(2008/06) June 2008

I been surfing some forum postings for bday ideas.. now still cannot find any bakery tat does 3D mickey mouse cake.

Oh ya, my bb nowadays will grab spoon and dun like to be feed also. i try not to let him watch tv also, scare become bad habit.

Sharon,
disipline lah....

aiyooo wat a busy day.. feel like quitting..
gg to see e little one soon! he is my charger and keep me moving..

lengleng,
is it when they grow older will have problem feeding? like refuse to eat? must watch tv then can eat? Every morning b4 i go work feed bb with cereal i even purposely on BabyTv for her while feeding leh.

hi all... (esp to those gg for Kindermusik trial class)

i just told fei that i will not be able to attend the class. mbb got chicken pox... sighhhhh.. he just recovered fm measles leh. shites.

anyway, u guys enjoy. pls let me know if the class is gd. have fun.

Ellysia,
I want to take Masters but I dun think I can fork out another 20K cos I already spend >25K on my dip & deg so pok kai liao. Hoping to get prospective employer to sponsor when i graduate next yr.

Bleh,
Oh dear, pls take care of yourself ok. Chicken Pox may have fever so mayb u can give Travis barley water to cool him off. Please come in here if u need to talk or just destress ya.

soyabean - Thanks for sharing the article.

cactus - IMHO, I BF my #1 for nearly 9 mths (8 months and 3 weeks plus) and he seldom fall sick and pretty strong. Am not too sure if my #2 has reduced her BM as she is being latched on. Wow, M is having 3 meals a day? My #2 is still having 2 meals per day. With regards to crying at night, some babies will start to hit a major growing spurt again. Some experts say that it can cause a little pain. Another reason why he may cry at night is due to ear infection. Have you got that checked?

Felicia - Sending over lots of quick healing vibes!

Ritzy - I know it may sound silly but one of my friends have a white board in the kitchen and she actually wrote the schedule and ask her maid to fill up accordingly. When she returns home, she will know how much milk, solid food, etc her baby had. Sending over quick healing vibes to baby!

feifei, KKreme & Mag - You guys are studying together? Wow, taking your Masters too? So envy...I wish I have some time to take another degree. But, old liao. You guys are all still so young. Sometimes I feel that I wasted my time studying (esp. when my parents start nagging ~ So what if you have your Masters, etc, etc, etc...in the end you are a SAHM). But, I think when my #2 turns 18 months, I will go back to the workforce or pick up my studies again.

Mag - You are planning to work overseas after your studies? Wow...salute you leh!

Tan Leng Leng - I am so amazed that you can still find free time...haiz...guess I am bad in time management.

MLP - So sorry to hear about your boy! Thank goodness he is A-OK. Please do monitor for 7 days. If anything, please bring to the Doc.

ZuEn - Wow...which country will you be posted to? That's a great opportunity.

Bleh - Sending over lots of quick healing vibes!!!

Apple & Pear Puree
½ apple
½ pear
Lemon (a few drops so that the fruit does not darken)

Preparation

1. Wash the fruit, remove the heart and chop them separately.
2. Put the apple to boil with 150 cc’s of cold water approximately and the lemon drops.
3. Allow it to cook for around 10 minutes.
4. Once the apple is soft, mash it along with the pear (raw) and add in a little bit of the milk the baby normally drinks.

Babies Learning to Crawl
Crawling – assuming your baby does it – normally starts between 6 and 10 months of age. Besides giving your baby regular tummy time, preferably on the floor, there are several things you can do to make it easier for him to become mobile. Do not overdress your baby, as this would hamper the movement of his limbs and joints. When possible, leave your baby’s feet, knees and elbows bare, as this will give him better grip.

To help your baby get moving in the prone position, let her push off against your hands with her feet. This should help her begin to belly crawl. If your baby looks about ready to get onto all fours, you can help by bending her legs gently and lifting up her bottom. Don’t force your baby into this position though, and don’t try to rush her into crawling on all fours.

You can also encourage your baby’s mobility by dangling his favorite toys just out of reach, or once he has started to belly crawl, moving several feet away and calling for him to come over to you. Avoid aids like walkers, which take a lot of the effort out of getting around – to babies’ detriment.

Babies Learning to Walk
Babies normally start walking some time between 10 and 18 months. Some parents get anxious when their baby shows no signs of walking at around a year of age. If that sounds a lot like you, then remember what Glenn Doman says about the importance of crawling in developing speech as well as reading and writing skills. If he’s right, then learning to walk late might actually be a good thing!

As your baby gets ready to start walking, she will grab the furniture and pull herself up to a standing position. She will begin "cruising” – moving around on her feet with the furniture for support – and occasionally standing for a few seconds unaided. Let her do so barefoot, as this will make it easier for her to develop her balance and coordination.

