(2008/05) May 2008

Kelcqi,
Every mom here hv the same view, we are happy the moment when we r with our hubby and children. You are not lonely, at least ur hubby trying his very best to helps out and ease ur load. Our Mom & MIL are like this, as our inexperience care they afraid we cannot cope with it that's y they hv lots of comments here and there. I understand how u feel when ppl comment here and there, sometimes i get fedup too and also dun like the way they telling & asking around but when u cool down and think, they r meant for bb good & trying to help but sad to say that they do not know how to put in nice words to say to us.

BB rashes i think shouldn't be a problem to apply on face. Ur bb gal rashes cos of skin sensitive, perhaps next time use a cloth with warm water to wipe her face whenever they finish kissing ur bb gal. I used to do that when my MIL come and visited my sons, i dun like it so when she left i used a cloth wet with warm water and wiped his face, hand and leg. BB skin are very sensitive they can hv rashes easily and very hard to go away once hv it and very leh chey..

Poko
My MIL consider oki, she is a easy going person but sometimes she a bit frank to me la but i'll take note lor without saying anything. MIL is diff from our mother, as we can be very frank to tell our mom wat we like and dislike unlike MIL. Sound like u r staying with ur MIL?

cutie
Wow... envy u but when u r young u hv to sacrifice times and youth la when ppl chiong u stay at home looking after bb. Hv good and bad la as ppl said "Sian Ku hou tian" but not bad too, u can enjoys life with ur hb when all your children grown up as compared to me still hv a long way to go...

Yanling
May i ask u, if first time employ maid do employer need to go for lesson or training as well? My hb thinking also same as u, do not like stranger in the hse so far no maid for me yet.. Hope u can get a good maid ;p

mrscheong...
me ah.. 1.68m and nw 59kg lor...2 more kg to go...

i also amazed by how much i can pump.lol

my baby drinking 80-100 2 hr interval

cutie..u realli a very young mum leh...23 got 2 kids liao! wah... me nw 27 lor..onli first kid...hahaaa

pei fu pei fu u so wei da...give up so many things for the young one

jo,
your baby very guai leh...was reading his 'timetable'..
u want to know my bb?
Wake up 4 or 6 am
drink sleep till 7.30am
the for the rest of the day is on and off sleep...short intervals of sleep, followed by crying, crankiness, need pple to entertain him etc till 11pm..
last feed of milk ard 11pm to 12am and the cycle continues.

damn tired

last saturday brought baby to massage class...got 7 to 8 other babies there....all guai guai...
my ah di after 15 mins cranky already...cry and cry until pple also cannot hear the trainer...
haiz....

icebaby,

phuket! wow, miss the place....haven't been back for donkey years already....
now i want to go malacca also more troublesome now...
u thurs start work right?
me thinking of cutting short my ML and start work soon....

hi burttercup,

where did u bring your bb for the massage, i also want to bring my boy but dun know which place provide such service ?

choc,
really envy u ah. so much milk!
i overslept last night, 6hrs nv pump
right side very hard got two big lumps so painful
but when i pump, only get 140ml...
lumps nv disappear no matter hw hard i massage
tried to pump every 3hrs but still ther so painful
until half an hour ago, i latch my boy, and voila! all gone =)

kelcqi
i also have problems with my mil...currently staying with them cos i have a pair of twins.. she take care of the elder and i take care of the younger...

i always latch my younger girl for almost 2 months...recently just gave her bottle feed...and she refused to drink...and my mil keep on lamenting that i latch her too much... she very naughty... keep on sticking to me...why always cry... everytime when my twin2 cries, she will ask me to latch her... i also feel very stress...stress not by my baby but by my mil...

feel like returning to my own home.. sob sob...

mrscheong,
thanks for the info. i also draw out something like tat. hopefully after the maid settle down a bit, then i can slowly train her.

Fion lee,
ya first time maid employer have to go for an online course with singapore poly and the course is $30 dollars lah. only upon completion then can employ maid. the URL is as below if you need

https://sspwa020.sp.edu.sg/is/space.nsf/283d454f6526108b48256a79000a9adf/8451c91eb1a8aee648256e670018e2fa?OpenDocument

Buttercup,
ur baby oredi very guai liao. my baby is even more cranky then yours. he will wake up at 1am plus if the last feed is 9pm plus, then 3am plus, 5am plus, 7am plus then he will make a lot of noise due to the wind in the stomach. it's so bad tat my mother has to carry him to walk around in the house then he can sleep peacefully. the wind is so bad that he throws up milk very frequently. we got so scared that brought him to PD last saturday. and the doc said he is colicky and gave Dentinox drops. it does seem to help a bit.

cos of throwing up milk, we dare not give him too much at one go. usually only give him abt 120ml. but it seems not enough for him leh. he will cry milk every 1hr plus, at most 2hr. got once we tried to see how much he can finish at one go by filling up 200ml, then end up he can finish 160ml which so amazed me.

dolly,
i went for the KKH one...its three session of 45 mins...
after i signed up and paid then i got another lobang...haiz...late by one step.

