(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Ironing qn: how to iron delicate materials or those with "sheen" without burning the clothes?put hankie over or there's some other way? I can do it myself the convetional way but maid can't seem to master my "skill".so trying see if there other soln..

Gar, if put hankie over does it mean I shd use regular (cotton) heat setting?now using low heat without hankie n my clothes looks like not ironed lor. Patience running thin liao. If she turn up the heat she will burn the clothes.

Helper
If u get one, it's mentally tiring to manage her. If you dun have one, it's physically tiring. So, what gives?

My helper made me quite pissed off yesterday. She didn't do things right. I had to serve her food. She stood around not helping my hb n myself out with the two kids. Asked her if something is bothering her n she said no. This morning woke up with the most swollen eyes which I know she was crying last night. Maybe it's her family problems again, but she is very emo lor. No one is perfect, so I can't expect her to be the most cheerful person but do I need to cope with her mood swings??

piglet
omg are our hubbies brothers?? cos they are the same. MIL is a supermum, which means he is q useless at home *roll eyes*

clover
sometimes they q buay zi dong hor.

gar
i was just thinking about the ang mohs that day. guess they have no choice so they just have to grin and bear it. i feel we're quite lucky because we can hire help, we sometimes have the choice of whether we want to work or stay home, we can sometimes rely on grandparents...

Pigletail,
Ya you have to increase the setting to regular if you are ironing over another piece of cloth. Or invest in the pre iron spray. Quite good.

Clover
Know what you mean. At the end of the day it's personal choice

Iso
Yes we are lucky cos the garmen deliberately make it affordable to hire maids to facilitate more working moms. And we are Asian plus SG so small so parental help is usually a phone call away for most of us. But I don't find singaporeans appreciative in general leh. Maybe cos we've never experienced true hardship before.

re: ironing
another way is to get steam iron - those standing one used in boutique.
it's good for delicate clothes, clothes with lots of foldings. it takes a while to be familiar to the technique.
after you master it, can iron clothes quite fast.
i ironed about 30 clothes last night in 45 minutes.

Gar,

Thanks! can i use a nappy cloth instead of handkie- will the nappy clothe be too thick? What's a pre iron spray? it's not Kwik Starch hor?

XY
I'm impressed, how did u do it? actually i have the standing steam iron and its the my biggest white elephant in the house! dunno how to use it myself even. when i hang the cloths on hanger and 'hook' it to the metal portion, the hanger keeps moving and i have to keep adjusting. in the end i took 45min just to iron 1 dress and used the whole steamer of water. after 2-3 times i just dump the iron 1 side...

Iso,
haha i think a number of our hb are 'brothers'... ;-)

Maid
Quite a number of maid/hb/mil politics to handle at home these few weeks. i'm quite drained ... haiz.
had a chat with hb and brought up the prospect of no maid. he immediately rejected citing i'm too slow in house chores/cooking. i retorted of cos the hubs will have to help out lah. finally he admited he does not want to spend his spare time doing chores. Thus the maid to do 'his share of chores' or whatever that was meant to be his portion in the equation. but i just want to highlight that to him that having a maid is not a simple quick-fix and fuss free solution to his 'problems' as they are to me. cos to relieve 'my (house chore) problems' i actually have to deal and manage 'human politics' which is another job in itself.
just need to rant after taking all these nonscence for the past month...

There there pigletail. Rant away! We are here for u.

What u said hits the nail on the head lor. Between physical exhaustion or emotional distress, I think I prefer physical bah. So far, 2 weeks gone and yes at times do feel like crying (eg when bb high fever and vomit on bed, change bedsheet middle of night, tired to the max carrying her to sleep, #1 mess up everything create more work for me), BUT I think of how I dun need to put up with nonsense from mil, no more complaints maid never do this, always do that, maid eat so much, sleep all day, or see maid face, I'm quite happy.

My hb's reasoning to keep trying for another maid also the same. But so far none suitable so I'm also ok to keep maidless.

