(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Krisci,

i'm planning to take a trip too.

not sure whether safe or not also =P i think all depends on each individual's condition. so best to asks gynae i guess.

i've not started taking fish oil. it seems like the price difference per clinic can be as much as 25%. let's see what my gynae will offer me on my coming thursday visit. so now try to eat fish as much as possible.

regarding a trip, initially i was planning to go cruise. but now the share drop so bad that hb got no more budget to go already..
going Phuket can be quite relax for purely sightseeing.

hi all, i am from the march thread.

I would like to ask what does the gynae do during the appointment for 11week? cos i was not free this weekend and missed my appointment. I wont be able to see the gynae till next week. (Job commitment) Just wonder if there is anything important I must get or do during this appointment that I must really see the doctor by this week?

aly,

yes. only normal scanning. probably prescribe you some folic acid. please also note that NT scan can only be done from 11 weeks to 14 weeks. timing is very important. guess will be fine to see him on 12 weeks and schedule NT scan on 13 weeks.

hi cheryl, me oso!! same same =) tummy sooooo big now haha....

aly, if you see doc next week you will be 13 weeks? maybe you should call now and see if you should be doing your NT test and/or blood test (for down syndrome) then as well. cos i think doing the test at 13 weeks is just nice.

I have just done the NT scan last weekend. I am in week 12 now. 1 month later will do the maternal serum screening.

My gynae precribed me Neurogain PB Plus (fish oil), Obimin & Caltrate (Calsium). Anyone taking these now?

what is NT or oscars test? I am extremely afraid of syringes. Will be hysterical when i see needles.

Therefore I need to prep myself before the "BIG event" of anything to do with poking needles into my skin...
I hope I don't have to take any tests. What are the complusory blood test or injection I must take during the whole course of pregnancy?
I am just afraid that if I postpone the appointment for too long and the doctor needs to prescribe me some pills for the baby, den the baby will be affected.

patsy, i had brown discharge too during my 13th week, in fact i had minor placenta bleeding, my gynae only gave me duphaston to take and did not ask me to bedrest... just asked me to rest more and dont walk too much. so dont walk too much and dont squat ok!

xiaoyun, i read that flaxseed oil is a very good source of omega 3 but i also read some articles stating that flaxseed oil is not suitable for preggie ... read many contradicting reports, so to play safe, i think dont take flaxseed oil for the time being la.

went shopping the last 2 days and bot a lot of blouse and bottoms! i din get any maternity dress/blouse/pants from maternity shop but get all of them from normal shop instead cuz now every shops are selling the doll top , long and fluffy enuff to cover the tummy.. and goes with stretchy 3rd quarter or long tight pants. i think all suitable for preggies!

Anyone in their 15weeks now? I thought second trimester is supposed to be more engergetic and less MS... Urghh, I am feeling so lethargic with backaches and joints esp hip and knees going a bit too "soft" for comfort. Wat a monday to start off with... hai

hi tongtong,yah.. he said looked like placenta bleeding but am high risk coz i had some surgery for early stage cervical cancer in 2006 so gyne want me to be a bit more careful... you're so lucky can fit those normal clothes.... even without being preggy i coudln't fit those clothes already

hana me too.. but i think it's because am lying down too much
but i merlion for the first time ever last night. dunno why

i'm only taking premilet leh.. maybe shoudl ask my gyne bout fish oil...

hi everyone, dun know what wrong.... a lot of butterflies in my stomach... now dying.....gg to take a nap again as i was awaken by my hubby's snore last night!!!!

will die leh....
patsy, better today???

hi hana, 2nd tri is not that smooth to me too!!!

hi tong, good hor... can get normal doll top... like patsy, i also cant fit into those clothes b4 preggy....

i wan to buy those normal baby doll top.. but i m scare my bust cant fit in leh.... haiz...

btw have u all start wearing maternity bra n panties??? i wan to buy but the panties is like too big for me...

would like to check any mummies did the detail scan ? me just donno wat to expect le...

and mummies hv try rose hip oil for strach mark ? izit good ? thanks u

I am feeling terrible today too. CAnt really concentrate to work. I thought i can stomach Nasi Lemak but think the lunch makes me feel worse.

cheryl,
Maternity bras & panties? Haven check on that. I still do not have the courage to step into maternity wear shops.
I just buy a size bigger for bras. The pre-preg ones make me breathless. I guess it varies for different MTBs, but the bra extension doesnt work for me.. I wasted $ on that so my advice is to invest in two bigger size one for now.

