(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Sleep training - I wished I started earlier, now Heidi takes over our master bed while i sleep in the other room with Hayden, but yesterday she fell off the bed with a big cut to her lips, she really look like a goldfish with half the upper lips swollen ( so mean of me..ha but at the same time super heart pain to see her hurt..) dam my bed!

Pauline - ur moral sounds amusing but I tink prob I will end up paying for th extra bed but not using it cos kids r smart, they prob know sleeping on the big bed is more comfy..heh. We r looking at single size toddler bed frame now, realized mostly 600plus for those which can have attached bed rails? bed rails will b another 200 plus!(gasp) I found the ikea toddler bed very "slim"..like will hit the sides easily..so notconsidering those I suppose even though I saw 1 white color sheep design one quite cute.

Xy-little one fussed b4 bed in evening? Mine does wail n fuss a lot b4 his bedtime so in a way he indicates he needs to b put to bed coming 8plus 9pm.. Easiest sleep mtd is still latched on for now so I tink my hub will have prob coping if I travel 4 work next month...sian..the tot of it makes me worry..might b going Taipei too but boss promised short trip(2 days!!)..really need to find a new job.. No longer can bear to leave the kids behind when I need go travel 4 work..feeling super sian

xy,
S was very high-maintenance ( need to be carried, talked/sung to all the time whenever he was awake) when he was a baby. Not sure if its a coincidence but he was carried by my parents A LOT when he was first born.

Now the younger one also super high-maintenance and cries a lot. Sigh! And i always thought if i got a difficult one liao, 2nd one will be an easier bb...

pauline,
u still latch to sleep now? HB super scared that i will do that for #2 cos i had to latch for #1. And now he keeps telling me everyone tell him to do Cry It Out for baby to sleep thru the nite... sian.
My thinking is that eventually all babies will be able to sleep thru the nite, so i just got to be patient and wait for the day to come. Can't bear to do that, and also feel its not the "natural" way lor.

Qingling, when we went to Penang in June, we got the extra bed n made sure she sleep first before we sleep so she slept in her bed for 2 nights.

Fairfield, not that I want to latch to sleep but I am not using bottles unless I go out. By the time, I settle the big one n small one is hungry, it is usually close to her bedtime. :p my hubby also say CIO but I always bu she de to hear the crying. Think CIO will work if I am not at home to hear it. :p

kitsune
ah ok... we also made a mistake by moving E into our bedroom for #2's arrival at IL's place. Now at our own place he has his own room and #2 sleeps w us. Sometimes in the middle of the night he can come and look for me like twice to sleep with him in his room. Make me quite tired!!

Re: difficult babies
My #2 used to be good during my ML. After my maid came, he managed to get more attention coz we more free, so now he wants to be carried. Don't wanna play on his own. Must carry and walk ard. And I was still rejoicing abt having an easy baby. Sigh...

Re: sleeping arrangement
#1 sleep with ILs and #2 with us. Very good.

hi ladies...

anyone with your No. 1 still NOT sleeping through since birth? Mine still wakes up once at 2/3/4am for milk and again at 6am.

Really draining on me .... when is this going to end?

piglettail,
Can. 6~7 days are reasonable if you do not plan to drive. But many Singaporeans will plan a few days at Taipei and go others part.
My 1st trip in Taiwan was during Christmas(That was when I still don't know by husband yet). I flew to Kaoshiung, took coach to Taipei and spent 4 days there, then travelled by train to Taichong & Alishan, last stop to Kaoshiung all within 7 days. Do a lot of walking. And spent $1000 include air ticket and souvenirs.
If you go jiu fen, can go to "pumpkin rock", 茶壶山very near. 野柳 by coach.

XY,
Why evening time you have to go crazy? Maybe I can help out?
Is no. 2 difficult to burp?

Pauline,
She so cute. Can say Auntie want RaeAnne mah?

tute
C has the same shirt as E? did u get it from oldnavy? i actually just bought it, and its a bit small, but managed to squeeze him in, haha.
i'm looking around for a nice cars bag and water bottle, let me know if you see any nice ones

XY, i'm reading Gina Ford's contented baby with toddler book. she sugg that some young babies are colicky coz drank more fore milk than hind milk.

toddler sleep
We have transited no.1 to his own bed. He loves his bed but will wake up once or twice at night crying for us. Think he is insecure.

XY,
Oh... You cannot eat broccoli and peanuts. They will generate colic in babies. Things will get better after 4months.