Our sporean standards seriously gotta drop lah. Too fastidious for our own good. Rem I asked abt floor and kitchen cloth in washing machine? I haven't done it yet but last week, mil saw me soak kitchen cloth in small basin used to hsndwash kiddy clothes she already nag me! She got basins for everything, delicates, kitchen, children. She will SURE faint if I throw kitchen towel and floor cloth inside machine.

Lezy
Yr post is hilarious! Haha! So she got a set of clean pearlies for no good reason! Lol.

Maid -

Why I was very very keen to get my current maid back is cuz of all these potential issues - some of which I've faced before my other maids when my granny was staying with me.

One was too greedy (eats a lot and only wants good stuff), one was too vain (steals my lotions/creams to use, hankers after my clothes, etc), one was too shrewd though communicates well (too well) and cooks excellent food (too excellent - put MSG without us knowing).

So for my current, I practise some of the following:

- Dun expect our standards. (if we find it tiring to manage a household already, then what more someone who is supposedly, not as capable as ourselves? I honestly think I'd find it quite challenging - at least initially few months - to manage an entire household plus look after kid etc.)

- Give instructions bit by bit. (Allow months for settling down into routine. Give basic chores first, then when routine is established, add more chores to the picture. I find that she copes better and makes less mistakes this way.)

- Simple maid with clear focus on why she's working in SG. (simple means a little stupid sometimes so it's a tradeoff. Simple means no incessant gossiping with other maids. No constant comparison. No vain pots. No fussy/choosy/greedy eater. etc)

- Fair treatment to her. (allow her rest times - afternoons for 1-2 hours if possible but if there's things to do, she'll have to 'work' la; weekends can wake up a little later; bring her out when we have family celebrations that are appropriate, give her angpao on special occasions.)

- Mix of methods in dealing with her. (Sometimes try to reason, sometimes scold. Sometimes I scold, my mum step in. Sometimes the other way round. Sometimes praise, sometimes keep quiet. Talk to her firmly, but not yelling like a crazy person helps for me. Sometimes i let go - but i tell her actually i let go so she appreciate.)

But all this is only if the maid also don't take advantage and we set expectations right at the beginning (that we will start with simple chores..then build up to more things). I think it helps when you get a 'simple and honest'kind of personality - and not those very shrewd ones.

Iso,
Oh, I had one maid who called the kids ''dear'' too. I quickly put a stop to it and told her, their names are K and S, please don't call them dear.

Feedback
Where will all this feedback go? I checked out the link. All sounds like personal grouses to me. The Minister probably also thinks we are all a bunch of spoilt brats.

Cleaning services
Anyone used cleaning service companies before? Can give me some feedback/reviews? Trying to push my ' domestic agenda' - first, i get tingkat, then sign up cleaning package, get in the regular cleaners, then i go buy technology that will help us cut down chores. haha.

Piglettail,
Exactly! And somehow hubby's physical tired part transfer to ours mental drained part if we hire maid. Now I starts to let hubby go back to do some housework and manage maid also. Quite pleased with his housework part yesterday, he cooked tasty 4 dishes---2 vegs, 2meats and one soup in 40 minutes. I think that he raised the bar among MIL, maid, me and him in terms of cooking.

Bkk,
My mum is the same as your MIL & sweetpea's MIL. Different basins for each thing, each one. Well, washing machines nowadays come with a high temp cycle. Mine is up to 90Deg to kill the bacteria, hopefully.

When I was in US last time, and was puzzled that there was no place to sun dry clothes. All clothes went into dryer. I kinda of imaging what my mums says and thinks. Well, U.S developed faster than Europe where linen and other iron-necessary clothes are more appreciated.

Xiao yun,
Impressive! 30 clothes in 45 mins!!
Which steam Iron you use? where to get them? I don't have one yet.

>>housework,
I will teach my kids both hand wash & machine wash clothes. Good for them.

But at my present situation, speeding up housework time with quality somehow compromised is better solution.
Maybe we can share how much time for each housework? If we can shorten our time spent on housework daily for husband and wife each to 30mins---1hour, it's better not to hire maid just because of house chores.

>>Boobs
Now I am still breastfeeding, can't tell the difference, though I am mother of 3. But after reading all your posts, before it gets too late, can anyone shares how to prevent it? Any cream effective?

