(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi dor!

Yeah! But alot of catchup 2 do man.. So happening...

I tink i gotta ask my SIL or my dad 2 help me look ard.. Hope 2 get 1.. I told hubby, i kinda of worried if 2 let my dad handles bb ALONE.

Men usually nt as "xi xin" as women.. Hee..

Talking abt gg overseas trips.. My gynae 4bids me 2 go, in his opinion, he said better dun travel, jz in case anyting happens, other countries may not hv enuff blood 4 us, it's safer 2 be in SG.

So i guess i wont be able 2 travel, i'm still tinking abt gg 2 Taiwan 2 eat!!! Dreams crashed...

morning ladies!

yes, i'll like to know more about under-wired bras and blocked milk ducts too...

got hb to ask MIL about doing confinement today. she actually said she think she cant cope with e "full set". cooking she can but she don't think she can deal with the washing and cleaning, etc.

phews... but then, now hb is thinking of asking his aunt in m'sia...? (i dun even know which aunt he is talking about cos i've only visited his extended family there once)

men just think everything is so straightforward and simple; i.e: just do the task as arranged. they dunno how conflicts can occur even over the smallest detail in the process.

my mum cant take care of bb, she is the xiao jie and easily gets stressed sort. think at most i can only ask her to look after bb for a few hours while i run errands in future.

yeah, CL is very ex during CNY, but no choice lor, it's a must for me. better than me going nuts trying to do it all by myself...so must try to save in other areas.

hi piglettail,
if your MIL can handle the cooking and looking after baby, why not employ part time help?

you can get someone to come in every day for 3 hours or every other day to do the cleaning and housework. of course, not as convenient as having a CL, but i think much cheaper. if everyday x 3 hrs x $8/hr = $720

that's my plan B cos i have a current burmese maid coming in on weekends. so may see if she can come everyday for a few hours and MIL/myself cope with cooking and baby.

dunno whether workable or not, but is an option for me now

piglettail, i think what garfield said is true also... abt the part-time cleaner... but garfield, market rate is $10per hour lah...

or see yr hubby can take leave to help out... cos my hubby is saving his this year leave for my confinement...

piglettail, i think what garfield said is true also... abt the part-time cleaner... but garfield, market rate is $10per hour lah...

or see yr hubby can take leave to help out... cos my hubby is saving his this year leave for my confinement...

oops....solly!!! dun want to be accused of exploiting foreign labour haha =P

ya at $10/hr it works out to $900. so still much cheaper than CL.

wah dorothy your hubby so sweet....!!! *envy*

Feb MTBs, if you come to BKK, I'm more than happy to show you around
My hubby says I can organise Jim Thompson ware house sale tours already! hehe.

Fairfield, I oso am in same situation - hubby only son, first grandchild on both sides. Everyone is damn super excited, more excited than me. sigh. I know that everyone will surely wanna come in the first week and my apartment can only accomodate up to 3 pp....car oso can sit 4 adults and 1 bb....i thot if they really come and crash, i'll have to rent a small apartment near my place so they can walk back at night and sleep. The thing is, how to have 6 adults fussing over one baby? And then surely, teochews and cantonese have diff ideas of how to do things right? Stress!

The thing is I'm afraid everyone will fight to help me and carry baby but after that when they leave, the mommies are the ones who have to pick up the pieces. A fren of mine said her MIL wanted to carry the baby every minute of the day, every time cry will scold her for not carrying. After confinement, the baby became so used to being picked up that my fren suffer lor...esp if you are alone most of the day, how to do your own things?

what is a PT nanny? Never heard of leh...

Good morning.

For me, my mum still working, so it is no no. For IL, Very LUCKILY, MIL already says she is not up to it. Anyway, she has always been enjoying life hee, cos my hubby and his sisters are all looked after by his aunt.

So i got the CL instead. $1800.

But, the headache is who to look after the baby, i knwo my hubby wants to ask his aunt to look after, but she is 70 next year leh.... i am very worried. She is currently staying in US and if I ask her back, that means, we really must look after her just like our parents, pay and look after her everything..... and if come 1 2 years, she cant cope, that means i need to get a maid... long term wise, i think i prefer infant care... else the cost will be a bit too high.....

i am thinking of putting the baby near office so that I can pick up before 7pm

Hey Fairfeild,

I am MTB in march... and i saw yr post..

