(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Tute,

Have you tried to find out from C what happens in school? Maybe ask probing questions like do you read or sing or dance or paint? I realised when I ask general questions like "how's school?" "what do you do in school?" - it's hard for their 3yo brains to process that and answer you. So, I have to ask "did Aunty Nellie read a story today? what was it abt?" and lead on from there.

Some kids may take longer to adjust to school esp if it's first time gg. K took more than 1 month to get used to Pat's but with SJCK, she is so happy to go, maybe cos the anxiety of new environment has eased up, she is "experienced" so to speak. School bus definitely helps to make the experience fun!

I think maybe finding out what's happening in school and what is it that makes him anxious will help.

re: values, money etc

I learnt something useful from an experienced parent this weekend. A friend of mine has a daughter in P5 in a top school. His dd is in the top class. One day, she came to him and asked for permission to open FB account. Her whole class has FB accounts. My friend told her to go and think of 10 good reasons why she should have FB and 10 reasons why not. 3 days later, she came back. Of cos she didn't have all the reasons but she reasoned out with my friend and came to her own conclusion that FB is not good idea for her at this age. How did my friend do it? How did he bring up his dd to withstand peer pressure?

He told me FB is just 1 small issue. There were many many issues e.g her whole class, almost everyone had an iPhone. His dd has to use payphone if she needs to call home. They stood firm from the beginning on every issue. He admitted it's easy to take the easy way out - just succumb to her and let her have whatever it is...be it iphone, FB etc. His tactic is to reason with her. Ask her to think through the issue and use opportune moments to talk to her. One day, they were at Popular, she saw one book about a young girl who was disfigured and raped by a man she met on FB. He seized on the opportunity to talk to his dd abt the consequences of managing FB acc. She admitted that she is not mature enough at this point to handle the consequences. I thought my friend did such a good job in bringing up his kids.

But I recognise that everything we do we have to put in the extra effort. I am myself guilty of being an armchair parent nowadays. With work and housework pressures, we are so tired at the end of the day, no time, no energy to correct the chidren. Not even time or patience to ask them to pick up after themselves (Yup Iso, I agree with you, too tired to push them. They pick up one thing and then distracted by other things, end up playing with more things. aiyah.) If no time to even do this, how to have time for important issues.

So tonight, I will start with small things and try to put effort to address those issues.

bkk,

thanks - i have and asked how is his day at school on a daily basis. he loves taking the school bus so typically i start from "did you take the school bus today", "did you sit in front or behind?".. problem is once i reach the topic re class, he answers based on his mood, sometimes gives me a valid answer and mostly he will just ignore my question... i think he gets tired of me asking about school as well - sometimes he will answer like when he had water play at school, he told me "he played with boats" or like he told me he doesn't like certain friend.. and i asked him why, he said "because XX does not speak properly" @_@ haiz... i asked his teacher and she said some kids are like that... there are still kids who are crying in his class, so i thought maybe a phase... just thinking how come this one phase take soooo long to overcome

will probably give it antoher month or 2, continue to monitor and hope that there is an improvement.

btw - admire your friend to stand on her ground with the daughters. i have niece and nephews stepping into Secondary schools and sometimes I feel my sis gives too much freedom to them. They are all on fb and playing around with internet. What is even scary for me is the fact that my 13 yr old nephew is more well verse in internet access than my sis! keep telling her to review some tools and install in her pc to limit internet access as internet can be a very dangerous ground. sorry - out of topic a bit, just voicing out concern re kids accessing internet these days..

Re:$$
I hardly buy toys for g n even if I do most of the time is own self initiated n not in front of her. She seldom ask us to buy toys too n when we say 'no' if she ever ask , she will put them back too. This is something that I am very happy abt her, it doesn't take much to Make her happy.just 1 sweet or a pack of biscuits or half bottle of Yakult. Gues most kids r like that.

