(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Tong,
Is bamboo fibre cooling? got any cot or children's bed sheets?

I always see this cart at Tanglin MAll selling but very expensive wan..

sharon, dont think it's cooling although it's main characteristic is more on moisture absorption, so you will feel very comfy. No children's bedding wor, the adults one are real expensive, you are right. The whole bedding set whcih include quilt covers, is about $400+ leh. I'm not getting it in unless there's really demand. I'm only getting those that i posted, which are really good and affordable. My hubby likes the boxer very much as it's very soft , he said kinda cooling but i think it's because the material is soft lor.

Thanks Bkkgal for the detailed post. Wow! the resort sounds fabulous n Tte nanny service sounds so good but I think raeanne will still stick to me. Sigh. but maybe can pass raelynn to nanny, hee. :p

Tongtong, yup baby going too plus maid.

Bx, I have a bottle of motherlove more milk plus tincture supposed to be more effective than goats rue if u r keen. I got a box of nursing tea too.Please pm me.

kitsune
i saw genice's FB
but no more news so far.. she must be busy w new baby

tubao
congrats!!

bkk
wow, movenpick sounds good! agreed, the younger ones might be less picky over the baby sitter, quite a good idea to have the nannies. now i'm tempted too, haha!
you're back to work so soon??

Pauline/Iso
It's just nice to have an extra pair of hands to carry the younger ones loh, esp when you need to eat or play with older one. I don't mind hiring the nanny all day just to carry SM cos SM nowadays MUST be carried wan. She wants to look around, wants to jalan jalan. Damn tiring.

Iso
I've taken more than my 16 weeks liao. It's time to go back. I can't wait.

Sorry ah, I think I missed this somewhere but what does A stand for?

bkkgal, yup, my maid loves to carry Raelynn. We have to keep reminding her to put her down so that she won't be 'spoilt'. She's 7.3kg now. :p Hiring a nanny there is cheaper than air ticket for my maid to Phuket, haha.

pauline,
you can also try club med holidays. they have toddler sitting facilities (for Raeanne) so that can free up some time for you too (pass Raelynn to hb hehe)

SPREE for DVDs

any mums interested in the following titles? there's one BP organizer selling on average more expensive by $8 to $10 per piece

Leapfrog Learning DVD Set
BP Price: S$45 (inclusive of normal postage)
Spree Price: US$24.49 (FOC US shipping)

WordWorld: Lots of Letters Box Set
BP Price: S$42 (inclusive of normal postage)
Spree Price: US$18.99 (FOC US shipping)

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom & Chicka Chicka 1 2 3 (Scholastic Storybook Treasures)
BP Price: S$34
Spree Price: US$15.49 (FOC US shipping)

there could be cheaper sources so am still researching

Bx, I ate pig liver once every few days but ok leh. Maybe cos I drink 2 thermos flasks of red date tea everyday n my cl makes papaya fish soup for me very often.

Hello mummies, I am here!

Been so bz w all e bf n trying to settle down so din come up to post. I delivered on Vesak night after a long labour of almost 12 hrs, damn, who say 2nd bb was fast, this almost killed me!

10+ am : admitted to mt a n inserted tablet

2 pm: gynae broke water bag n put on drip, contractions started.

4 pm: contractions intensified , took laughing gas

6 pm: contractions even more, check dilation only abt 4 cm, took thigh jab, kept asking nurse how long more since my contractions were quite high bug they keep telling me dunno, hard to say. I was quite pissed off.
6 plus to 7: asked then to check dilation. Cause. It was really painful then they told me they only check every 4 hrs. If I am ready to deliver I will feel like shitting.

7 plus: gynae came n check and told me I am still ant 4-5 cm, I almost fainted. I already tahan 5 hrs if labour pain n u tell me I am only halfway ? He said may need a few more hrs. I was crying like mad already, fell like telling Hubby I want go c sect, just get e bb out.

8plus: pain reached ultimate high, asked for epi (nurse din even check my dilation and called for the doc.

