(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield/piglettail, thanks for yr advice....

garfield, i think msia or bintain not bad loh....my concern for not taking maid is cos there is no one at home or thing for her to do....i thinking in jan... then bring her to mil home to work first....my mum n my mil not meet one... i think they wont fight but they will complain whatever thing to me n hubby....also i scare i will be the one fighting with them...

piglettail, for me... a maid will be a better choice... cos i dun think i wan to put bb at infant care as my gal currently is in studentcare... so if i will to add the 2 cost up... maid is cheaper n also i wan to spend my free time with my kids... cos my gal will be in p2 next year....unless my mother is willing to quit....

CL- i think u can look around this forum.... for recommendation... but got to be fast loh... cos i think some of the mtb from jan n also feb thread already booked theirs....go to jun/jul, aug/sept 07 thread to ask for recommendation....

also on the maid issue, i only wan to tong for 2 years... then i will send no.2 to child care... by then my gal p4 already.... hopefully she will be sensible to stay at home in the afternoon herself...

do you think there is part time CL who comes on day-time only and goes back after they cooked dinner?

went to infant care centre for enquiry yesterday, 7-7pm, $750 after subsidy for working mum, i think the price a bit more ex but i think that's the only choice i have .

Hana, i told my boss about pregnancy when i was in my 12th week, when i took half day MC to go see gynae. hehe

Cheryl, wow 36D so weida! now i understand why you said hard to get bras.. so i guess now you will be E or F liao...

Krisci, my next appointment on 1/9! i'm 15th week too hehe

tong, so ex!!!! if i taking the infantcare n plus studentcare.... will be 1k plus!!!!

i thought yr mum coming over??? maybe u wan to look for bb sitter... cheaper....

i think there is a CL who only works from 8-6pm.... but i dun think how much....best is to get full time one.... cos they can also help u with house work....

tongtong.
ya loh very big.. oso very mafan.. so i duno hw leh. i think have to buy bra liao.. most likely have to buy nursing bra...

haven't post for quite some time now...hope everyone's well...me on my 13th week now coming to 14 very soon
but lucky for me (touch wood) my ms has not come back since 2 weeks back...but i think i'm gaining more weight bcoz of that

me planning to get a maid. probably will get later this year when i'm in my 7th month. Cause my mom told me not to do anymore housework by then. So no choice, but i'll most probably get a part time maid first from now till i get my maid to do the weekly house cleaning. My parents will probably stay with me for some time when i go back to work so that they can keep an eye on the maid for me

sigh i had to buy some maternity bottoms over the weekend and it costs a bomb. but no choice, i know can buy those baby doll tops but i'm not that tall so if i start wearing those tops i'll look very short and fat :p plus had to buy formal clothes for work. bought my pants from modern maternity, i quite like it coz they don't use rubber for the tummy part, they use a stretchy shiny type of material...
they also had some promo for the tops, like 1 for $35 and 2 for $60 but it wasn't to my liking so i didn't buy any :p

talking bout bra, i still feel that i can fit my old bra, so i haven't start sourcing for any yet. I normally like cotton bra so I buy from women's secret the $29 dol ones...quite ok i fine.

dor, my mum willl be helping me with confinement during the first month only cuz cant stay too long with me in SG ma, got to take care of my family in KL also hehe. so after confinement either i leave my bb with infant care or mum brings bb back to KL.. yea i think i will also look out for nearby bb sitter see can get or not..

Kriscy,
My next appt is on the 1 Sept. (Same as tong tong). Have to do triple blood test. Hmm... wonder how many tubes of blood i would lost? Scary**

Wow, looks like most of u ladies here had announced to boss the big news. Guess, I will still choose to wait. =)

As for confinement, I have booked my mum. My MIL already very busy with my SIL's 3 little devils. =)

Cherly,
My Fren also has the same well-endowed figure as you. She told me that she has to resort to buy bras from bangkok. She got the huge ones for nursing. Maybe you can plan a shopping trip to Bangkok as a short getaway.. Good excuse to get hubby to accompany u. =)

hi girls... how os everyone?

cheryl, you and me have the same problem, am also bout 36 D now...wait till you have to find nursing bra.... either have to buy from the states or m&s, but so ex! luckily i didn't sell off my nursing bras that my mum bought for me from the states (hehe coz i didn't think anyone could fit them)

i am hoping my maid who took care of sabie will stay with us, but she said already she has applied to go to canada, so dunno if she will extend. Now praying God will send a good maid to me coz we have no choice but to leave the baby alone with the maid, MIL past away liao and my mum lives in manila... i could quit my job but it's a real financial strain coz we still have so much bills from sabie's op. aiya, for now put trust in God to provide....

