(2008/06) June 2008

ioio,

I fetch him back everyday.

cactus,

How do u make the sweet beans?

Krispy and Felicia,

Actually i will not bother abt the hamster if not my boy got eczema and my hb had childhood asthma before.

Ellysia, sorry. Didn't know that. I think I'll also feel extremely frustrated and worried in your position. And in such instances, can be very difficult to keep my temper in check too. Just try to remain as neutral as possible.

Are there any other options rather than letting your inlaws take care of your boy? Maybe place him in a childcare centre and try to pass it off as letting him interact with ppl, learn more things etc. I did that for my girl cos I don't really trust my in laws to do a good job of taking care.

feifei,
My girl still cant crawl. So she can join the 3 months' baby and gong, gong sit there and watch the other babies crawl everywhere else. Haha.

Ellysia, felicia,
My PILs loves to feed my girl. Over the CNY, she has taste soft candy, love letters and duno wat from yusheng. They alwars go "little bit niah.. never mind". I am more worried about her choking lor. And yusheng leh, git raw fish inside lor. Faint.

Feifei,
I go check with my SIL if she's interested. But like you say, her baby is 5 months older, so she might notbe keen.

Zu En,

My boy can shake hand with your gal. he also dunno how to crawl yet.

wah piang.. raw fish somemore.

Krispy,

Dun intend to put childcare until 1.5 yrs or 2 yrs old.

Its only the hamster issue i am more concern. haiz.

Ellysia, I soaked the beans for a couple of hours, then I prepare it as I would normally (remove the string on the side by peeling across), then cook in microwave oven (I'm a big fan of the oven!!). I think maybe can steam too. Then add water, and blend. The water content of this veg is not alot so must add quite more water than for asparagus.

From the looks of it, seems like everything can be pureed by cactus. Amazing! Hahaha...

Hey Krispy, did Isabel like apples? I gave Matthew apples for breakfast yesterday and the day before. He only started accepting it yesterday. First day, only ate 90ml for breakfast. the next day at 140ml (his usual breakfast amount).

Mag - Been so busy coz the whole family has been sick on/off since 5th Dec. Hopefully, now everyone will be back to their pink health and stay put there. Wow...Psychology. That's a great profession. You are still very young...jia yu!!! I too was thinking of working overseas but plans were put on hold when I found out I was PG with #2.

ZuEn - Wow...one of my friends also was posted tot he middle east and he brought his whole family. Suppose to stay for only 2 years. It has been 4 years liao and they are still there...ha!ha! Ya...must think long and hard coz once you guys decide, it is a decision which you have to stick to for 2 yrs.

feifei - You are welcome!
Wow...salute you guys!!! Can still study when you guys still have to take care of BB.

Ritzy - No lah..you are not feeding her too much solid. It really depends on the individual baby. Even infants have their good and bad days. So, on her bad days, she will not be finishing her food, milk, etc. That's alright.
For 8-10 mth old infant, their milk intake should be around 630 - 720ml ( taken from Feed Your Child Right)

Ellysia - Hang in there! Due to generation gap and olden days thinking, sometimes MIL and DIL will have problems. That's normal and most of the time its the DIL that has to give-in especially when her DH sides his own mother. That's why I always feel that communication is upmost important. Talk to your DH and tell him how you feel and ask him to put himself in your shoes and offer a solution to ensure that the baby is safe and sound. Ya, do go and pick up your BB !
Thanks for the info!

ioio - Wow, a difficult boss indeed! Sayang2!!!

MLP - You are welcome!

KKreme -Ya lor, very pei fu. Like yourself, me also thinking of completing my studies when my #2 turns 18 mths. Talking about furthering in my career, I think I am way pass that. Heard that quite a number of people are given the golden handshake at their 40s. When my girl turns 18 months, I will be in my mid 30s...not employable anymore over here...so sad!

Re:Feeding Themselves
As our babies are getting more and more independent, they would want to do thing by themselves. So, I remembered my #1 NOT willing to open his mouth during lunch/dinner time till he hold the spoon and fork. So, there was a period where I had 2 sets of cutlery.