Bkkgal.. I think most kids r like that, everything spoil also buy new one, it's pretty normal. G also like that b now she noes that things can be repaired, she will say papa repair ok? So maybe we shld introduce more "ways" to solve the prob for eg sharing, borrow and repair instead of everything buy n buy. N of coz if anything spoiled by them then they must take e responsibility. I think. They can still learn, still young.

Re:lies
My major concern is this!!! G has been telling lies n not admitting her mistakes n push blames to other pp. Eg, she beats me and she denied saying it's papa . She accidentally throws things into toilet bowl n she denied when asked said it's other pp! Do ur kids behave like that?

Re: enrichment
Any of ur kids attending enrichment? How many classes per wk r they attending?

Bkkgal, g totally loves sjck!! She has been singing all day long since joining. Though I heard sjck does not prepare kids well for p1 but i am very happy that she Los forward to sch everyday. I think that is a gd start!

Tute.. Maybe some teachers r more fierce towards him? Possible for u to follow him behind sch bus, all e way to sch n c what happen in sch too? That might explain more rather than listening to e teacher side only.

Ql
I dun mind going for e run though I find e fees quite ex.. Haha , now very niao since not wrking. U signed Heidi only.

Tute
That's true I just realised it!

Re: money & buying toys
My hubby is guilty of succumbing to my kids' request to buy toys/junk food when the $ involved is not alot. I keep askg him not to do so as it cultivates bad habits. Doesn't mean itz fine if amt is small. My gal esp knows to ask for things when i m not around. She knows mummy will say no so she seldom ask me to buy thgs for her. Sometimes even ask my hubby not to let me knw the price.

Lately my hubby started to brg them to those arcade store - play games, win coupons, redeem some useless gifts. Ask hubby not to brg them there but he said the kids are v happy. Then hubby said when he was young he would b v happy whenever his father brings him to play games, etc. So i guess he juz dun want to deprive the kids. Still i dun like the idea.

stephie,
i will let you know the price again.
post it to you?

iso,
forget to let you know that big C's dental visit turns out very well.
she's very happy and regain the whiteness of 6 of her teeth. :D

Morning ladies...

Wow so many posts these 2 days!

Iso, bkkgal,
Iso, Yes i totally agree with you on the spoilt not-by-maid-but-mum part! i didn't have time to get on to 'part 2' of my FDW story...basically i was testing out the idea of not hiring another FDW should this current one start to give me problems. hb immediately shot the idea down! becos he knows i'm definately NOT going to pick up after him and MIL is not staying with us. So, for the sake of a peaceful marriage, he is firm on having help..

Re: buying things, $$ values

Think I am gulity of this in some ways...when he was below 1yo i made a conscious decision not to buy too many toys and clothes (i consider >$30 clothes per piece expensive lah). but his doting grandparents kept buying (clothes and toys) and he received lots of hand-me-downs from my SIL who has 2 kids. Most of the toys and clothes are expensive and relatively new. over time, i started to feel 'imbalanced' when i see my child wearing clothes and playing toys from others...so i started to buy buy buy. it's like as if i don't have money to buy/he's wearing fashion/playing with toys as selected by others. i have nothing against others buying things for him but can not be until the point where everything he plays/wears was not bought by me mah. so, with the 'multiple sources of clothes and toys inflow', he has alot alot...

and his dad is like many of the boys our generation, generall 'deprived' of toys when they were yound hence he is making up for it big time through him.

goodbbb
K really likes SJCK more than Pat's. I don't know what is it that is really different. But must qualify that Pat's was more like a childcare for K at the age of 2 whereas I think if she is still there now, then it's more nursery (like SJCK). I know that SJCK has gym, sand and water play on 3 days. Chapel on Fridays but the curriculum details, I don't really know. I know the broad outline e.g. this term focuses on fruits.

Like Genice, I"m also very happy that she loves school so much!

enrichment
I don't believe in hothousing my kids and have resisted bringing them to any enrichment programme. BUT one day K came back and said to me:" Mama, I hate Chinese".