Dorothy, I agree with Garfield, get a maid earlier, probably at least 3 mths before you deliver. You need to train the maid with the chores, get your daughter and other family members even yourself to get used to a new member in the house.

I personally a bit scared to let a maid take care of my baby. I actually have the intention to get a maid to help up with the chores but baby will be mainly taken care by my family members maybe my MIL or myself (Have not decided yet). Only occasionally when necessary, the maid may be left solely in charge of the baby. I remembered my aunt had a maid to take care of the chores and she herself would care for her baby. However if she needed to go out, she would then let the maid take care of the baby and she would tell the maid not to bother with the chores and fully concentration on the baby. This way, the maid can totally care for the baby without having to worry that she might be blamed and be stressed for not completing the chores or overloaded so the possibilities of the maid mistreating the baby etc is less. I totally agree with her.

Cheryl, wow! you very 'fung man', D cup. Hee hee! I have a friend who is also D or even bigger cup size, so she told me she could only get her bras from Marks and Spencer. Have you tried Marks and Spencer?

hi, hee i am a bit lost since I dont login all the time.

I am exploring the idea of infant care like tongtong as well.

tonight going for my scan again, hope everything goes well.

oh with regard to the topic on CL, do get as early as you can, understand from my friends that the hot ones are all taken up fast....

tyx, yea sometimes i did feel the same too.. buti think my buttocks area also quite itchy, maybe the panty is too tight for me now, it itches around the edges. so i guess change of bigger panty is a mucst for me now liao

i'm also interested in infant care!!

had a big fight with hubby over the weekend. he say why i prefer maid to look after baby and not MIL...sigh....what can i say?!? i look at his sister who is 16years younger - so rude and spoilt - scared that my baby will also turn out like that if looked after by MIL lor.

then he moved on to next topic - staying together....with baby now should stay together more convenient, can pool resources blah blah blah

aiya....me so fan now *sigh*

well, i'm not sure whether it's good to leave bb at the infant care centre but from what i saw at the centre yesterday, i think i'm pretty fang xing as the centre is very clean and they are flexible to get a separate slow cooker to cook for my bb too sicne i requested for vegetarian. I think the only non-plus point is that they close at 7pm, not sure i'm able to rush back to pick bb up or not. timing might be a problem for me lor

can i check wif you gals anyone gained more than 1 kg since hitting the 2nd trimester.

my gynae say from my last visit (12 wks) to my next visit (16 wks), the max i should gain is 1 kg. but my appetite so good, sure more than 1 kg. I stress...

hana and tongtong, my next visit oso 1 sep

hi bx, dun worry! i put on 3 kg from 6 to 13weeks in first tri alone =)

so far, no increases since then (for the past 2 weeks)

my appetite was better during 1st tri. actually not so good in 2nd tri.

oh yah......gynae look at my weight and said - "you put on weight?!? tsk tsk tsk no good" =P but since then never say anything.

anyway i read that it is normal to put on 1-2kg during first tri. so in your case it's ok what =P

Bras in BKK are cheap, esp wacoal cos they are made in Thailand. I bought an underwired strapless for $16 the other day but I seldom see D and DD sizes. Maybe cos Thai women are so small and petite.

So funny you gals are talking abt who to take care of bb. My MIL has already offered to fly up for my confinement but lots of gfs tell me that no matter what, she is not your own mother, you cannot fa pi qi at her and at times you will feel frus or irritated. I know my own temper and sometimes I can get snappy but then she already offered and she's so enthusiastic. I have no heart to say no but yet I'm afraid I might become a cranky 2 headed monster during confinement and snap at her. I"m also afraid that her ways will clash with mine. My own mom has said she will not fight with MIL to look after. Aiyaz, these r/s probs are so complicated. A fren of mine says hiring maid is the best cos you can instruct them what to do, when to pick up baby and can scold if not done properly whereas with parents or ILs, cannot tell them cos they have so much experience and they have their 'old ways' of doing things, sure will clash.

i think there is a big difference between mum and MIL lor....

for eg. when i'm tired of my mum's nagging, i will just say "ma.....pls stop nagging". then close door and sleep. if i want to do things differently, i'll just insist lor.

with MIL, have to bite my tongue and pretend to listen =P

so i think during confinement, when i am likely to feel more irritable than usual, will find it even harder to put up with nagging or different ways. or best case scenario - i'll be too tired to care hahahhaa.......and say WHATEVER!!!

yen, muz control food intake lor. maybe ur weight gain is in earlier part of pregnancy. later part may slow down. anyway, i think we just have to eat healthily. don't let ourselves go hungry.

i personally feel that if ur mil do the confinement, sure will have conflicts. but to save money, i think i will bear with it.

