(2008/05) May 2008

Buttercup,
Ur boy juz had jab? I'm not too sure but I notice tt my gal tend to fuss more during feeds esp after jab. Ths following 2 wk is usually the hardest. Same thing, we oso distract her with music.

Dolly,
Yaloh, now they become experts in guiding us liao.

Haha, u better be careful with wat u wish for cos u might just get it. By then no turning back liao. How heavy is Rayden now? Now Erica 6.8kg I almost wanna die liao for carrying her for whole day, Even hurt my hand during e process. I dare not imagine e heavier she gets.

Cheri,
No pro. My mat also alot of crease. And I fold it every nite somemore so till now i dunno how long the cease will settle itself. Hehe. I think u r not supposed to leave it to sunlight exposure cos the colours might fade this way.

Alice,
Haha, initially we wanted to go Bugis, but carpark full so we detour and wanna go Raffles city, also carpark full, so ended up at Suntec. Hehe... The other guy is ur BIL issit? Cos he look alike to ur hubby.

Hmm, Rachel become more tone liao? Hehe... That's gd. U still want ice cube trays issit? I saw it at BHG Bugis today selling at 6.10. I think Isetan is selling at 6.60 if I remember correctly. Those Ice cube trays comes with cover. So can stack on top of each other.

U let me know if u wanna get it or not loh? I m also thinking if I should get the covered ice cube tray or another tray of baby cubes. I think very long liao still cannot decide. Maybe with a friend ard, I'll be less frickle minded. Haha...

Alice ,

I let him try the Heinz apple juice last evening ...He don`t like the taste and give me the puke sound ...so I stop and let him have water ....haha he is happy

Me and hubby tried ...the taste is horrible and no taste at all leh . No wonder Jorel drink until so XIN-KU . I think it not suppose to be sweet just the flavour in the water nia .

But try to buy the Gerber brand 1 next weekend haahah

Good morning mummies .... what a wet Monday morning ! Feeling sleepy ... *Yawn*

Tinkerbelle,
Last month never weigh Rayden when he went for his urine test, so not sure of his weight this month, can only know it when he is gg back to Dr Ong for his 2nd Hep B Jab. i hope that he will gain alot of weight.

Alice,
oh yes, same here, i was also trying the apple puree yest evening, luckily, it turned out well, and rayden loves it.

Mornin mummies. This wk only wrk 2 days cos goin gentin on wed mornin. Hee.. cant wait to escape the hot weather here!

Felval- hehe…can countdwn to feedin damien solids this fri =D their 1st expression in tastin the food v funny one.
Tink I wil be stunned!!! We takin precaution nw so shdnt be so lucky unless gt holes… hahaha!

Dolly- hw to pass the fm to u ah?
Hw u make the apple puree? Steam the apple n blend it?

Angela- oh no! hw r u feelin? Thn u goten isolate urself frm megan le…

Lynn- I’m usin medela pump. I experienced the same as u too! Milk backflowed and I chg the parts, thn ok liao. thn aft tat, another problem, no suction at all! Tot sth wrong w the motor n borrowd frm my fren but stil the same prob! In the end, realised I didn’t fit the motor correctly into the pump. Did u try changin the parts? Or if stil under warranty, send for repair.

Alice- I let aldan try the heinz apple juice too. He dun like leh. I tasted it n realised abit sour. In the end, goten throw away cos cannot keep for too long.
Haha! I also tot of buyin the conventional ice cube holder to put aldan’s food leh. Lolz…

lynn, is ur pump still under warranty? if so can go back to Medela sole distributor for servcing de. i juz went down on sat coz i find the suction nt strong as last time. but wen they test, they say the suction is ok but they still service for me lor. waiting time is only abt half an hour nia.

morning ladies!!

Dolly, you made apple puree using what type of apple ar? I tried making for my boy before, I boiled it then blend it, but he doesn't like.

Ant,
no worries, we catch up again when you back from genting, then will pick up the FM from you.
For apple puree, i steam them for 15 - 20 mins, then let it cool down, add a tablespoon of boiled water and blend. I used boiled water to mix with the brown rice, and then mix in the apple puree .... i tried it, and taste yummy !

Cheri,
i bought those big China apples to make the puree, i never tried boiling, instead, i steam it. But dun think there is any differences.

buttercup
yes. thinking of putting my baby at LSH ocbc.. but currently it's full and have put him on the waiting list liao... cos my sister and niece coming back to s'pore for long term... then my mom cannot stay at my house to look after baby darren as she also needs to look after my niece. and i also dun want to put him at her house which is very far from my home. so now headache lor.. and must find an alternative soon.

so hubby and me checking out the infant care. so wat do you think of the place? so far i am ok.. just tat teh whole place is fully airconed.. scare baby too used to stay in airconed place and not as healthy...

btw... so u working in ocbc? cos staff got priority rite.