9 pm: doc came and prepared epidural n was injecting me when I had another round of contractions, could feel bb pushing. The epidural med hadn't even been pumped in , e doc also stopped n everybody was panicking. My gynae was having c sect upstairs.when my contractions stopped, the doc quickly do e epidural for me which was useless cause I was already opening my leg wanting to push bb out already.

9 plus: within a few mins, gynae was down n with 2 pushes e bb was out and then e epidural set in to numb my lower body. Sigh... It was so stupid to take e epid, I was quite upset that the nurse din check e dilation n they asked the anaesthtist to come down, I actually dun even need it.

This is one thing I am upset abt mt a other than that everything was fine, e after service was gd.

Genice, congrats! Wow, what a delivery story. Reminds me of my experience at KK which was also less than pleasant. :p Which hosp did you deliver at?

Gar, ya, I was thinking of club med too but wonder if the kids will be old enough to enjoy the services/facilities. It's pretty exp except when there is natas promotion right?

Bkkgal, I don't have personal experience but I recall seeing Pest Busters ads quite often. http://www.pestbusters.com.sg/ What r u trying to exterminate? DIY methods dun work? :p

hello genice!

2nd one not as fast hur..maybe because induced? mine also induced but was much faster than 1st. But gd to hear u have settled down and able to surf forum..i suppose now a few of us can surf at night while pumping liao..haha..show more pics of bb k
, rest well!

Congrats, genice! Sori to hear abt ur bad exp at mt A. I cant comment much even tho i delivered twice at mt A cos both time were quite fast. my experience with them was gd. Enjoy ur time with ur newborn

bx
dun thk liver affects ss. I also ate liver almost everyday. Like pauline, idrink lots of red date tea too.

genice,
congrats! oh dear, your delivery sounds painful *ouch* never mind, more impt baby is safe and healthy. what's his name? take care and rest well

Congrats genice! Nvm, u will forget the pain after some time. Then mayb u wanna try for #3 :p

pauline, Stephie,
thks for the feedback on pig liver. I've drinking lotsa longan and red date tea also. Mayb I'm just not blessed with abundance ss.

morning morning....
was a mad week at work last week...phew!

am wondering what kind of matteress the kiddos are sleeping on now? we used to use the foam mattress that came with the cot and have recently bought a SeaHorse foldable mattress. Bought the latter simply beocs it was light and foldable. cos the adults are sleeping on mattresses that were bought after extensive shopping around and research, i'm feeling bit guilty that G's mattress was bought without much thought on it. i'm not sure what i should be looking out for to begin with...any advises?

Are most of your tods self feeding yet? G is still fed 100% except for eating snacks on his own with fingers. visited my mum over the weekend and she was shocked why G was not eating own dinner yet.....?! said i was eating on my own before i was 2yo...else "the adults where got time to eat?"

Thanks everyone!

yup.. was a painful experience.
But its ok lah.. everything is finally over now just concentrate on bf and losing wt and coping with 2 , i think all these are more challenging.

Re: breastfeeding

I got some questions to ask mummies who are bf. i never latch on for Gwen cause she cant latch on well, for this boy ( no name yet, haha), he seem to be a bit better but still i think i am not doing it right. Some questions:

1) After latching on, i totally feel no difference to breast, still engorged leh so that means he is not taking much right?

2) He keep falling asleep on the breast leh and i have to relatch a few times to make sure he is sucking well, is that normal?

3) Is there such a thing as nipple too big and the babies cant latch, i suspect so for my case but i am not sure.

4) I will express after every latching and i still get the same amt on both breast, abt 40 ml per side after 3 hrs after 5 days , is that very little? So total abt 80 ml every 3-4 hrs. He is already taking 50 ml now every 3 hrs, quite big eater.

5) I feel upset that i cannot latch on, i feed ebm to satisfy his hunger although i will try to latch on b4 every feed. But its also very tiring to keep on latching on and he keep falling asleep and i can be feeding for like 1 hr and he still not full and then i have to pump and he needs to feed again, i am totally sleep deprived. Actually things will be easier if he takes the ebm at night but i feel upset and guilty that i cant direct feed him. How?