Yanling,
same same...my baby also have a lot of wind so he farts a lot and he throws up milk frequently also..got one night, he puke so violently that the milk spurt out from both his nostrils!! scared me so much...
brought him to see PD and he said colicky plus reflex...so now me reducing his feed to 100ml

Yueling
Every feed I give my girl 120ml = 90ml fresh chilled milk + 30ml frozen milk... If she okie she will finish everything sometime she drink about 70ml and push the teats out... We didn't force her to drink more.

She is quite a sleepy bb but sometime she start sleeping at 6 or 7+pm I afraid she can't tong until the next day... So I will disturb her up and that day she will sleep slightly later but 2nd day still the same wake up at 6+...

Choc I also got a lot of milk during my 1st pregnancy but this one don't seem to have that much liao. Today I pump 6hr interval and only get 200ml intotal...

Fion
I stay with my MIL, she is good and take care of us lah but hor too many suggestion that make me a bit bth... Today I got migraine she take care of my girl the whole day and let me sleep without disturbing me, I appreciate that lor.

BTW I am talking to my SIL on MMI methods she told me that is good as they can spot "du1 shu1 zhang4 ai4" in earlier stage to ensure the kids can be treated asap. She say she know a mother who girl can't read, the mother actually transform all the wording into picture and keep on repeat it to the girl to let her understand so that once she see the words she will transform them to something she can understand. Now the girl is in sec 2 and no problem with her work already. So any feedback of your boy in school lately?

choc ,

thank for the information ...have just called to registrated my baby !!

Buttercup ,

Ya ...was thinking of ...but for infant care fee is high . Have you found out where to put your baby !! Still considering to get a part time nanny or maid !!See how my MIL can handle him ?

Yah buttercup.

Going back to work on Thurs. Was thinking of going to malacca too..but end of the month before I start my new job. (will be going into office to tender on thurs..my boss know liao)

Poko
At this moment, my mom take care my #2 and i take care the #1. I need to pay extra attention to my elder son's sch/homewk cos his is in P1 this yr. Ya i heard quite no.of feed back the MMI using montessori method to teach & also partly his speech development slow, that is y wanted to send my #2 there. Sometimes i felt i a bit unfair to my #1, as I never sent him to Montessori, he only attend those normally one like appletree playgroup 2hrs programmes.
I wait till next yr then send my #2 to MMI Pre-sch, i can't bear to c him cry like mad... ppl said children easily to adapt the environment but i cant adapt his crying hahaha... once he cried my heart goes soft

Worse still, my mom going for holiday for 5 days!!! I've to handle my 2 kids by myself.. cant imagine 2 boys, i can goes crazy!!!! esp the #2 is super clingy to me. I go anywhere he will keeps following me

Is it kids at this age of 2.5yrs are so clingy to one person???? I saw quite no. of kids are like that leh...

My son has irregular drinking pattern and quantity too.
Just now, he napped and past his feeding time by 1.5 hours. When he got up, I gave him 130ml, he demanded more, so I burpped him and gave additional 30 ml, but he demanded more, cry until very fierce, so I burpped him again and gave another 30 ml, which already added up to 190ml *jaw drop* ... and he was still crying for more, really kong3 bu4. I visualised the feeding bottle of 190ml in his small tummy, I didn't dare to give some more. I think he was very hungry when he woke up, and didn't know he was full. So after burpping him, I carried him upright, and gave him pacifier to suck. He probably realised he is now full, he stop crying, and start to hiccup.

for my first massage class, the trainer was teaching us to massage the feet and the thighs...
today i did it to my ah di while he was sitting on my lap...and he managed to sit for almost one hour!!
wow, dun know if its the massage or that he has grown up...
he is now two months old....
i also spoke to him in cute voices and he responded by cooing back....

one hour is record leh....
his previous record is 15 mins

i agree that leaving with PIL not easy...but sometimes when really tired out and alone with a cranky baby, i envy you all who have another person in the house to help out.

today i really wanted to take a bath cause feel very 'sticky', but baby refused to sleep....so i just put him on his cot and went bath...by the time i came back, he was crying until his voice box gonna tear like that, face red red...and at one point he so ji dong, he cry also no voice come out one....
and he has kicked himself until his head is almost banging to the wood boards already...

haiz...but his mommy really need to bathe leh....

peace, 190ml is a lot leh....
ya, me also interested to know how old is your baby now?

anyone went to the KKH massage class last Sat? we might have met each other and yet don't know!

Jo, i managed to get my baby in the infantcare at my office downstairs ...agree that its super expensive...but i have no choice...if i have two kids within less than 18 months apart..how to put both of them in infantcare???!!

