(2008/05) May 2008

Dear frens,

If i store the bm in those bottles usually can keep for how long ?? Have been reading that the problem u mummies face coz bb reject frozen bm make me worry now !! Coz am returning to work end of the mth thinking of storing ebm in the freezer !

Am going to try to let bb feed fr bottle this few days to train her up , he he ! Once i went to jb for almost half day bb refuse to drink fr bottle when my hubby feeds her ! I give her the bottle she drink abt 50 ml only then cry so no choice latch on immediately continue to suck for 20 mins !

gina,
thx!! shall ask hubby to go see.hehehehe

twinky,
hw u force? i tried but he just refuse to open his mouth n keep turning his head frm side to side then like wanna cry then i dare nt try furthur liao...

muzicgal/dolly23
wat liquid do u use ah? u feeding ur boy BM or FM? i giving him BM so its like v diluted as compared to FM can stil give water?
dolly23: thanks! i will go check out NUK oral wipes =)

ant1712,
ya..sarong is gd. i can also feed him while i shop ard. hehhee. if use pram how to feed n walk at the same time? cant so need to find a place to feed or go nursing room...i am using the Moms In Mind pouch - its n bad. even my hubby also use it (at hm or outside)
hehhee. then when he use it to carry baby ppl will look at him. hahah!
wah! feed also need to walk ard damn shack one lo. sometimes i need to do things and my boy wans to be carried so i single-handed carry him i already feel v shack liao. how heavy is ur boy? hehehe. do u alt side to carry ur boy? scally one side of ur arm larger than the other. hehhee
hahaha. my boy see mood one le...sometimes he can stay in the moving pram n keep quiet sometimes cant...

choc,
u are my hero lo!!!! 125ml in 10mins!!! when can i ever achieve that? the max i pumped was 260ml in 30mins lo...and so far only once i achieved tt much aft 5hrs of nt pumping coz i overslpt =P
375ml in a single session!!!?? oh my oh my!!! envy envy envy!!!
hmm..oh u know stick out tongue means need cleaning ah?

cutie188,
if u store the bm in the fridge can store up to 48hrs or if u freeze it can store up to 3mths.

Re: FBM
yest i went to thawed a bag of FBM for my boy to try n see if he will reject. OH MY GOD!!! the smell of FBM is HORRIBLE ok...YUCKS! chilled bm pale in comparsion lo...
i nv give my boy 100% FBM but mixed with chilled one 40ml to 80ml and heng he didnt reject lo. so i been trying and giving him the mixture so far so gd. but then even when mixed with chilled bm, the smell of the fbm is still there lo...the taste also yucky...
i think i will test n give my boy 100% fbm n see if he will reject...i hope nt if nt my fbm will go to waste...

RE: FBM
I thaw my frozen BM in the chilled section. BM stored in the chilled section can last for 48 hrs. Therefore, I just need to finish the thawed BM within 48 hrs.

RE: Tongue Cleaning
I'm only using hanky with boiled water to clean my ger's tongue. I can only clean her tongue when she's crying. Even so, she bite onto my finger hard. If I clean at other times, she refused to open her mouth at all.

My ger's smiley face
1545742.jpg

felval,

my boy is only on partial EBM and mix with FM. Even for EBM, i still feed him with water after his feed to rinse and wash his mouth. Moreover as he is also taking FM, i am afraid that he may have constipation, so it is a practice that he will still drink some water after his feed

birdy,

no choice, i tell myself, as long as there is still milk, i will still pump until completely no more ss, but my ss is also low.

Hi felval,

I threw away the box liao.. but it's a green box, then clear liquid. It's meant for cleaning the tongue, cos those whitish thingy on baby's tongue, will spoil the appetite.

choc my back not painful but my shoulder can be a bit aching after carry her for long hour.

