(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

reena
yup, i watched too. so poor thing! i think the little boy is quite inferior or rather introverted because of the family situtation.

pauline
your CL sounds such a wonderful lady! then what does your maid do? you must b a very happy mommy now!!

Hi, Xiaoyun,
Still got one month to go. will take test next Jan, Hopefully I can pass.

Genice,
Your friend's child is so intelligent. hehe...... But for my case, I think that I will have MS every time I am pregnant, it's more related to my weak stomach.

dorothy
saw from the group photo as what tute had said loh. i think you should have lost more than 5kg. cos usually i can't tell if a person puts on/loses weight unless it's very drastic

stephie,
definitely it's human nature.

who doesn't curious to know how their son and daughter looks like?

genice,
sure you can remember carrie as we have met for so many times. i can remember gwen too.

just surprised that fairfield can recognise her as we have never meet before.

reena,
any comment on the Life Transformers?
didn't know that post natal depression can be so serious. and i pity the child. imagine the father everyday ask me: what will you do if i die? I sure get depression also..

pauline,
ur cl really not bad. who recommended you in the first place?

dor,
ur weight loss is quite significant.

tubao,
good luck!

re: MS
i relate it to how body reacts to hormone change.
if you have serious PMS before that, i think MS will be serious too.

<font color="ff0000">SALES ALERT REQUEST</font>
If anyone know that there's a promotion of NEOFLAM non-stick pan @ Isetan. Please let me know, ok?
i've got some Isetan voucher to spend by Mar 10.

Thanks in advanced. :D

crystal, my maid helps her with cooking sometimes but mainly help to feed my gal and clean my house eg. washing toilet, washing clothes (adults), sweep floor, mop floor/kitchen etc. I'm asking my CL to teach her to cook simple non confinement dishes once I pass 28 days cos I ask my CL to do 40 days for me.

XY, she's recommended by my aunty who knows my CL's sister.

XY,
I also don't like to bake in the breadmachine.
1. thick crust
2. takes 3 hours to bake a loaf

I prefer to bake in oven and I usu let machine knead twice before 1st proof. Can't get the gluten with 1 kneading.

Breastfeeding,
I'm glad to be able to inspire more pple to breastfeed. Not only it's good for the bb, it's also good for the mother as it minimise your chance of getting breast cancer ;) Like I always say, it's all in the mind. You just have to tell yourself you can do it.

bx,
Don't have to worry too much, kids can adapt very well. She may cry when you leave but will usually stop after a few mins. Just rem not to fuss about your departure. That will help ease their separation anxiety.

reena,
if i were to do it manual way (except that machine helps in kneading), it took me nearly 6 hours!!
i think i still can't get the technique of doing it right.

so how ah? January free? I am off on every Monday from Jan - Mar next year.

for breastfeeding, my another strong motivation is the slimming down part.
whenever i pump, i think about that. very happy already. :p

Esther,
Since you have a maid, you can seriously consider baking as maid can help to wash up. I like to get my kids involved when I bake, hoping to instill some passion in them now :p

bkkgal,
I cook with little sambal chilli only, let them get used to the spicy-hot food then add more chilli gradually.

Life transformers,
I like to watch this with my kids and explain to them how fortunate they are. The boy featured really poor thing, forced to grow up and accept all stress silently. Hope things will turn out well for them.

Post natal blues
My gf just delivered last week and is suffering from depression too. The things she told me, it's all trival matters but to her it's all big issues. She gets very upset and cries daily. Went to see her gynae for review and told gynae of her situation. Gynae says should fade off in a week's time, else will have to be on medication. This is already her 4th birth and she suffers PND for every birth. Just hope things will be well with her as she's residing overseas now.

XY,
Why need 6 hours? Share mine with you.

1st knead 20 mins
2nd knead 20 mins
1st proof 30mins (not talking about sweet breads)
Punch down and shape into balls approx 10 - 20 mins
2nd proof 10 mins (optional)
Punch down and shape again 10 - 20 mins
3rd proof 45 mins
Bake 20 - 30 mins

All in approx 3 - 4 hours only.

Breadmaking appt
I need to wait till school starts to see DD1's time-table first before I can commit. Let you know again ok?

reena,
it's important for the family support during the post natal period.
i suffer a little bit of it. luckily everyone is kind to me.
i even told my hb that "I HATE YOUR DAD" :p
anyway, it's over..

I normally need to
Knead for > 1 hr to get it pass the window pane test/until the dough is not sticky.
Proof > 1 hr to get it double in size.
Cut and roll into balls 10-20 mins
Rest ~ 15 mins
Shape ~ 10-20 mins
Proof > 1 hr to get it double in size
Bake ~ 20 mins

It seems that the yeast I put is not enough comparing to your proof time. I put 0.5 tsp as per recommended.
In the end i took FOREVER to make a bread. and it's not nice..

sure. let me know again.