Like few days nv logged in liao..So bz wif bb & hsework..SIanz..

Juz brought my ger for her 1st dose of 6-in-1 jab ytd. Ended she is down wif slight fever. Lucky nw ok liao. No crankiness & she juz appear more tired than usual..

Re:Irregular feeds

I check wif my bb PD regarding her irregular milk intake..She was saying sometime could b fungal infection on the gums known as 'thrush' (dunno gt spell worngly nt)which is common among bb..And if haf, gotta get it treated..Mummies, check ur bb gums..If there r spots on their gums, bring ur bb to a PD & get it treated..As for my bb, she dun haf, so PD oso nt sure wat is gg on since she dun vomit & urine/poo poo is normal, she ask me to monitor..Sometimes is juz a passing period & all shld go back to normal within a short while..

Kelcqi,

I'm ok..Even if my PIL r hm, they usually dun disturb us & give us alot of privacy one..SO far my ger is very good to me..She wil usually slp after her feed at nite when i put her on cot & off the light..She dun disturb me..

My bb oso gt those red spot on her face..But usually the next day shld b ok liao..I wil apply lotion on her face..

Re:Infant care

Initally tot of putting my ger in the infactcare centre..But super duper ex lo..Ended up look for nanny across my block (which is the same block as my parents)..I pay her $550 for 8am-7pm..(All stuffs to be provided by us)..

twinky,
i also wanted to look for nanny initially cause infantcare really ex...
but my working hours weird...and no nanny wants to take care till 9pm one right?
haiz...

Jo and Buttercup,
My bb is 2 months and 2 days old. He doesn't take 190ml all the time. His usual feed is 130ml. However, when the feeding gets hay wire, he can drink 160ml. Today he really break the record, took 190ml, so scary.

twinky,
Is the fungal infection on the gum white in color? What should we do about it ?

Hihi Ladies,

Wow, so I'm not alone feeling that way. I really dread moments I'll have to see my PILs with baby. Cos my MIL will occupy my bb and refused to let me carry or handle her but will dump e bb to me when she poo. Once I clean up, she'll take e bb from me again. She always made it like I'm e maid like tt. I hate it so much! And they are forever full of comments, all senseless comments or bad stuff at me. Like they'll look at baby, den start to find fault and say its me me me... My hubby still speak up for them and said they are trying to help. Those behaviors and comments are not helpful at all loh. They only contribute more unhappiness I have towards them...

My parents comments I know they meant well, so when I've cooled down I'm still ok. Only thing I'm really pissed at my mum is my BM. Everything abt bb blame me on e BM. Sigh, she just keep presuring me to stop BFing...

Last nite I wanna die liao. Handle my gal alone cos hubby had meeting early this morning. My gal fussed until 4 plus still dun wanna sleep, in e end I carry her and fall asleep, I also dunno how she knock out later also. By e time I awake, it was already 9am in e morning. And from 9-12, she refused to sleep. Today I barely had 400ml of milk... Sigh...

Ask you all hor, how to keep bb awake? I'm trying my very best to change her sleeping hrs. Else I'll die very soon.

Re: Nanny. My hubby refused to use nanny cos he worried tt the nanny will not be really sincere in taking care of baby. Plus he said tt our bb is a gal, he worried that any males in e house might molest e bb. Cos one of my mum's friend is a nanny and she said e nanny before her taking care of the gal had a guy in e house n they molested e gal, causing e gal alot of fear whenever she sees man... Sigh. So our choices are only limit to me being a sahm, or infant care or his mum. Sigh...

Ladies, how to increase the amt of milk your bb is taking ah? My gal seem to be taking 90ml since e nanny left. And alot of times even had leftover. But she can't seem to drink enough at nite, I really at a lose of wat to do with my gal. Yet I dun want my hubby to know, cos he'll think I can't cope and will keep asking me to use his mum's help which I really dun want to.

Hi Buttercup
Did u ever consider ur bb under ur mom or ur PIL care since u work in a long hrs. Normally, Infant care & nanny care they only helps us to look after till 6pm. Looking at ur situation, is quite diff to opt for infant care & nanny unless there is someone to help u to pick them up.

Hi Bethmom,

Thanks for the picture. I think I need something that can cover my back cos sometimes need to stand and sayang my kid when nursing.

buttercup
oops i c... emm.. is both of ur parent working? If no, there's only 1 option that is hire a maid to take care ur bb and the maid & bb stay at ur mom pl. If u dun find it troublesome, every morning bring ur maid and bb to ur mom pl, then u can work with no worries but provided ur parent agree with it.

buttercup
Sorry made a mistake, since u say ur mom stay very far away from u, sound like it's impossible for u to put ur bb & maid there oredi...

