(2008/06) June 2008

Shinely,

Me so envious, I dun wanna put on weight but I just keep getting heavier. Dun put weight on yourself lah. Cos at 3rd trimester, sure balloon up one...

Last time everytime finish eating durian, we'll use the shell to drink salt water. It's like a myth, but strangely, when we do that, no sore throat or anything. If just drink salt water and not from the durian shell, will get sore throat one... Same goes got washing hands after durian. That was taught to me by some uncles when we went there for durians last time...

Old people mah, thats why they so concern abt baby's weight. Fat baby doesn't mean healthy baby. My friend's baby only 2.3kg, also very healthy... Just that old people's thinking very hard to convince them one...

pple were saying we can paint or moved or nail anything in the house when we are pregnant...so how can we do up the nursery room? was thinking of giving it a fresh coat of cheery paint and perhaps fix the cot or something..

i like this bed/cot. the cot is removeable, as well as the 3 chest drawers so that it will turn into a single bed when the kid grows bigger.

it also has an additonal pull out single bed at the bottom. quite useful if either the maid or the elder child can sleep on the single bed if we happen to plan for a another baby.

but it doesnt come cheap! ive enquired and it cost $990 WITHOUT both the cot and single mattress(just the bed itself) and the delivery/installation charges is another $120!!!

what do u girls think??

by the way kelcqi, TF stays in bedok..but not me =)

Piyo, Veniz, mogudog,

You've got mail

tinyfeet,
i think if u r not around when the reno is progessing shld be ok. Just stay away when the reno is doing.
Btw, you shld avoid the room that you'll be doing painting as the chemical smell is not good for you and bb.

hi tera,

went for my 25th wk check up yd n minnie rpt in @ 700g to-date. i was shocked. a more than double growth in wtg since my DS at wk 20th. appreciate if u could help me wif this update when u next post the chart again. thanks lots!

crystal and babycupid,
no probs, updated!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD>Child#</TD><TD>Area#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB's wt @ DS </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>29-May</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>800g @ 25 wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelcqi</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>31-May</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>661g @ 24wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>01-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>700g @ 25wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lamb</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>02-Jun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Kembangan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>02-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>440g @ 22wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>02-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>460g @ 23wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>03-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>tWiNkY</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>03-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun/Khatib</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>03-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>366g </TD></TR><TR><TD>liew</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>03-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol East</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>299g </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>04-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>312g </TD></TR><TR><TD>shirley98</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>04-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>Mt A or Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>05-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>05-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>293g </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>05-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>BabyJo</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>05-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>358g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grace Tan</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>05-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Seeto</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Tanglin Halt</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ZuEn</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>06-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>07-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>691g @ 24wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>08-Jun</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>sharon818</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>08-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>4th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>danryan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>08-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Aziz</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>410g @ 21 wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>linda_thea</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>09-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>lehcar</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Lee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Toa Payoh</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>morraine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>10-Jun</TD><TD>Prof Tham Kok Fun</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>501g @ 22 wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shufen</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wkohcc</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jen Shek Wei</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>shycloud</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>12-Jun</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>tubbykat</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>cupcake</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>322g </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Katong</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>345g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>383g </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>309g </TD></TR><TR><TD>shinely</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>600g @ 24wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>I new mama</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Whampoa</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmambo</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>16-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>313g </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel_z</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>331g @ 21wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>TinyFeet-TF</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>311g </TD></TR><TR><TD>pm188</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lai FM</TD><TD>Mt A or Glen E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>East Coast</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun(TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nur Atiqah</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Khatib</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>495g @ 22wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>LHo</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leng Leng</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>21-Jun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Compassvale Road</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happysnowflake</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>22-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Bukit Timah</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>250g @ 19wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>soyabean</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>430g @ 21wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>paulnelaine</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>24-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>JP</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>24-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Serangoon North</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Devendra</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>255g @ 19wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Cantonment</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>334g </TD></TR><TR><TD>princess mummy</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>Mickey</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felicia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>275g @ 19wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>28-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Aljunied</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinyfeet</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Serangoon</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>*piyo*</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Telok Blangah</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>piyoz</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>end Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Anchorvale</TD><TD>Minnie</TD><TD>313g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total number:</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Mickeys</font></TD><TD>19</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Minnies</font></TD><TD>30</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi to all new mummy,

I have brand new

1) Mum in mind Sarong Carrier (Pastel purple &amp; blue combination), bought it at abt $46, willing to sell it at $40

2) AVENT Naturally 125ml / 4oz Feeding Bottles, it come in a pack of 2, bought it at abt $16, willing to sell it at $12

Please do email me at [email protected] if u are interested. Thank you.