Oh yes, MTBs planning to visit BKK - there's a Bangkok International Household and Gift Fair in Oct - it is a MUST-GO fair for me and my frens. My fren brings a truck (I'm serious) along for her shopping. It's got lots of nice household accessories like table runners, napkins, picture frames, aromatherapy candles, lamps, kitchen accessories, furniture, and a section for babies/kids' stuff like bibs, toys, milk bottles, pillows etc. I didn't know they were cheap then but I bought a couple of things for my preggie frens, one of them told me the bib and toys I got her were cheap. So, it's worth a look if you happen to be planning your 2nd trim trip. Over the years in Thailand, I've furnished my place from my trips to BiHG and I always use the Oct fair to shop for X'mas pressies.

If you interested, there's also another Jim Thompson warehouse sale around year end, it's worth going cos there's cute kidswear from JT, toys, silk cushions, bedspreads, lipstick holders, diaries, tissue paper holders, towels etc etc. The first time I went, I was like overwhelmed cos everyone is given this big trash bag at the door and when the doors open, all the women rush in and simply grabbed everything and anything they see. I thot "wah, so cheap ah???!! Grab oso lah!". Later, I found they will go to a quiet spot and sort out their items before leaving a pile behind and paying only for those they want. So funny!

Hello Mummies-to-be

Sorry for intruding.

Just want to share with you, if you are looking for any good Confinement Lady, I can recommend mine to you.

This aunty (Mdm Low) is from Kuantan, Malaysia and she charge me $1800.

She cooks very well and look after me and my baby gal very well too.

Kindly pm me and I will forward her details to you as I dont always log into this thread.

Best regards

ya bkkgal.....you making us very jealous =P i love jim thompson stuff, but usually very ex so i will not splurge.

just found out that i can claim all my maternity bills *yeh!!!* so will feel richer next month can shop some more!!!

patsy - feeling better past few days? when does your bed rest end?

infantcare is good for those who only one child now...

for me, i think i will die if i send no. 2 to infant care n my gal to studentcare... plus my gal's tuition n enrichment program, will die financially man!!!!

piglettail, saw jackiejon's input... quick quick pm her!!!!

garfield, must watch yr diet hor!!!! when i had my gal, i gained 17kg!!!! so now i am also watching my dietsbut guess what happened recently.... i still have not gain any weight yet... i think i only gain weight in my breast!!!!!

bkkgal, shiok hor!!!! can shop n shop!!!!next time go bkk can meet up hor... i actually wanted to go bkk with colik for shopping but not approved by hubby as i really chiong one loh...

mil- i clashed with my mil during my confinement(my gal's time) so for this one, i only wan her to help me to cook n then hubby go n bring back.... to minise conflict....ya, at least wth my mum, even we fighted, we patched up veri fast loh... sigh...not easy loh....
patsy, pls hor!!! bedrest huh!!!!

garfield, so good????

should we have a gathering????? after all the ms n also bedrest????

good evening babes,

thanks for the advise regarding CL.oh no, im getting stressed abt this CL issue..must start searching soon.

on reading all the potential rs problems with mums and IL, maybe i will consider maid afterall.(just gotta give maid very very detailed instructions i guess?) im 100% sure i'll be a emotional monster after bb is born.

haven't weighed myself in a while, didn't gain weight during 6-12 weeks but im sure i have gained from 12weeks to now 14weeks.

pigletail, u got pm jackiejon for her CL's ctc????

tho u will might have problem with mothers/mils but one thing for sure is that they will not harm bb... u can really trust them loh.... unlike a maid....

hi dorothy,

yes, i just pm jackiejon...;)

yes mum and IL will definately care for bb..i just scared i'll make them very very angry with me...!

hahaha....

mother will never be angry with kids for long.... mil, hmm??? i dun know n dun really care cos i only see her few times a year... cos my mum is a canto n her mandarin veri bad... n my canto is veri bad... so we hardly talk...even "talking" is thr hubby... my mi dun know that my canto can swim abit...

veri bad hor....

cheryl, mothercare confirm got the sizes you need.. they have all the way up to 40 or 42.. and up to F cup I think. so far, i've bought 4 bras from mothercare, cos i've also been an underwire person all along.. but heard a horror story from a friend about blocked ducts, and i was also beginning to feel uncomfortable in some of my wire bras, so i went to buy the support bras like few weeks ago, when i was only abt 8weeks or so. hope that helps.

dorothy,
u say u got butterfly in ur tummy ah? i suspect u are feeling the baby's kicks, since this is ur 2nd child.. heheh...i am monitoring to see if i can feel it soon too, cos i sometimes feel pinches at my tummy area.

bkkgal,
wow, ur mil is helping u with confinement? so is ur mum flying over to see u and baby too? i am also in the same difficult position as u-- both sets of parents ( 4 adults) want to come visit, but i got limited room here leh, how to say who come first, who come later? and mil din say want to help with confinement, think she just wants to see/play with bb. Stress!!

