(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Morning mommies!

Reena, yup you are right - water intake affects ss. I observed that when I conscientiously drink more water, ss is better. When I went back to work, was too busy to drink water, ended up ss was less. Tried tandem pumping yesterday..cannot, bb too distracted by the contraption to nurse. haha, maybe try again another day lah.

Football hold - my favourite position when bb was little. But now she's too big and heavy leh...will struggle too..

Lying down to nurse - SIGH, wish bb would allow me to do it. DD1 allowed and it was a breeze, can rest at night but DD2 simply won't latch!! Any variations that I can try?

Nursing outside - hehe, i'm the not shy type, anywhere, anytime, just cover with nursing shawl and nurse. Baby hungry mah, what to do, must feed right? Yesterday we had to share a table with this family (old father and mother) at Tonkichi. I nurse and eat at the same time, the father stared, dun care lah, baby hungry, I also hungry!!

Hey Diana, try not to move about too much and stress your wound ok? Maybe can handexpress for now since pumping is getting painful? I find that handexpression can be quite effective once you find your technique? also gives the nipples a break.

Iso
maybe check if the valve is secured properly. When i first used my avent manual pump, the valve was not fixed properly and i cant feel any suction at all. Oni realise the problem when my fren prompted on that. I hv never chg any parts during my 4 years usage.

stephie, reena
ok! will check all the parts again. they don't seem as good as they used to be tho :S

bkk
what kind of shawl do you have? i have one of the bibs, but i find it doesn't really cover the sides, which isn't much good unless you're wearing a nursing bra and nursing top?
i used to have a poncho but i lent it to my sis and she lost it in the house without ever having used it. grrr.

Iso
you not using freestyle anymore? the parts are hardier than the ameda, i find. with ameda i had to change the valves pretty often.

I use the nursing bib which doesn't cover the sides but it's more cooling for poor baby cos her head is ALWAYS perspiring, macham volcano head lidat. Um...i dun always wear nursing tops, sometimes when lift to nurse, i just make sure i'm seated in a chair with a back.

I have 2 ponchos too but these I use in aircondition rooms e.g. in the office. Baby simply can't stand it and will struggle to get out of under the poncho.

Bkk
oh I have an avent manual which I thought can use at my mums place so don't need to lug things around.

Do u wear a nursing bra? When I used the bib to pump I'd wear a cardi to cover the sides, and I also wore normal clothes so end up like so many things and clothes, troublesome!!

iso, can buy a bf poncho fr pupsik website.

Mummies with NB who r bf-ing now, did u bf yr no.1? I asked coz i total bf my no.1 but cant rem all the details now, n wonder is it the same wif u?

Iso
i've given up on nursing bras! either too hot, material too scratchy, or too mamamia big! Those bras with clips tend to have the bra flaps that get in baby's face and irritates her. I'm wearing Wacoal no underwire bra, it's easy to lift and feed, and very comfy.

Clover
I oso wondered myself whether I'd rem all those bf-ing details but when the time came, it was quite natural to just latch and feed. I only forgot how painful it was when the milk came in on Day 3 or 4 and how we (i.e. hb and me) had to massage to prevent engorgement. Like my hb said, breastfeeding is a 2 man job - he had forgotten too! hahaha.

iso,
i have the same type of nursing shawl - what i do is adjust it more to the side where baby's head is and exposed breast. so bb's legs are seen dangling out but that's ok to me. i have nursing bras and non nursing bras. but i find wearing nursing bras destroys my fashion sense cos certain tops don't look good haha...

first day back at work. thankfully shifting office, so busy doing brainless packing and spring cleaning activities.

almost 6 - time to chiong home to see my two darlings and how they've coped.

A has been sick quite a lot. plus she is a picky eater. lost 1kg in 3 months. Going to see a dietician to get expert advice.

bkkgal, I haven't found a perfect nursing bra too. Wacoal no wire bras are good? I got some Sorella seamless no wire bras, very comfy but can't use to BF. :p

Gar, what is Ariel's weight now? RaeAnne is still 11.5kg, hiaz... :p

Iso, I got a brand new washed but not used nursing shawl, that time bought through spree from qoobaby. Took so long to come, by then, I no need to use liao. :p

finally

4140798.jpg

QL, wow, mother of a toddler and new baby and you still got the time and energy to perfect your earl grey cake recipe. I'm really impressed.

sorry to interrupt.