Re: difficult babies
My #1 liked to be carried, trained by my MIL. Now my #2 do not. MIL too busied with #1 that she din pay much attentions to #2. She also scared to be alone with #2 as she thinks #2 is hot-tempered.
My opinion is #2 is easier than #1. She don't hv to be carried ard, will sleep on her own. We bottlefed her at night and after the milk, she will sleep. When she is birth til 5 months, I latch her to sleep after that we tried bottlefed, so tt she can sleep on her own. It works.

Re: sleeping arrangement
#1 likes to sleep with ILs (if they are ard) and #2 will sleep with us. #1 sleep through the night after a month, while #2 sleep through at about 4 months. But she sleep early at about 930 sharp, so will wake up at 5 or 6am the next day.

small C likes ppl to carry with standing/walking too.
she behaves better this few days - at least can lie down and listen to my silly talk for up to 1 hr on good days.

i have limited success to latch her to sleep. one reason is that she needs to be burped, once she burps, she doesn't want to sleep or latch again. and also the milk on one side of my breast is not enough to knock her out. hence i now trying to burp her then put her to another side after 15 minutes.

bluegin,
i gone crazy in the evening because need to pick up big C. After that got to handle the problematic 2:
- small C that requires to be carried
- big C that refuse to take dinner.

i am now using all methods to burp her. sometimes she can burp by herself and sometimes difficult.

i didn't eat brocolli as didn't buy it. Peanut butter will cause colic too?

how's first day of work?

clover,
her poo is normal color.
i thought baby drank more foremilk will have green poo?

piglettail,
i think it's time to ignore his midnight feed. their tummy are big enough to store food to last through the night. start with giving him water instead of milk. soon he will know that there will be no milk when wake up in the middle of night.

Xy, exactly lor, that's why I end up booking sia. Think budget airlines only cheap if you book during promo or way ahead eg book now for sept 2011. :p

Hi Ladies!

Blueginger,
Thanks! Is Alisan far? this place is not mentioned by most packaged tours. do u think it's worth to spend 1 night in JiuFen?

Taiwan Tour
Took half day today and poped down to the travel agent. I have decided to do total F&E or take up one of those 'semi F&E' packages that includes 1-2 day tours, cos the whole package seems cheaper that way. need to do some comparison tonight, hmm.

Taiwan hotels: Has anyone stayed at Caeser Park (near Taipei main station) and Just Sleep (near Ximending)? How do they compare to Cosmos, See You and City Inn (aka Won Star)? One of the travel agent recomend the first two over the others, not sure if it's worth the slightly higher rate.

Toddler Sleeping Thru
I tried to give water but he rejected and spit out the bottle! then make a lot of noise...sometimes will chant "Mummy make milk,mummy make milk, mummy make milk..." i have to make to shut him up and avoid waking hb up lor. ;( Dunno if hb can tahan if i implement the cold turkey method or not. hmmm

Hi, mummies, remember the duck tour we were talking about long time ago? The jan08 mummies are trying to charter a duckie to celebrate children's day on 1 oct (fri). It costs $450 to charter on weekday (include school holiday). Max capacity is 31 passengers including toddlers Usual ticket price is $33 for adult n $2 for toddlers above 3. But if we charter, only need to pay $15 per pax assuming we hit at least 30 pax.

Please visit jan08 thread n put your names down on the list. Kam is collating, must book by end of this fri.

Duck Tour on 1st Oct, 10.30am
1. Kitsune (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3)
2. JanBB (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3)
3. Kam (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3)
4. Yvonne (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3)
5. Krystle (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3)
6. Wendyg (2 adults + 1 5yo + 1 toddler below 3)
7. Mylife (2 adult + 1 toddler below 3)

Oops, should be usual ticket (if we don't charter the Duckie) is $33 for adult, $2 for toddler below 3. Children Above 3 to 12 pay $17.

Bluegin, wah, u started working already? Not planning to be sahm d? I m getting fed up with s these few days cuz he din want me to go toilet or bathe. He is good whden he is outside but after going home he din wanna bathe, really drive me nuts. Maybe sooner I wanna go back to work too if can't stand him anymore

iso,
yeah got it from ON.. what size did you get? 2T size is still a bit big for C, maybe he is just of a small size :p

cars water bottle and bag - have you check at robinsons (raffles city)? i bought C's water bottle there... not sure if they have bag though but they used to have quite a nice collection.. i maybe going there one of the lunch hour this week so i'll let you know again

tong,
C is also having his sticky moment - won't let me bathe/eat! particularly when i just returned from work - must entertain him first... Just got worse now after spending 5 days at home and having me to look after him only.. only want me to bathe/feed/play with him...