WWWWAAAAHHHHH!! Panic alarm bells ringing in my head!!!!! I was absolutely stunned to hear her say that. I didn't even know she knows the word "hate". (I think I rem myself saying it at P6 that I hate chinese but that's cos I had to learn ting xie, mo xie...actual homework you know).

So, what to do? I signed her up for Julia Gabriel Mandarin EduDrama lor. Once a week, they play, they have fun. I hope to make learning Chinese fun for her so that she learns to love the language.

Bkkgal, good choice on using speech n drama to help Kate love Chinese.

Today, Raeanne was very funny, she told me that Ryan Koh (her classmate) 偷 her sweet. I am surprised she said that cos she likes to bring a box of tic tac in her pocket to school. So I asked her did she give a sweet to him. And she insisted no, he steal my sweet cos he never ask me then he take. She said at first there were 3 sweets then Ryan Koh took 1 so now only two. My gal really the 记仇 type. :p

oh piglettail, but you have a boy. imagine if you have girls!! haha. totally irresistible loh, all the cute clips, dresses, shirts, shoes, accessories. aiyo. I also find I have no *chance* to shop for my girls cos everyone, my mom, sis, mil, hubby, friends all buying so much stuff for them. So I went crazy in Barcelona, bought the zara kids stuff for them. hehe. I am guilty as charged too lah.

You know what is the best part? We mommies all buy cute stuff thinking that a few months later, i will bring these out for the kid to wear but we end up forgetting them in the drawer, bring out 6 months or 1 year later - they OUTGROW already! lagi wasteful.

Pauline
RA is so farnee. hehe. did she say "steal"? what is your response to her? did u tell her to tell teacher?

Bkkgal, yes she did. No, I didn't tell her to tell teacher. I told her to just share with Ryan so that he doesn't have to 'steal' but she got angrier instead. I think she just wanted me to say that Ryan is a naughty boy n she is a good gal. Always fishing for compliments. :p anyway, i took the opportunity to ask her to stop bringing sweets to school instead. ;)

re: enrichment
big C current CC offered Chinese Speech & Drama class and Yoga class.
signed her up for the speech & drama but didn't proceed as not enough participant.

didn't let her join the yoga as i don't know if there's any benefit for a 3yo learn yoga without adult accompanying..

pauline,
did RA learn the definition of 'steal' from you when you reprimanding the maid? so smart.

ur kids allowed to bring their own things to school? for RUth, we always tell her to leave in the car because usually, the things she wanna hang on to, are precious to her (for that day at least) and we explain other people may take from her...so better leave in car. Usually she'll comply.

I signed her up for kindermusik - which is offered in her school once a week (chargable separately). I dunno what's happening in there though. SOmetimes wish can go and peek at what's happening - but it would only distract her (and other kids).

Other than that, she goes to Alpha Gym every saturday at east coast big splash. That we let her continue for the past year cuz she likes the jumping around. I like the one hour off. ha. Also, want to hone her sporting skills in some aspect. Think gymnastics can be quite a good sport to start with young since need to be flexible.

Other things, I try to do with her at home/out on our own lor - but usually quite lazy. hee. eg swimming, fly kite, cycling, etc.

my girl watches way too much tv/youtube. Now she's addicted to Jungle Junction and all things animals.

$$$

we have been taking kiddy rides much les nowadays. I tried giving her 4 coins once (at home), telling her today, she go kiddy ride, can take 4 rides.

She asked to put into her pocket - but got no pockets in her pants, so she put in mine.

In the end, she only used 3 but we ended up buying other things like a ball, books, etc. She wanted us to buy a wall sticker for her (almost $10 for a pack!!! cuz to her it's just a sticker...) but I refused.

Huge meltdown!

Had to bluff her to bookshop, and give her a $1.50 sticker instead.

Groan.

Nowadays, am running out 'tactics' to deal with her. She's so fun and adorable, but yet also such a challenge at times!