5) Any good lactation consultants to recommend ( Pauline, i remember u got a few?can share contacts and pxs?), i am going Mt A parent craft for consultation tmr, any idea what are the charges like for other consultants that comes to ur hse. Mt A charges $54 for 30 mins consultation.

Re: Jaundice/ see pd
Is there any simple test for jaundice at home like pressing and see how long the colour returns to normal? How long do we press?

#2 jaundice level was normal but somehow i feel he is very red and a bit yellowish now, then today was raining, no sun... cannot sun tan.

When are we suppose to return and see the pd? I cant remember what the pd told me. Is it after 1 week?

Genice,
Wow, what a dramatic birth. Induced birth is usually longer...

Breastfeeding
1) If the baby is poo-ing 5-6 poo diapers a day, it means he is taking well, so even if your breast still feels full, it's ok. Also look to see if he is doing the suck suck swallow movt while latched.

2) Yup, falling asleep is very normal esp for newborns. NBs tend to be very sleepy in the first 2-3 weeks. Have to keep waking them to latch and relatch.

3) Erm..i also have that issue...and K's mouth is too small but I latch using the technique LC taught me which is to hold the nipple and press down into the mouth. Let them take the whole aerola instead of just the nipple.

4) 40ml is alot! Not little. Very good ss.

5) Please persist in your latching efforts esp in these early days as the latching will incraese your ss and bb will enjoy more and more the time with you. Try to get sleep as much as possible whenever he is sleeping. Maybe give up the pumping for now and focus on latching? JIA YOU OK?? You can do it!

I think supposed to return to PD 1 week after for checkup.

Piglettail
Sometimes K self feeds when 1) mood is good, 2) food is good. If none of above, we have to feed to make sure she takes something. I wish she can self feed all the time too but if I let her, she will end up playing most of the time and not eating. So partial feeding is still needed.

Mattresses- K sleeps on the Ikea children's bed mattress. Didn't research at all :p

bx and genice - both of u very hardworking,still pump after latch..i m too lazy n tired to do so..ho..at night i feed FM somemore since he can drink up to 150ml sometimes in the night..i am still pumping 100-120ml only..been eating fenugreek though,but ss doesn't seem to increase much..i wonder if i shld try to pump 2 hrly to boost ss?

genice - how is ur sleeping arrangement like now? now after my confinement, i moved back home. now me n hub sleep in separate rm,at night i take care of bb while hub sleep with #1 but #1 always wakes up crying a few times to look for me. Sometimes we alternate (i sleep with #1) and then #2 notti, tekan the daddy & do not sleep at night..so now the hub is sleep deprived n have to work too..poor thing..

genice, wow what a birth story you had! anyway, jiayou in bf!! think bkkgal has answered mostly your qn , so not giving anymore comments now. hee. but just wana let u know that you dont need to get upset of not latching because S did not latch well the first 2 mths, so i fully expressed, but i din feel any shortchanging him leh. hehe. he slowly grasped and started latching well when he was 3 mths old.

genice
congrats again!! i think it's actually q hard to tell how long bb will take? for me, abt 730pm i was 5cm dilated, 8pm water bag burst, bb was out before 830! so from 5cm can be a matter of hours, or can be minutes?? heh. i delivered 5 mins before gynae could arrive. in the end he was giving hubby tips in case hubby got to deliver #3. haha.

after delivery how long will we usually bleed for?

bx
ya, he is not. it's a pretty long story. i delivered him on sunday, monday afternoon he had to go to ICU. they thought he had a lung infection, but after we moved him to NUH on tues night, it turned out to be a heart problem that needed cardiac surgery. pretty drama. he's still there now and will probably be another 1-2 weeks, so i'm exclusively pumping...