I heard that if u want to do circumcision on yr bb boi...better to do it once u give birth.. They will just put a Ring and the skin will drop off.. If any later, then got to so surgery..

ya bkkgal, what you say is true. unfortunately, when we have to rely on their help, then sometimes no choice. unless we cope on our own, or make it clear upfront that you as a couple have your own way of doing things.

the good thing about my hubby likes to do things his own way and he dares to tell his parents off if they interfere. so hopefully with baby, we will be able to cope somehow even if there are differences.

my hubby is also only son, and i'm only daughter. but my parents and PIL are super cool leh...haha...=P in a way is good lah, i quite fussy about things so feel lots of space =)

bkkgal, my cousins used to be taken care by PT nanny. Basically, you bring the bb to the nanny's house in the morning and picks up the bb at night. Weekends, you take take care of the child yourself. These PT nannies are usually middle age housewives looking to earn a bit of extra income to support family and most have children who are probably already teenagers and do not need so much of their time. Its almost like infant care in terms of timing but its one to one (one nanny to one baby) or one nanny to two babies, smaller ratio compared to infant care centre.

garfield, actually for the part time cleaner... porb we only need them in our place maybe twice a week cos our house shouldnt be that dirty.

garfield, abt him on leave during my confinement... ok lah...my hubby can take care of bb better than me....he cooks also... one day, my gal told my mum to teach me how to cook!!!! my gal told me that all her storiesbook say that mummies cook... so she ask me to learn....told her her mummy dont like....

also my hubby already planned what to do then cos that period is champion leag...
panggou, yr CL cheap leh....

bkkgal, onz!!! next time i gg bkk to chong... will let u know....heehee... also can tompang u to buy nursing bras or not huh????tell u a joke... i went bkk 3 yrs back.... i bought a nursing bra then .... siao hor....

cheryl, take care hor... weather not good....

btw, do u gals have any problem with yr face.... i got many many outbreaks!!! my face has become a warzone leh.... any remedies???i guess my diet played a big part as i am having malay food veri often....

just to share how greedy i am.... my yest dinner... i had pork chop(western food), pork congee, baby kai lan n bbq cockles(cooked)!!!

morning all.... i'm also not sure what to do with the baby... not keen on infant care coz can't be sure how clean they are... scared of maid to be left alone with the baby (if i get a new maid), the only other option is i quit my job...

that's A LOT of food dorothy!! good your appetite is back now!!

actually, being a 2nd time mum, maybe you can educate us 1st timers....is it really a lot to do during confinement? my impression is not a lot, but maybe i'm just ignorant.

cos baby sleep alot, feed alot then poo alot. so mummy probably busy with feeding and cleaning baby. other than that it's cooking the confinement foods and usual housework. anything else???

so if MIL can handle the cooking, can find part time help with the housework, will mummy have sufficient support? (supposing hubby also take leave to help out here and there)

i think singaporean women all same same....haha...i'm also hopeless at cooking!

ya i've been having a lot of small pimples all over as well. for me i watch my diet lor...trying to eat a lot of soupy stuff like yong tau foo, won ton mee soup, etc etc. partly due to weight, partly to avoid heaty food. my MIL say cannot drink barley - too liang. so i dunno what else can help.

dor... your hb so sweet! when the gyne told us he won't wait for me to go into labour and do a c-sect early, hb told doctor, yah.. earlier the better coz i have a major meeting end of feb, please take the baby out as soon as possible! i wanted to strangle him!!!

garfield, see how greedy i am!!!!

actually, i should be the last person to give advice cos i super lazy one...

i rem during my confinement... when i woke up...i will have my bf.... then my mother will bath my gal.... then i will breastfeed her, then bb sleep... mother will "push" me to pump milk... then change diaper.... then feed her again, lunch... it's like that only... but cos i c-section so my wound hurts a bit too...

i think for confinement mother needs help from ppl(CL, hb,mil,mother) cos newborn can be veri demanding... my gal was an angel in the daytime..... she just drink, sleep n change... when comes to nighttime, she just cry n cry.... so night time is a challenge for us loh.....i guess the most important thing for a start is to let bb get used to everything n to make everything to a routine....

ok, dun forget the massage lady...

patsy, i think my option will be maid... unless i strike toto... cos cant afford to stay at home....also prefer to have own income

Dorothy, I have pimples during the earlier part of my pregnancy, first 1 over mths. Now ok, just 1 or two every now and then, I checked up some websites that said pimple cream some ingredient not good for bb, so I just leave it, did not apply anything. Some anti aging products also not good for bb. I read from internet that if you prone to having pimples during your menses, you may tend to have them during your pregnancy too. The funny thing is I don't get pimples during menses but during pregnancy I got it leh! Moreover I did not even take spicy or much deep fried food. Must be the homones!