hi ladies, west side raining cats n dogs when i came in this morning...this week is going to be a very busy week for me coz 2 of my colleagues are away and I have to take over their wkload as well...somemore my hubby will nt be coming back at nite...its going to be a tough week for me liao...

jo,
hehehee. read jorel's blog. he looks so small in the high chair. hahaha. so has jorel been enjoying himself in it?

alice,
yummy~ the fish n prawns sound gd..u are making me hungry now. hahaha =P are the seafood cheap given their size? eeeks. if me, i also dun dare to buy those live chicken...u know, till now, i dun dare to eat tian ji coz the thot of them in the fish tank n hw they were killed b4 being cooked completely turns me off! YUCKS! wah! u are fast in progress with Rachel's semi-solids! i havent even started damien on rice cereal yet..waiting for this Fri when he turns 6mth exactly =P i shall give him his long-awaited semi-solids. hahaha. last sat tried giving him a few spoons of rice water..he dun really know he to swallow frm the spoon le. hopefully this fri will be a gd exp for him =) U can try CK Tangs and Metro. Last weekend they had 20% sales, not sure if its still on now.

dolly,
wah! TOyRus having sales?! great! have u got any toys frm there? i heard frm Kelly that the musical table is going for 69.90.

Angela,
so sorry to hear tt u are dwn with Chicken Pox. So now u are separated from Megan? Better keep a dist away frm ur darling to prevent it frm spreading to her. Rem like wat the other said, no scratching ok, must ren~~~ U take care n hope u will recover fast.

lynn11,
I used to use Medala Swing but I have stopped using it since the 1st mth. If you are interested, I can sell u mine? Let me know =)

cheri,
sorry to hear abt the issues u are facing...every family has its own set of probs...hw old are ur bro n sis? I think I will try the purees with BM added la, just so to know hw it taste like to Damien =P I even tried the fbm when i feed damien with it...wasnt a very nice taste tho. hahaha. oh, Matthias dun like apple puree...have u tried other purees? Did u steam the apple b4 giving it to him? Apple puree is the next on the list aft I intro rice cereal to damien...hopefully he will like it...U dun give up, mayb it is new food to Matthias so he didnt take well to it. mayb u try a few more times he will like it =) yup, i really have to keep my eyes wide open as long as he is awake...he is so active n fast nowadays. this morning, i had to bathe n entertain him at the same time just so tt he wldnt anyhw flip n crawl on the bed...-_-''' yest brought him to the pool, we didnt intend to dip him fully in the water la, just intro him to the pool n dip his little feet into it. We expected him to get v excited n kick non-stop. end up he was more distracted by the surrounding - the water slide, kids running n playing ard than his little feet in the pool. hehehe. anyway, once he officially turn 6mths we will bring him for a little swim - on his float =) hmm..once we bring damien to the pool, hubby n i can take turns to swim liao. hehehe. work sucks. ya, most likely i will do tt aft bonus =)

kelcqi,
hahaha. ya, gd imagination. imagine he sa jiao "mummmmmyyyyy, plssssssssss!! I wan bao bao~~" hahaha. sure gt chance la, when u bring erica to the pool with ur hubby then u can ask him to look aft her then u go for a leisure swim. ya, when i got plenty of time we can meet up. how abt coming to Safra Yishun? then aft tt can drop by my place *5mins walk away* rest n relax =P Chicken Pox vacination can only take when they turn 1yrs old rite?

dolly,
^5 hehehe. both of us always wan our boys to gain weight. I also hope damien will gain n nt lose any weight now coz once he is more mobile he will lose weight.

cheri,
the creases on my mat took abt 1week to disappear. i lay it flat on the flr all day long. better nt place it too near the windows in case it rain n coz of the sunlight.

ant,
yes, thanks! hehehe. i am counting dwn liao lo. i even told my hubby to come hm once he is done with his wk...if he is too late i dun wan to wait for him liao =P hopefully he dun make me wait till my neck grow longggg =P ya, i agree their expression very funi. hehee. sat gave damien some rice water n his expression so funi, i cant help laffing out.then when he saw me laffing he also laff. hahaha. so cute. i love my Damien!! =P hahahaha. scally ur hubby wanna strike jackpot go poke holes =P *sorry ah, just a joke, hope u dun mind*

Dolly, I also use that kind of apple leh, how come my boy doesn't like. Nvm.. I'll try again.

felval, my bro is 2 years old older and sister is 4 year younger. Sometimes just cannot stand my bro la. Sian. That's why I always wanted a girl as a older one, cos my bro sucks lo. Haha.. Ya I tasted the rice cereal, just taste plain. Then when he doesn't want the apple puree, I tasted it, it was sour. Sigh.. I didn't try others cos I always feel apple is the best food. Hehe.. Think I'll try again tomorrow cos I'll be on leave!! Hehe.. Ya.. Have to keep an eye since babies are so unpredictable sometimes. Hehe.. Wow.. Which pool u brought your boy too? The water not cold meh? My boy also very easily distracted by surrounding things. Esp sounds or colours. Haha.. My mat is near the window cos the little corner is near the window leh. Haha.. if put in the centre like abit off. Haha.. Maybe have to pull the blinds down liao.

cheri,
hmmm...i also wanted a gal as an elder one coz i feel tt gal tend to help ard the hse more when they grow up =) However, I have seen very gd elder bro *example, my hubby*. till nw whenever his sis ask to borrow $$ frm him he will and she nv return a single cent -_-''' and my hubby will nt pester her to return also..haiz. i think God is fair, he gives u some, he takes away some...