First day start work, i got cold and keep sneezing on the way to work. Even feel bit nauseaus as well. Maybe body cannot adjust coz for the past 1 week i had been waking up only at 8am.

Morning ladies..

Its monday again....Mon blues...These 2 nites hb has been massaging my swelling leg lor..was trying to push the liquid down, now my feet still pain lor..hiaz...3 more mths to go..

crystal,
ya lor, I was shocked too...double the weight...my minnie is 800g at 25wk lor...Tink so far she is e heaviest here..keke...I hope she will not be overweight..

Morning gers,
I am gg to see my bb tonight. So excited. Hehe.

Shinely,
You have problem gaining weight.. but your bb is growing well, so dun worry. I have problem controling my weight gain. I already try to watch wat I eat, but my weight is steadily increasing. Haiz.

Tera, kelcqi, shinely,
My Edd was already pushed back to 16 Jun and I am starting my 23rd week today. Edd and week of preggy was determined during the detail scan. I think not super accurate cos detail scan determined Edd via size of bb and some people tend to have smaller bb. Although it could oso be the case that we really conceived late. I understand from the sonagrapher that the gynae will normally advised on the Edd again nearing delivery date.

Morning felicai, feifei..

Felicia,
Take care wor. I hate falling sick during preggy. Cannot take medicine yet dun dare to take too many days mc to rest at home.

feifei,
Jia you, jia you. 3 more months niah. My preggy colleague suffered from swelling feet too. She's heavily preggy and her feet are small to begin with. So she's trying hard to balance her big tummy on her small pair of swelling feet. Looks so ouch! Did your doc say anything can reduce the swelling other than the lifting of legs and massaging?

ZuEn,
Ya lor, 3 more mths..must ren ren ren..oh dear,must be bery pain for ur fren lor..poor ger...Doc only ask me to lift up my legs lor...then ask me exercise the feet...Ask me not to take too much salt lor..

All,
I went People'Park Complex yest, there is this hawker center beside it, on the 2nd flr is this shop named "Swantson", I bot the Kodomo liquid detergent, bb shower form and bb shampoo there....Its so much cheaper than in ntuc etc lor...

Tink really time to buy all this liao..cos I still hv 3more mths b4 delivering...

Ellysia,
After attending e anental class last thurs and watching e labour video, really feel scare lor...

just managed to clear my 3/4 emails. *sigh*

well, my feet yet swell but this morning i find my hand seems like bit swelling liao leh. And the watch i wore seem to be tight oso loh.

Felicia,
have you not taken enough water
or too much salt intake?
Heard that too little water or too much salt may result in swelling.

Try to rest with your feet up at night.

Morning girls!

ZuEn,
Oh, your EDD now very close to mine, hehe. During my detailed scan, my EDD has remained as 15 Jun. Yup, so like you, I am starting my 23rd week this week which makes sense cos ppl like Kelcqi and feifei are in their 25th week and their EDDs are 2 weeks ahead of us.

star,
I've signed up for FBI.

Leng Leng,
Not too sure oso, but is not my feet swell is my hand that swell leh. Then i find my finger oso got bit 'wrinkle' (not sure how to called it). Not sure if i'm lacking some nutrients.

feifei,
Good to hear you've started buying some stuff. Hmm, maybe I will make a trip down to Chinatown this sat. My coll was also telling me it's time to start buying bb shower/shampoo and detergent amongst other things. Btw, did you go down to Spring on sat? Wondering if the sale was good.

Morning gals! :0

Yes suddenly we got so many Minnies .. all the Mickeys are overwhelmed

Zuen, you seeing baby again tonite? Must be so exciting.. Im seeing baby again on Thur, am also so looking forward to it...

Tera, when you are free, can help me change my gynae to Dr TC Chang? I managed to change to Dr Chang coz he and Dr Cheng are in same clinic... and heard Dr Chang very detailed at baby scanning and assessment etc so hopefully this Thur, he can do a thorough one for baby this week...

feifei, poor gal.. ask ur hubby to massage for u.. must be very unbearable..

Btw gals do you all know when is the Taka baby fair coming along? Me and hubby walked Orchard and part of Marina square on Sat, trying to buy bb stuff, very shiok , havent walk and shop for so long for such a long long time. We managed to buy a stroller and cot then after that realised someone is giving us their cot, haiz wasted

feifei,

When u massage yr feet, do u do it correctly? Cos my pre-natal class got teach how to massage leg and feet. U need to massage up instead of down if u want to lose water.

This week should be my 26th week. I have been feeling bb kicks more obvious and harder kicks since last week. bb will respond especially when hb speaks or he heard familiar voices.