Patsy, I also scare to put bb with maid's care. Infact care I also don't dare because so far I only have a friend who puts her boy in infant care and she keeps telling me her bb contracted hand mouth foot disease. She said too many bb so easy to spread diseases, one sick, all sick. I often heard her arguing over the phone with her hubby on who to pick up her sick bb from the infant care. So hear already makes me worried too. So I am also considering quitting my job or do part-time, half day job etc to take care of my bb.

My SIL told me my nephew used 2 wake up every 3 hrs 4 his milk!! Very accurate 1.. She told me basically she hardly had any time 2 rest.. Cos she bz sterlizing the bottles, mk milk, feed him, wash bottles.. then rest jz abit, gotta start the cycle again!!

My jaws nearly dropped when she told me tis..

Yes garfield! I'm 1 of the women who hardly cooks. Usually hubby cooks, the funny part is whenever my dad helps us 2 buy veggies, fish etc, he will automatically go 2 my hubby & tell him hw 2 cook the food. My dad knw i'm a hopeless wife... Haha..

i'm worried abt the maid 2.. It's actually depends on ur "heng sway" luck. If manage 2 get a gd 1 wif experience in handling bb, still nt so bad..

Tat y, am tinking beside infant care, PT nanny will be a another option 2 consider..

Those of you looking for PT nanny, maybe can try Straits Times classified section. Once in a blue moon, I will have leaflets of nannies indicating their interest to be nanny in my mail boxes. So if I happen to come across any, I will let all of you know.

garfield/dorothy, will the PT maid help to clean bb things-wash bb clothes, sterilize bottles,etc,etc? it may sound like tiny chores but when it comes to doing, sure very xiong wan. esp if bb keep feeding and poo-ing, which i think the usual cycle is every 3 hours. once we finish with 'one cycle', it's almost time to do it all over again!

im also concerned about the night feedings. think night time is time when everybody (hb, MIL,everybody in household) is tired n no one will want to attend to bb if they can help it.

apart from these 3 things (wash bb clothes, sterilize bottles,night feedings), have i left anything out? just thought of these issues off my head, not sure if i have left out anything.

hb...he got his ICT instruction yesterday...the same week as my EDD...can fanit manz. two years never kena recall already now the timming so good. he will try to apply for deferment but in any case i dun think he can afford to take much leave from his work. im grateful if he can take 1 week off liao.

haha, i also hate to cook. i can clean, wash, sew but i just hate to cook. like last time back in home economics class in secondary school, my most hated section was the cooking part.

will start to deal with the bb care when i have got this CL issue sorted... one step at a time!else i'll have panic attack again :p

i am MTB on feb 2008, mostly on the 1st few days of CNY!! I had already make booking for my CL, the price is really ex, but no choise cause my in-law has no experience in handling new born bb & also cooking the full set of confinement dishes.. thank god that do not have alot of house wrks to do cause I m currently staying with my hb , only 2 of us. So, not mauch cleaning to do actually.

I have quit my job right after i had bb, cause i m an interior designer..have to run jobsite & also hv to work mostly 7 days a week. I m staying at home most of the time, thats why i hope that i can meet more 'mummies' here & exchange ours experience ;)

hi esther, yr sil lucky... every 3 or 4 hours... i know someppl is every 2 hours.... got to feed....

PT nanny is best to get from word of mouth.... like neighbours....

piglettail, how frequent u intend the pt maid to come?cos chores like wash bb's clothes, sterilize bottles is considered daily tasks leh... i guess if u dun mind... the pt maid should be ok ....i think for yr hb ICT can apply to defer one leh....

hi casa, welcome!!! what is yr edd? mine is on 1st of feb....

have you all started to book your CL? My fren was asking me if got any CL contacts cos her fren due in March and already those whom she called was booked!...i am due in late feb or early march and still haven done anything yet :p

Initially want my mum to do...but she is not very confi cos long time since she take care of bb or had a confinement....so thinking better to spend $ and get one so i can get a good rest during confinement, and dun stress my mum out...anyone has mum as CL before and think is better to get a CL?

Hi Dorothy,

Usually Massage lady comes in on which day? As in after or before first month?
I guess in the first two weeks esp, the wound will still hurt right??

Hi blurfairy,

I had alraedy booked for my CL, my EDD is on 08.02.08. And had also gave her S$100 deposit.