hi fairfield,
i think it's best to get your hubby to ask his mum whether she wants to help with confinement lor. easier for the son to open his mouth...that's what my hubby did (can kiss him for doing that since no way i would have asked *hee hee*)

if she doesn't want to help, and your mum does, then answer is simple. mum comes first and then followed by MIL lor.

dun worry too much...happy problem!! it would be worse if neither parents want to come over =P

hi dorothy,
yah my coy allow me to claim maternity bills up to 3K. very good hor??? i didn't know until today. so happy now!!! i think quite rare (my last two coys also dun have). so i think this baby choose the right timing wait till mummy is in pro-baby coy =)

hi garfield,
problem is my mum already seems ready to do confinement. My dad already applied for leave liao.. hahah. I also would feel more comfortable with my mum lah, but if confinement is 1 mth long, ask mil to come 1mth after birth like a bit too long to wait leh, so i also paiseh. also,bb usu born before EDD, i might be stranded with no one here then..

just a thought, how come u prefer ur mil to do confinement for u instead?

you are soooo lucky!!! maybe try to arrange alternative lodging for either your parents or PIL...or can squeeze a bit and make space? maybe get a temporary sofa bed or something

*BIG SIGH*

of course i want my mum to do my confinement. but i have no choice. even before i got married, my mum already DECLARED that she will only look after my children when they are about 2, 3 years old. so i have to gao deem on my own for the first 2 years. i haven't asked her again if she has changed her mind since i broke the news that i'm expecting. but knowing her, don't think her opinion has changed lor.

i will probably get a confinement lady, but trying to persuade hubby cos he feels it's very expensive to spend 2K to 3K on that.

so in spite of my preference, in reality, may end up with MIL instead.

haha... u so cute, u actually see my situation as lucky!! but seriously, u dun think 4 adults and 1 bb ( excl me and hb) is a little too many people in the house? looked for lodging liao-- US$100/nite.. siong leh, thats why can only have 1 set stay with us on the spare bed.

ur situation is good lah-- at least ur mum explicitly say she only help take care when the bb is older, then u dun have to wonder mah..ya, CL ex, but at least less chance for conflicts.

haha...ok lah...now that you mention. 6 adults fussing over a little one is a bit too much i guess =P unless you are staying in a huge place. probably don't want to bump into someone at every corner.

US$100/nite sounds ex - is that hotel? any apmts that you can rent instead?

dun mind me asking - is your hubby only son or eldest son? or is this your PIL's first grandchild? cos they sound really excited =)

now with my coy subsidy...in better position to persuade hubby!! cos the 3K we save can help contribute towards CL costs *hee hee hee*

we're staying in an apartment here, so there's very little room for everyone. ya, US$100/nite is rental unit in my estate. Hotels would be even more, and not as convenient too. transport for 6 adults and 1 bb also hard, cos cant fit in the car, and in US, everywhere u go, also need to drive. But i'm most stressed abt meal-time, cos hb go work, cant ask my mum or mil to cook lunch for everyone else too, and if i cook?? errhh, then might as well all dun need to come liao.. hahah.

ya, he's the eldest son, and this will be the 1st grandchild for both sides, so i think thats why all wants to come lor.

ur co shiok leh-- got 3k subsidy? but shdnt need to spend 3k cash for the delivery right?

btw, any MTBs planning to do circumcision if u are expecting a baby boy?

fairfield, maybe u might wan to split yr confinement in 2 part... each side take one... i will not advise u to have both side parent at the same time... sure clash one!!!!that's what happen during my last confinement....

if i dun rem wrongly, our edd is almost the same right(so we are in our early week 17).... i think i already feel kicks from bb... but veri rare one.... but the butterfly in the stomach should not come from bb(in my case)

ya, like what garfield said, should ask hubby to ask his mother loh... for my case, my hubby is the eldest n also the only one married(2 bil is available) n if i really expect a boi... i think my mil will be veri gancheong.....

circumcision? why? will doc ask us to do so???

Hi MTBs!

So long din log in, alot of happenings here wor...

Talking abt CL, I wont be engaging 1, my dad & hubby can cook, so in a way, i save abit.. :p

Actually i'm more concerned abt WHO's gg 2 take care of my bb when i return 2 work.. Reali headache...

As tongtong mentioned abt infant care, i guess tat might be an option 4 me. But i tink i'll feel "xin tong" 2 put bb so early in the infant care.. If nt, i will engage a PT nanny. Err.. Btw, any PT nanny nowadays?

hi esther, finally see yr posting again...

yes, there are PT nanny too!!! u can look/ask around in yr neighbourhood... go for auntie who are full time housewife n their kids are workin or studyin.....