yea hana, you are in 15th week? me too! when is your EDD? so you still having MS? mine already subsided.. had good appetite so ate quite a lot, of course put a lot of weight too..dont worry, you will feel more energetic soon!

dor, i get those doll top with which is very baggy and quite long one... my size used to me S and now me getting L size top liao, waliau.

cheryl, i did try on on allthe baby doll, i think they are all nicer than the normal maternity wear and they are not expensive too! the most expensive top i get is about 30+ only.. very lucky that we are preggie during this time when the fashion is on! for panties, i did buy new ones which is suitable for preggie, and i buy new bras too! very cheap, now century square a lot of lingerie shop selling cheap bras, $5 each or $10 each only!! and i also got bra extension too, $1 only, very worth buying la.

la senza having 70% off, so it's very worth buying too!

i also bought panties, i think 3 for $12, which is very lacey but strethy, that is suitable for preggie one, at one of the bra shop at century square.. it's not tight and it's quite comfy!

and i think i do not need to get it from maternity shp cuz it seems expensive

hi mini, for detail scan... the doc will scan all the bb's main organs... to make sure that they are normal...

what is rose hip oil?

Maternity bras & panties?- i yet to buy any.... but that time, i went spring... saw them selling at $19plus... i need a bigger cup bras... the size still ok...

tong, no bad hor... i also dun wan to spend much on maternity clothes... prob will invest in something nicer in xmas or nice year

tongtong,
you were saying that century square got a lot of lingerie shop. which floor that you are talking about? the $5/10 one can try?
I went to check out Marks and Spencer just now, find that their padding too thin. Feel very 'transparent' wearing it.

hi babes,

hope all is well...

is it a must/better to wear non-underwired bras when preggie? i have worn wired bras all my life and feel strange switching to non-wired ones. wouldn't wearing non-wired bras cause our boobs to sag?

also no courage to step into maternity wear shops yet...

was still quite in my original size until last 10days and suddenly my tummy ballooned...!now there's an obvious bulge and all my usual weight-gain-prone areas have also put on. so so so low morale... ;(

have any of you started looking for confinement ladies yet?cos our EDD is around CNY, im getting quite worried about the availability and price of CL then.

Cheryl- R u with Thomson? what detail at 20wk..
the last time i went, think i was in my 12th wk.. did the baby's neck scan & gynae took blood for OSCAR test.. but OSCAR test consist of what actually?

loinky

yes i was with thomson. oscar test consist of blood test and the neck scan loh...

detail scan will be at week 20... i think will scan alot of thing including gender haha

Hi ladies, hope you are feeling better today.

Poor patsy, I know the 'merlion' feeling very well. Take care and try to rest. You were right abt the food triggers. I think my baby likes to eat 'ang moh' food like sandwiches. I'm so SAD
cos I love Asian food, esp the spicy and hot foods!! It's like this little person has taken over my life, dictating what I can or cannot eat.

Actually, I was very KS. I bought nursing bras already. hehe. I went to mothercare and the maternity bras were like $69.90 normal price and my fren said forget it, might as well invest in nursing bras. I think wearing non-wired bras are very comfortable now (I'm an underwired person all my life too!) esp when I have heartburn. Wired bras seem to make heartburn worse.

Oh, I have a fren who used Clarins Tonic oil and asked masseur to massage her whole body with it. She swears no stretch marks at all for first pregnancy. I thot it was very extravagant cos one bot is > $55 but hubby says once stretch marks come, no amt of $$ you spend will get rid of it.

tongtong,
Yep I am in my 15th week. EDD is 9th Feb. MS isnt that serious le *Touchwood first*
But I am feeling really tired today...

Books & references mention Preggie shld opt for non- underwired bras as it will affect the milk duct development. Hmm But I am also the "underwired person all life" type, so i still stick to that type, just make sure it is not too tight.

hmm..maybe my underwired bras has some relation to my discomfort...haha!ok, think i will check the non-wired bras out. now my daily aim is no ms, no sick feeling, surviving through the day with minimal discomfort, etc.

bkkgal,yes totally understand how it feels like with the food thing. i never touch chilli all my life up til now and guess what, i actually ask for chilli in my food now. totally cant eat the food i used to like in past and on certain days, the thought of going to eat certain food just makes me want to vomit. in fact, im the opposite from u--i used to love ang mo food but now, baby loves asian salty and spicy food, esp tom yum soup.