FBM
My girl finally drinking more FBM compare to last week, I slowly increase the amt and see how. For thaws milk like thaws meat can only keep for 24hrs after that need to be throw away.

feval,

yalor..when i overslpt..say 4 hours bo pump...then i can get 3 bottles of 125 lor... pain leh..when tt happen..and i remember it happen 3 nites in a row.. haha..4th nite i didnt realli slp.. coz scared of the pain

sometimes kana forced by circumstances..with a crying baby and i dun wan to latch coz middle of nite eyes closed closed..wait hands give way bb fell down then i die.. so pump fast fast... i using avent manual pump leh...

i dunno issit true..my auntie told me..if baby tongue keep sticking out..means got the built up..they uncomfortable..so either we leave it (they get too used to sticking out tongue later on) or clean it..
i tried cleaning..and bb didnt stick out tt frequently..

poko..
same same...everywhere pain lor..hahaaaa

I have order before from serene, very cheap a pack of huggies ultra normal is abt $14.95 onwards, jumbo usually $19.45 onwards !

Wat to do damm siong but huggies is really good in terms of quality & if ur bb has sensitive skin.

Fion,

I hate the DOM taste..Super Sweet..Even 1 sip wil make me vomit..I stil gt 3 bottles of DOM (2 new & 1 open used for cooking during my confinement..Think onli used 10%..) Nw taking the Eu Ren Sen ginger wine every nite.. Hopefully can 'pu yi pu' lo..

ant1712,

Ok! I wil let u noe after i check wif my bb PD..I haf re-schedule her 6-in-1 jab to next monnday..Shall keep u posted..

Cutie188,

WOW..u reali go & remeber what r the things in each shopping ctr nursing rm..fantastic memory..Ever since i pregnant & until nw, my memory is deterioting..I always forget this la forget tt..My hb scold me say i so young gt 'lao ren chi dai zheng'..Haha

Felval,

Usually i wil take the chance when she is yawning..Haha..If nt, i wil tickle her chin & faster put my finger in or play ard wif her gums & force me finger in lo..

yaoyaomum,

ur bb so many expression one..keke

Gina,

Ur ger so sweet..Her double eyelid so nice..Like my ger..Keke..

Poko / Gina

Urs bb so cute, and that's made me wanna to hv one too
but heeheehee... say say only la... 2 boys oredi give me a big headache. ;(

Buttercup she is 11wks old, She start to "talk" to herself over the mirror on the play gym and can keep herself entertain for quite awhile. There are some toys at the side so that she is able to explore using her hands too.

I try to give her flash cards yesterday she laugh so loud don't know what so funny.

Fion you can try who know next 1 will be a beautiful girl leh...

Gina your girl so sweet look into the camera and give you a sweet smile too.

Poko

Hahaha... thanks for ur encouragement but i dont think i can, hv to consider lots of factor....

Ur gal knows how to talk by herself, wow.. very clever leh.. then u can rest oredi, since she can keep herself entertain

Gina,
Your gal's eyes are lovely!

Choc,
Peifu peifu. You very hardworking pump every 2hours, so you get the reward of abundant supply!

Poko,
My boy also very entertained by his Winnie the Pooh musical mobile. He lurves to 'talk' to Tigger and Eeyore. That day his sis was unbuttoning his pyjamas for fun and he was laughing away.

hi ladies, long time nv come in here...coz too busy wif my boy. he is so impatient esp wen he wan his milk. he will cry and scream as if we ill treat him like tat if we are slow in gifing him his milk.

also, i hv been gng back to my mum hse recently from mon to thurs in the afternoon lor. so i can rest and relax and watch tv while the happy 1st time granny and auntie (my mom and sister) attend to my boy...heeheehee

dolly, u r nt alone. my ss is beri low also. even though i hv taken fenugreek, drink enfamama (told my fren tat it will help to boast ss), eat oats etc, it still seem nt much of help. but still i continue to take fenugreek and pump lor.

gina, u mean for frozen milk, before gifing it to bb, we hv to put it in the chilled section first before warming it? heehee, coz i hv no idea lor, although i hv keep some milk in the frozen section to store and to gif it to my bbsitter. only noe tat if i take out and put it my cooler bag to transport to my bbsitter, she can only store it in the chilled section and gif it to bb within 48 hrs also

Hi mummies.. my boy these few days nt drinkin much milk. like ytd, fed him only 90ml of ebm n he dun wan liao, all the way til 4 hrs later stil didnt cry for milk! i fed him another 90ml again n he like take so long to finish! duno wat hapen leh.. he has been urinatin regularly leh, poo once every 2 days. tinkin if i shd bring him to PD anot.. anyone gt same prob?

