cream. Individual variation in the balance of bacteria in the colon may also affect how much gas you make, according to some experts.

ellysia..
yes..yakult/vitagen works for me too to reduce bloatedness...usually drank it after dinner.
thanks for useful info!

cactus_79...
ya agree with u...but usually when i "vomit" out i feel much better..

air in stomach actually makes me lose my appetite..i lost 1-2kg liao...*sob

oh, i just had meesua for lunch, hehe.
in that case, maybe what u have for dinner will have an effect on ur ability to sleep? slowly monitor and see if that's the case eg. heavier or harder to digest meals might affect your ability to sleep?

hmm, your MS doesn't sound too bad but still can be quite "xin-ku". i can feel nauseous the entire day and i usu can't keep my breakfast down.

Can I get some relief by changing my diet?
The most effective way to reduce gas may be to cut back on the foods that are most likely to cause it. But if you eliminated everything that might cause gas, it would be hard to eat a balanced diet.

So start by cutting out the most common culprits, and if that gives you relief, begin adding those foods back into your diet one by one to try to pinpoint what's causing the problem for you. Keeping a food diary can help you see the relationship between eating certain foods and having more gas.

The foods most likely to cause gas are beans, cabbage, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, broccoli, and asparagus. All contain the sugar raffinose, which causes gas for a lot of people. Other people have trouble with onions, pears, artichokes, and sodas and fruit drinks sweetened with fructose. Sodas and fruit drinks should be avoided anyway, as they are empty calories and the carbonation in sodas can contribute to bloating.

Certain starches such as pasta and potatoes, but not rice can cause gas for some people. And certain fiber-rich foods such as oat bran, beans, and many kinds of fruit cause gas because they're normally broken down in the large intestine.

One exception is wheat bran, which passes through your digestive system without getting broken down. This makes wheat bran a winner if you have constipation and need more fiber but also suffer from flatulence.

People who are lactose intolerant will find that dairy products give them gas. If you're highly lactose intolerant, you probably knew this before you got pregnant, since dairy may give you diarrhea and abdominal pain.

But if you're only somewhat intolerant and thus unaware of the effect dairy has on you, a dramatic boost in your consumption of dairy products during pregnancy may cause you some distress. To avoid this problem, look for lactose-free milk or calcium-fortified soy milk in your supermarket. If you aren't drinking any kind of milk, you'll probably need to take a calcium supplement.

Finally, try to steer clear of very fatty and fried foods. They don't cause gas, but they slow down digestion, leaving you feeling bloated.

Thanks for the info, Ellysia. Err, I just had brocolli for dinner last night and ended up feeling really bloated.
Will bear the above points in mind for my meals.

hello.. I'm back from gynae visit
Managed to see baby through first ever tummy scan... so excited. Baby at first refused to move... then gynae told us he/she is sound asleep, gynae keep using the scan stick to probe my tummy and disturb baby... finally after few min of ka jiao-ing, baby woke up, start to wave arms and legs very vigourously, even did a somersault.. then immediately went back to sleep... pengz
Baby is now 46.1mm, now 11 weeks 2d
Oscar next week and next gynae visit in a month's time

ladies, perhaps you can try taking very small meals but frequent meals. I found that having 6 to 8 very small meals worked for me. A meal can be a rice bowl of soup, some veg and some rice.

hi roxy,

I guess gynae always want to make the bb move to check whether active or not.

Mine even though gynae use stick to poke around still want to sleep lor.. hee. gynae said cos tat time is 9 weeks so not so active.

hi cactus,

I find that it is v hard to have more meals during work. However for lunch and dinner normally i try not not force myself to overeat or to eat less. then later when hungry will eat snacks like biscuits.

Thanks Cactus,
I will try that

roxyz,
Wow, your baby even did a somersault ah!
Sure hope I will be able to see mine do that at my next visit.

cactus, your turn will come soon
You will be so amazed to see the little one move its arms and legs so vigorously....

hi ellysia.. Yes, not to worry. That time when i scan at 9 weeks, gynae also poke around, baby just nod head at us only then refused to move...
I'm sure by your next visit or oscar test, you will be able to see your little one move around too....

teragram, how many weeks will you be in next visit. I tink from week 10 onwards can see liao, just like Linda's one did a cha cha at week 10.. so cute!!

sparks, i suspect gal coz alot of MS...
Can you tell whether boy or gal now for you coz already 2nd trimester for you?

Btw , my gynae says we can eat chicken essence but can only take just chicken essence. Cannot take those with herbs like american ginseng etc....

Hmm, Ellysia, maybe you can take plain biscuits at work? Possbile? Instead of say eating a sandwich, take plain biscuits, like jacob's crackers, or fruit?

Roxy - I hope everything goes well at the week 12 scan. After 1st trimester is over, I feel I can breathe better. Can't wait for the day to come. The first day of 2nd trimester for me is Christmas day....

I read somewhere that ginseng is proven to cause MC, dunno if true or not.

I know can take bird nest frm 2nd trim onwards.

I just took red dates last week cos heard that it can help reduce spotting.

yup... cos chicken essence is only chicken. No preservatives. nothing. at most, only have some caramel - eu yan sang brand lah.

if you can be certain that the bird's nest you buy is not bleached, you can also take bird's nest throughout pregnancy. Bird's nest is only protein and amino acids.. it is nothing heaty or cooling. It's like eating alot of meat for the protein.

roxy,
my 1st one is a boy.... but i still have very bad MS...vomit till e day my boy is out....

my sis has 2 girls... she also vomit throughout so i think is depending on how our body take e pregnancy hormones.......