Do you all listen to nursery rhymes CD or just classical?

Hi Mog,

Thks! Dr Wong has reply my email today
Poor Dr Wong friday has been so busy, she worked until 9pm got emergency i tink. Maybe she need to deliver some bb.

Last 3 days no see brown discharge liao, so I will wait until this wed to see her.

Still blue black but not painful to sit down ored
My mum tell me not to apply Zam-buk ( i applied twice after my fall) as not proven to be safe for pregnancy so i stop using Zam-buk, now let it natural heal.

A useful article on calcium needs:

What women eat during their pregnancy not only has a direct effect on their health, but also on the development and wellbeing of their baby. The nine months before the big arrival is a unique time and it's vital mums use this period to give their unborn child the best possible start in life. However, a new survey conducted by Total Greek Yoghurt shows that over a quarter of women don't change their diet during pregnancy, despite all the Government guidelines and warnings. With the start of National Pregnancy Month this September, the UK's mothers-to-be are being urged to become food savvy and include more calcium in their diet.

Although pregnant women are becoming increasingly aware about the benefits of maintaining a healthy diet there is still room for improvement. Nearly three quarters of the women surveyed began taking folic acid during pregnancy. Over half gave up alcohol completely and 49% cut down on caffeine but worryingly, only 4% are trying to eat more omega 3 rich foods whilst 5% of pregnant women were not including any calcium rich foods in their diets at all.

As food and health writer Christine Bailey explains, "A low calcium diet can cause women to experience insomnia, irritability and leg cramps and may also be linked to high blood pressure. Pregnancy induced high blood pressure is a serious complication that can put both mother and baby at risk." Yoghurt, a food high in calcium, is also useful when trying to combat morning sickness and nausea as it is easily digestible and full of vitamins and minerals.

To help mums to be stay healthy and provide babies with all the nutrients they need, here are Christine's top pregnancy eating tips.

Top Tips

1. BONE UP One of the best sources of calcium is dairy foods - so plenty of Greek yogurts, low fat cheese, skimmed or semi-skimmed milk. If you cannot tolerate dairy foods you can get plenty of calcium by eating nuts and seeds, dried fruits, oily fish with bones, beans and pulses.

2. FOCUS ON QUALITY NOT QUANTITY Firstly you certainly don't need to eat for two - in fact you only need to consume around 200 extra calories a day and that is really only in the last trimester. Make these extra calories count - so whizz up a smoothie rather than gorging on chocolate cakes

3. GRAZE NOT GORGE If you're suffering from morning sickness, indigestion or are in your third trimester and finding it hard to eat big meals, get snack happy. Eat five or six small meals a day rather than three larger meals to keep your energy up and help stop you feeling faint.

4. PUMP UP THE IRON It's a good idea to build up your iron stores leading up to a pregnancy because iron helps your cells to make haemoglobin which transports oxygen to and from cells. It is vital for energy production and a lack of iron can lead to fatigue, nausea, loss of appetite and anaemia. It can also affect the growth and development of your baby

5. EAT THE RIGHT FATS The brain of the baby is 60% fat and it is during pregnancy that the brain cells are forming and connecting. These brain cells need essential omega 3 fats found in oily fish, walnuts, flax and hemp seeds. Eat oily fish such as salmon, sardines, trout and mackerel ideally 2-3 times a week.

Ellysia, that's good. I am seeing her this Friday afternoon. Ya, don't apply Zam-buk, maybe some lotion to rub rub the spot

tera,
I went to spring lor, bot a shorts, pantties n bra...their sales not bad, pants at $29, nursing top at $12 etc...shd go hv a look..Really hv to star getting bb stuffs liao..

Eyllsia,
massage up? my hb massage down leh..hmm..i listen to nursery songs lor..

Roxy,
so u bot alot of things?

hi roxy
thot u oredi sign the package from uncle cheng? how come they still allow u to change? dr chang will scan yr bb everytime u go cos my SIL see him.

feifei,

Ya massage up to get water up and not down to yr feet. Tats why the instructor says must massage up and not down.

Hi Roxy,
No probs, will update it now.
So you'll be seeing bb this thurs? Hehe, excited right?

Ellysia,
Thanks for the article. To answer your earlier qn, I only listen to classical music once in a while. :p

Feifei,
Thanks, will check out Spring this week.

can we start to drink papaya soup now? my friend said can le.. she started when she's 6-7months preg. 2 weeks once. She said is very nutrition, good for mother and baby. Also, will get more milk supply after give birth.