I have 6 bottles of DOM (1litre) & 1 bottle of Yomeishu (700ml) to sell. All brand new! Selling cheaper than retail and provide foc delivery. Pm me if keen. Thanks!! :)

lezy-no 3? No way man...er....wat did I write on fb?? Hahah??
Earl grey cake - Kek...cos my cousin was here this morning..got some help...hee....but making the cake was real fast

Sigh,i feel the hub dun really like the ds that much...he has been taking the night shift n ds always tekan him after milk feed..cry cry cry...but I suspect he's not pooing n not feeling well..farts a lot..so the hub has been shouting at ds when he's frustrated these few nights plus work stress.....i fed ds 10-20ml water since yesterday..now he's been pooing since yesterday..now which to me is a gd sign..tonight I offer to take care of ds so tt hub can get a gd rest..hopefully his resentment is due to work stress...sigh..i pity my ds..

bkkgal..yah the engorgement on day 1 of the milk..yikes! if there's anything painful about breastfeeding, its the engorgement that sets in on the first few days..OMG

Clover, I managed to bf No. 1 at 2 months. No 2 just turned 8 weeks a few days back but I still can't get him to latch properly. I only latch him once every few days when he is in a good latch mode.

Nursing bras...dunno issit I lost weight or what, my nursing bras are losing thier elasticity and becoming very loose..suspect its the frequent washing in the washing machine net. I use the aunty open flap type. easy to use but the flap does get in the way. I haven't tried the more expensive type of nursing bras..do they operate the same way as well? anyway I can't latch so I don't intend to get any more new nursing bras.

QL..I feel that my boy at 8 weeks have become alot more responsive (smiles at will and coos and licks his tongue around), and he doesn't puke so much (less clean up frustration). Babies grow and they get more lovable. Things will get better when your baby learns to interact with you and I'm sure you and hubby will love ds even more in the days to come.

Wow Gar...back to work. I'm going in back in Aug..doesn't sound very far away and feeling super sian each time I think about it. Still have not settled on childcare arrangements and we r getting gan chiong. Looks like I have to separate the 2 boys (each boy with each grandma) until I can find a good solution to have the 2 boys be together. either that or both grandmas work together but I don't think it is a good solution.

ql
the cake looks light and fluffy!

pauline
haha, i bought from qoobaby too! that one i leave in office cos it's super thick.

Sweetpea,
they get so adorable as they get bigger don't they? DD2 also started to get more fun around 8 weeks. Now at 17 (or is it 18?) weeks, she's a bundle of joy to wake up to every morning. She'll just lie in bed, kick around, chuckle to herself until I go to her and then she greets me with this BIG, GUMMY SMILE that just makes my day
wish they could stay like this forever.

re: childcare arrangement
i can so understand! there's no perfect solution, just got to try out and see..my mom wanted to take one each and keep for the whole week. That means in effect hb and I will be back to swinging single days, go work, come back, can go paktor but I said no. cos I won't be waking up to big gummy smiles and DD1's hugs in the morning!

sweetpea-ds is very cute now..starting to smile n curiously looking around...perhaps he caught daddy in the wrong timing..hub has been quite stressed at work recently..just felt poor thing for the boy tt the dad had to shout at him middle of the night. If #1 is not sticky to me,i would be happy to look after #2 at night...i tink I will opt for alternate nights to take care of #2

btw i love ds to bits...find him so cute :p
feeling so bored to day, decided to bring #2 and go walk walk later (still duno where to head to..maybe any mummies wana meet up for lunch or tea?)..decided to send #1 back to school albeit still slight cough..but she's driving me nuts at home..haha..

nursing bras,
have tried many many. find the fabulous mum daphne bra (machum t shirt bra) and lydia bra (strapless) pretty good. but they are wired. so may not suit everyone.

pauline,
A is 12.8kg now. made appt to see this KKH dietician rec by my friend.

sweetpea,
yeah i know how you feel. i grew increasingly heavy hearted as my ML came to an end. on sunday, as i was playing with #1, i actually teared at the thought that i will not be around as she bursts through the door after play school and greets me with "mummeeeee" and a big hug!