Felval- ok looks like I shd go get the sling liao. hehe. My boy last weighed was 6kg. darn tired even when carried for a while only! I used to carryin him w my left arm liao. hvnt master for rite arm yet! U can carry on either arms?

Choc- u can try lyin dwn on ur side n latch ur boy. I find this position is gd esp when sleepy. Haha…

Poko- my boy is 9 wks, tot of letting him try the play gym too but this lazy mummy here stil yet to open it up! Haha… wil c if my boy likes it =)

Dolly,
Thanks for the pix. I had 1 bouncer, looks similar to yours. It was given to us as a gift, but I find the bouncer arch too much, I would prefer a straighter surface, so as to protect bb’s back.

Tracy,
Morning schedules are quite challenging eh. What happen if bb needs feeding during that time? Do you feed him while on the go?

Are your babies still wearing mittens?

Gina and Poko,
Your gers are so sweet. I always like char-bo kia.

peace,
I will know beforehand whether he will need a feed on the go. So if I foresee he will need it, I will bring along a bottle of warmed up FBM to feed in the car.

My baby still wears mittens at night only.

Tracy,
I will be gg back to work 1st week aug. So over the next 2 weeks, I'll have to try out morning schedules like yours. If you need to feed bb in the car, means he'll not be in the bb car seat, ok bo?

In the day, my bb doesn't wear mittens, he's very rought, scratch his own face very hard. hb so worried bb will poke his own eyes.

ant

Since ur bb has been urinatin regularly & poo once every 2 days, dont seems to hv any problem. Unless he dun drink and no poo then u hv to be alert. Dun worry too much,

peace ,

I realise their nails grow very fast ...and need to trim it like every three days .Yesterday he scatched his face....but during cold weather or in shopping mall will still wear mittens .

I also put my son the swing while he sleep in the afternoon. I think he used to it ...in the swing for nap time and nite on our bed !!!

Ant ,

Oh ya you did asked abt at PD ... i brought him there once ...felt that they are very irresposible and the are very long . Anyway i visit Dr Leong @Children clinic last week at bishan st 11 next to POSB bank . I done my son 2 dose hep and his 2nd mth assement, she is very details.

Cutie ,

Ya like the nursing room at Parkway ... was there yesterday ..it is great

Hi everyone, I'm new to this thread.

My girl, Bethany, was born on 24 May.

When did you guys stop letting your babies wear mittens? I tried not to let her wear 2 days ago after trimming her nails for the first time and she kept scratching herself. So now she's back to wearing mittens again.

peace,
it ok lah. when he's hungry, gotta feed. hubby drive carefully lo. Takes a couple of days to go into the new routine so be prepared for messy schedule initially.

peace- my boy's stil wearin mittens thou his nails hv been cut. tat day, took out his mittens for a while n he started puttin his hand into his mouth n suck until so shiok!

fion- i tot so too. wil monitor few more days again. is normal for bbs to poo every 2 days? i tot bf bbs poo more freq.

jo- are her consultation charges ex?

felval- i bot the sling liao! keke.. but hor i got probs on hw to use leh. the instructions nt v detailed kind.

Felval,

Thks for the info, am so lazy lor haven't start pumping for storing yet , plan to start latest these few days if not sure cannot make it mah starting work end of the mth liao.

Fion / peace,

char bo kia hor can be high maintenance coz they got lots of nice dresses , accessories, knick knacks to buy hor compare to tar po kia ! Can easily make u go bankrupt ha ha ( i very siao buy enough to dress my char bo kia until 1 yr liao almost 1k plus on clothes only hubby scold like crazy coz bb just 2mths & 5 days nia )

Am bringing my ger to my regular pd Dr Saw at hougang ave 8 for 5 in 1 jab even though i stay at aljunied. The price he quote for the jab $90 is cheap compare to poly price $87+ somemore jab by nurses nia !