I heard that shd refrain from taking too much Papaya during pregnancy as it may cause breast engorgement. Not sure it is true or not.

Hi Kelqi
Yes, I'm still staying at Bedok (my mum's house at Blk 411) until our new place at Cantonment comes. So my confinement will be here too. Bedok is as matured as TPY and AMK. Mine is same as Shinely previously, just cross the street is the Central. Its nice being in the East esp in future u can go to the beach wif your child n relax as family weekend outing. For the Mosque at Chai Chee, i only knw its usu crowded on Friday lunch wif cars parking along the road for prayers, so nt so bad since u r at work.

hi tera,

wow, tat is so prompt of u. many thanks! much appreciated...

okie, going to catch up on the many many threads tat i ve miss out since i got back from au...

HI aprilmum,

I tink u better dun take Papaya during pregnancy. I see this article:-

Papaya: Avoid during pregnancy
Date updated: January 16, 2007
Kathe Gallagher, MSW
Content provided by Healthwise
If you are pregnant or trying to become pregnant, avoid eating papaya or using a papaya product. Papaya is sometimes recommended for soothing indigestion, which is a common ailment during pregnancy. Although a fully ripe papaya is not considered dangerous, a papaya that is at all unripe contains a latex substance that triggers uterine contractions and may cause a miscarriage.1

The papaya enzyme that helps soothe indigestion is called papain, or vegetable pepsin. Papain is found in the fruit's latex and leaves.1 Researchers have noted that unripe papaya latex acts like prostaglandin and oxytocin, which the body makes to start labor.2 Synthetic prostaglandin and oxytocin are commonly used to start or strengthen labor contractions.

Feifei,
Actually, I duno wat to buy wor, especially the smaller items. When I am into my 3rd trimester, I am intending to bring my mum to kiddy palace and ask her to help me on wat to buy. I supposed I will end up paying more, but I dun think I have the time (&amp; energy) to travel all the way to Chinatown to get the stuff. I dun think they will cost alot more oso.

Roxy,
Did you buy the wooden or plastic kind. I realised that plastic kind are much cheaper. But I supposed they are less sturdy and spoilt faster. I dun think I will use the cot for long too. Probably by end of 1st year the bb should start sleeping on deb or mattress liao. We are intending to let her sleep on her own.
Super excited. The last time we saw her was about 4 weeks ago. Hehe.

Tera,
I think we are 23rd week based on the size of our bb during the detail scan, elsewhere some doc still based on LMP. If based on my LMP, I should be 25 weeks liao. I am just happy to have a date to look forward to and count the weeks as they go by. Hehe.

Me too start to worry as not even done any shopping staff for my baby yet. Scare by 3 trimster no strengh to walk liao..kekeke.

Tera,
So we say we are now 23rd weeks or 24th weeks..bur liao, as we both EDD on the 15th June mah.

Shinely,
My Edd is on 16 June. Today is consider the start of my 23rd week. Hope that helps.. I think EDD will change again when nearing delivery date, just that it is very fustrating when it gets pushed back. I was already in my mid 18th week, going to 19th week when all of a sudden I was told that I am only starting my 17th week. -.o"

ZuEn,

Thanks for your info. Just don't understand why our EDD will change as time goes. IS it due to baby slow down growing that why our EDD will be pushed back.

Hi Felicia

Welcome back here... i met up wif Doc Ang last fri after my long wait of detail scan..

Thank God All is Fine..hubbys blood ok no thallasaemia..me oso like u.fainted tat day..Doc Ang oso say sometin abt honeymoon period now..so nd to bring sweets..and he say its common..

feifei and zuen
I bought a stroller and wooden cot.. rest wait for people to give me :p wodden cot quite a steal $215 comes with free mattress and 5 pcs bedding set and it can be converted to toddler bed also...when you buy a cot, look for those that can convert to toddler bed..taka fair might have promo on cots too.. but duno when is the taka fair coming along?

starmoon... yes I wanted to see baby every visit, hence change to TC Chang coz I heard he scans every visit.. my gf is seeing him also, so far quite ok reviews.. Quite surprised the clinic allow me to change also.. dr chang package is cheaper but delivery charges more exp, so i guess on my next visit, hopefully they will refund me some package costs.. one of my gf was seeing w.c cheng, but they refused to let her change to tc chang... am going to miss uncle cheng, still tink he's a very nice and friendly person

Thanks Tera, no hurry on update ah.. yes finally going to see and scan bb this thur.. hope Dr Chang will be able to give me his weight, coz my previous gynae says not impt.. everyone commenting my tummy super small, making me worried, so will be very glad to know how he's doing on thur.. when is ur next appt