To promote his walking skills, there’s plenty you can do to help strengthen your baby’s leg muscles. Before he begins to stand (or even crawl), let him grip your fingers (holding his wrists as a precaution) and pull him up to standing, so that he’s supporting his own weight. Later, you can let him walk around while you support him under the arms. When he starts to cruise, encourage him to let go of the furniture by holding out your fingers and allowing him grip you with both hands. Before you know it, he’ll be holding on to you with one hand – or even letting go altogether!

Babies start getting up on their feet before they know how to get back down, so don’t be surprised if your little one cries for help while marooned in a standing position. Rather than picking her up when this happens, you can help her learn to sit down by gently bending her knees and supporting her weight until she reaches the floor.

JP, Hi haven't seen u here for a long while.
No, we're not studying together but Feifei & I r studying part-time. She's doing Biz & I in Psychology.

I need to take Masters then can b certified psychologist & overseas got more opportunities so will need to relocate once I can get a job.

Morning felicia.

Mag,
Just curious, why are you so keen on relocating? I am still trying to decide on our posting, but I am panicking at the tot that I will be away from my family & friends leh.

JP,
The posting is to middle-east wor. Good opportunity but too much uncertainties le. We have to consider very carfeully.

Got my colleague to join.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Kindermusik Trial Class
@ Tanglin Mall
Date: 22 Feb 09 (Sunday)
Time: 10am (45 min session)
Amt: $25.47

(Pls indicate your name and baby's name so I can register)
1) Iamsnow (Dawn & Qianying)
2) roxyz (Daphne & Isaiah)
3) ZuEn (ZuEn & Lil ZuEn) - HP #
4) feifei (Nicole & Charlotte)
5) Yanling(Yanling & Darren)-(May thread) - HP #
6) Bleh (Jovie & Travis) - HP #
7) Iamsnow's friend (YF & Yixun)
8) Shern (Shern & Lucius)
9) Chobits (Evelyn & Xavier)-May Thread - HP #
10)Ian (HuiPeng) - ZuEn's colleague

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/

Kindermusik's unique curricula cover the development of the newborn to 7 years old. The different programs represent the highest quality in educational, musical and creative content all based on the latest early childhood development research. Each program introduces your child to the adventure of music then moves at her pace, pausing to engage her interests, nurture her gifts and celebrates her discoveries.

Morning ladies..

JP,
hee...nope, I onli taking my degree in Biz lor...not intending to take masters cos really bery siong lor...hehe...also pocket got a big hole like Mag liao =)..hee

Tks for the infor...

Zuen,
Tks for asking ur fren to join for the trial class, but bleh can't join us cos her boy has chicken pox lor...poor boy..

<font color="0000ff">Lastest updates</font>
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Kindermusik Trial Class
@ Tanglin Mall
Date: 22 Feb 09 (Sunday)
Time: 10am (45 min session)
Amt: $25.47

(Pls indicate your name and baby's name so I can register)
1) Iamsnow (Dawn &amp; Qianying)
2) roxyz (Daphne &amp; Isaiah)
3) ZuEn (ZuEn &amp; Lil ZuEn) - HP #
4) feifei (Nicole &amp; Charlotte)
5) Yanling(Yanling &amp; Darren)-(May thread) - HP #
6) Iamsnow's friend (YF &amp; Yixun)
7) Shern (Shern &amp; Lucius)
8) Chobits (Evelyn &amp; Xavier)-May Thread - HP #
9)Ian (HuiPeng) - ZuEn's colleague

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/

Kindermusik's unique curricula cover the development of the newborn to 7 years old. The different programs represent the highest quality in educational, musical and creative content all based on the latest early childhood development research. Each program introduces your child to the adventure of music then moves at her pace, pausing to engage her interests, nurture her gifts and celebrates her discoveries.

Mornin Ladies..Thanks JP ..ya i hv asked my maid to write down her milk and food intake...tis 3 days seen some improvement..at least takin more milk compared to previous week..some said i am stuffing her wif too much food..but apparently she managed to finish her milk and food..so contradicting at times...
7.30am - 5oz milk
9am - 2-3 tblespn cereal
12-1pm -4 oz milk
3.30pm- fruits puree
6pm - porridge
8.30-9pm - Last feed of 6oz milk..

is tat too much???

morning...

tgif!! finally has some time to login here and take a look...

nss...
hmm... a rare visitor on weekdays... hehe... cos usu oni see u on weekends...

soyabean, yeah reporting from office

nowadays even rarely visit on weekends liao, packed up the laptop into the laptop case since before CNY :p

morning mummies
sharon.. ha ha my so call new boss is very petty, fussy, demanding and cat.. and tempermental lor.. somemore he is a guy.. find it so hard to work w him.. he k throw hp and things on table and one day can hv countless times of e 4 letter words from his mouth..

