(2008/04) April 2008

RE: pump at work

I find it very hard to position the funnel correctly with the cover on. I pump twice in the account room, 11am and 4pm. How do u clean and sterilise the pump after use?

I use milk bags too. I din taste the milk either.. but if the milk turn bad, bb will have diarrhoea right?

angel, according to my PD, it's best to measure babies temperature under their armpits now. Ear may not be accurate. So perhaps you may want to reconsider getting one at this stage.

I tried to feed my bb the fresh one everytime. I store just in case i run out of supply one day. But if the milk goes bad or expire I will just discard. Also heard from a thread that you can soak your feet in it and it will become smooth. Dunno how true

I think tonight I will thaw one of the frozen milk and taste it. I hope it wont turn sour.

Charis Mom, I kept the bottle/nipple cleanser at work, then I use electric kettle to boil water and sterilize there.

sad day.. my gal refused her ebm for the whole day. Feel so sianz..I was sick since last thursday so she been enjoying fresh milk for the past 5 days.

Today, i go back to work, she refuse her frozen ebm.

charis_mom : i run hot water over the pump parts.
no choice. dun have sterilizer. Alternatively, you may consider getting extra sets of pump accessories. 1 pump session 1 set.

Sherin,

i would like to order this book:

item 3387
Oh, Baby, the Places You'll Go! A Book to Be Read in Utero @ US$6.26
Qty: 01

Let me know if it's ok... will tfr e $$$ once u confirmed. Thanks

re: metallic taste of frozen ebm

i tried and thawing ebm with hot water or even just tap water reduces the metallic taste, as well as the fishy smell. frozen ebm thaws quite fast too!

yo, i'm not ordering any books frm there le. I think you got the wrong person already. I'm only ordering the gymboree books set.

Sherin,

funny, my PD said the opposite! I have a digital thermometer but my PD advise me to get a ear-scan one instead. Anyone knows how much it is retailing?

Can I check if anyone know when to have the rotavirus and pneumococcal jab? My boy is going for his 5-in-1 jab end of this month at polyclinic when he is 3mth old. Does polyclinic offer these 2 jabs or I must get them from PD or GP?

Amy: I was very careful transferring the milk from the bottle to the bags. Then I will use my fingers to run thru the bag to get rid of the air and store in the freezer immediately. Maybe i try to thaw them with hot water instead of leaving overnight in the fridge compartment.

Angel: I bot my Braun ear themometer from a spree here for $89. I saw at guardian its retailing at about $125 or $145... cannot really remember. But like Sherin, one of the GP i visited told me to use the normal one. So i kiasu got both ha

Scubababe - for thawing i don leave it overnight in fridge, will only take out on the day when i let bb drink....then will use hot water to thaw the milk.

yo,

I'm the one who posted on the babycenter books spree. Seems like not many people are interested. I'll take note of your order first, but do not transfer yet.
Hopefully the sale is still on these 2 weeks. After discount, your book will be USD$5.01.

Hi Scubababe,

Sorry but i have once again tried to transfer the amount and it bounced back. can i pay you in person or mail a cheque to you? pls let me know your address and your full name.

tks
steph

hi gals.. your leapfrog items have arrived at my house.
if you are eager to get your leapfrog, you can meet me at redhill a/f 8pm in the evening. my house dun really have room to store them liao..

I will be going to the postoffice on saturday, then i can tell you the postage.

tsukushi,

ok... me blur... hey, m keen to buy more things fr e site. maybe let's see if both our order can meet the min than can juz go ahead... what do u think?

scubababe,

hey was juz reading the thread and realised u used hot water to thaw frozen ebm. cannot!!! by using hot water it'll kill all the nutrients and e milk will no longer serves as a healthy milk w strong immunity for ur bb.

always run under tap for a while or put in a bowl/cup of tap water for a few mins, then change over uing lukewarm water. never use hot water, ok. :)

<font color="0077aa">tsukushi, there's a thread organising the BP, perhaps u are interested?? my fren actually bought fer her son.. and her son enjoys it :D, so im getting it fer my boy to try..</font>

Sherin: I stay at CCK Dr. What abt you? Somehow I like the PD in Baby and Kids, she is very attentive to my baby. First visit $80. And second I paid $40 consultation fee. Hubby and I decided not to get rotavirus or pneunomocal jab after doing some research. But I think this is personal preference

Scubababe: Thanks for the info. All the while I freeze using pigeon bottle storage. And the milk taste fine. I guess next week I am going to try to thaw the ones in the bag and hopefully it won't go bad. Cos I've decided to use bags instead of bottles.

As for thawing frozen milk I just use regular tapwater then warm it a bit with hot water from thermos before giving it to her. But I always warm my milk using hot water.

As I am new in this thread, can anyone tell me what is BP?

Btw also got some items I need to clear, feel free to check at: http://madelineswardrobe.blogspot.com

jgal, are u posting out the items on sat? or just checking on the postage fee? If u need my add now, do let me know ya! i'll pm u my add. Thanks alot!!!

hi .. i suspect the postage may be quite high. >$6 each box. cos' i only realized the dimension of the item is quite big even though it is quite light.. is it possible that i send 1 big batch to a mother in the north and you gals staying in the north pick up from her?

koori,

I think at most it'll be the same price as BP. The BP charges $10 delivery charge so it's $199. With bdl shipping, 10kg shipping weight is about S$70.

maddysmum,
BP = bulk purchase

all the titles are here! So i will try to post out all at 1 time.. also.. i cannot carry so many to the postoffice.. so ppl have to wait for your turn. i need to wrap before i post.

Here's what is happening.
1. I have received some of the orders from leapfrog.
2. All the ordered titles and LP colors are in already.
3. By 12 Jul, all my order will be in.
4. I will try to distribute those i have at hand first because i running out of space in the house.

okay.. lets do these..

I need 2 volunteer mummie on in the LF distributions
for 2 collection point.
1. North (Sembangwang)
2. Northeast (SengKang)

please let me know if these 2 distribution pt covers all the mummies?

Lynn: it's here.. you need to topup $1.90

thanks jgal. iB is down now, will transfer tomorrow morning.

i'll opt for self-collection. me stay sembawang too! where's the collection point? i'll ask hubby if he can go over to collect these couple of days. if he can i can help with the sembawang distribution, but not delivery lah. mummies have to meet me at my void deck cos i'm taking care of my gal full time..

lynn,
u hv to warm up e ebmw warm water. definitely not hot coz will kill all the nutrients. in e end the quality of the milk not there liao

yo, use warm water to heat up ebm? how warm? what temperature is considered 'hot'? cos if using lukewarm water sure take ages to warm up the ebm right? my gal is impatient for her milk

lynn,

abt 1/3 o e temp of a cup of coffe fr coffeeshop. suggest u bg out ebm fr freezer to fidge 1st to thaw then when wants to drink, can warm up faster...

r u a sahm?
maybe latching is easier... no need to wash pump n btl n so convenient