Ya, think all rice cereals are plain unless u add purees or fruits into it - same goes to the adult cereals. hmm..mayb when u buy apples, opt for the bright red one? My mum was telling me those, cherry apples are nice n sweet altho abit small.

Haha. On leave to fetch ur hubby ya? i bet u miss him alot. I always does whenever my hubby is away...haiz..next yr he will be away on my bday...sad =(

Brought my boy to the Safra Yishun swimming pool *nearest to my hse liao* brought him there ard 6pm ah. the water isnt v cold la. somemore we just let him dip his little feet in nt the entire body so its ok.

If at my own place, i place the mat in his own room lo. My hall too small to place the mat coz I have a divider which also act as my tv console. So whoever is at the door will nt be able to see wats behinds the divider - i wanted this for privacy lo. At my mum's place, the mat is in the living room. Have to move the coffee table aside la.

Cheri,
I bought it last year dec, should be still under warranty, ya hoh, should send for repair first, before getting new one.

Jo,
OK, thanks. Yes, the heinz apple juice. Yup.. It is very diluted and in fact no taste lo, i also find it taste like plain water (but a bit sourish taste). First time i still mixed with water then subsequently i just feed direct. Once opened must consume within 2 days ler, usually he couldnt finish, i am the one who finsih it.. hahaha.. I just bought an Earth’s Best apple juice, haven try yet, if it is nice I let u know.

Ant,
U also experienced same thing.. so I m not the only one.. I never change the part, it is still under warranty but last time I forgot to mail out the warranty card, dunno can still send for repair ler..

Diana,
Seems like this Medela pump giving a lot of problem ler, or we pump too exclusively?? It supposed to be work that way right? Thanks for ur info, I will try sending for repair since the waiting is not too long.

Dolly and all puree consultants,
Is Rayden teething? IF u blend will it be very smooth and fine? i steam and mashed it and strained it and Dylan still find it hard to swallow, so i feed 1 spoon of apple puree follow by 1 spoon of water/ juice. Is this the correct way?

Felval ,

haha ..ya lah my boy is small in size compare to your Damien even thought they are born the same weight . Me going to bring him to Yishun Safra for swimming after 6mths . Taking his last dose of Rotavirus and hep B end of the month .

Lynn ,

I`m like you mashed it without blending it ...lazy to use the blender. Dolly tole me blending it ...the texture are diff and very smooth . Where did you buy that Earth`s best apple juice ??? In NTUC i only seen Heinz and Gerber!!

My avent pump also giving me problem ... will try to see i can use via the battery pack .
Was telling hubby going to stop BF ...that why it broke down . hahah

i think medala pump always got this problem ...i have one pre-loved 1 from my frez ...also have the same problem haven change the spares !!

yanling,
ya, i work in ocbc, you too? which department?
have you visited LSH previously?
me thinking of sneaking a visit now to go see my baby!

jo,
when i first place damien in the high chair he also look very small in it. hehehe. only recently we realised he has grown alot...we kind of miss the days when he is just an infant...so small n fragile..ya lo, born exactly the same weight lo..even to the 3rd decimal point also so accurate, hehehe.

Re: Medala Pump
I stopped using it coz I find the suction nt strong enuff lo. Everytime i pump with it can only achieve 50-80ml..however when I pump with my hands I can achieve alot more tts why stop using it liao. Now the pump collecting pump in the cupboard. heehee. Aft this, dun dare to buy even manual pump liao. if nt waste another sum of $$ when my hands can do the job even better.

lynn,
no leh, rayden is not teething. so far, i didnt use the smashed or pressing method, all the while have been using blender to blend, as i am having the same thought as Angela, the texture is different when you blend, more smooth. Hmm, why do you need to feed 1 spoon of puree and 1 spoon of water ? i didnt do that, but i do add 1 tablespoon of water while blend, so that it will not be so dry. Is this the way you do also ?

felval,
oh yes .. i cun wait for the next checkup and weigh rayden. hope that with all the brown rice cereal and puree, he will gain more weight

dolly,
hehehe, I am sure Rayden will gain weight since he is now on semi-solids.