I totally ignored my face since twins were born. Do mummies here still have routine facial maintenance and how long does it take?

Garfield/bkk,
Do you still organize bp for good face solutions? I am interested. Is it too late?

piglet
yah the hubbies expect us to manage maid AND have like everything all set in place right?? sometimes my hubby will question why like this why like that, wah liao. Lucky my maid a bit smart so if he ask anything she will quickly do to make him happy. i think she know i a bit irritated when he does that, hee.

bkk
yessss i think sometimes it's hard to get people to think objectively instead of just airing grouses - a lot of the time on the dialogue was wasted that way, like a woman who was complaining about her boss in the advertising industry. I wanted to tell her, been there, done that, but you don't expect ALL industries to be able to have flexibility and work-life balance, do you? I think there are going to be some jobs which you will just have to give up instead of expecting it to change for your needs.

tubao
90deg!! do your clothes wear out faster?

gar
haha.. i think an objective focus group would be good. but if she has a lot of minions with time to spare they could probably spend their days sifting through the forum for some thoughts too.

thanks for all your encouragement and listening to my rants!

Iso,
exactly exactly! i face the exact same scenario as you described. my maid is super smart so she will quickly do to appease hb too.

bkkgal,
my mum also has basins for everything, haha. for my mil she only has 3-4 basins but she will 'separate and wash in different batches'. at least can use back the same basin lar.
no maid- then is your hb going to help out? or is he going to remain status quo as if there is a maid around?

Home cleaning - do u mean the professional ones that comes in a team for each visit? my previous boss used one, according to her they were quite good and efficient as there were 4 ppl working at the same time thus she only needs to be home for 2hrs or so vs a single PT cleaner that will take 4-5hrs. All cleaning tools and detergent provided too. Not cheap though. I cant recall the name now but it's one of the bigger/pioneer companies in SG and the name for sure has "Home" and "Clean" in it. Perhaps u can try to google for it?

Iso,
Clothes wear out faster. It doesn't matter.

Garfied/bkk,
Don't want me as your facial products' customer? Sob sob......

HI Tubao

Sorry, I was not able to get on a laptop. Usually, I can reply only at work (ironic huh?). when I take leave to care for children, I can only steal minutes to catch up with email or forum.

Though we have no BP now (seriously, too busy), I can offer you one for one for the stock I have on hand. You can see what you like on this: www.tttbeauty.wordpress.com

Maybe you can tell us what you think is your problem areas? Gar can recommend products and a regime for you.

piglettail
i dun need those heavy duty 4 person teams. Just need 1 PT cleaner come to my place 2x a week to do the floors, toilet, change sheets, ironing...simple stuff. I was wondering if anyone used those Ah Ma on wheels kind of services before.

I'm happy that hb tries to help out here and there at home. Dinner dishes are his duty. Sometimes he sianz when he sees me sweeping/mopping after kids sleep, so he also try to share the load so that we can quickly do our office work. haha, he feels pressured when he sees me doing "more" than him lor. But i also feel sorry for him in a way lah...esp after coming back from work trip, so shag and tired, still have to help out.

Hb looking for PA/admin. Job scope mainly to manage his schedule, travel itineraries, claims, meetings, org dept mtgs, and some office admin, inventory work. Requires assertive, mature, organised personality.Work hours are : mon-fri 9-6pm. Sat half day. Office in orchard. Usual staff benefits apply. He's an understanding boss, sometimes may be stressy due to deadlines but understanding to bf-ing mummies, he is family friendly (I'll make sure!). If anyone knows anyone interested, pl pm me.

re: ironing
piglettail,
i scalded my hands many times before i master the technique. the first time i used also took about 10 minutes to iron the clothes yet it's not straight enough. :p
i find it's very good for ironing satin, thin cotton clothes. not good to iron men's shirt, it's not straight enough.

tubao,
it's the standing steam iron. can get at isetan, carrefour, CK tang, etc.
last time only a few brands - Novita, etc. now many more manufacturers and they are pretty cheap - $59 can get one.

re: basins for different purposes
same same. my mother and MIL all like that. mother will nag nag nag if we use the wrong one. MIL will hint hint and close 1 eye if i use the wrong one.

hi xy,

the $59 is which brand?will the $59 be able to do the ironing job well?i find that if hand wash no need to iron so hard

I see.. Cos i know it's not yet officially sold in sg so curious how come u can buy it.
but its a wonderful product i agree cos we have it in our ofc. Hee.. Did u have the cookbooks too?

your office has?? how come?
it came with a "local" cookbook, but haven't tried much yet. do you have any other cookbooks in the office??