CHINESE
my Ruth speak chinese like ang moh. groan...it's so hilarious hearing her go "wo ai ni" or "zai jian" or any other word we ask her to say.

Xy, er, no, dun think so cos my maid hasn't done things like that in 1 yr plus. I think she learnt the concept cos I told her taking without asking is stealing when she took mei mei's toys n when we watch drama serials together n I explain to her about baddies. :p

Re: Enrichment
Looks like our feb mummies are not KS kind.. good.. haha.. dun stress ourselves. So far... G has been attending Lapbooking class, she attended for 2 terms already but i will be stopping after this term. Wanna give her a break and perhaps try something else.

Wanted to just let her go for ballet at the cc opp my place but she is totally not interested.. says she doesnt want ballet, only wants piano..but i dun think i will send for piano now maybe end of the yr.

Lezy.. sjck also offers kindermusik.. but i also dun really noe what they do.. just placy e cd that they bring home.. Ruth's gym class is not parents accompanied? WHat does she really do? I think G is not very sports inclined.. prob like e mum no ball sense.. never tot of sending her to gym class.. i think will waste my $$.. haha.. i think she run ard in parks and playgrd will be gd enuff plus e most impt factor.. she is a timid ger.. doesnt dare to sit on swings and even kiddy rides ( doesnt want the rides to move!)so i am quite sure she will not do all the monkey bars and stuffs..plus she is active enuff for me.. not forgetting i have a SUMO K who is fast catching up.. so.. erm.. beinf a little "inactive" is gd for me.. haha

XY.. yoga seems interesting.. wonder what they do..

Genice, Raeanne is also very timid. Dun want kiddy rides to move. Sometimes, I wonder how much enrichment classes I should sign RaeAnne up for. Now, she only has yamaha music every Sat afternoon. And I'm not keen to add more. But hubby thinks that she doesn't seem to be very interested but I think it's too early to tell n i really hope she can learn piano one day. So we've agreed to give it another term to try out. I wonder if at 3 years plus, it's too early to know if she has any interest in music/piano lessons. Or should I let her try ballet or swimming instead? :p

I am also worried that I'll end up like my cousin, her no. 1 has shicida, jap and music classes while her no. 2 has music and shicida classes. She initially wanted no. 3 but she changed her mind cos she said she's too tired ferrying the 2 kids for enrichment classes over the weekend. She is FTWM and her kids don't attend childcare so all the classes cramped over the weekend. But at least her MIL and maid look after n ferry the kids to school in the weekdays and her younger sis even helps her bring her no. 2 for music class on Sat. I don't want to deprive my kids of fun n outings during weekends but yet I don't want to miss the 'prime' 0-3 yrs stage when they are supposed to learn things fastest. Dilemma. :p

Xiaoyun,
Send by post shd be fine. U let me know k?

Genice
Have nt started any enrichment class for shawn. For cherylin, she is taking ballet now. Started last year when she was 5 yo. Other than that, did nt send her for any other enrichmt class.

Jeannie,
He only takes school bus for going home, in the morning we drop him off on our way to work. I am also ethinking that maybe it is also because of language barrier. He speaks mostly bahasa at home and English? Anyway past 2 days he's willin to go but still cry when I leave him though he will stop not long after I go (I try to wait and hear for few min before going).

Re enrichment,
Cayleb goes to Sunday school on Sundays and with school from mon - fri, I feel that if I get him to attend enrichment then we would not have a free day to relax or just go to the park etc or simply a day where we do not have to rush here and there. When he is bigger I may want to enroll himto some music class but now I feel that I want him to enjoy his childhood

stephie,
sent you an email to your lycos address.
did you receive?

basically it's $7.80 (include postage) and do you want the free kodomo toothpaste sample?

I do piano a little with her at home - but not very regular. She's more interested in dancing, playing drums, blowing harmonica while *I* play the piano, not her.
Oh well, i guess i have to take a step back and just try to continue to foster her interest in music.