Tongtong, Tute, tell me about it, today, whole day, RaeAnne ask me to 'bao bao'. Maybe it's because she is not feeling well. But I've also started to cough and cough syrup makes me drowsy. So tired when she is so sticky too... :p

XY,
Small C? This is a cute nick. Can train by ignoring her or 5mins then 10mins next time, etc. How abt putting her in a rocker?
Big C is easier. No kid will starve themselves. Leave her alone without giving her food, until she said she is hungry. Do not offer snack or candies in between. If she still din eat, gives her more milk during her night feed.
Burping: In sitting position on your laps, holding her chest and back with both your palms, bend her forward and backward 3 to 4 times (forward and backward consider one time). the pivoting point in her hip bone. She should be able to burp.
peanut butter i don't think so.
HeeHee. I din go to work. =P Postphone to next monday. So reluctant to work.

Piglettail,
Alishan is at Taichung, travel by train from Main Station. Middle on Taiwan. We always said if Taiwan is a 蕃薯, Alishan is the fattest part. very natural place. Cool weather. Can see sunrise or 云海 and 玉山 (Taiwan tallest mountain). 棺材板 is originated from Taichung, MUST try.
Jiu Fen is a small town, can finish walking within a day. Highlight is the 老街 and 金瓜石 (5 golden places to see). Don't think it is worth staying a night.

tongtong,
Ya. have to. $$ draining into investment. Need to earn more. Ya. my no. 2 as well. Cried when I'm out of her sight. Last night, cried the entire trip when I took the bus home after picking Channet from school. It was so terrible that I heard complaint from one of the salon's client that I visit today, saying that I ill-treated no.2

Piglettail:
Stayed in Caesar when I was in TW for biz this Apr. Its pretty good. Hear Cosmo is pretty good too. Its packed with tourist so gotta book fast. My only issue with Cosmo is that there are only 3 lifts. Lift waiting time is a little long. These hotels are located diagonally across each other. Both within 1-2 min walk from the MRT and Taipei train station. All in all, believeD that Caesar is better than Cosmo as my colleagues has stayed in both.

pauline,
didn't expect it to be so expensive.
last time we booked jetstar during promo is only < $300 pax for round trip.

clover,
looking at it, i am now trying to reduce the amount of foremilk that i feed her. pump the foremilk out before feeding.
hope can help.

piglettail,
i think that's habitual for him to ask milk in the middle of night. need to be more 'hen3 xin1' to cut his habit...

pauline,
i am interested in the duck tour!
am troubled to make arrangement while big C not going to school on 1 Oct.
got to negotiate with my mil to take care of small C while I bring big C for it.
$15 pax, does it mean that I've got to pay $30? mm.. still save $5 for me.

anyone interested too?

tong,
you need some ME time ya?
S no longer going nanny's place?

blueginger,
small C can only guai guai stay in her bouncer/swing for max 5 minutes without ppl talking to her. stays longer if we are around to swing her... really got to train her, if not mil will reject taking care of her when i go back to work.
big C can last a few hours without food even after rejects her meal. (this trait is exactly like her daddy! >.<) she seldom snacks at home already...

<font color="0000ff">$$ draining into investment</font>, means will have good returns? :p

hello all, read some of the post on babies latching to sleep.

my girl, now 31 mths used to latch to sleep and I was very frantic on how to get rid of this habit cos a lot people give me very weird comments about this habit....

but i really cannot bear to use the cry it out method because i love the bond.

truly speaking, if you dont mind, u can do it till they understand, just like our children at this age, they can already understand, so i explain to her that even if i stop the milk, that does not mean i no longer love her, i still love her as much.

so i slowly break away like no more milk on car, then no more milk in the middle of the night (she wakes up 2 times for milk) then now for the milk before sleep which is still a habit, i introduce a rule "milk 60 seconds on each side, then have a hug, then tug her safely into bed"

at this age, they can understand already. will cry a little when u unlatch,but the hug is most reassuring for her. no major heartache of tearing her away from breast if you want to break the habit...

----Colicky baby

When E is 2-4 month, every evening she suddenly bursted into loud and uncontrollable cry; and followed by at least 2 hour carrying at 2 month; half an hour carrying at 3-4month. Very exhausting period .