I can only wait till 22nd Nov when I bring him for his 1st pneumoccal then can weight him. by then he only start rice cereal for a week, hopefully he will be a gd boy n cont to gain enuff weight =P

dolly,
as long as Rayden is in the normal range, there is no need to worry.

hee, my worry is --> My baby still can't flip yet..despite boot camp last saturday he still dun want to flip!

Yanling,
the infantroom in LSH can be quite cold...so my baby is in long sleeves and long pants plus socks...he also has his own blanket with him.
you are right about the waiting list thou, it is very long. last heard from my colleague who wanted to put her baby gal there and went to find out in Oct that the next vacancy is in May 09! she is also a staff....so in the end, she didn't register.

Dolly,
i will like to have one tray of the babycubes...how should i transfer the cash the you?

Jo,
Cold storage have earth's best, but sometimes dun have apple only pear juice.

Dolly,
I tried blend but cannot le, is it because my quantity is too little? i add water also cant be blended, blend for few second then all stick at the bowl and the knife just spinning by itself where the apple stick to the side of the bowl lo.. that's y i mashed. Btw, u blend the whole apple or half? I feed water after each spoon feed cos he couldnt swallow and got choke, that's y i did that. But carrot + potato ok leh.. somethin must be wrong somewhere.

Today, Dylan is officially 6 month old.. so happy for him... Gonna bring him for his jab later.

Felval,
I will PM u on ur pump later.

Buttercup,
Dun worry, once your boy learns the trick of flipping, he will be flipping like nobody business !
i will PM you on the details for the cubes.

Lynn,
yeah, could it be the amount is too little ? i blend 3 apples at one time, as i stored them in cube. Or how long did you steam the apple, i steam them around 15 - 20 mins, till i feel that they are soft. You try again, if not, i will go home and experience and let you know.

Buttercup ,

Dun worry lah ...my son also know how to flip last weekend ...now he flip like nobody business!!Boys tend to be slower and more lazy .

hi mummies, I'm from March 2009 MTB thread. Dropping by to share with you that Tollyjoy will be having a warehouse sale next week 21 - 23 Nov. Held at 29 Changi South St 1. 11 - 7pm.

who is interested in buying walker? I suggest u go either bukit panjang plaza or amk hub NTUC to buy.

1868369.jpg

Lucky Baby Little Prince or Little Princess 2in1 walker turn rocker. They are selling at $60.10 only

buttercup;
i jsut called LSH, the next available slot is aug 09 lor. sian.. i think i have to give up on sending my boi there liao.

I am in Group finance.. u leh? wah so coincidental.

my boi also cannot flip lah... at most flip 90 degress only very lazy... put him on the bed just lie there and maybe move hands and legs a bit... no intention of flipping also..... so worried tat his development is slower than the rest. hahahaha

cheri,
You might want to try french royal gala apples. At first I tried Fuji apples but my gal didn't like them. Then i bought the royal gala and she ate about 2 tsp on the first try. Second try she was very happy and ate about 20-30ml from the baby cube. Mabbe Matthias still getting used to the taste, it might take a few tries, jia you! Oh you might also want to try steaming instead of boiling cos if you boil, all the juices go into the water then the remaining apple is less sweet.

lynn11,
oh no, you mean the heinz juice not nice ah, my hubby go and buy so many bottles. sigh.
My first try of making apple puree also unsuccessful, used one apple and only got a bit of juice and some apple chunks stuck to the side. 2nd time i steam the apples longer until really very soft, and blend 2 apples at one go, then got a very nice smooth puree.

Hihi ladies,

Felval,
Yaloh, e scene so cute. The scene I imagine is Damien at his terrible 2. Where he'll sit on e floor until he gets his way. AIyoh, I so bad. Imagine Damien so notti. Nvm. We must work hard and not spoil our Erica n Damien rotten.

The PD only told me to consider Chicken POx Vac, he nv said when. Blur me also forget to ask. Keke...

Dolly,
When is his 2nd Hep B jab? I think if take at Polyclinic dun need to go Hep B at 6 mths cos if I remember correctly, I think e next appt is only during her 9 mths.

Ask u ah, any idea on which months interval we need to visit PD for developmental assessment?

Ladies, Experts in purees,
Ask u all ah, if we make apple puree and when we steam them, do we need to peel the skin? I forgot I read somewhere they said dun peel e skin when we steam dunno to retain some vitamins issit? I forgot where I seem it, juz suddenly remember abt it when I see u all toking abt the apple puree.

Tinkerbelle,
hmmm .... as per Dr Ong, the 2nd Hep B jab is to be taken anytime after 6 months. So that why i chose 7mth for Rayden to take. And by right after this jab, the next jab will only be on the 14th month. As Rayden has got urine infection record, i will still need to bring him back for review every 3 months, so i am not sure of the normal interval.

Re : Apple Puree
Yes, i did read from the Baby First Food that can steam with the skin, and after that, den you can cut out the flesh and blend. But for me, i still prefer to steam without the skin, as I find that end of the day, the vitamin will still be gone, as the skin will be removed.