I want to expose her to as much activities as possible and let her have the chance to choose what she likes - as in, if she never tried, then she wouldn't know mah right?

Currently, with gym on Saturday mornings, it's already a struggle to put in any other activities without tiring EVERYONE out. I find that with one main activity a day, everyone can be fun and well-rested. When we try to cramp in 2-3 activities, it becomes a little stressful and tiring. I learnt this from a friend.

GYM:
Currently, the curriculum is mostly group warm-up. I find that useful in trying to get her to comply with what other people are doing and then slowly, learning to do it right.
After the warm-up, they break up into the various age groups/competency levels. There's running and stationery trampoline exercises, learning to do basic rolls (eg forward rolls), hanging on bars, balancing beam etc.
Sometimes they also do 'fun' exercises like balancing things on their heads - mostly to hone their fine and gross motor skills, improve hand-eye coordination etc. We don't peep in that much because once she sees us she gets distracted. So it's usually KFC/Starbucks/skating time for us/me. (my mum goes yoga at the same time too at the yoga studio next door. But the timing overruns the gym class timing so I don't go.)

I dun think I'll sign her up for anything else for now. It seems pretty enough to occupy us. Sundays sometimes we bring her swimming (if she isn't suffering from cough/running nose). If not, then sometimes we drive to JB to eat and shop. If not, then just stay home play or go parks.

We bought a little trampoline for her at home - cuz our cousin has one too. She loves it and jumps on it almost everyday. Very cute. Zaps her energy faster.

My Ruth, is an adrenaline junkie. She can't get enough of thrill-seeking stuff like sitting high up on daddy's shoulders, 'flying' through the air like superman (we carry her), or being carried high up above our heads, or swinging her wildly, or twirling her round n round etc.

I should be quite fit...but unfortunately, i'm not. haha.

tute...just share an experience.

my colleague's son is about our children's age. He used to attend one CC but cry all the time. She eventually decided to switch CC after she couldn't find out why.

The day she left, ANOTHER teacher pulled her aside and told her that the teacher in charged of her son did not treat him well/fairly and not nice to him it seems.

Her son is at another CC now and very happily going to school everyday.

Hope this isn't the case for Cayleb?

Lezy, so good that u can teach Ruth piano (though she is not interested now). It's great that she can go for gym class unaccompanied, Raeanne refused to let us go when I tried bringing her for phonics class at cc. But she was initially ok to go to the ikea playground alone but too bad a little boy spooked her there. :p

Thanks Pauline. I suspect when she's older, I may still have to send her to 'formal classes' since it's usually very hard to teach your own kids. Not sure how that is going to happen though.

I think I need to go research a little more on how to teach children. I taught a primary school kid once - found that I'm not very good at communicating to children then (was only in Uni so maybe still not patient enough). I think to teach elementary music..need certain skills so shall try to research on that.

gym unaccompanied
it was actually accompanied for about 1 year. then she switched to the 'older kids' class - which is unaccompanied. I had to be with her once or twice...and slowly sneak off...and thereafter there were some instances she made a fuss but the teachers were generally quite good i guess and managed to get her to join in the 'fun'/other kids.

Now she will walk in herself. Phew.

lezy,

for your colleague's son - does he cry all the time in school?

i do worry and have a negative thought that it may be the teacher who is not treating him well but then he seems ok after returning from school daily.

i think i'll do a surprise 1-2 visit to the school over the next 1-2 weeks to see how C is doing. really hope it is not due to the teachers as i'm not sure where else to send him

Thanks all for the input !

Wow! So many comments.

Bkkgal, i got mine at amk central. Which product do u need? I check for u.

Xy, mine eats but he doesn't want to feed himself n will play a fool when i asked him to. Same thing happ 3 a day. Sianz.

Money/toys
My boy is a big thomas fan. He can stand for hours to look at Thomas toys in toysrus if I let him. So far I always tell him that he has a lot of toys at home n I'm not going to buy anymore toys coz they are not expensive. It was his birthday recently n he has received even more toys.