XY
wow! 4 day work week for jan - mar, so nice! i was initially thinking of the same, but now think i might save my leave so i can stop work early before i deliver...

tongtong, stephie
haha ya!

iso; do u have a twin sis? I thought i saw someone look very much like you at Tanjong Pagar just now but she is not preggy

xiaoyun
isetan having pte sale this fri. let me go back to look at the sale brochure to see if NEOFLAM non-stick pan is on sale. i'll probably go after work on fri. if i do go, will keep you updated.

pauline
yeah, your CL is real nice. very accommodating to all your requests. guess it's a blessing to all mummies who have such nice CL. at least one thing less to worry.

Stephie,
true true...hehe...my hubby is my "confinement nanny" so i guess i am v lucky cos he is accommodating to my requests too!

apple!
no twin sis, it might have been me!! i was there during lunch time. pink top and jeans? today i don't look so big, i think it depends on what i wear...

CL/massage ladies
i think with massage ladies it's hard to tell what's good or not. my friend recommended one to me, and said her massage was v painful - it did NOTHING for me. I had to go and find another one after that!! i guess with RN at least you can be assured of a certain level of quality..

garfield
hehe..think ur hubby should be the best CL for you. good ah, not everyone can have hubby as CL. think mine will fail badly :p

tong,
the child changed 2 schools. he looks introvert and cried whenver ppl ask about his parents.
and he did not tell his prob to anyone - all keep to himself.
so, one of the thing that they do for him is to send him for counselling.

i find it's nice to use.
hence going to get for my father and mil.

gar,
ur hb is the best confinement nanny.

iso/clover.
yes. any kind of these will suffice.

anyone got lobang that i can borrow? - it sounds too late to ask. :p
i dun own any cheong sam, baju kebaya, etc.

stephie, xy
i find good and bad leh...good is that can be v open with him, cos he also did for my #1 so no conflict in terms of how to handle baby. but no good is sometimes take him for granted then treat him not so nicely i feel bad lor. especially after giving birth may feel a bit of depression. poor hubby kena "abused" by me hehe...

D&amp;D international theme
wear something with chinese collar with pants? CNY round the corner can wear again then =)

Iso: yah pink top and jeans! so its you! I remember you mention in forum your tummy big big liao so I thought cannot be you. Still so slim! Wah i think I look more preggy than you though I am not ahaha

Gar: your hubby really very good.

apple,
thanks =) will let hb know hehe...ya i really appreciate it! especially since we don't have any live-in domestic help. actually hor, hb is better at handling babies than me. the other day visited fren's newborn - he can still remember how to swaddle, i completely forgotten liao!!

i always tell him that if i married another man, may not even have kids cos i got no "maternal instincts"

apple
haha.. depends on what i wear lah, and also some days i feel v bloated and v big, but i guess can still hide a bit cos a lot of my colleagues still dunno. pai seh, i think i might not recognise you if i saw you!!

gar
aiyo, you 2 are so sweet! i guess it's good that opposites attract?

Gar, yup, only saw your hubby once but I remember he was the sweet and patient kind. Lucky you!

Finally got onto the iphone bandwagon
but I don't know how to use it. :p

Iphone users, please HELP!!! how to add smiley to sms? Cannot see it anymore. I've been using Nokia phone for too long. :p

xiaoyun
me same as tongtong, don't care abt D&amp;D theme at all. just wear my normal wear (which is not even meant for attending dinners. but i don't care :p). unless it's compulsory kind, then bo bian. heng, so far no such instance. if yes, maybe i won't attend liao.

garfield
then it's ok mah. can alway make up to your hubby later on. he'll understand one mah

pauline
how much did you pay for the iphone? took up with which telco and what's the plan and monthly subscription?

i'll probably wait for the new iphone to be launched next year before getting one. ;)

Stephie, I paid $498 after trading in my N85 ($200). I did not take up any data plan cos my previous corp plan only $14+ (voice calls only). If take up data plan, the Iphone is only $500+.

Wow..i phone is getting very 'hot' nowadaes..
pauline.. i also dun have data plan but thinking of signing up for one else never make full use of iphone.. haha.. But i guess u r also right, with 2 kids and being a sahm, can use home wireless to surf too.

TUTE.. need ur help.. i remembered u mentioned abt mamil gold step 3 1.5 kg at only $38. Can i check with u where u got it? My milk powder ss running low and hubby has been bugging me to check with u cause i remember u got at some medicinal halls at quite low px. Where is the place?

Re: F and E tokyo trip

After comparing the airfares between sin to aust and sin to tokyo, i think my hubby and i have decided to settle for tokyo trip in late jan 10 b4 gwen turns 2 and before i struggle w 2 kids.

i think quite a no. of you have been to tokyo , remember garfield, qingling, stephie, bkk? Paiseh.. i did not register the things that u all discussed previously casue never plan to go there leh.Need ur contributions again.. pls help cause i need to book air tics and hotel soon. I only remember citadines at shinjuku region... i check out their rates abt SGD150 per night ( is that average?)