Hey Angela - I also havent kena Chicken pox.. only got a few spots on my face when i was 16 years old. Looks like I must be careful or may as well go for the vaccination? Hope you dun scratch yourself... I feel your situation man. Cos I got skin infection on my legs and arms when I was pregnant and I kept scratching till the scar is there..

Lynn11 - I had a similar problem when I used medela mini plus. When i switched to PIS, I dun have this prob.. Actually you may want to rent PIS online if you are not going to bf for long..

Hello mummies out there, any mummies know when is the next session talk on introduction to semi-solid food at TMC or anywhere else? There is a talk on solid food on 15Nov, I suppose the principle is the same but would prefer to go for semi-solid food as I am having problem feeding bb Sylvia..

She used to weigh 7.68kg at 3.5mths, but only 8.2kg at 5mth 1week.that is gain 0.52kg in 2months. In the past she can drink 6oz of milk every 4hr. Now only 3oz every 3 hours. I just started work and she has been sleeping alot during the day and so, wakes up every 3-4hrs for night feeds. Its killing my sleep cos I slept late after doing housework and my homework after I settled her.. very sianz.. I see the babies drink 720ml which is so good! My bb only drinks 540ml.. compared to 800ml previously.

i need advice.. I bought rice cereal and though the instruction says to pour cooled boiled water or milk, should I just steam it like steaming rice? I bought the pigeon brand for cooking porridge for babies. My grandma helped to tc of Sylvia and managed to feed her on Sat.. That night, her poo was damn smelly that I almost vomited.

Really appreciate any advice given.. Gam sia in advance.

Dolly,
Now i know where is the problem... I only blend half of the apple, nowonder cannot be blended cos too little. I was thinking not to freeze the baby food, wanted to make it fresh everyday. But look like the case i need to blend more at one go in order to get smooth and tasty apple puree. Yup, i steam for about 15-20min as well. It is soft just too little to be blended. Thanks thanks. i will try again.

Diamondust,
It has no taste lo. Just like drinking plain water with a bit of appple flavour. Can let ur bb try, if she doesnt like it just add into her puree, i did tat last time and the remaining i finished by myself. I am also trying out a few brand now, see which one taste better. My PD also suggest to give prune juice but so far havent try. It helps clear bowel for bb who has constipation.

Babylynn,
Do not steam the rice cereal, just add cooled boiled water/BM/FM and create a smooth consistency and serve.

kelcqi,
haha... so fated lah to bump into u! Oh ya, forgot to intro... he is my hb youngest bro, very shy too hehe.
Hmm... ok i will pop by BHG to take a look at the icecube tray. I intend to put the icecube tray filled with puree into Z-lock bag, then when harden will transfer into another bag to label them. So is ok if the tray dun comes with cover itself. Like those conventional one will do bah. haha u r like me sometime also think for a long time b4 buying. Then hb will said "Why woman must stare at one product for so long b4 deciding to buy lei" hehe... they won't understand la is a woman's thing! :p
btw, I didn't remove skin when steaming the apple... I will remove them oni b4 blending.

Jo,
Ya... me taste it too also think is sour, dunno why Rachel juz keep drinking it haha... or maybe bcos I dilute it with water so not so sour bah. Anyway, this girl likes new taste :>
I noticed Gerber apple juice is diff in colour compared to Heinz... why huh?? so funny... haven't try yet. Let me know if u trying ok

Ant,
think is the Vitamin C that is added to it that's why so sour, hehe! I will go take a look at the one Kelcqi mentioned in BHG then let u know whether the tray is gd or not.
U have a nice trip with yr family

felval,
take it easy bah... juz remember no matter how busy u r at work, there is always someone waiting for u at home with a cute little smile! Ya, life without hb sucks! sometime even though they dun do much but juz need them to be there loh hehe. One week will passed by really fast la, no worries! Update us on damien's progress on his first meal k...

cheri,
ya... felval is rite. Choose those red apples, they r normally sweeter even those small in sizes! They really taste gd when mixed with cereal loh :>

lynn11,
If the apple puree is smooth texture then shd be easy for them to swallow leh. I also give Rachel water after 3 to 5 spoonful. Maybe for the first time u give a bit of water to help dylan learn how to swallow bah, but try to thicker the texture slowly when he learns how to swallow better. At first, rachel also dunno how to then slowly now she already learn how to move her jaws a bit (like chewing) before swallowing. Still remember once I made the puree too watery... and she fuzz cos nothing for her to chew haha!
This is a totally new experience for them so hv to be patient loh, start with one or two teaspoon first... then slowly they will take more! They still have to take milk after each feed anyway...
cannot totally substitute cos' milk is the main course for them :>
Oh ya... try to blend everything now, cos' blending won't go wrong... produce very smooth and running texture for beginners. So far, oni Peas I didn't blend loh, cos' once I steamed it... it became really soft. After u used a spoon to mash them... the creamy green peas will burst out from the skin then juz discard it loh. Press the peas over the sieve. it will help separate the peas and the skin ;)

Dolly,
Rayden will definitely put on after cereal ;) Me also very excited to find out Rachel's weight since her last jabs. Bringing her soon... on wed :]

muzigal,
u MIA huh? oni saw u now since I'm back last week ;) Oh, I juz bought a Walker from KP... ard $76/- Seriously, I can't see the diff among all the walkers lei... except I have to choose 8 wheels one, more stable. Other then that, I jus go for comfy and colour loh, hehe~
U bought already?