Enrichment
I have recently started my boy for swimming. Other than this no more. I'm trying to improve his mandarin coz we speak to him mainly in English. I made enquiries at berries n found their curriculum simple for this age. So I just read more n speak more to him in Mandarin. Within a month, he can understand what I am saying mostly but he replied in English other than "bu yao". ;)

I'm a little mortified. My colleague's son is K2 and has his first spelling and ting xie today.

The english word he has to spell is C-E-R-E-A-L

The chinese word is 蔬菜

Whatever happened to boy-girl-home-toys-hand-foot-face etc

or 人,日,一,二, 三,etc etc???????

I dread to think by the time Ruth has her first spelling/听写, I'll be checking dictionary everyday...

Lezy, kekeke, I have already gone through the baptism of fire when I taught relief teaching for 1 day at nearby primary school. The english spelling test consisted of words, phrases and full sentences! Then their maths lessons needed them to know 3x and 6x timetables. I was so shocked. Then, I kaypoh and flipped through my neighbour's kid pri 1 chinese textbook. Gosh! for the highlighted chinese characters in the passage, I only learnt in Pri 4-5 lor.

That's why I don't dare to play play cos I don't want to engage a private tutor for her at Pri 1 (like one of my cousins). So I put RaeAnne in a CC that puts emphasis on academics though not so much fun and interactive play for the kids. :p

Hi, Eliaw

Congrats! Enjoy your pregnancy!

tute,
My E still begged not to go to school almost every morning/night after one year. Well, we solved one problem and another----first English speaking, insensitive to loud scolding, half day to full day CC, play with younger children. One of their teachers is very good, and E showed much improvement especially at fine motor skills under her. We feel that the rest of teachers like and adore every child, though E may be not that adorable. We are still doing puzzle of figuring out how to make E like school. Stressed hoh?

tubao,
so E is not liking school too? how did you figure out the problems one by one? yes... very very stress... today i purposely took 0.5 day leave to do a surprise visit to the school, but in the end C refuses to go to school and make a lot of noise then he mentioned that the kids in school are naughty, and that they hit him... Not sure what had happened before but I have to talk to the teacher.

Tute,

Guess that E liked some parts of school such as outdoor play, singing, dancing, playing with other kids etc. Figure out problems one by one....... from our observation and my colleague's whose child was at the same CC from 18month to K2 graduation , her CC teachers are all honest and trustful, and I never doubt that E is social kid since she plays with neighbor kids daily; she will show somehow withdrawn and extra reluctant to go to school if there's any problem, one of us---hubby and I will spend 2 or 3 nights playing with her until her falling asleep. E will babble and talk a lot at bedtime. Most of clues we got from there. Her CC doesn't allow parents peeping after initial 3 days.

Guess that E is studious, she may not have problems at primary school even we didn't know some of the problems. Well......

Get your hubby's help on detective work. By his photography, He seems meticulous and intelligent.

For hit by other kids, E always hide the facts from us ----same as my niece. They always try to protect their friends/fellows. But E's teachers sometimes wrote on her communication book to explain bruises/scar on her face/body. For E hitting is not an issue of attending to CC. Every child is different, only parents know the child best. Relax, C is very intelligent and playful boy.

Hi to All Mummies,

Am looking for Enfagrow 1.8kg etc (Netherlands) bought from local stores, do let me know if you've any excess that you would like to clear off, would be keen to take all if the price's ok. =)

Pls PM me if you've any.

wah i haven't posted for so long i stopped receving the email notices for posts, lol. wondering why everyone so quiet.

