SOUP:
I grew up in soup-drinking family. Mum cooks a lot of double-boiled soup. Her method is old skool but no choice. You want nicer soup, need the oilier cuts. Before you serve, scoop one shot off entire pot. U dun scoop like loads of soup off. just the surface. cannot be u cook soup 1 pot, oil = half pot? Usually it's just the top like 2mm layer at most?
thing is, cannot be 100% lah. Even if u use blotter paper, also can't be 100% one. Only way is use lean meat lor. EVen u go outside drink double-boiled soup, also will have oil (that's why taste nice

FEEDING:
My mum has totally no motivation (same as I) to let Ruth self-feed meals. Snacks ok...and limited to those that erm, are easy to clean-up.
Her rationale is...
- None of us were made to self-feed at such an early age (and we grew up fine..)
- can't be bothered to keep cleaning up after each meal
- ruth is never gonna finish her meal (and that is like...life-n-death for my parents. everything can dun do but FOOD MUST EAT!)
So yeah.
NO high chair, no sitting throughout meal one. She will sit for maybe 5-10 minutes and watch tv or play her toys, then when she's about halfway through or almost full, she'll start walking around to do ALL sorts of weird things. But she will walk back to you, open mouth and eat.
There will be struggles la, but well, that's just normal.
THOUGHTS ON MEALS:
We always say weekend is hunger camp for Ruth. Weekday is like...stuff her till she's bloated.
Weekend, we mostly have nothing to eat at home except garbage. (Garbage means frozen stuff ilke fish fingers, canned food, leftover food, titbits, snacks etc). Actually,e ven our snack collection isn't great nowadays cuz i'm trying to reduce such stuff around.
Come to meal time, we go out and eat. Other than meal time, at most she has drinks and meal. Once in awhile we buy yogurt but recently she's been coughing to that's out.
I find that she eats with much more compliance. can sit at hawker centre and finish her bowl of rice/porridge/bee tai mak.
And because she's erm, quite hungry by the time mealtime comes, she's quite enthusiastic. Of course we still need iPhone/Ipod sometimes. The best tool for us, is a stranger. SHare a table with some auntie/uncle and she will be so terribly shy she will cling on to either of us like a koala and just keep eating. *BEST!*
If my mum saw this, she sure say we are cruel parents. But I do recall reading somewhere tackling this eating issue - that if u keep feeding throughout the day, they won't be hungry and come mealtime they will chut more pattern leh. Same as us adults also mah i guess.
At my mum's place, everyday will have steamed apple, Pringles, and all sorts of snacks (cuz my dad is a real snacker). Every other hour there's food. (Look at my size u will know liao.)
And Ruth knows WHERE the Pringles is kept and everytime u open the fridge, she will run there to ask for Pringles! *faint*
So now die die at home, i DON'T buy pringles. GOod for me also lor.