Yest night when i go back to my MIL house to fetch bb, i saw that the bb rocker is placed next to the hamster food and also close to the hamster cage. I m not v happy then plus i am stressed over the news that my hb may get arrowed to a post which require regular overseas posting. So i raised my voice at my MIL.

This morning my FIL sms my hb saying that my MIL is unhappy abt my attitude and as if i think they are dirty and didn't handle bb well. I admit i am usually overly concern and tend to nag esp on bb stuff n check on my mil often on how she does things.

But then again i am not happy at my hb's attitude this morn when he tell me this sms.. i tell him i am worried abt the hamster issue for some time and he didn't want to tell his mum so i cannot tahan yest. I have the impression tat my hb is so concern abt his mum feelings. but whenever i tell him abt my feelings, he just say dun tink so much, just tolerate?..

Now tonight i dun feel like going over to her house but i miss bb so still have to go over to fetch him. sigh.

U know since pregnancy and giving birth, i feel my hb's concern for me is not adequate.. esp when i feel tired and body tired etc, he doesn't ask after me. when i slog in the kitchen doing household chores, he plays games and didn't ask whether i am tired or not. i dun expect him to help bec i m particular so i prefer to do my own style, esp since got once i tell him to help and he end up washing bb stuff in mama lemon (and not bb cleanser)..

At times i feel i am getting tat depressive mood again though its much better than during pregnancy. Everyday work and work then weekend take care of bb and no life... v sianz.

really peifu mummies who are studying now.. hardly got any time for myself since bb born.. think when he older i feel like taking some leisure course on flower arrangement, interior design.. etc more on arts.. sound like i am those gg to retire soon.. ha ha

(amended) Ellysia i k understand lor.. but sometime really got to close one eye cos we cant look after on our own "p talk to ur husband and let him noe how u feel.. for these things i normally let my husband talk to his parents

Ellysia,
Calm down ger...can feel ur concern lor..We 1st time mummies sure gan cheong over our bbs de..Sometimes mayb just hv to talk nicely to ur MIL since ur hb dun wan to tell them ur concern..of cos its better for our hbs to talk to their parents so that they won't feel so offensive..

ioio,
hiaz, for me, its bo bian lor..if I hv a choice, I won't want to study so that i can spend my time with my ger...

Rizty,

Dun tink its too much. my bb take in more solid food than yrs i tink..

sharon,

I read in a magazine tat is normal for 8mths old bb to refuse to eat from spoon bec' they want to learn to feed themselves, and they start to show their preference independence. also they start to show more preference over food as their taste bud improve and they may be picky.

ellysia.. taste bud.. think of wat to cook for him tomorrow.. ooh ya beancurb but wonder whether he will like it? i am tired of giving carrot, brocolli, potato liao..

This is my list of food which can be given up to 8mths.

Apple
Banana
Pumpkin
Avocado
Apricot
Green Beans/Dried beans
Yam
Cabbage
Heng Cai (Cabbage)
Prunes
Peach
Cauliflower
Potato puree
Papaya
Asparagus
Blueberry
Cherry
Broccoli
Watermelon
Honeydew
Pork
Spinach
Eggplant (Binjai)
Chicken
Fish (Threadfin)
Carrots (Healthytimes)
Peas (Healthytimes)
Butternut squash puree
Sweet Potato (Earthbest)
Prune (Gerber)
Apple puree (earthbest)
Pear puree (Healthytimes)

9 months and up

Grape
Kiwi
Cucumber
Cranberry
Mango
Tofu
Sweet Corn
Tomatoes
Strawberries

Morning Ladies!!!

JP, thanks for sharing the tips! Been busy these days?

Ioio, woah! Ur new boss sounds a difficult and RUDE person to work with.

Ritzy, you are not overfeeding ur lil one!

Ellysia, thanks for the food list too. ! NTUC having offer for blue berries. hehe... gg to grab some soon! Just wash, peel and mash yah?!

NSS, u can log in fm work these days?!

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia, is better to go over tonite. No matter what, your MIL ia taking care of ur boy.
Our generations will always have diff ways to handling kids. Just the oth day, my neighbour whom is helping her daughter to take care of girl, came to chat with my MIL and i happen to arrived home. This lady was complaining that her daughter will scold her if forgot to sterilise one bottle milk, then cannot do this, cannot do take, must wash hand before carry baby and so on. Then i heard my MIL said ' yalor, yalor, the young ppl nowadays handle kids is diff from our ways last time. This cannot, tat cannot.
But i'll always give 'valid reason' to my MIL on certain 'Do' and 'Cant Do' lor.

