(2008/06) June 2008

Hi iamsnow,

I recently bought from ZTP. Per bottle about %70+, less than $80. They sell per bottle. But if you buy more, you get 1 bottle free. I think it is buy 5 get 1 free. Or else, if you are ZTP member, you get discount (I think it's 10%) off non promo bird's nest pricing.

thanks cactus. maybe i buy one bottle to try first. my coll actually ask me to cook myself. but I dunno how to cook. wait all the bird nest become water..... haha.....

hi iamsnow,

I saw at Yu Ren Shen before, tink cost $70 to $120 per bottle.

cactus,

the bottle suppose to drink in portions or drink at 1 go?

I found a ZTP branch near my home at AMK central yest

gOooooOOOd morning ladies,

i'm having craving for confinement food----- garlic fried with pork n dark soya sauce so went market buy garlic n pork to cook this morning.
So fast u all are eating bird best liao ah.... anyway for my 1st boy i didnt drink much costo lazy to boil it, still have 1 pc left since 2yrs ago....dontknow it will spolit or not. will wait till 2nd trimester then take out n boil

BTW if u r looking for normal clothing for baby or cloth diaper there is actually a shop selling quite cheap baby's clothes at waterloo street near to the "si ma lu" temple. baby outgrown their clothes very fast so actually dont have to buy very expensive ones for their 1st few months...

morning fei fei.

dunno leh, that time was having fever, cough, sore throat, flu. then ok liao. now seems to come back..... very jia lat....

last nite cough liao this morning wake up realised got brown discharge. almost freaked out... sigh....

hi iamsnow,

for me is flu keep coming back on and off.

Pauline,

Another place to buy bb clothes is AMK neighbourhood area got 1 shop along Jubilee that side, opposite to polyclinic. yest pass by and price looks reasonable.

iamsnow,
Oh dear...u got take med? cos now preggi, alot of med cannot take, even if can, its those not so strong ones...I also had flu for past 2wks..

Now still hv discharge?

feifei,

later i going to see GP. will tell the GP to give me something safe. i think since I was pregnant, health has been detoriating very fast... always sick, always very tired.... aiyo...

now no more discharge. but the cough is killing me. I'm afraid I might exert too much pressure....

hi Ellysia,

oh garlic will give more air ah... i always thought garlic is to relieve air from our body after birth :p

anyway how much is AMK shop selling.... cos for waterloo street must buy in bulk i.e. at least 6pcs per type. i remember paying ard $7.50 for 6pcs of shirt n $9 for 6 pcs of short.....

Pauline (elaine),

hee u just change yr nick?

Btw, is the clothes at waterloo street in ok quality? Cos i tot bb skin is sensitive, not v sure can buy too cheap clothes or not.

iamsnow,
Hmm...true lor, since preggi, our health like became bad hor...hiz, no choice lor, for sake of bb =D...

Tink u quickly go see GP cos cough too much no good leh...

my health hasn't been v good before pregnancy now worst cos more tired.

Btw, did u all find that yr MS has lighten now?

$7.50 for 6 pcs... those normal type tat baby wears but cant choose colours, is either u take all 6pcs white or 6pcs(2pink,2blue n 2 yellow)

Ellysia, ya i change my nick cos my name is elaine n hubby is paul so i used to put paulnelaine but i think most of u mistaken me at pauline... heheheeee

e quality quite alright bah cos i also dont know wat is consider good... u can go take a look. cooling for babies bah... i thought all e same :p but i know those selling in shopping centres are thicker.

elaine,

I haven't exactly check on the prices at AMK shop but its one of the shop recommended by forum too..
Only preparing to buy maybe after 20 weeks. If i pass by again i let u know

cactus,

Abt the birdnest thing, i wonder how frequent do we take? My colleague say once per week.

Hi Ellysia,

The concentrated birds' nest is to eat 1 tablespoon or teaspoon once in morning once at night over 2 weeks.. but I normally just finish the whole bottle all at one go.. once every 2 weeks. cos I want the birds nest to be freshest. Once you open it, the quality starts to slowly go down. You may want to ask the staff at ZTP for more info.

Hi Ellysia,

I don't know any side effects of birds nest. Some pple say if not cleaned properly, baby will have asthma or allergies, but that is not scientifically proven. cos our bodies will absorb nutrients from food, and the nutrients will be passed down to bb. I normally cook 3 pieces at a time, or take 1 bottle every 2 weeks.

Yest my hb still ask me wat nutritional value does bird nest have for bb. I say for complexion and growth, he like not v convinced.

cactus,

If not pick properly maybe then will cause allegy i tink.

Tats why i prefer to eat bottle one cos i dun trust my own picking skills leh.

What i tink is dun eat too much, just taken in moderation will do.

Anyway i still have few small bottles (normal ones) left which i have been taking before pregnancy.

Clothings - Yup, our baby grow up so fast. For my #1, I bought the baju for 6months onwards...he!he! Till today, still growing fast. Cannot wear liao. Changing to 2 yrs old ones soon.

Birds nest - Me only started taking after 2nd trimester when baby more stable.

hey gals..
ever tried the concentrated bird's nest by Lo Hang Ka?
tot of buying tat to try..although quite ex though

try to buy clothes for baby during e last trimester, cos sometimes if u give birth to a big baby e clothes tat u buy is too small then u will be wasting lots of money.