i bought the clarins oil but found it very oily and the smell is rather uncomfortable for me. btw, how shd we apply the oil in order to truely prevent the stretch marks-just apply or must massage onto skin with medium/firm pressure? shd we apply in a particular direction (upwards towards heart, opposite direction, etc,etc?)
yes, it's impossible to rid stretch marks once they are formed, cos i already have some from my puberty years. ;( so now must control potential damage.

cheryl, I got mine from Bega,littlematchgirl and some small retail shops from AMK hub, and previously i got some from metro departmental store. why hard to get bra? you mean cant get suitable size?

xiaoyun, i forgot which floor at centry square/tampines mall leh, the $5/$10 one cannot try wor, but because before that i already know what size i want and i can just try button it with my clothes on ( in fact the salesgirl helped me to put on), so i just bot. that day i went they already run out a lot of sizes because they are so cheap ma. I think tampines mall one that i went is Blush. they got very cheap sale but very limited item and size only, if i'm not mistaken i got mine at $10 or $12.

piglettail, yea CL will cost about 2500 to 2700 around CNY period.. me looking for one too...

tongtong..

b4 preg i m 36D leh.. now i duno wat size liao. only knw my breast cannot fit in my bra... cannot really cover all.. haha....

i did bought 1 or 2 top from bega...n i bought them in L or XL size. so that can last long.

bkkgal, you can say that again! i normally prefer ang moh food, but this one prefers local/indian food... the spicier the better! during my first month i craved nasi lemak! am now craving tom yum... coz maid was going to cook the veggies from a thai cook book..

you girls are sooooooooo lucky! i wish i could get away with normal clothes, but at 8 weeks i already had to wear pants already.. think i never lost the weight i gained with sabie
hehe

it's soooooooo boring to stay in bed.

hi patsy,

keke...the worse part is bb also love all the oily fatty meat (lor bah) and stewed intestines, something i never touch in the past....!

take care and rest well! jia you

wah.....everyone very active today!!

hana, dorothy,
me not having a smooth 2nd tri also. i on half day today....slept from 1pm to 5pm. went to office in morning, but had to go off at 12 cos feeling like shit. MS is back also *sigh*

piglettail,
you may want to try elancyl stretchmark cream. i also bought clarins oil and found it too oily, so only using that at night. in the mng i use elancyl (it smells very fragrant and is not oily).

cheryl,
my gynae say 13 weeks can see gender already. he tried to scan for me last friday, but baby was so super active - although legs were open, but baby kept moving that all we saw was a BLUR in between the legs!! looks like baby wants to keep mummy and daddy in suspense *hee hee*

i am officially upgrading to maternity wear tomorrow *hee hee*(held off as long as possible....wearing baby dolls and all). But the maternity pants really very comfy so now comfort takes priority.

The items from Bysi & Zara also quite nice.
Have to get a few to blend into the current normal clothes as i intend to hide frm bosses & colleagues for as long as my tummy can. =)

For working MTBs, do all your bosses know abt it yet?

hi hana,
ya my boss knew when i was 4 weeks....haha....cos they sent me on a biz trip to US and i didn't want to travel just in case. i so super kiasu hor *hee hee*

I read in another thread that if you like spicy or salty food, you'll have a boy. Dunno how true. Maybe Patsy can tell us since she's had one baby before?

bkkgal, dunno leh, i totally had no symptoms with sabie... i've tried the ring with hair bit and counting rice, both said girl.. so dunno leh.. can't wait till next scan hopefully we can see the sex, coz although this time i just pray for a healthy baby, deep inside i hope to get a mei mei for sabie...

hana, yah, my boss knew about it at about 5 weeks coz i had to go on complete bed rest for 2 weeks...

and yes, MS is worse for me too... and always hungry.. but now cannot eat too much coz have to watch my sugar level... sigh, have to eat every 2 hours instead.

Garfield,
Where do u intend to go? Heard from my colleage if preggie more than 7 mths, need ltr from doc to take plane leh. I alrdy book my trip on 05/10! So hapi!

Tong Tong & Hana
I m oso 15 wks! Next appt is 27/08, hope can see gender! :) When is yr next appt?

Cheryl,
I bought a baby doll dress at cineleisure for abt $30+, tink you shd be able to fit cos its quite big at the top & its elastic.
For bra, I bought 2 pieces at triumph abt $45 per piece, They have one w/o underwire & comes in D, E sizes. Hope it helps!