my mom / MIL work together. haha....if can avoid this arrangement then avoid lah. else you will need to play middleman A LOT.

bkkgal,
your DD should be 20 weeks already

QL,
lezy read your old FB posts on #2 izit? hehe...

too bad i started work already, else can meet up.

re #1, try to bring her out one on one. A is an angel when i am alone with her. but at home, with #2 around, she can sometimes be a handful with her attention seeking ways. i think #1 needs reassurance - here are some tips from my colleagues:
1) When she comes home from school - try not to be holding #2. Give #1 a big hug
2) When you come home from work (eventually), give #1 a big hug first
3) Try to allocate time to spend with #1 alone without #2 on a daily / weekly basis. can be with either parent (take turns) or together
4) Keep reassuring her verbally and with hugs

Hope it helps!

Re: childcare arrangement

Sigh.. headache.. i also dunno what to do.. I think i will be taking my ger out from CCC since she is going to another one next yr then she will go to my in laws hse daily till hubby fetch her home after work, i will take care of #2 by myself or will bring # 2 to in laws place in the afternoon to play with #1.. No choice, i cant cope with 2 at hm alone.. hate this kind of arrangement . :-(

I dunno whther to take her out or not, if take i think she will miss out the interaction with other kids but at least she wun fall sick that often but if i dun take, i have to learn how to cope with 2 or have to put the younger one with my in laws.. sigh.. frustrating!!!

Do you all think its ok to take her out for half yr, will she miss out a lot in terms of playing with other kids.. she abit antisocial.. other kids play with her, she also bo chup.. Thats why i am abit concerned.. she is not a friendly ger leh... how??

Re: mother and MIL

Gar and bkkgal.. i cant imagine my mum and mil taking care of my kids together...

Ql.. prob.. ur hubby is just tired.. and can be quite frustrating when u dunno why #2 criesz.. my one also tortured us these few nights.

RE: cluster feeding
Anyone noes how to do cluster feeding.. gar.. i remembered u did before.. how to do it so that my bb can sleep more at night??

Reena.. thanks for the bf information.. very useful!!

QL, oic, that's nice. I was quite close to my cousins but after having kids, they drifted away cos they are all unmarried and no kids. :p

Gar, wa, Ariel 12.8kg. RaeAnne is even slimmer than she is a Jan Baby. Hmm... But PD said she's 50th percentile leh. I guess I no need to see dietitian bah. Feel guilty leh... :p

bkkgal, I never used it even once. Waste $, you remember how much we paid for it? :p Yes, I love it when she sees it and gives me a big gummy smile.

Raelynn has shocked us yesterday by pulling herself to stand with support. We didn't witness it but the maid was screaming (in fear) when she left Raelynn in her cot then when she came back, she was standing holding onto the cot side. The maid was so frightened that she will fall off that she grabbed her immediately. :p

Sweetpea, Genice, ya, can understand. It's really difficult to try and look after two kids alone. Genice, thought Gwen is going to full day CC. If your hubby sends Gwen to CC then picks her up in the evening when he knocks off, will that be ok? Then you just concentrate on looking after no. 2 in the day. At night, then both of you look after no. 1 and no. 2? But something gotta give, maybe you got to order tingkat for lunch and dinner so that no need to cook, and hire a PT helper to clean the house weekly? If I have no maid, I would have done this. Just that, this arrangement is even more expensive than hiring a maid so I got to forego my privacy and get a maid since we are single income family.

nursing shawls/bibs/bras
haha thanks for the advice mummies.. will try it out and see what I'm comfortable with. Am hoping that I can just latch instead of pumping so it's more convenient! I also bought some bras from MIM recently, they're having a sale, $15 only, i thought not too bad?

genice
sounds like a good idea if you bring #2 to ILs place. or can ILs come over? cos once in a while it's good to have them around so you can take a break. for me i will probably spend some days at my mum's place, so me, mum, niece, maid, #1 and #2, quite manageable. And can maintain my sanity too. now every day stay home with ILs + nephew can go mad. haha.