——Milk feeds at night
E also wakes up at 3am, 5am for milk this week; Don't know whether she wants to catch up lost weight due to last sickness. My husband told her no milk unless in the morning, and always let her cry out .

We don't know how much she eats at school breakfast and lunch.
Don't know how to increase her daytime food intake.

tubao, same situation, i cannot see how much she takes esp in the breakfast. because sometimes when i bring her out, she is still sleeping...

so i bought pediasure bottled milk recently, if she wakes up in time, i will give her FM, then pack her to school. but if she wakes up late, then i will bring the bottle of pediasure to school for her to drhink.

i tried to entice her a bottle of milk each mmorning so that i hope she will befull enough.

pediasure bottlemilk is ex sigh.

but i dont want to make FM for her to drink for breakrast in school as i cannot see what time she drinks and milk left too long, or turn cold is no good too.

XY,
Big C let her darg a few days, then she will appreciate food. Can also tell her "if you don't take food, no strength to jump around."
Make $$ in longer term.

Tongtong,
any share can yield faster return?

Xy, I have become sahm since aug la. N I figured out s became very unreasonable when he is hungry or tired. Like he din want me to mop the floor today n kept screaming n crying. I was so scaresd to see Him like that. A bottle of water or milk solved the terror win the end. Think bottle has become his comfort food leh. Not sure how to wean him off.

Bluegin, ever since I became sahm, I seldom check on the mkt d. Safe investment, no fast money one wo, unless speculate, risky business leh. Else u go for those share which is going to give out div, they will appreciate fast, then u can make some from there.

Tongtong, RaeAnne is also like that. When she is hungry, thirsty or sleepy, her worst tantrums come out. I don't know why she can't tell me her needs instead of resorting to meltdowns since she can talk very well. :p

Pauline &amp; Tongtong,
Channet also behave likes that. They could be too engroved in things or activities that when they r too tired, they just threw tantrums.
I talked her out of it. Recently, she will tell us she want to sleep, tired or hungry, etc.
Need a lot of patience and time to train them. I also gave a lot of examples like a lonely cat is wondering along the street. I will say "Cahnnet look at the cat, He is naughty so Daddy and Mummy don't want him. Channet has to order with your ears and tell Daddy and Mummy how you feel. Cannot cry, nobody will understand what you want. Only Shenon cried cos she still do not know how to speak. Channet can tell Mummy, right?"
It make sense to her so she will usually nodded her head.

bluegin, i left a comment on ur blog regarding "your baby can read", u saw it? can share with me more details abt how u used it? U tried with both gers? I got the dvds at home and thinking of showing to my #2 since i am almost like SAHM so wanna find out a little bit more, can u pm me?

Btw, how is the job mkt? does it take long to find jobs? i am looking ard but never take much action cause still cant bear to leave my little boy.U went back to the same field?

Re:sleep
piglettail, i think u need to do something, imagine if u gona have #2 in future, u will collapse if u still have to wake up to make milk for #1. By right, they shld sleep thru already and dun really require milk so many times at night, my #1 will take her last milk feed before sleeping at abt 10 or 11 plus and sometimes she will ask for milk earlier of she wakes up at ard 4 plus ( recently) but normally she will take her 1st feed in the morn abt 7 plus. even for my #2 who is 4 mths, he can sleep thru e night for abt 6 hrs w/o milk so must hen xin train ur boy k. They can definitely do w/o the milk, its just a habit for him.

Re:Toddler still waking up for milk feed at night
Thanks to all for your tips and sharing your experiences
seems like I really 'pampered' G too myself and have been torturing myself.

For the past 3 nights, I have been whispering into his ear at bed time 'G is a big boy now, can not wake up for milk at night ok? Only small babies do that'. so far, it seems to work and he only woke up for milk at 5/6/7am in the morning. keeping my fingers crossed! ;)

winnie,
your method sounds interesting.
so you are still latching your gal, salute!

bluegin,
drag few days ah.. i bu she de to starve her so long leh.. i also need to be more hen xin.

re: milk at midnight
there was once big C asked for milk at about 4 am a few months back. I told her everyone is sleeping, no milk for her. Will give her milk when she wakes up for school. She understands and continue sleeping till 7 am.
i guess it's the sudden urge for milk when they wake up. ppl call it 'ni1 gian3'.

piglettail,
good work!! congrates... things will get better.

re: tantrums when tired
i remembered very clearly how i feel when i am tired when i was a kid. it's a feeling of want to cry, any small problem will trigger the crying. just want to cry loud loud, and felt better when i manage to cry then can sleep. no reasonings can help on the situation, best is to just hug me and give me a quiet place to cry and sleep. should be considered as over stimulation.

pauline,
there's Friso promotion:
trade in any >700g empty formula tin (others) to be entitled for 1-for-1 Friso formula. 50% saving!!

too bad the formula milk that C's taking is not in tin form.