Babylynn,
think rice cereal no need to cook lei. Juz add water or milk to it and mix it... u will get smooth texture, like puree loh. Not sure abt the pigeon brand lei, but u can try using Heinz rice cereal or some organic ones!

Hi mummies. Is it normal for bbs to poo more thn once a day once they start on solids? Aldan pooed 3X ytd!! It’s nt the LS kind, normal kind of poo. I tinkin isit the potato n brocoli puree…

Felval- wah u brot damien to swim liao ah! I tot of gg to get a thermal swimsuit b4 bringin aldan for a swim. I brot him once to bishan swimmin pool b4, he got so scared! Tot he wil enjoy since he likes bath time n kept kickin water. Tink nt used to seein so much water in frnt of him, haha. hw much u bot his float?
He poke hole, I smack him ah! Hahahah… he finally agreed nw aldan’s too young, shall wait for him to at least noe hw to walk 1st thn we start plannin =D
My same thinkin as u! I wan a gal 1st too cos they can help to take care of younger siblings. N girls r closer to mummies too =)

Lynn- I sort of regretted buyin this brand lor. Tat time jus bot the cheapest one cos duno can bf hw long mah. Urs is medela mini electric? U try to chg the parts c got help anot. U bot ur pump where? I bot mine at the expo bb fair n they helped to send my warranty card.

Thks alice! Hopefully aldan wil be a gd boy n dun fuss too much durin the car ride!

Mummies who bot the walker, hw long u usu put ur little ones in it?

anyone can enlighten me... wana ask when u make apple puree after steaming when blend e apple rite do u put anything to prevent browning? cause i scared if i freeze e puree will turn brown? and have to thaw e puree in e fridge first before warming or jus take from e freezer and warm up? can jus put e baby cubes in warmer or have to remove first? thanks soo much

Alice,
same lah, i am waiting for the day to weigh Rayden again

Lynn,
yeah, maybe for the next try on apple puree, you try to blend more and see the difference, it should be okay. But i did add a tablespoon of boiled water in.

Ant,
in the past, Rayden will poo once every 2 days, now starting on semi-solid, he poo 2x per day, so i think it is normal, and now his poo smells better... hahaha

Babylynn,
no need to steam the rice cereal, just add warm BM or water and stir it.

Annabelle,
i tried apple puree, but i didnt add anything to prevent it from turning brownish. Once steam, i let it cool down for 5 - 10mins, and blend it. After blending, i stored in cubes and put in freezer. The colour didnt change to brown, and before serving, will bring out 30mins earlier to thaw the puree in the cube, and then warm it with hot water. After which, mix it with the cereal.

ladies ,

Was complaining to Dolly last nite that i feel very useless and lousy .

Last evening , I make a point to go supermarket to buy carrot and potato and wanted to do it and store in the refrigerator so that she or my hubby can feed Jorel with it today .

Who know after making . MIL came back from outside asked saw what I`m doing asked me izzit for Jorel . I said YA but she directly told me off ...give overnite food for Jorel NO WAY .
She said that it will create wind for him .
Ended up got to threw the whole thing inside the rubbish chute.

My intention is that to make easy for her and as Jorel`s mother can`t tend to his daily needs . Wanted to do something for him ...but who knows being tell me off straight away .

Till now I still feel very sad and lousy . I dun seem to get myself involve in his growing stages.
Everyday work and by the time reach home dun really spend quantity time with him ....i feel guilty as a mother .

Anyway I`m just need a place to throw out unhappiness ...
SORRY LADIES .

jorel, did ur hb noe wat ur mil say? wat is his reaction? is ur mil tone beri bad? actually, i tink ur mil is those lao tao nao people lor. but it is nt beri nice of her if she nv tell u in a nice way lor...coz afterall, which mother will wan to harm their own kids. er...also u living wif ur in laws huh?

for me, watever i will tell my mil doctor say can one or wat...coz tat will shut her off...as if she noe we young people listen more to doctor than them lor. but of coz, i will reply her nicely de lor....then she will go on saying...o...last time, our time is blah blah blah...but i dun care or dun bother de lor...coz i hv my own method of raising my boy lor. also, usually, if we tell her doctor say de she dun say much...coz she noe doctor is 'smarter' than her mah...wahahhaha

morning ladies, very sleepy today...