Yup. She loves them. Actually, I think she loves every single thing I feed her as long as there's variety. Her milk belly getting bigger and bigger.

When did you start feeding Matthew breakfast? I'm still wondering whether to start. What time does he usually eat bfast? If I do, I'll prob have to prepare in advance for the centre to feed her.

I had a paiseh moment yesterday. Good thing only my hubby around. Isabel too young to understand. Good also. Hehe.

All along, I thought my food warmer wasn't working. Like, the warmer got warm, but it took me close to an hour to warm up a bottle of milk. And even then, it wasn't really very warm.. just a little warmer than room temp.

Then, since I'm making all those prefreeze foods for Isabel, decided to give my poor warmer another try before throwing it into the rubbish bin. And the silly thing still couldn't warm up a bottle of water to save itself from extinction.

Anyway, hubby started reading the instructions and surprise surprise, we're supposed to pour water into the warmer before putting the bottle in. Ermz... I had an extremely paiseh moment before realising my warmer worked fine. It was me who needed to get my head screwed on. Cannot believe right. It's been 8 months and I just found out how to use the food warmer.

Lengleng,
Ic... I think I better stop letting her watch tv while eating.

ioio,
Woah! this kind of attitude still can be boss. Omg...

Ellysia,
I think you mistake what I asking.. I not saying my ger refuse to eat. Just wondering y feeding cannot watch tv. Anyway Lengleng have reply me. =D

About MIL/HB, u n me encounter same problem. never ending story about MIL. Like what Felicia says... its generation's gap and we also grow up in different family. So things of doing will be different too. Like example for my mum doing the old generation things so I told her to do my way, can she see abit not happy so i explain to her that i'm telling her so she can improve. so she could understand. but for my MIL if i explain to her, she will not happy and reply I get back will be her old generation way again. Ever since I gave birth we had big quarrel about 3 times. After the 3rd quarrel whatever my MIL say I just listen nv say anything back. Listen but still doing my own way of course. I trying hard to get along with her after each quarrel but it seems not working. Up till now I still wondering how to get along with her. Ok I better stop saying too much things as my HB got come here read.

Krispy, Isabel is not a fussy eater! Good for you!!! Matthew has very strong preference for bananas but other things, he will also eat but needs more cajoling! :p

I weaned Matthew rather late compared to some mummies on this thread who started giving cereal as first food. I skipped the cereal stage. I started with plain porridge at 6 months - just a couple of spoonfuls once, and then twice a day, both after milk. Once he got the hang of eating from the spoon, there was no turning back. At first, I just gave lunch. Once he ate 20 baby spoons of lunch, I added on dinner. Once he was able to eat 60ml for lunch, and 60ml for dinner, I added breakfast. Then I increased his amounts for breakfast, lunch and dinner to 140ml/120ml/120ml. Just 2 days ago, I started adding 40ml of fruit after lunch and another 40ml of fruit after dinner. My mom asked me to add on tea snack, but I think it's better to give Matthew fruit after lunch and dinner - because I still give a full milk feed during tea.

Matthew's daily schedule is generally like this:
610am - wake up (he is like a clockwork.. dun know why!!)
645am - give 140ml fruit puree.

He takes a full feed of milk before his 1st nap - He sleeps twice during the day time now. He is 7.5mths. He recently dropped his 3rd day time nap. After he wakes up from his 1st nap, he takes lunch. then it is tea break of a full milk feed, then it is dinner, before bedtime milk again.

Here's some info taken from pick nick's brain website:

8 month old’s sleep

At this age, many 8 month olds can sleep through the night, without a feeding, but some won’t and will continue to need 1-2 feedings up through 9+ months old. And, 8 month old babies take 2-3 naps, daily. If your baby is having trouble napping, you may be interested in how you can get your baby to nap.

All babies vary, but here are some rough schedules you can use to make your own for your unique baby. I should warn you that I am in the camp that breast milk or formula should be the primary nutrition for the first year and solids come secondary. Below are the amounts recommended from Super Baby Food, the book I use for reference (as a guide, not as the end-all-be-all because I don’t give my kids nuts before a year or follow other things in the book, but it’s a good reference guide). Another useful reference is Wholesome Baby Food. Although I work full time, I did make most of my baby food (I’d make 1 big batch of something each weekend in 1-2 hours), but even if you don’t, the website is useful as a guide when to introduce what food and other meal ideas.