Choc,

I fully agree with u, got ppl hor dunno if door / curtain is close means got ppl using the placelah still they knock / yank open door / curtain one ! Terrible rite feel like hor telling them off !

Twinky,

I also same wif u also got short memory nowadays, damm chiat lah sometimes hor kept forgetting things very mah fan . I remember the stuff they provide for those nursing / babycare rooms so that if need to run errand or go gai gai wif the bb hor no need to bring so many things like flask to warm ebm especially if hubby go out alone wif bb.

Jo,

I like best those nursing room that are single & lockable they offer more privacy ! Also no need to stress / disturb by noises / worry ppl open the door to come in when we are feeding our bao bei inside more time to feed them peacefully.

peace,
i tried to take off the mittens but my gal started grabbing her hair and pulling, then cry cos painful, haiyah, no choice still have to wear mittens.

felval,
I got the MIM sling also. Yesterday brought my gal out to town in pram, also brought sling as standby. Sure enough halfway through she refused to sit in the pram any longer. Took out the sling and realised I couldn't figure out how to use it, (didn't practice first at home) ended up carrying her around for about 2 hours until arm want to break! Now must go and 'study' the dvd.

Sugar,
yeah, out pets so poor thing right?? sigh, i feel so bad that i can't pay as much attention to my cat as I used to.

Gina/Poko,
Your darlings are sooooo cute!

Ant1712,
I read that breastfed babies initially poo very frequently, can even be after every feed. But after one month or so, the poo may start to get less frequent as their digestion gets better. As most of the breast milk is absorbed, there is nothing much to pass out, so they can poo once every few days or some babies poo even once a week. My gal poos once every 3-4 days, so don't worry as long as she is wetting enough diapers

cutie,
I also cannot control myself, keep buying and buying all those cute dresses and rompers for my gal. How to resist?? But I haven't buy until 1k plus lah.... hahahaaha

Re: nursing rooms
United square is nice, but I find the air-con too cold. Taka is good too, the one at level 3 kid's dept, but only one nursing room with curtain.many changing stations and 1 sofa with quite a lot of chairs though, very empty when I went mabbe cos it was weekday morning. BHG bugis big and pretty well equipped but very crowded and got poo smell.

Re: morning schedule when returning to work
Gonna start work in 3 weeks time. I'm gonna be driving alone with baby to my MIL place, deposit baby there, then drive to work. Very afraid baby will fuss or need to feed during the journey as her feeding times now still very irregular. Dunno what to do esp since the journey will be quite long with the morning jams. Anyone facing the same problem or have any ideas/tips to share?

ant ,

Her consultation fee at $45 .

cutie ,
Ya agreed . but it can quite stress if there are only one cos that time was at Taka and this lady kept on peeping at me whether i`m done with my feeding . It is really irritating and i got to kept telling my son to hurry up .

Paragon nuring room also cannot locked and you can see mother q-ing up for the room . Sigh...some malls just not baby friendly at all .

Diamondust your girl has such a big smile... So sweet 8)

Mitten
I remove Rayen's mitten when she is 6wks old, she not wearing it even at nite, for Justen her brother I let him wear during nite time and while asleep as he like to scratch himself while sleeping.

diamondust,

I kept telling my self must excise control end up more worse after stopping for a while end up buying even more ! U shld see my hubby face hor when my bb clothes towering like a mountain in my wardrobe ! Ur ger smile so cheerful having a great time i'm sure ! I also go a MIM sling but hor park in the wardrobe coz dunno how to use scare bb fall off due to mummy can't figure how sling that thing properly !

Jo,

Usually i try to time my trip so that can rush back for bb feeds at home otherwise hor really can killjoy one mah trying to locate nursing room or trying to pacify our hungry bb. If those place comes with good nursing rooms i will spend more time there as i can rely on those place to feed my bb !

Mitten & booties (to keep those toes warm as i bathe bb 2 a day) wise am still letting my bb to use it at least until she is 4 mths old ! She doesn't take pacifier & she like to suck her thumb & as she is quick to temper kind she always scratch her face lor !