XY, aiya, really, any empty formula tin ah? Where is the promotion? I just threw away a 1.8kg tin recently. The new 900g tin is still half empty leh, unless I empty it first to exchange. I stocked up a lot of Friso the last round and RaeAnne can only take Friso3 until Jan10 (her 3rd birthday). After that, will keep for Mei Mei to drink liao. :p

Blueginger,

E drank Nan Pro3, you had offer for Nan Pro?

I bought from nearby minimart at $26.50 per tin, cheaper than supermarket.

re: crying before sleep/throwing tantrums

xy, i totally agree with u on that. I notice that sometimes S just needs to cry to get it all out, then after that will be ok. It's like they got this " target" to cry xx times, if dun cry, very umcomfortable.. heheh.

piglettail,
yeah, agree with the rest abt milk for #1 in middle of the nite. Its more of a habit, cos he's been doing that, so he doesnt know what else to do/ask for when he wakes up at nite.

Re: milk for #1
Looks like all the kids are still drinking a lot of milk now. S doesnt really drink a lot of milk now leh.. Only drinks during meal-times. Probably becos he doesnt drink from a bottle? But he takes abt 12 oz or so a day, shd be sufficient?

Re: #2
Anyone's #2 easier than #1?
Mine is more jialat, i think. He only sleeps 5-10 min each time in the day, if i am lucky, he naps 30min at a stretch!

fairfield,
C doesn't drink a lot of milk! He also doesn't take bottle... during weekend at most one packet of dutch lady choc milk... or 1.5 - and if he skip breakfast maybe 2 packs :p But we still try to give him formula, but he always give an expression of wanting to vomid when he takes formula
Anyways, as long as he drinks any milk i'm happy ! :p

Winnie,

My colleague's son started CC at 18 month, and seldom woke up for milk. But his mummy felt him too skinny that she purposely woke him up at night to give him additional feed of bottle milk. 可怜天下父母心。

Some of my colleagues are very Gangeong, send their kids to 5 enrichment classes other than full day CC . But the kids can read very well before primary school. Their reading is equivalent to sec 2 level as my colleague mentioned.

Tute,
I saw your post on C being sticky. E is also extremely sticky these days! I thought maybe it's because of the baby, then because he starts school, but looks like the more time u spend with them the stickier they get? I also can't bathe without him interrupting unless he's fully occupied w something else..

fairfiled,
12 oz milk seems pretty good.
big C was so tired yesterday that she forgotten to take her before nap/sleep milk feed. end up only 6 oz for whole day.

your #2 sleeps so little? have you considered put him into yaolan? i am seriously consider it now. if the situation doesn't get better in 4 more weeks time (when she hits 3 month), i will go get the yao lan so that it's easier for my mil who's going to take care of her when i go back to work.

pauline,
that's why i said i have no tin to give you ma..
promotion ends 6 oct. maybe you can ask around if anyone can give you or not.

Xy, no worries, I am not asking for empty tin from u lar.
I got a lot at home, better dun stock up too much, if raeanne doesn't like it then Cham Liao. :p

I have a empty gain iq tin but.. Any1 want to take from me since i stay in the west hee.. The furthest prob is my ofc near gwc.

tute,
so maybe my theory that kids not drinking from milk bottle take less milk? heheh
S LOVES choc milk too, but i scared too high sugar content in choc milk to drink so often leh.

xy,
wow, 6 oz for the whole day? She must be hungry after that.
Sigh, no yaolan here leh.. so no choice lor, he just takes more naps each day, except i dun think he goes into deep sleep during his naps. In fact, now he is sleeping, but he is still sucking on his pacifier, so i dun think he is really asleep. I can carry him for half hr when he sleep, but yet when i put him down/move my position, he will wake up, so it seems like he is never in deep sleep!

I think when u go back to work, ur MIL will end up just carrying small C to sleep lor.. esp old pple cannot tahan hearing bb cry.