At 1st was thinking of getting my sister to help on my Confinement, after discussed with my hb we had decided to get a CL. My hb & i thk that women who just gv birth should really rest well & get as much 'poo ping' as possible, thats why we engaged an experienced Cl. If your mum had the experienced on cooking the confinement dishes & others preparation, then can go for it lor...

hmmm trying to remember what i did during confinement, but mine very different coz i was in Manila where my mum had 4 maids, and i had my maid to help also, plus hb was very hands on and my mum and sis helped out all the time. this time we've decided to deliver here in singapore, so not sure what's gonna happen. hb says will get my mum's cook to teach our maid to cook confinement food. But this depends if my current maid will stay or not... if it's a new maid dunno when how we're gonna do that.. jsut pray thngs will workout i guess.

piglettail, dunno if PT maid will do all the baby stuff.. specially the bottles coz think you'll need to have lots of bottles to last till the PT maid comes back again. But it's not good for you to be washing and getting your hands wet during confinement so maybe hb can help you wash?

hi casa... welcome!

actually, what does a confinement nanny really do? i'm not really keen to hire one coz i think by now i have my style with the baby (which is a bit westernized) and I'm scared the CL will just make me more stressed out.

Hi Patsy,

You are so lucky to have some many'helpers' during your last confinement.

Well, as for my CL, she will cooks for me & hb,wash ours clothes, vacum the floor everyday, mop the floor twice a week and most important is she will clean up the whole kitchen after every cooking.

But, if you are staying with a big family, then the CL will only 'serve' the mummy & the new born BB (and others kid too if you have any).

As for me, i will feel more stress if my MIL move in & stay with me. Cause she is the quiet but 'nervous' type. My hb wanted to engage a full time maid for me, but i m worried the maid exist of the maid will be'extra' in the family cause there is no much house wrks to do since there is only me & hb in the house...so, this maid's matter will leave it a side 1st.

I m learning to cook nowdays, since i stay at home most of the time. I m still a lousy cook now ;p

blurfairy, hahaha... u better quickly go n booked if u really wan to employ cos those experienced CL veri hot ones....

my mum did my confinement when i had my gal... she cooks, bathes bb n also some of my stuff...

Patsy, for CL or confinement nanny, they basically takes care of mother n bb... bb's feed, bathes n also all stuff related to bb... she will also cook for mother n also wash mother's clothes including panties n bras....cos during confinement we are not supposed to meddles with water... some confinement ladies also help with housework n also cook for hb.... but got to check with them whether they do...

one time to take note is that when u employ a CL... other than the price she quoted u... when she first come, u must give her hongbao, n when confinement ends, another hongbao cos our EDD is around CNY another hongbao... so if she quoted u $1800, it not really $1800....

hana, if u natural birth, can massage few days after your actual day....if c-section, will be after 2 weeks... i did mine after 2weeks from actual day... for 1 weeks... it helps me...

hahaha, dorothy sure! if you can tell me the model, size and colour, i will look for you

Garfield, I'm oso having acne breakout! I'm one of those lucky women who seldom get pimples on the cheeks. Last time, only get small pimples on T-zone. After preggy, i'm getting pimples on my back, neck and cheeks! I didn't know pimple cream can be bad for baby. What are the ingredients in the cream to avoid? I've been using an acne remover leh...

hi dorothy,

I think i would go for natural birth unless baby gets too big.
So, Massage will help us bounce back to original figure ? or recover faster? =)

thanks for the info hana!!

bkkgal, i've been using my usual pimple cream all along...didn't even know not supposed to =P

i think need to have serious chat with hubby re CL this weekend. otherwise all the good ones will be booked up already....

thanks for all the info on CL

dorothy, i also dunno how often to ask the PT maid to come. yah lor, washing bb bottles, etc is a everyday-multiple-times job, even if PT maid comes in everyday dun think i can afford to have 1 whole day's worth supply of stuff so that can 'last' until PT maid comes and wash once a day hor? also not hygenic...

patsy, yes fully agree with u on the new mums should not touch water part. these little things go a long way...must keep our bodies strong and healthy to run after the children for the next 10 years mah.

yeah tonight im going to ask mum again regarding where to find CL help/PT maid...but also must wait until weekend then can seriously discuss with hb on this.

yes,i've been experiencing some pimples on my back, nearer to the neck and shoulder area. dunno of it's becos bb or becos of the weather.

l have pimples on my back & very bad too on my both laps.. ;(
Had consult my gynae, according to him i can take some pills to control the pimples instead of applying lotion.
Hopefully it will disapear after gvg bith.

Thanks for info Hana! Everytime I see a pimple on back or neck, I just thank God it's not on the face. It's not like I'm gonna put on a backless gown after baby comes lor....