Tracy,
Before my boy born was born i plan to have 2 kids but now looking at my boy behave I am very scared liao. My boy very active when he is awake lying on rocker/bed, his hand & leg like being "swtich on", keep moving, kicking & stretch his body until he is fall sleep after fed. Is this normal for newborn baby behaviour?

Twinky,
My boy hor 1 minute smile like angel next minute scream like monster. I got his monster look capture but didn't upload here. Hehe, i think his nanny going to scared away.

Diana,
My boy also like yours, very impatient for feeding. The longer he wait he scream like ppl pinch at him. Also he got very bad temper if i let him wait & cry he'll then refuse to drink milk until i pacify him. Jialat... my mum also scared of him ask me get someone else to babysit him. Haiz...

Yaoyaomum,
Haha, ya my boy also kick and wave his limbs nonstop one. Like what all PDs will tell us...its normal.
After my first baby, I find my this 2nd one easier to handle liao. You might feel the same way to with your #2!

Diamondust
Ur gal smile so lovely and happy

cutie
wow... u can buy till $1k!!! but is true la, gal can buy lots of nice nice things not like boy very limited. Before ur gal reach 1yo her wardrobe full of dress and toys hahaha.. ;p

Yaoyaomum
Not to worry, u will eventually forget those those days u hv gone thru when u wanted to hv another bb. Boy is abit diff to take care, as my 2boys also the same when they r bb. Cried, impatient for feeding, bb dun want to sleep la... initial stage is very tough, once over the stage it wii be easy down the road, dun worry too much. ;p

Yaoyaomum
When your boy get older and when he is playing alone you will want to have another one, like what happened to me, we want to give Justen accompany so we have Rayen. Yesterday I feel that 2 is just right, as Justen cry due to his painful throat then meimei wake up cry even louder, so both me and my hb each handle one. If got 3 don't know how to cope.

Cutie: Wah! You can spend $1K on your gal's clothes? I don't even spend so much on my own clothes. You buy branded clothes is it? Hee... I always buy cheap stuff for my girl. Her clothes rarely exceed $8.

Btw, I also bring my girl to see Dr Saw. His consultation is cheap as compared to other PDs.

Re: Mittens:
I intend to remove mittens latest by 2 months cos bb needs to explore the world with their hands - feel different textures, learn to grab things, eye-hand coordination, etc.

Tracy,
ur boy so good, think he loves u and wants mummy to rest more and easy to take care of him. My boys like to bully me leh... #1 depends on me alots and #2 so attached to me like super glue... I hardly rest unless their daddy bring them out if not can work round the clock. So chiam, compared huh.. working is better than full-time homemaker cos 24/7 heeheee...

Ant
BB no need to be poo everyday, as long as they got poo once every 2days or 3 days is consider normal. This was told by my PD but if they never poo for a wk u hv to take them to c doctor so hv to monitor lor..

Mittens and bb nails
Ya, bb nails grow faster than I could find time to cut them. Sometimes, he scratch until the face so red, my hb heart ache, so we put bb’s hands back to the mittens. When we play with him, we will take out the mittens.

Ant1712,
Whether with or without mittens, my bb will put his hand in the mouth. With mittens, he’ll like chewing the mittens, without mittens, he’ll put his thumb and fore finger in the mouth, they seems to taste very sweet. J

Tracy,
Ya lor, need to start the dry-runs soon. We were thinking if cannot cope with the morning, then gotta leave bb at my mum’s place for the next few months until he’s less cranky, we will bring him home daily.

Cutie,
Huh, you bought some much clothing for your ger ah? 1 year only got 365 days, not everyday go kai-kai one, when will you get to let her wear all the nice clothes?
Ta po kia also high maintenance, need to maintain him during his 2 years NS leh. J

Diamondust,
Your ger so happy! J

Yaoyaomum,
My boy also can smile at you now, then next second cry, and he still hasn’t stop surprising me with such tempermental behavior. I do take picture of bb’s smiles as well as his cranky looks, life is not a bed of roses. Hah.