XY
oh great! where did she do the RCT in the end? poor girl, i think even i would be scared to do!

piglet
are you my SIL?!? LOL my hubby also q poor when young, now buy too many things and gadgets.

enrichment classes
i am so lazy to bring them, because of what lezy and the rest say, takes so much energy to bundle everyone into the car, bring all the barang, bring them home, etc. i just signed up for a family package at gymboree though, which i think #2 will benefit more than #1, but hopefully they will enjoy it.

genice
what is lapbooking? i read about it briefly, and it seems interesting. can share more?

chinese
from what i hear from everyone, it seems that ALL kids start with speaking it with ang moh sounding accents. but i'm sure with us speaking it to them often they will slowly pick it up. And if your kids understand but don't reply you in chinese, don't worry, eventually they will. i'm so glad that my MIL only speaks chinese (or cantonese), so E's chinese is pretty decent. heck, even my chinese improved leaps and bounds since i was living with them. haha.

tute
have you spoken to his teachers? cos he was ok at first then now not ok, maybe something happened?

bkk
talk about being too tired.. i don't envy you guys as FTWMs, even i'm too tired sometimes (because my dear michelin baby thinks he needs milk in the middle of the night). and sometimes i feel too tired or lazy to put in any effort to engage them i just let them watch tv.

I think the wake up point was seeing how excited E is whenever one of the grandmothers come over, made me realise that E must think I'm really boring to play with!

clover/bkk,
can advise which phyto product is effective?
wanted to get for my mum. if possible, help me buy if it's special cheap from market?
get from you in next gathering?

clover,
i already given up asking her to selffeed.
she can do it very well in school but refuse to do it at home.
if she can eat then i very happy already, nver mind about self-feed or not. :p

tong,
next gathering? Good Friday? Marina barrage?

clover,
so it's > $99 /L?

iso,
surprisingly they greyish color of big C's front teeth slowly faded. probably the nerve is not totally dead - just injured? :p
no need to go through RCT :D

Iso,
haha...maybe i am your SIL afterall ;) think such behaviour is quite common in our generation. humble beginings-study hard-now indulge through the kids.
dunno if our kids, now born right into a comfortable environment, will continue to the have the fighting spirit/hunger to succeed like the grandparents/parents or not... sigh. it's a catch 22 situation.
dun buy--like very mean, esp when we will buy like 2-3 pairs of shoes for ourselves
buy--afraid kids will grow up to think they are entitled to a comfortable life and lose the drive to succeed that stems from hardship

Xy thanks. I couldn't make it to the gathering again cuz going to do volunteering work on good Friday. U gals enjoy k

XY
oh good to hear!! i can't imagine poor kids having to go thru RCT..

piglet
that's a concern my hubby has as well, although i feel he is the one who spoils the kids more! haha. but i guess being aware of it is the first step, and like the other mummies have been discussing, we will have to figure out ways to instill the value of money .

extreme story i heard yesterday when i went to buy a camera at the camera shop - a 19yr old boy came into the shop to buy a $19k lens (dunno what for), but the shop only takes cash so he came back the next day with his mum who brought $19k in $50 and $100 notes (not sure why if they have so much money they don't have $500 and $1k notes?? anyway..). which was actually all from his allowance. which he saved up in 6 months. he gets like $2.5k a month, and every weekend when he visits his grandparents he gets like $700-800 from them. Like what?!?!

And no, the boy is not a professional photographer. Just an ACS boy. LOL!

iso,
yes possible...think the boy's family run their own business and collect cash revenue everyday type (e.g coffee shop owners, rice sellers). cos $500/$1k notes usually need to change from the bank...
the allowance he gets is crazy... but at least he saved 6 months for it. but still!

>> $$ issue,

difficult to solve hoh? quite headache....

we are still at trial &error stage to see which is effective. Now we're trying to only grant some of requests E sent, to let her know if it's not her $, she is at others' goodwill. Apparently she is not accepting it well, meltdown here and there.

See today's news
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/World/Story/STIStory_653544.html
New York City to consider banning fast-food toys

Difficult to be a good parent hoh? Even my helper sometimes encouraged me by saying that God knows that you can do it, so give you 3 kids. Honestly.....I don't feel motivated every time I hear that.