Yest nite, i was complaining to hubby that since back from LNY, my girl will need to pat pat only will sleep. Cannot sleep on her own liao. I'm pretty unhappy about it coz i know when my MIL is taking care of my girl during LNY, she always pat her to sleep, instead of using my way to letting her to sleep on her own.
But what choice do i have since my MIL is taking care of my girl? So, i can only start all over again in training her to sleep on her own.</font>

Hi Ellysia..understand wat u r goin thru..its not easy gettin along wif in laws..but certain tings we nd to close one eye lor..expecialli when we are in nd of them to help take care of bb..perhaps u can find a gd time to jus explain to ur hb why u r mad &amp; ur concern over cleaniness..tell him u don mean to ask him to tell his mum off but maybe remind them in a better way so tat won offend them and they won tink u r being rude oso lor..
If u miss bb so much..go get him..anyway u are there to get ur precious one..i bet they won talk abt it liao la...

MLP,

If u want breakdown of sugar or find it too hard, u can steam a short while for 5mins before blending.

Felicia,

In my own house when toys drop i will rinse but in her house, the toys drop and she just pick it up and let my boy play.. if her house no hamster i am still not so worried. haiz.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">mlp..he is not really new as got promoted to head cos my ex french boss volunteer to leave when there's head cut so let him take over the place lor.. my ex boss much nicer, he volunteer to leave saying that he can work anywhere but the existing one is local so better for him to carry on....</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia.. u fetching ur ger back for weekdends? </font></font>

Ellysia, hugs hugs. What Felicia say is true lar. Different generations have different ways of handling kids. Not to say which is right and wrong, but just different lor. Being of this generation, I would think putting the bb too near the hamsters would expose him to germs etc. But I remember when I was young, I played with cats in the market. Cannot imagine how many germs I brought back in the process. And those were the skinny, ratty cats. Yucks.

If your hubby doesn't raise the issue to your in laws, maybe you can try to talk to them and tell them calmly about your concerns? I'm sure they also love your bb and if they understand the reasons, they would also be able to understand your concerns.

JP, I'm not taking any courses lar. Already hands full with bb. Hahaha... I peifu those like feifei and mag who can still continue studying. Will consider signing up for another course end of the year. Gotta make myself marketable anyway.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, i think the issue is generation's gap. I do heard my collegue complaining about her mom's style in handling her child. So no matter is own mom or MIL ; argument will still happen just that with MIL, we cannot direct argue back.
I can understand ur concern especially YuZhe had ezcema. When my girl was diagosed with ezcema, i oso keep telling my MIL cannot use powder on her neck (where the rashes is) and must always wipe clean clean after milk feed. Actually before we confirmed with PD on the ezcema, i oredy told my MIL cannot used powder, but she said after apply the redness gone. So i took the 'opportunity' to tell her not to use after back from PD's visit.
Most importantly, dont direct confront with ur MIL.</font>

I agree with Felicia. Don't have a direct confrontation with your MIL.

Btw, I think you should fetch your boy tonight. So things go back to normal and r/ship ties can mend.

shern,
err...The kindermusik is suitable for bbs to 1.5yrs old lor so I guess its okie for 4mths old..but hor, can the 4mth old sit on lay on tummy?cos the rest of the bbs are 8mths+ so might be crawling everywhere and the programme might be more suitable for that age wor..

Krispy,
Dun envy me lor, its tough lor..wat course u intend to take?

Feifei, gotta give you credit lar. You and your hubby both studying while working and also taking care of an 8 month old. Takes a whole lot of dedication lor.

I was thinking of CFE or maybe CISA. Would love to study psychology like mag or economics cos that's my first love. But, sigh... dunno leh. It's so different from what I'm doing now and I don't think it'll add value to my current job lor. Maybe in future, I can start taking courses I love rather than looking for those that can further my career.

Rizty, it's good that your maid is keeping a record of your bb's consumption!
Every bb's needs differ but it is very helpful to have a record, so that you can notice if your gal suddenly consumes less/more - which could point to growth spurt, illness, teething, etc. At least you have a baseline to compare with. Also, I feel that asking the caregiver to record basic details also makes the caregiver more aware and attuned to the baby. It will no longer be her doing something only when she feels like it.

Speaking of bbs wanting to feed themselves - Matthew is going through a phase where he will refuse to eat unless he is given the spoon to put into his mouth.

Oh, Ellysia! I was inspired by you and went to make aspargus puree, sugar prune puree and sweet beans puree yesterday!

I peeled the asparagus, then cut off the hard bottom, then diced it. I cooked the asparagus first, then added some water, and blended. I used microwave oven to cook the asparagus. You can also steam it.