#1s
prior to your #2 coming along, did they have any experience with babies? E has been absolutely fantastic with his didi. no issues from him at all, and think it's cos my niece is 7 months older, so he's got some "experience". he used to cry occasionally if my mum or i carry her but now he's used to it. so maybe the #1s just need time to adjust.

Iso,
u haven shift out to stay on ur own?

Ashlynn has no contact with babies hence she really went thru emotional rollercoaster.

Clover,
Don't worry about breastfeeding #2 esp if you have successfully breastfed #1. It will come back to you naturally. BTDT.

Nursing tops and bras
I used that during DD1's time as first time breastfeeding and abit shy. Hated the nursing bras as the straps were all so thick! Now I just normal bras and t-shirts. Child is always in sling so the most pple can see is my waistline.

qingling,
That's a nice chiffon cake! I see your colour is much darker than mine, what brand tea bags you use? And did you add more tea bags? And I also realised you didn't bake in a chiffon pan too.

Oh.. anyone been to A'Famosa @ Malacca? How's the condition? I've heard of pretty bad reviews that the place is badly maintained. I've just booked a villa and we're going there this Thursday.

sweetpea, jiayou! I rem i went thru lack of sleep, latch prob, pain n blood till the bf-ing settled aft 4m.

Reena
Tks for the encouragement. I need to read up ion bf-ing again. Have fun for yr trip!

Bx, did u try reading a big sister book to ashlynn? Just tot it may work?

Nursing bras
Most of mine r bought fr overseas. Existing ones r wacoal fr bkk. Just bot 6 new pcs fr japan. All r at least 50percen cheaper than the ones here. Bot marks n spencer n some china-made but they are not long lasting or give good support.

genice,
mom + MIL is a potent combination. i think bkkgal's mom and MIL come on diff days. if you can, go with that arrangement. cos it's full of tension with the two old ladies together...

cluster feeding,
yes, i do practice that. but it's more baby led in that she auto wants to latch every hourly starting from around 6pm. so she can drink 6pm, 7pm, 8pm and then zzzz for the night. so you can try encouraging bb to latch every hour, if bb is not already fussing to be fed so frequently.

pauline,
no lah, mine is purely pre-emptive. cos her eating habits have deteriorated quite drastically over the last few weeks. we're a bit concerned so wanna encourage good habits. if raeanne is eating well then no cause for concern.

sneaking in for a bit

gar,
can you share which dietician you're going to? i have no idea that there are dietician we can brng our kids to!

jeannie,
re boobs, mine return to same size after stopping bf. i think it all depends on individual, some do return and some don't :p i remember after a few months of bf, they return to normal size..

ql,
what about getting your hb to go on short outing with Heidi to get more bonding time, then she won't be super sticky with you?

bx
ya haven't moved out yet, cos otherwise i have to look after 2 myself. i'm dying to move out but it's just more convenient to stay with ILs..

reena - ya..i din bake in chiffon pan (so i think it was quite difficult to flip out), i use Dilmah brand earl grey teabag (i can find this in my sheng siong..haha...)..no i din add anymore teabags..i follow all ur steps dutifully

tute - ya..trying to..but everytime she will cry seeing me not following

genice - sigh..hope ds tummy feels better after the big poo..just now also cannot stop crying from 5-7pm..nearly drive me nuts..i lock him in room n cry..maid buay tahan..help me "entertain" him..finally i ask maid to carry him then he fell asleep..but wake up as soon as put on the rocker or bed
..i realised he does not like to sleep in the cot..perhaps mattress is not good?? any recommended bb mattress u gals using?

Genice
I clusterfeed DD2 by having mom/mil offer 70 ml at 5pm and then i come home to latch at 7pm. Her 4 month sched:

7am - Latch
11am - 150 ml
3pm - 150 ml
5pm - 70ml
7pm - Latch
midnight/1am - latch
4am - latch

Her 2-3 mth old sched was like this:

7am - latch
10 am - latch
1pm - latch
4pm - latch
5.00 - latch
6.00 - latch
7.oo - latch n sleep
10.30pm - wake, latch, sleep
1/2 am - latch
5 am - wake, latch, try to sleep
7 am - latch

QL
I did everything that Gar listed above - very conscious to not hold bb when she comes back from cc, nowadays i make sure she's the first one i hug when i come home. Hb brought DD1 out on one-on-one outings during the early months of DD2's arrival - they were gg on ducktours and boatrides etc - and K behaved so well, in fact, i would say tt she was a different child after the outings. So much more cooperative and back to normal self.