kelcqi,
hahaha. i seriously duno hw I will/can handle Damien when he reaches all the "terrible" stages. However, I will not allow Damien to make a fuss like that in public. I always deem children who behave like tt as spoilt brat. I cant tahan Damien being like that too. i think i will be the devil and hubby will be the angel lo. hehehe. Having said all these, it makes me wonder if I can teach Damien well...If I didnt remember wrongly the vaccination is to be taken aft 1 yrs old coz we considering to let Damien have this jab ah. So far frm now till he is 1yrs old, he is left with 3doses of pneumoccal jabs. According to the health booklet, the next assessment is between 6-10mths le. Damien has a scheduled assessment with he is 9mths old for a hearing test n duno wat test le. Before that, as I will be bringing Damien for the pneumoccal jabs monthly, so mayb can ask the doc qns as a form of assessements? Hehhee. I read it somewhere that there is a layer of wax on the apple's skin le. so I think I will peel the skin then steam the apple lo.

alice,
ya, trying to take it easy. can complete i complete, cannot n not urgent then do next day lo. work is never ending. Hehehe. Ya, nthing beats a big smile and hug from Damien followed by a smile from hubby =) Ya lo,i agree that sometimes we dun need them to do anything, just their presence ard is gd enuff. =) hahaha. ok. will update everyone on hw Damien's 1st meal went with photos =) another 3 more days. I especially took half day child care leave on that day lo. whahaha. =P

ant,
nt really a swim la coz only dip his little feet into the water nt the whole body. hehehe. Actually hubby wanted to but i told him he is nt yet 6mths as we agree to wait till he is 6mths then let him go into the pool. So that day was kind of like a preview for Damien. whahaha. He got so distracted by the surrounding that he didnt kick even when we dip his feet in. Only when I took out his rubber ducky and let it float in the water n call to him many times then he started kicking. hahaha. I have dwnload the pics frm the cam to the comp yet if nt can show u the photos =P Shall do that when i am free. The swimwear will be officially in use aft this fri. Hehehe. The float my hubby got it frm States with a shelter. THink it got it for less than SGD$15 aft conversion. Will take photos and share with everyone aft we let Damien try the float. Another thing to look forward to aft the rice cereal, so excited! =P Hehhehe. Lucky u manage to persuade ur hubby otherwise the one to suffer will be u liao =P Hahaha, ya lo. gals always closer to mummy but there are exceptions also la. Just pray hard my children will be filial to me in future =P

jo,
*hug and sayang* dun be sorry, anything u wanna scream out here also no worries. we all ladies here to support and help one another. Ya, understand ur kind intention, u just wan to make things easy for jorel's caregivers yet do ur part as a mum by making food for jorel. I think mayb ur MIL dun understand ur intention or she too gan chiong abt Jorel. old ppl have their own thinkings in taking care of babies which may clash with ours modern thinking lo. How did ur hubby react? Mayb u can get ur hubby to talk to her abt where u r cuming frm?

Kelcqi,
i like this http://store.babycenter.com/product/toys/6+-+12+months/musical+toys/miracles+-+milestones+select-a-show+soother.do?asc=false but havent decide to buy or nt...

yueling,
I got the same one... I remember there is a penguin on it. But realise not the same design thou, mine is like a shape of an aeroplance
I got it from KP, the girl said is a new release at that time. How much is yrs?

Dolly, Annabelle
Me too did the same way as Dolly... But I read from the website is best to thaw icecubes in the fridge. Which means if u plan to give carrot for example then bring down a cube of carrot puree into the middle normal fridge compartment to thaw over night lei. So can be safe no bacteria attacking during thawing. Of course last min one then have to put over bowl of warm water, no choice

Annabelle,
this website is extremely useful if u want to know method of storing and freezing Puree... they mentioned abt thawing too...

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/pureebabyfoodandstore.htm

Jo,
I understand how u feel lor. My MIL told me exactly the same thing too abt freezing puree. I told her this is what I'm gg to do and tell her is a good method not to waste food and for convenient sake too. Aiya... our mum generations won't understand one la... cos is new to them mah!
Think she can't stop me cos' I am 100% taking care of rachel but I think for u a bit diff cos' she is the one feeding her so had a choice not to do it, hiaz! Why not, try talking to her again? If not, since she likes to do fresh one everytime, let her be bah... dun be too upset k.