Hi mummies! Want to join another dialogue by Mrs Lim Hwee Hua?

Dear friends,

Do you find it hard to juggle the demands of a career and family at times ? Do you feel that more could be done to foster a pro-family environment and work-life balance for working parents?

If you are a Singaporean young parent or working mother, we would like to invite you to join us for a discussion on Parenthood with Minister, Prime Minister’s Office and Second Minister for Finance and Transport, Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, where you can share your views and suggestions on how the society or Government can help to make it more conducive for working parents to raise their children or have more children.

Details for session are as follows:

Date: 30 March 2011, Wednesday
Time: 7.30 p.m to 9 p.m (Registration starts at 7p.m)
Venue: Suntec International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Level 3, Room 310

Refreshments and a token of appreciation for your attendance and valuable time will be provided.

Please RSVP your attendance to [email protected] by latest 28 March, Monday.

Thank you and we look forward to your participation!

REACH

thread is so quiet.

bx,
how are you? coping well without maid?

how are all the kids? in horrible 3 already?
how's their recent behavior?

re: thermomix
is the food cooked inside are good? 2k is expensive...

the thermomix is a machine that can weigh, beat, grind, knead, steam, cook, blend, etc. you can even cook rice + 2 dishes with it! It can almost do anything but make you a cuppa ;) you can also set the temperature you want it to cook at (at intervals of 10deg).

whether the food is good or not, i think that depends on the chef? i just used it for the first time last week and it was a FAIL. hubbs has made pumpkin soup and kaya, quite nice! he wanted it cos he said all the top chefs have it and i can make baby food since you can cook/steam and blend together, but i think that was just his excuse. in the end his son is not interested in purees at all! LOL.

I'm losing hair with my #2 who's 4.5mth. Tearing even more hair with my #1 who won't sleep even tho he is v v v tired. This morning I just punished him for throwing food on the floor.

pauline- the machine can blend, mix, cook, steam

hello bx
!

xy - i tink it is a many functions in 1 kitchen aid, if u make gd use of it, it can easily replace most of ur kitchen pots cooking stuff.

iso, ql,
wow!! it sounds like an gd investment....will buy when i m maidless....else all can be done by maid n supervised by me mah....:p

btw, u guys got it fm msia?

clover,
welcome to the pulling hair club...everyday i also like dat....today i threaten to make #1 stand on the toilet bowl if he doesn t play in his quiet voice.....else mei mei wld wake up mah..then i will pull out more hair....

leila
ya actually true, easy to use since it's one machine that can do all. that day i used it i feel my maid like v free. haha!

btw mummies anyone know where i can find some nice classic ramekins for baking like apple crumble or something? ikea used to sell but recently like no more.

clover,
my hair starts to drop @ 3 months after delivery. cut it short and get it permed now close my eye on the hairs drop on the floor. :p
i've got the problem with #1 disturbing #2 who's sleeping. #1 knows that she need to 'xiao xiao sheng' while mei mei sleep, but her action e.g., opening the door, running around can wake mei mei up already.

her feeding problem is better now since i threaten to let her stand outside of the main gate if she refuse to eat/doesn't finish her food. hope it continues..

re: high tech gadgets
excuse excuse... since they are paying for it, why not? :p

iso,
cream soup is easier to make - just heat up and blend.
probably your dish is more difficult that's why it fail?
A doesn't like puree? he went straight to porridge?
i prefer puree + cereal than feeding porridge. at least i can make sure she has more vege and cereal is iron fortified.

leila,
i sms you about the iherb order.
you can now order it yourself with Free international shipping for orders > $40. promotion ends Mar.
use my discount code KOX416 to enjoy $5 discount for first order.