HI janken,

My grandma said lo hang ka's bird's nest not good cos it is not whole strands. I'm not sure how true it is but I find it not as nice to eat as bird's nest which is more intact.

cactus_79...
Really? hmn..so i guessed the best is to buy those from medicinal halls that we have to brew ourselves...although more hardwork ;p

Never mind.. will ask MIL to cook for me!

actually, I think lo hang ka and eu yang sang is over priced due to branding. Ultimately consumers pay for the advertisements.. I think the most worth while to buy is dragon's brand (long biao) and ZTP. These days I buy from ZTP. once in a while then buy from eu yang sang. COs dragon's brand quite inconvenient to buy .. very few outlets. I think one used to be at Millenia Walk, the other used to be at Chinatown area. Not sure if they are still there.

cactus, during our mom's and aunt's generation... they didn't have proper or vast resources to get the vitamins and proteins for bb, now we're provided w folic acid, fish oil, calcium, iron, multi-vitamins etc... tat's why our gynae mentioned it's not really suitable during the first trimester. Even when it's allowed to consumed during 2nd trimester, we r also advised not to take in too much. It's the same like... too much seasoning would spoil the dish reasoning.. i believe the gynae and we would provide and use the avail. resources best to our unborn bb right.

So, juz remember to eat moderately and take those fish oil w DNA, calcium, iron, folic acid pills first and relax.

yeah TGIF!!!
Be watching Lust, Caution tonite!...upon hearing tat its shown full version uncut rated R21 heh (tony leung's sexy naked butt).

my fren was telling me the sex scenes are pretty explicit.. haha must warn my hubby..

U all take which type of bottled concentrated bird nest?? Should have many type one rite?

Any recommendations? Coz thinking of getting concentrated type since i dunno hw to cook myself and mum and MIL oso nt free to cook for me..

Hello MTBs..

Haven post anything for few days..have been feeling very sick for the whole week..

iamsnow,

Me too!!.I haf been coughing for more than 1 mth liao..Saw GP twice and Gynae once..Still the same..Last sat somemore cough until my rib cage so pain ended up go c my gynae and given 2 days MC..Think i cough too hard liao..So u try nt to cough too hard yah..

But i finish the antibiotics (which he say is safe for bb)..still coughing..esp. in the middle of the nite..Throat oso gt alot of phlegm..worse + worse wif MS..Jia Lat..

And i agree than eversince i am pregnant, my body haf been very weak..Dunno y..My body usually quite strong before i'm pregnant..My collegue also ask y i suddenly like so weak..

Should we start to eat some tonic to ' bu yi bu'..Otherwise, scare bb may be affected..

Hi Twinky, I think there are some chinese herbs which may augment or negate the effects of western medicine. There are also some herbs which are too heaty or cooling. At the present, I'm only taking some herbs in normal cooking, like red dates and gou qi zi. If ginger can be considered a herb, then ginger too. I don't think I'll be taking any tonics cos I'm worried about the effects on bb. Also, I dun dare to take too heaty, or too cooling stuff. I think to play safe, if you want to take, maybe you can consult a TCM and let him/her know you are pregnant and ask what is ok to consume at this stage? I think they will know best.

Actually, u should avoid eating chinese medicine or herbs when u are sick. U can only eat when u are not sick.

Thats wat Eu Ren Sheng staff told me, when i bot those chinese herbs frm them.

I have tried eating chinese herbs when i am sick last time, and it got worst instead of better.

cactus,

at least u can take red dates and gou qi zi. I am too heaty in nature, if i take gou qi zi i end up with flu n sore throat soon.

sigh, so now i take red dates with soup but minimal also.

Hi Ellysia,

I don't take alot of red dates. MIL cooks soup with some red dates, but she doesn't give me the meat. The dates are also pitted. Once in a while, I catch sight of gou qi zi in the veg that she fries. Maybe that's why it is not so heaty for me? I dun know...

Haiz..Then there is no way i can boost up my immune system nw? I haf been feeling so so weak..

Can we take those instant type (sell at NTUC one)..red dates with longan drink? Wonder gd or nt..Coz so sick of drinking plain water..

Anyone tried before..

Cactus,

Tks for ur advise..Actually i dun reali like the taste of chinese herbs..Haha..coz like so bitter..

I'm 'chi bu liao ku' one..Keke

Hi Twinky, my grandma told me birds nest and cordyceps can build up immune system. I dun know about birds nest, but whenever I have a bad cough (last time studying lah), my mom will boil black chicken and cordyceps. I will recover very very quickly.

I dun know if longan increases immunity. I heard that red dates is rich in iron so will help anaemia.

Cactus,

Ya red dates is rich in iron & help anaemia too. Cordyceps is very good for mother & bb heart. Makes stronger and wont be so restlesss for us too. Take it from 20weeks whereby its the time bb absorbing more.

Realise alot of us nt feeling well lately. Me & Angie_bb also... both of us at home resting. Feeling fainting and giddy lo. Not sure is it really due to e weather or what. Meantime lets all have more rest & recover fast as it may indirect affect bb too... haiz..

Red dates
------------
Can buy lean meat, add some chinese herb like DANG SHEN, Gou Qi Zi, Dry longan, Cordyceps(Dong chong cao) and red dates. Use electric slow cooker will do. Cook for about 4hrs. Can replace lean meat with skinless chicken whereby whole family can eat drink too.

Normally I ask my mum to buy those for me & I will store in fridge as & when cook with normal chicken or lean meat. Red dates n longan make it taste sweeter so ok.