The amount of food at 8 months is very similar to the 7 month baby schedule, but you will most likely go to 3 small meals per day, rather than just 2.

Amounts per day:

• At least 5 nursing sessions per day or 30-32 ounces formula or combination
• No more than 2-4 oz of water or juice (to ensure they drink enough breast milk or formula)
• 2-3 servings baby cereal or grains (1 serving cereal = 1-2 Tablespoons dry and grains include Cheerios, 2 crackers, etc.)
• 2 servings fruit (1 serving = 2-3 Tablespoons)
• 2-3 servings vegetable (1 serving = 2-3 Tablespoons)
• 1-2 servings protein (1 serving = 1-2 Tablespoons)
• 1 serving Dairy (1 serving = 1/2 cup yogurt, 1/3 cup cottage cheese or 1 oz grated cheese)
• You can also offer cooked egg yolk (but no egg whites until 1 year old due to allergans)

Cactus, wow. 610am is so so early. But I read earlier that you wake up very early as well rite?

I haven't measured how much Isabel is eating for lunch and dinner. I should start doing that soon. For certain things she loves like avocado and yoghurt, she'll finish the entire bowl and ask for more after that. Others, she'll eat maybe half and start fussing.

Isabel is waking up at 730am, like clockwork as well. I don't know how they seem to know the time, but surprisingly they do. If she gets up anytime before 730, she'll lie in her cot and play / talk by herself. Once it's 730, she'll start calling out to us.

Fruit purees would make a good b/fast food. I'll monitor the qty she eats for lunch and dinner first, then maybe ask the centre to intro b/fast soon.

Wow!! Thanks for the info, JP! Matthew is really eating alot then!!! But he's terribly active too. He's been 9.5kg for the past 1 month already.. never put on any weight. My mom was saying he looks skinnier now.. because cos he has grown a bit taller.. but never put on weight.

cactus - That's just a reference. As long as M's PD do not complain, then its OK. Furthermore, your DH will be the best person to check on M's growth, eating, etc. According to mayo clinic, Healthy infants come in a range of sizes. The rate at which your infant grows in the first year depends on several factors, including sex, diet and genetics. For example, boys usually grow faster than girls do, and bottle-fed babies tend to put on weight faster than breast-fed babies do.

Many healthy babies go through brief periods when they stop gaining weight or even lose a little weight. However, a doctor would likely be concerned only if an otherwise healthy baby doesn't gain weight for three consecutive well-baby exams during the first year.

Doctors monitor infant growth at well-baby exams using standard growth charts, which compare your baby's weight, height and head circumference with those of other babies who are the same sex and age. Infants who fall below a certain weight range for their age or who are failing to gain weight at the expected rate may require further evaluation.

So how much should you expect your infant to grow in the first year?

* Weight. Infants generally gain 4 to 7 ounces (113 to 198 grams) a week during the first month. After the first month, they gain an average of 1 to 2 pounds (0.5 to 1 kilogram) a month for the first six months. From six months to 1 year, they gain about 1 pound (0.5 kilogram) a month.
* Height. Infants generally grow about 1 inch (2.5 centimeters) a month during the first six months, and about 1/2 inch (1 centimeter) a month from six months to one year.

If you're concerned about your child's size or rate of growth, consult your child's doctor.
Infant growth: What's normal?
6-12 months
Average growth in height: 3-4 inches (8-10 centimeters)
Average growth in weight: 5-7 pounds (2-3 kilograms)

Oh... if Matthew doesn't drink much milk during the night, I choose the less acidic fruits like bananas and avocados. If not, I will give prunes, plums, blueberries, cherries or apples. for breakfast lah. after lunch or dinner fruit can be anything.

no no! I don't prepare them fresh - except for blueberries (Krispy, I don't blend blueberries, cos there are too few of them to blend. I mash with fork! :p) I prepare food purees in bulk just twice a week. Over one weekend and mid-week. I find asparagus the most challenging cos need to peel....