PIglettail, Shaun has been self feeding for very long, becuase he din want us to feed him. Sometimes he wants but he mostly self feed. You should start to let him learn self feeding liao.

qingling, jiayou!

Genice,
breastfeeding
3) my nipples quite short. So bb also had prob latching. What I do is to do cross cradle hold, squeeze my aroela and stuff it into is mouth. Usually takes a few tries to b successful.

4) 40ml per side after latch on day 5 is very good! Jia you!

U haven't share ur bb's name. And how's G coping with didi?

Iso,
hope he is fine after the surgery. Was the prob detected during ur pregnancy? U rest well during these 2 weeks he's not ard. So u deliver ebm everyday?

Ql,
I think genice more hardworking. I pump thrice a day. She pump after every latch. I dun mind the pumping but I detest the washing and sterilizing then assembling. So ur full month celebration over? U had it at home? Mine will be next sat! Yippee! Bye bye confinement. Hee... Actually my confinement not too bad la. Just that must ask permission to leave the hse. And not allowed to do household chores.

hi..

self feeding
thanks ladies for your infor! yeah think i've been to lazy to teach/train. my ILs are super sayang him, will do everything for him and partly also scared of mess (even when we have maid). we tried to let him self feed on a few occassions, and it was literally a mess EVERYWHERE! cos he'll wipe his dirty fingers on his shirt, pants, all areas of the high chair, food will drip/drop everywhere. a bib doesn't help at all.
what a sight.

recently he's showing signs of wanting to hold the spoon but we don't let him for fear of the mess. sigh...very bad for his development but guess i got to bite the bullet and train him asap.

iso, is ur bb ok now already? jiayou!!

piglettail, yea since you have a maid, just let him make a mess hehe. he must start somewhere ma, so mess is inevitable . It's not advisable to forbid him holding the spoon leh as you are deterring him from indenendence, just open one eye, close one eye la .jiayou in training! actually i din do much training, just let him do the mess, if he is not eating much, after he practisesa eating for a while, then you feed him the rest la.

piglettail,
self-feeding - when grandma is not around, we let A feed herself. if i'm afraid that she will spill, then i usually hold the bowl (to catch any food spillage) while she spoons the food into her mouth. when we are out at restaurants, she will feed herself too. my gal is v independent - wants to do everything herself. her fav phrase these days "mama don't do, i do myself..." and messes up everything *faint* but it's part of their development and growth so i gotta be the maid and clean up after her.

for mattress - A sleeps on my Euro King posturepaedic mattress. if i were to transition to her own room/bed - it will be an ikea mattress that i bought. can't remember which model, but it costs about $300.

iso,
oh dear....hope bb is fine and recovers soon! poor thing, needs surgery so young. take care and jia you!

Garfield - S same as A hehe. even like going to nanny's place he will run first to nanny's house and ask me to stay put and dont move!hehe

piglettail
how abt laying newspaper under his chair to catch the mess? then less mess to clear..keke..that's what i did with K. :p

Iso
hope A is better? NUH has good neonatal care, he's in good hands.

Btw, A is the name of a character in my favouritest book of all time "To Kill a Mockingbird" - he is morally upright and fights for what he believes in.

SLEEP:
RUth sleeps wif me on my King-size Simmons. Hub sleeps on floor next to us. (We are all on the floor technically cuz our bed has a raised bamboo platform.

I have no intentions to put her in her own room cuz our flat layout is such that the other 2 rooms are WAY FAR AWAY (2 toilets, 1 kitchen and 1 living room in between) so I dun fancy running there midnight to go cajole her or what.

Hubby also dun fancy so we are happy this way - cheaper also cuz on one aircon instead of 2. LOL.

SELF_FEED:
my mum isn't keen on getting ruth to self-feed. She eats snacks on her own mostly...but proper food, to minimize occurrence of her NOT eating (she gets frustrated VERY easily), we fully-feed her. If it's mcdonald's pancakes, sometimes i will cut, put on fork and pass to her, she can put into mouth on her own. I've let her poke the pancakes herself on occasion - but due to the texture, we wasted quite a lot dropping off the fork - plus her getting frustrated.