Can i check with u all again and have ur inputs:

1) Should i take JAL or ANA airlines, both prices are comparable abt SGd750 inclusive tax , is that cheap?

2) Should i venture out of tokyo?Eg to nearby cities? We are probably staying there for 6 days, haven decide yet. I was thinking 6 days in tokyo could be quite stifling? I am not keen in shopping just want to walk ard, see see, eat and go disneyland, mt fuji. Thats y if staying 6 days dunno should venture out to nearby cities or not.

3) Should i go disneyland or disney sea?

4) Any other highly recomended places to go? I remembered u all taking abt some hello kitty place or some sci museum thingy..

5) Is it crazy to go tokyo during winter since i cant go hot springs and cant go ski.

Appreciate any inputs that u have.. stephie.. i read that u are planning and F and E trip next yr too.. can share ur experience since u have just been there?

Jeannie,
I got it at a shop called Jin tai tong at rivervale plaza across my house. They have other branches but all in the east... Tmpines, pasir ris and ubi I think. Lezy mentioned she got hers from a store nearby her place at quite a low price too, may want to check with her as her place would be nearer to you right?

jeannie,
just check out any econ minimarts, chinese medical hall around your place lor. or maybe go to neighbouring estates....etc. u can try ghim moh area if holland nothing....

mine also about +/-39. Depends on whether i get from econ minimart or the chinese medical hall - sometimes out of sotck so at least i have 2 options.

IPHONE:
i think data plan is useful if:

1. you are on the go - running around doing sales calls etc and need to access emails etc.

2. you dun mind paying $xx a month for the on-the-go surfing/reading emails/twittering/facebookupdates etc.

if not, it's quite redundant. I use wireless@SG for my ipod Touch (there is an application that is a 'one-touch' login...very convenient) whenever i'm in shopping centres. Other than that, i'm not on buses that much since I walk to and fro work - and mostly when i'm walking, i prefer to listen to music or audiobook than surf net.

In any case, I have abit of motion sickness - cannot read or play games on the bus or else i'll wanna puke when i get off - so on the bus i usually listen to music and stone i guess - no choice. (which is why i dun like long commutes and chose to live near work etc)

so i think u have to evaluate your lifestyle and see how suitable/necessary data plan is for you.

For me i did sign up for a BBOM plan(Broadband on mobile) that's just a few bucks a month for random updats i may need when WIRELESS@SG is not available. I have 6 months to evaluate (minimum contractual period) to see if it's useful. If not i'll cancel.

b4 singtel upgrade to 12gb data plan. i scare to use too much of internet on the go. now they increased. i facebook, twitter, email or surf forum on the go. to make full use

cheryl,
if you only use for surfing, not doing video streaming then i think you won't be using too much. if you are on singtel, try installing the app for singtel data usage (search for that in appstore) which will show you how much data you have used
i hardly use 500mb in a month and i check fb/email frequently as i don't have access in office

iso,
why don't you try putting on him while he is sleeping? can't help much... c also hates the cooling plaster so i hardly use...

I'm Kam from the Jan thread (**waving to those I am already familar with - Kitsune, tongtong, cheryl, tubao.....**).

Just wanna leave a message here that I will be bringing my boy to the Staccato trial this Saturday at 10.30am (thanks tongtong for arranging it). Not sure who else are going? Come say hello if you can recognize me (or my boy) - www.babyhaore.blogspot.com.

Post Natal Depressions
XY, I agree with you family support is extremely important. The husband has to be understanding and lend a helping hand. My gf's gynae also said that to my gf's husband, must watch over her in case she does something silly/dangerous.

Breadmaking
I don't quite bother with the window pane test but 1 knead from the machine is definitely not enough. Also, my machine can only go max 2 cycles, else will be too hot. Your recipe calls for only 1/2 tsp of yeast? How much flour used? For me I always use 500g flour recipe and it's about 1.5 - 2 tsp yeast.

Confinement lady,
Forgot to mention that Pauline's CL is really accommodating, my first 2 were alright but not the 3rd one. Gives me big headache and I gave her the sack before 1 week. Ordered confinement tingkat food instead.

XY,
What's your build like? I do have a punjabi set that I bought from India some time back and I wore it for my ex-coy's DnD. I don't usually wear for the occassion but since I bought a punjabi that year and coincidentally DnD theme is Around The World, so I wore lor. Used it once only and now white elephant :p

Clover,
No breadmaking class lah.. just sharing my experience. Me not expert enough to teach :p

Iso,
I realised young kids don't like the cooling pad for the forehead so we bought the cooling pad (cushion) instead. The child will lie on the pad to sleep. Best bet will be to sponge him hourly.