The only choice is change ur job to 8-5pm (it's a bit diff to switch job) then put ur bb in the infactcare centre or the best way is u stay at home look after it. ;p but lots of factors hv to take into consideration la.. like me lor, now look after the #1, then very soon i'll be taking care of my #2 as well.. can imagine nightmare coming soon to me liao..

Fion,

my 31mths DD also very sticky to me these days. I believe she just wanna "Remind" us that they need attention as well

mrscheong
my boy coming to 30mths this month. Does ur gal knows how to communicate with u oredi? My boy only recently knows how to say "pain pain, daddy, light, fan, no no, dun want... and i was happy that he called me mummy too!! previously, he said out everyone's name except me. My #2 was a bit slow in speech as compared to his kor kor and that's made me panic and wonder what's happened to him. Some mummies said, he will talk just a matter of time. ;p

kelcqi
my mil actually not bad...just that we got super different views on sterilising the equipments and BM. My mil also dun want me to bf...said i got no milk cos my breasts so small, her children also grew up on FM, now so healthy and strong... but i dun care... cos i know BM is the best... whenever i go polyclinic i would hint to the doctor and nurses to emphasis to her...my friends also came and physco her...until she give up and agree to let me latch my babies...but she also very cute... though she dun like me to bf, she still cook fish and papaya soup for me...

be strong and continue to believe in your thinking... tell your mom that now FM is so expensive and BM is free... you can save alot of money in this area...it worked for me..

buttercup
try to negotiate with the nanny...give her abit more and she might agree to it...

peace...
my babies are only older than yours by one day..and they drank only 60-90ml of milk...sigh

dear mommies
congrates.
I'm from Dec 08 MTB, was wondering if you all can recommend me your good confinment ladies?
Much appreciated.

re : maid timetable

yanling, yes u have to come out with ur own house guidelines then work out a timetable.
my schedule is roughly like that.. i just got the maid too, and she came during my confinement till now around 2months liao..
still ok..but forgetful lo.. donno really forgetful or just pretending ...problematic when in laws and maid stay together at one house.. this morning the maid wash clothes and mixed light color with one red colored clothing and got scolding from my hubby...so scared she will jump off the building coz she was crying so badly after the scolding..
anyway my schedule is roughly like this. like mrscheong, the maid takes care of household chores whereas we take care of babies on our own

Morning :
Boil water
Sweep and mop living room floor
Prepare DD #1's breakfast
Laundry
Clean up bedrooms

Afternoon :
Help preparations for lunch
Shower/Free time
Ironing
Cleaning up
Prepare food for dinner

Evening :
HElp prepare dinner
Kitchen Cleaning up (wipe kitchen's cabinets)
Sterilize bottles

RE : baby massage
dolly and choc, i might be going for the baby massage too! u girls going??

re : infant care
really exp lo.. i went to check out the price just last week coz my pils dont really wanna help take care for me.. and the price... really gave me a shock man...

panpan,

yes, i have already called and registered. Are you going too, so maybe we can meet there ?

Choc,

are you going as well ?

icebubbles...
u 6 hrs didnt pump will have lump! i realised mine is become abit hard..then got to pump n pump with alot of effort to clear lor...when i feel got lump i also will latch on..hehe

dolly, jo, panpan..
i also registered..hope to c u there ah..anyone else going?
remember must produce receipt 10 bucks worth of J&J products!
may be our first meetings wor! i have never meet up with u all before! exciting

peace!
190 is alot leh! OMG

mrscheong...may n may not be a good thing to have so much milk..i have to express out every 2 hours leh... when go gai gai...will feel a burning sensation when times up... so not good at all actualli

choc,

yes u r right abt the supply of milk... meanwhile i do wish for more supply though i m already dishing out some surplus into my DD#1 milk ;)

When i have #1 in 2005, I would use the surplus (those i kept in fridge for more than 2 days -- unfrozen ones) to wash face, tell u hor.....its really good for skin esp healing matters.

p/s : my DS#2 is drinking 100ml per 1.5-2hrs. Standing at 60cm 6kg on 2 months mark

any of your dd/ds go "reverse" pattern in drinking milk ? My ds drinks ard 130ml during 3th-4th week old and it will last him 3 hrs. Now he is drinking 100ml (cant seem to squeeze in more) and it will last him only 1.5-2hrs. I am still wondering why is the pattern change?

Fion,

my dd can communicate with us clearly most of the time (this skill was drastically sharpen after we send her to playgroup beginning this year).

Is your boy in any activity group / childcare? Sometimes its the environment that trigger their interests to start yakking!

Anyway, I think your boy is doing okie as my friend's boy(31mths)appeared even slower in speech compared to your (based on description). Yes, some kids just start later but if in doubt, do send him for some assessment

Kelcqi,

I let my ds wear cloth diaper for daytime and diaper for nigght. He will wake up whenever cloth diaper wet/soiled ;)