My friends who are already mothers told me to buy just a few more expensive ones but lots of inexpensive ones. In fact two of them bought from market cost abt $3 to $5 each. The reasons being, our bust size will cont' to grow throughout the pregnancy and later when nursing, tend to leak a lot so buying too many nursing bra v $$$, so many of my friends just bought lots of cheap bra for daily nursing needs and a few expensive nursing bras for more important occasions.

I just bought 3 normal no underwire bras from sorella, quite comfy and much cheaper than the usual wacoal and triump, many sizes too. Like most of you I used to wear mostly underwired bra but after wearing non wire ones, hey not bad leh, v comfy.

Good morning!!!

garfield, wow... u are the 2nd person who took half day leave to sleep.... so shiok... i cant as i need to save leave for my gal's exam in oct...

piglettail, i think u need to source yr CL soon as our delivery is near CNY....

talking abt food craving... when i had my gal, i everyday must eat noodles.. like fishball noodles, etc.... so the end result, she loves noodles....
this one, i craving for spicy stuff like malay rice.....so dun know leh.... my last scan was done on week 13... can see liao... but will confirm on sat... update u gals again....

btw, anyone sourcing for a maid? my mil wans to help me to take care of bb half day(8am to 2pm) then my mother will take over from 2pm to 6.30pm.. but housework got to be done by ourselves... do u think i should take up this offer.... i scare they fight... i actually asked my mother to quit her job to stay home to take care of my gal n bb.. she dont wan...
my hubby say maid better... but i dont know what to expect.... also when should i start employ???? if like what dosc said, i might give birth in end jan... will begin jan be too early for the maid to arrive??? cos my gal in afternoon session???? i thought of having the maid during my confinement, my friend said i siao....

bras- i have shop yet.... i think high time already cos my existing cup is not coverin my breast properly....

i just collect my maternity demin skirt that i ordered from BP... too big!!!!

sorry huh, to ask such a chiam question....

garfield, i think the guideline is 26 weeks... but best is to get a letter to prove that u are fit to travel before doing anything....

i thinkin of a short trip... to celebrate my gal n hubby b day but got to see how cos her exam is approaching too...

hi dorothy,
hubby very kiasu leh....he is worried about me flying even with doctor ok. so looks like i may have to take a cruise, go to Bintan or Malaysia. some place that dun need to fly.

re maid - my friend's advice is to get maid in as early as possible, cos you will need time to train the maid. he says if you bring maid in too close to delivery or after delivery, have to cope with training new maid (esp those who need MORE training) PLUS newborn baby will go siao one *hee hee*

i think depending on your mum / MIL relationship lor. if they get along well, then should be ok. but if the kind that one year meet once, maybe need to think carefully.

how come everyone's bust expanding except mine leh? haha....i was joking with hubby maybe won't have enough milk to breastfeed since my breasts don't seem to have ballooned that much. i think i've moved from A to B, nothing dramatic!!

morning babes..

the forum thread has hung again? can't access thru the 'normal way' but found my way here from the 'search' function.

my boss..haha. he's the 1st person i told next to hb when i first found out, becos i was so flustered n just told the truth when i wanted to take time off to see gynae immediately.

Garfield9, thanks for the tip on stretchmark cream!i've stopped using clarins 2 weeks after starting in week 6, think now i shd start again cos tummy and other parts of body are really getting obviously bigger.

dorothy, where can i look for a CL? hb sort of wants MIL look after bb during confinement but im against the idea. becos i dunno if i'll end up being emotional/irritable etc, etc, so what if i 'offend' her during the 1 month rite? also how to ask MIL to wash my own undies, wake up in middle of night to feed bb, etc,etc? sure conflict wan. already these days i find myself getting a tad overly sensitive to MIL remarks. (i live w my in-laws)

the headache part is, im the 1st and only preggie among my friends. they are totally clueless and have no contacts for CL, baby stuff, what to do, etc,etc. sigh. dunno who to ask also. im also the first among my relatives to be preggie. actually asked all around me and got blank stare as reply....alamak.

personally im not into the idea of a maid. used to have a maid in mum's place (before i got married) and she sometimes made mistakes that are common sense to us and we will never think of her/anyone doing otherwise. e.g: she used a disposable plastic spoon to spread the oil on frying pan to fry pancakes for us, when the spoon got half melted already she still thought nothing of it and continued frying and serving us the pancakes....!*faints*

furthermore, my maid was a degree holder, speaks good english and had 5 years experience before joining my household.

hope we'll all have a great day ahead