Impatient bb crying while waiting to be fed
Mine too, initially it will be a soft cry, if we delay to give him milk, he will cry like some one caned him, some times he cry until choke by saliva, then started coughing. So these days when he started his soft cry near feeding time, I will tell him to wait, I will go and prepare milk now. He’ll babble back as if he understood. Very cute leh. I will make sure I prepare quickly and come back before his face crumbled up.

wow it seem tat few of us hv impatient bb heehee, mayb like wat we used to say a hungry man is an angry man, ours is a hungry bb is an angry bb ba.

Hi everyone, went for my pap smear and brought my baby for his immunisation both in KKH yesterday. We were there for like almost 5 hours. Forgot to use the Valet parking, ended up paying alot for parking. Yesterday my baby poor thing, took pneumoccocal jab + 6-in-1 jab + rotarix oral vaccine all in a day. No wonder he super no mood after that. The nurses gave him jab on both thighs at 1 go. See already heartpain but no choice. As for my pap smear, actually not painful but ticklish. Haha..

twinky, I not sure about the follow up checkup in 6 mths time leh cos my gynae said come back 1 year later for pap smear, that's all.

felval, I agree pap smear not pain la. Somemore John Tee experienced, but checking cervix dilation damn painful lo. So when's yours? As for the baby's immunisation in KKH, it's about $460 for the 6-in-1 package. We took extra for pneumoccocal and rotavirus.
I agree looking after baby the rewards you is definitely different cos just his smile will melt away your frustrations and tiredness but I really doubt I can do it cos I'm not prepared to give up my job as yet. Haha..
Ya. My hubby really nice, he wakes up at 5am or 6am to feed my boy everyday(My boy will sleep at 12am and wakes up at 5am-6am), then he will sleep for a while and wake up at 7.45am and prepare for work. He will wake me up sometimes for my pumping at 7am. But sometimes just feel so tired lo. Sigh.. Don't know must sleep how many days to recover the sleep that I lost since my boy's birth. haha..
ya, my hubby earning more than 8k liao. I'm only earning half of what he's earning. He told me keeping at this rate, I can stop working after 5 years with 4 kids, with savings and then can take care of the kids liao. I'm like stunned. I cannot imagine myself with 4 kids. Haha.. I'll probaby go crazy. I ROM-ed in Mar last year when I'm still studying my final year but actually got my flat in Nov 2006, that's why have to ROM. Then JUly my wedding + my commencement + my job then sep missed menses and found out pregnant! I think everything in 2007 just happened very fast for me lo.
Ya man.. I'm going to back to work end of the month. Hopefully won't be so busy for me liao. Hehe.. Time just slipped away so fast.. Very soon, think our kids will be 1 year old liao.
I also still got 7kg to lose lo. Sigh.. Don't know how long it will take but even if lose the weight, think tummy will still be there man. Haiz..
Went KKH yesterday and my boy is 58cm and 5.72kg at 9+weeks. Your boy is big lo. Hehe.. I also collected my maobi yesterday then realised my maobi is the same as the one Zoe Tay made. Haha.. cos the hu lu on top one. Very nice. I actually forgot which one I chose. LOL.. Then also made the hands and foot imprints need to pass them the photos next month.

Re: Burping
I also used the circular motion method during my confinement month then after that 2nd month, use the sideways method cos my boy don't like us to rotate him. Nowadays, he burped quite easily liao so not so bad. Hehe..

gina, your girl is looking more and more like you la. Haha..

Re: Mittens
My boy still wearing mittens leh. My mum said just wear until his hands big then don't need to wear else have to everytime cut nails if not sure scratch himself..

Cheri
Ur hb so good helps u to take care bb and c how ur hb dotes u so much. Wow... since ur hb earned more than $8k u can no need to work oredi liao.. U can bond with ur bb and become "tai tai" liao.. ;p Dun worry, since ur hb said he wish to hv 4 kids down the road, he sure will get a helper to help u out. U can consider his proposal hahahha..

Re: Pap Smear
I also told by my gynae, only come back for once a yr check-up but till now i still afraid of going cos of the pain..