Piglettail, if you breastfeed, you won't need a whole day's supply of bottles lah. Unless you're planning to pump from Day 1...

hi casa, yah.. was quite lucky.. but my parents have aren't over the passing away of Sabie so we didn't think it wuld be a good idea for me to deliver there again. We stay alone, and no inlaws to help cause hb's mum has passed away and we're not close to his bro and his wife. So i guess will just have to work things out ourselves this time. BTW, if you plan to hire a maid, you may want to hire one before you deliver, so you can train her and observe her first.

thanks dor, i guess i wo't hire one anymore, cause i will definitely have a maid here and hb helps around a lot. it will be too crowded in our house with another adult, specially if my mum comes over.

piglettail, yah, for my first one i didn't bathe for a month except for to wipe with herbs every day. so smelly!! but i guess it's for long term good..

i'm also having pimples all over the back and shoulders. guess hormones?

hi hana, yes... the massage is supposed to be removed the "wind" in the tummy after bb comes out... also to bounce back to yr weight...

i think best is to ask gynae whether the pimple is ok to use...

wow, seem like most of the ppl 's outbreak is on the back... mine on the face... sob sob... last sat, i had xue ha... i asked my gal to take some too... told her will make face pretty... guess what she told me... "mummy, then u take loh cos yr face not smooth"

bbkgal, if u breastfeed, we should still pump... to stimulate more milk....

patsy, u good leh... i bathe twice during my confinement... cos cant tahan... i wipe with white wine... to reduce wind....

no lah...dorothy - i also have pimples on my face. just had 3 big ones around mouth area that just healed *touch wood* hopefully no more pls =P

today had dinner appmt...wah super bloated after that even though i ate very little and slowly. feel sharp pain under the bra area, where the gastric is i think. but after removing my underwired bra, the pain is gone. think i may invest in some non wired bras over the weekend.

anyone knows the relationship between underwired bras and blocked ducts? still waiting for eileen to enlighten me = )

dorothy,
u so fast in wk 17 ah? me still at 16+ wks, eagerly waiting for the first baby kick.

not confirmed boy yet, though 2 docs have guessed that it's a boy, and i also have a feeling that its a boy.

JD/ Dorothy,
the doctors here try to push for circumcision leh. It is supposedly " cleaner" and better for the boy lah, and done the day after the bb is born. I suspect docs say circumcise cos the more procedures they do, the more money they earn too lah.

I also got little bumps on my forehead that look like clogged pores. Quite sian, cos even when I was going thru puberty, also dun have.. sigh, now so old then get acne.

garfield,
ya, i've read somewhere before that no-wires is better, but cant rem why liao. Anyway, no-wires also more comfortable mah.

Hi all MTB,

I have been reading your forum for some time now. Only decided to intrude into your "private" conversation to meet new friends and learn more.
I already have a girl in P2 this year and is expecting my second one which is EDD on 21/2/08.

I suppose I am slightly luckier than most here since I got the green light from my hubby to quite my job (last month) and currently working part time now. Hoping to work from home next year as I do not trust placing my new born and my P3 girl with only my maid.

I am also experiencing pimple breakout on my back which does not seems to get any better though I am in my wk 14.

As for wired or non wired bras, I personally still prefer wired ones. I was 34C before preg and now has grown one cup bigger. My breasts sagged quite a bit after my first birth. During the 10th to 11th week of my second pregnancy, I tried wiring the non wired bras (supposedly to be supportive from Marks and Spencer) and can see my breast sagging slightly as compared to wearing a wired one. So now I wear the wired one even though it does hinder the milk duct's development. I know that cos my milk duct is growing upwards towards my arm pit!

hi, fairfield, i see abt the circumcision... but i dun rem hearing that from friends loh unless for religion puroposes...
ya, me today is week16 n day6....

haha, fast hor....

garfield, i dun think abt wired bra and blocked ducts... cos i know that my existing bras cant last me for long... n i thought m bras are usually non-wired(correct when if i wrong)...

hi cecilia, welcome....wow, yr gap veri big hor.... me too have a gal who is in pri 1.... stress hor... how u cope huh????
i staying in the east....u?

I am in week 15 now and will be week 16 plus when i see my gynae at the next appointment. Do u think i can see the gender already?

Just bought a few non-wired bras finally cos I am also becoming breathless in the wired-ones and they are becoming so tight! The non-wired ones felt heavenly! (Although the shape not as nice)

I din have much pimples, only occassionally before and after pregnancy. But my skin is not as good as before. Probably due to lack of "tender loving care" due to tiredness.