Lately, me also feel really upset over an incident. I wanted to buy walker and high chair for rachel... then my MIL/FIL/GMIL said too early for rachel to sit up right. Then I was telling them she is able to and feel happy to be upright position... if not she will make me carry her all the way lor. They keep saying "No No No" and the best part is one said wait till 7th months... another said till 8th mths then the best part is GMIL said till 9th mths!!! i DAMN pissed off... they dun take care of rachel how do they know her development update? End up i still go ahead and buy my high chair and walker to bring over to india. I agreed to start her off next mth when she is 7th mth.
But I feel that sometime we as mothers need to be in control and not others lor over our little one. I stayed firm cos' I take their comments as suggestions and decided on my own eventually. of course hb must agreed with us too la, support mah!
So u talk to hb first... if MIL still insist then let her be lor, cos' she is the one preparing for Jorel most of the time. Dun feel lousy la, u bought Jorel into this world and no one else... u shd be proud of it!! Just try yr best to spend most of yr free time with him... jorel will appreciate it de!
Cheer up k... Me too, had a long talk with hb... then cheer up liao

Just brought my boy for his jab at the polyclinic. When the nurse ask whether he can roll over, I say he can flip from back to stomach but not the other way. Then nurse say that if still cant flip back at 6 month then need to see doc for assement. sign. worrying. I thought one way is good but need to do 2 way. Don think my boy will be able to flip back since he is 2 weeks away from the 6 month dateline.

My boy din gain much weight this time round and he seems to reject his milk. double sian. think may start him solid this weekend.

Jorel_mum,
don be too upset with yourself. Older generation always have different way of handling the kids. Just remember its all for the good of the child. Beside preparing your boy feed, you can show your attention to him in other ways. don worry, you are a great mum.

Cereal
Any mum can recommend me ceral to start for the first meal. thanks.

dolly, thanks... jus leave e cube outside at room temperature will do? oh ya and wana ask for potato, carrot, brocolli, pumpkin, sweet potato type of puree is boil to soften it or steam? heehee very blur about cooking baby food.

jus bought a philips handheld blender yesterday wana try out as my gal doesn't like cereal leh have to force her mouth open to feed her leh. i thought usually baby's like to eat thru spoon? she clamp her mouth shut real tight leh.

Alice /felval/diana ,

yup spoke to hubby abt it ...he anything ok 1 .He said just leave it to MIL since she said will do ..let her do loh .Save us the trouble but my heart still very sore loh .

Good Day ladies,

Dolly,
Thanks for the info. Den ask u ah, u got remove the core?

Alice,
Haha, my hubby oso vey fed up with me when we go shopping. He always tell me just take and go lah... But I like to compare products, prices etc mah. Sigh, the men just don't get it. He always said a few dollars I oso wanna save. But few bucks oso money loh. Accumulate up I can buy an extra toy for Erica liao loh... I cheapo. Haha...

The Ang Mohs always freeze BM or Purees in cubes n put them in Ziplock bag one. The cube is convenient as in we can juz feed off the cube but double the price of the Ice Cube tray.

Felval,
I think I also cannot stand it if Erica fuss and scream outside. I think my hubby will be the devil cos he cannot stand all these nonsense. Even Erica screaming now, he already scolding her last time, until I told him he scold oso no use. So nowadays he more willing to take her nonsense liao. I hope he continues this way. Very pantang one, everytime I praise my hubby, he gimme pattern e next few days. Touch wood!!

The soother, sg got something like this oso. By Tomy. Selling at 69.90 at Taka. With features of Winnie the Pooh. But I think very long n nv got in e end cos I scare I'll distract Erica frm sleeping.

Jo,
Hush hush... I think ur MIL is those old generation thinking bah. Like my mum. I'm thinking what will be my fate when I start freezing puree for Erica. Prolly I'll also be ranting here like u oso. Mayb u juz ignore her and tell her that the doc said it's ok to freeze puree just like the way she freeze her food oso.

Diana,
Voted for ur boy liao. Gd Luck!

jo,
the push walker looks gd - very interactive. =) duno hw much its selling for in sg. I also looking ard for push walker but mayb will get those that damien can ride on it one..hubby havent decide which one to get...waiting for him to cfm with me. hmm...mayb when ur mil is looking aft jorel then let her do her own method lo, since she dun find it a trouble to make fresh one for him. u can also make extra purees to freeze lo then when u are taking care u do it ur method? However, I forsee its going to be tough coz duno if she will throw watever frozen purees she found in the freezer nt...and if she found duno she will scold u nt again...

felval , kelcqi

She did not scold me lah ...just a bit husk when she commented on it loh . Maybe i take it too hard liao ...nearly burst out crying .

I saw it @toyrus ...selling $79.90 .

diana ,

Voted too !!

Diana,
voted for bb Daryl, good luck !

Jo,
hiyo, take it easy lah. Like mentioned, since she dun mind to make fresh puree for Jorel, that will be the best. But you have to get your hubby to tell her that very soon, you will start like 2 meals to 3 meals per day, so she make really make time to do the puree. Dun be upset liao.

Annabelle,
yes, i instructed my mil to leave it outside in room temperature. As for the rest of the food, it is always best to steam it, and blend, to order to get the smooth texture for bb. But i suppose by 7mth - 8mth, no need to blend anymore, as we need to let them eat with bits, so that they can learn how to chew.

Tinkerbelle,
yes, i did remove the core.