My mum said we were also fed until older..no hurry to start her out so early. so well...my mum rules. so i listen :p

bx,
if i'm not wrong...

1 mth - Hep B 2nd jab (or you can skip and give 6-in-1 later)
2 mth - 5-in-1
4 mth - 5-in-1
6 mth - 6-in-1 (or can give 5-in-1 and Hep B separately)

iso,
hope bb A gets better soon! has he gone for the surgery? you take care too... I remember being very tired when C was admitted for jaundice for 3 days... fully expressed my milk as well (which i suspect the main reason why my ss was very good, coz i keep on pumping)

re:self feed,
C can self feed pretty well - when he wants to, but we don't let him self feed unless he requested because he will tend to eat very little and gets bored after a while.

Iso - hope A recovers soon

Bx - i wonder if its easier to use sterilising tablets? the breastshields are also warped due to the constant sterilising. Is it a must to sterilise after every use, i use to rinse with boiling hot water when i pump in office durin #1's time,din use sterilising tablets cos dun like the smell

Iso - hope A recovers soon

Bx - i wonder if its easier to use sterilising tablets? the breastshields are also warped due to the constant sterilising. Is it a must to sterilise after every use, i use to rinse with boiling hot water when i pump in office durin #1's time,din use sterilising tablets cos dun like the smell. congrats to reaching end of confinement!! mine just ended over the weekend,whew so tiring..luckily got maid to clean up..

Iso, your baby's name is Atticus? I read To Kill a Mockingbird for literature and like him a lot like bkkgal. Nice name! Hope he gets well soon.

Piggletail, I agree with the rest. I let RaeAnne self feed more after I have a maid. My maid knows that after every meal, must clean up the coffee table and mop the area around it cos RaeAnne drops food everywhere. But in the beginning, try foods that are easier to pick up eg. fried macaroni or bread or rice with some gravy so that it's easier for them to self feed.

Raelynn is 6 months old today.

4056135.jpg

Hi genice,

Hi Iso,

Hope your son gets well soon. You must take care and jia you also!

Hi Pauline,

Raelynn looks so happy.

RE: BM supply

1 of the other things you may want to take is the BiOmega? I believe some mummies here also took that.

RE: Self feeding

Lol... Whatever Danica drops on the floor is "vacuumed" by my 2 dogs. Even though she self feeds, she still cannot do it very well so my maid will feed her while she is attempting to feed herself. :p

bb A
thanks for your well wishes, mummies
he is stable now but this is still a critical period for him while he recovers. i shall convey your jia you messages to him too, haha

bx
i freeze the ebm and deliver every few days. they only started feeding him this this week after he turned 1 week old. before that he cldn't be fed.

it wasn't detected at detailed scan, and gynae said probably they wouldn't be able to unless they really go and examine v closely and look for it. but also hubby and i thought if we knew earlier we might just worry more.

bkk
they've been great so far! And apparently the best paed cardiac surgeons in the country/region/possibly some of the world are at NUH, so we're really lucky.

self feeding
MIL's style is to feed them - when i saw her feeding my nephew who was like 5 yrs old at the time, i almost fainted. my mum's style is from the time they are weaned, let them play with food. so now E can feed himself when he is interested enough in the food.

re: self-feed
my boy usu feeds himself, esp when he is interested in his food, or hungry, and dun want to wait for me to feed him.

iso,
hope all is well with ur boy.

oh, i think i bled for abt 1 mth after delivery.. cant really rem liao.. but towards the end, there wasnt very much blood.

genice,
i think big nipples will be easier for bb to latch on leh, cos got more "grip".

Pauline,
thanks! Nice to catch up with u today.

Lezy, tute,
so now I know the diff between 5 in 1 and 6 in 1.

Ql,
I also dun like to use sterilizing tablets coz of the smell. Ya, I think it's a must to sterilize. My breastshields also out of shape. Going to order some for standby replacement.