Bkk-i will try to ask the daddy to bring her out on more outings alone...hope it works..but we also only have weekends to go out together with daddy..hmm..

By the way..ur milkfeeds timing for bb,is it very regular(does bb cry for feed in between these timings?) if so what do u do?

Gar, well, RaeAnne seldoms eats a lot, until now, maybe 3 chinese tablespoons of rice. Only good thing is that she prefers 'liao' than rice so at least she gets some nutrients lor. :p

Bkk,
same as QL, I'm surprise that at 2-3 months, SM's feeding is very regular. Now at 6 weeks, Ashton feeds 2 hrly, almost regardless of btl or latch. And also u fully latch, when do u squeeze in ur pumping sessions?

Re: cluster feedings
ladies, if u feed hourly and each feed takes 30 min, doesn't it leave u only 30 min before the next feed?

Hi QL,
SM became more regular after 10th week or so. First 4 weeks unstable, week 5 kena HFMD and then the flu. Oh and yes, she became a more efficient drinker as she got older. In the first month, she would take sometimes 45 mins to 1 hr to drink cos she will fall asleep at the breast and I gotta wake her up. Very frustrating and tiring! Nowadays, she takes less than 10 mins per side.

BX, rem I told u in the first weeks I didn't pump? partly cos the feeding times so close and partly lazy. If she takes more than 45 mins in the 3 hr schedule, I will hardly have time to pat her back to sleep and catch a shuteye myself.
SM is an Angle/Textbook compared to K who was more Spirited. She's more manageable. There's one time when SM loves to snack, latch a bit, play abit, and her feeding times became 2 hourly, and nap times became erratic. I decided to make her very hungry and I can basically stretch SM to 3 hours by distracting her and she won't cry as bad as cheh cheh. K will cry the house down.

QL, yeah i know what u mean abt family time with daddy. It's either your hb take H out or you ask someone to babysit small H and you, hb and Big H go out. My hb took K out during DD2's nap time while i stay bk.

bkkgal, garfield,

It seems that most of babies goes thru cluster feeding stage. I remembered that I need to cluster feed E in the evening since 2 month onwards. It's very tiring especially after a day's work. My auntie commented that I didn't have enough milk supply, I should top up 30ml~60ml milk in addition to latch-on. We didn't try since E was in good weight gain.

Now thinking about next ones? Don't know how to manage breastfeeding two together.

My strength finally improved a lot; and this week I am back to office.

bkk,
pai seh. forgot that u told me before. my hb thinks i'm mad to pump after latch. but i'm so worried that ss will drop if i dun empty my breasts after feeds and i already dun have a lot of milk to begin with.

so can i say that now SM is drinking faster, it is manageable for u to cluster feed every hour? otherwise she will practically be on ur breast the entire evening/night right?

BX
Josh at 8 weeks is still drinking abt 100 ml almost 2 hourly, of coz he can't finish at times. It was only until these few days that he managed to stretch some feeds to 3 hours plus. Total intake is 800mls plus per day and he has been on this 800ml amount a few weeks already. I rem for no 1 his schedule was 3 hourly.

So angry, the maid forgot to freeze a bottle of milk from 19 June. 4 days liao, don't know can give or not. Dun know what to do with that bottle of milk now. Anyone knows how to use milk to bathe baby? :p

Bx, tell your hubby it's always good to have some extra. I'm giving away 17 packs of FEBM to a Jan08 mummy. Her baby is allergic to cow's milk and soy milk and she cut down on BF cos thought can switch baby to enfapro liao. :p

I got discount code from www.gap.com, additional 30% off even for sale items. Summer sale now. Thought it is wasted if I order alone cos the code is for one time use only. Anyone keen? Self collect from my home at tampines st 71 (near ikea tampines). No postage cos I dun have time to go post office. Exchange rate at 1.45. Domestic shipping n international shipping will be shared. If keen, please email me at [email protected]. No transfer, no order. Will order tonight or once items exceed usd250.