<font color="aa00aa">Wah, thread is moving fast today!!!

Yippee, tomolo is Saturday liao! And is Valentine's day? Anyone celebrating?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Just now over lunch, heard from a collegue that her SIL just had a miscarriage not long ago. She had been trying for 3-4yrs but now gone. So sad!
Then her SIL wants to try another one but her family members persuade her not too, coz is too soon as she just miscarriaged.
Btw, how long can one start trying again after a miscarriage har? Is it true woman tends to be more fertile even after a miscarriage?</font>

feifei, tks! my boy still dun crawl leh

ellysia, agree must tolerate lor, sometimes to get hb to agree with our points can be quite tough. afterall it's a long journey, whether in as a spouse or parent. but somethings that i cannot tahan, i'll tell hb &amp; i realise over time he will spot the problems himself 1st

jts, i realise everytime fil acts as tho he did not spend the day with my boy cos he will 'fight' with us to carry &amp; play with him in the evening. i'm lucky in the sense that i have a helper so i probe her &amp; found out tat the play time the grandparents have with my boy is sometimes limited due by his nap/feeding/playtime &amp; 'reading time'. mil is oso busy with cooking so now i try to close 1 eye cos hb was saying weekends we have him for 2 full days.

But wen come to cleanliness, i fully understand y ellysia will do wat she did...

felicia, every time hb will cook &amp; we eat at hm cos eating out is so ex. &amp; will do gift exchange. so was joking this yr can include in bb &amp; helper haha

keep up all the pureeing mommies! cactus, continue sharing

japepearlm
I skip naps.

zuen,
middle-east, cool... I wanna go...

ioio,
if got chance to see him throw HP in dustbin,
rem to pick it up!

Ellysia,
we fetch our kids back daily too.
Bit the bullet &amp; "close one eye" lor...
Else just chop chop go &amp; bring him back early daily.

Krispy... Hee hee hee hee... U r so cute..

Zuen.. U r gg to be posted oversea already? Raw fish..little bit oso must be careful

Cactus.. Salute to u lor...

JP.. Tks tks.. At least I got a hearing ear I happy liao..

Lengleng,
We still deciding. Tough choice. -.o"

Ioio,
Not decided yet wor. Headache lah. 2 years is a loooonnngg time.
Ya lor. My eyes open big, big when I see they feeding my girl. Not the raw fish, but something that was taken out of the already mixed yusheng. Wat to do, can only hope that nothing happens after that. Their "little bit niah" theory.

Hehe Zuen, the "little bit niah" theory will go down in my books, just beside the 5 second rule. I think it's a good idea to work / study overseas for a couple of years if the whole family goes along. Away from in laws, parents will allow you all to bond closer as a family unit. And it's a unique experience for you, your hubby and also your kids.

Cactus, Isabel also never put on weight although I think she's eating more than 140ml per meal. I really should cut down on her food intake and increase her milk. Better go home and measure how much she's actually eating.

JP, surprisingly, my girl is now waking up at 3am for feeds. We think it's her teeth growing, so she's cranky. I think I spoke too soon when I said she doesn't really wake up at night anymore. Sigh... have to eat my words now. More zombiefied as the days go by.

Krispy, there was a period of 4 days when Matthew didn't wake up for milk.. but now he is waking up again.... sama sama

actually, it sounds like Isabel is drinking lots of milk! She seems to be doing fine. You mentioned 150ml/3 hours last time right?

zuen,
my suggestion... GO!
If not used to it, come back,
if you love the place,
bring your whole family there.

Chances don't come everyday,
don't live to regret.

I understand that breast milk is specially formulated to meet the neesds of the bb but if a mother is breastfeeding her older one throughout her second pregnancy, up to the point of delivery, what sort of quality will her breast milk be? more suited for 1st or 2nd bb?

<font color="aa00aa">Riz, so your gynae advise is 3-4mths lah. According to my collegue, her SIL miscarriage on late Dec but she's want to try now coz thinking is more fertile during this period leh.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">orrhhh...tot u r preggy again so soon after yur tat unfortunate incident of mc recently. was abt to congrats u again ley but i tot i better check lor.</font>