(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Reena,

Can count me in breadmaking at your home? Can arrange at weekends? Thanks.

Jeannie,
I bought my Nan3 at my neighbourhood' minimart. It sells $26.5 while NTUC & coldstorage sells at $28+. Maybe you'd try minimart.

---japan trip,
hehe...
I like iternary qingling planned. Liked her daily update photos at facebook.

Kam,
Nice to see you drop by here. Won't join you gals this time....

Re: Cl

Pauline.. hehe u must be enjoying ur confinement cause got many helpers ard including main helper, cl and ur dear hubby. Very lucky of u! Somemore ur Cl is so nice.

My previous Cl was ok but a bit stubborn, very insistent on her own ways and we din like certain things so my hubby and i have decided that we are not going to get CL this time round. Hubby will take leave and stay with me fore 2 weeks, he will be my CL lor.. hehe.. cook lunch for me but dinner we will order tingkat plus i am putting gwen in CCC so hopefully will be manageable.

XY.. hehe.. i thot u ask me how come i recognise carrie.. :p

Tute.. i agree the 12 gb is super excess for pp who do not download videos or maximise the potential.. my hubby hardly exceeds 500 MB too. BTW, enjoy ur break home!! how long will u be back?

Re: milk powder
Thanks tute,lezy and tubao, will go check out the medicinal halls.

Re:Japan

Qingling got post her itinerary on fb ? okie.. wil goo check..

Qingling...btw i will not be sigining G for LNT cause i am putting her in CCC in Jan. Let her get used to CCC before the 2nd one comes. I din noe pats schoolhouse also got such long wait list.. actually i dun really like the CCC near my hse but since its just next blk and we haven decide what are the other options yet so we just put her in first.

Hi Kam,
I got read ur blog ( Hope u dun mind :p) so i noe who u are.. c u on sat!

for the staccato trial, i think i will go earlier abit...cuz i find that ruth settles better when we're early and have some time to get used to environment.

Genice,
Sure. See you on Sat!

Lezy,
Yes, that applies to my boy also. If we arrive earlier, he usually enjoys more. See you on Sat too!

Hihi, Kam.

Genice, yup this is the honeymoon period for me. After Dec, I'm going to suffer liao cos first hubby goes back to school then CL leaves. :p

Iso, haha, my CL said she's more free this time since I got maid to help out. She even asked my MIL what she wants to eat. She'll cook for her. Hehe.

hi genice,
if 1 to put gal in ccc,u got to put her there earlier for her to adjust,if not,she may associate bb with u putting her to cc

hi qingling,

i dun have ur facebook,can email me ur itinerary?
thanks a lot

hi pauline,

is ur cl ur previous cl?maybe that is why she can do more for u,cos already know u?

Goodbbb,last time she do more cos need to wash our clothes and clean the house. This time she can do more cooking including cooking for my gal. I ask my maid to learn from her too.

re hubby doing confinement,
thanks for the kind words - told hubby liao as encouragement hehe....hopefully we won't "clash" too much this time round keke....

pauline,
been wanting to ask you - how is the medela freestyle? you used medela PIS advanced previously right? which one is better?

genice,
err....i not as detailed as qing ling - we didn't plan anything cos completely free and easy. only thing i did beforehand was to book a serviced apartment (citadines shinjuku). once we reached, just looked at our lonely planet guide and decided where to go the next day.

Gar, freestyle is very compact, it fits into the side pocket of my lap table. So far, suction ok and it's not as noisy as PISA but Ms Wong Boi Boi from TMC parentcraft said freestyle is 'useless' to clear blocked ducts so I'm a bit apprehensive. Touch wood and hope I never have to put it to test lor. Duh... :p

pauline,
hmm...ya actually when i had blocked duct problem, the PISA really helped! but cos i need to pump at work - the thought of lugging the pump to and fro not v appealing lor....

hehe...if you thinking of selling your freestyle 2nd hand let me know ok? i go back to work july10. can use my PISA meanwhile at home no prob.

Gar, hehe, think not very likely leh cos I BF RaeAnne for 1 year. Will try my best not to stop after 6 months, if not, like not very fair to Mei Mei leh. :p At least freestyle is quite light and portable. Even going travelling also ok. Already booked tickets to go to Penang in Jun 10

good morning all!!
was on course yesterday and today.
can't participate in the discussion.

genice,
i saw NTUC having promotion on Mamil Gold.
2 for $68.

tong/stephie,
i feel like bochap about the theme.
but everyone is like so on. paiseh leh.

reena,
thanks for offering.
i found a kebaya like top. will match with long skirt. hopefully it's ok.

tubao,
reena not free on weekend one leh.
so most probably weekday at my place.
reena, hor?

Hi, Xiao yun,

I see, hehe...maybe I didn't read previous posts closely.

Still keep me informed, ok? Let me see whether I can take leave on that day or not.

genice - i can talk to u more at LNT class, why dun we ask our hubby to attend this sat then we can chat..hahaha. :p
my itinerary very boring for the second time cos we not so adventurous with Heidi.

goodbb - i dun really have a itinerary on FB, just the pictures of where we go. hehe. i will add u on FB.

I have been staying at home for the past 2 days trying to be a SAHM.. haha.. its tough but at least i try to cook lunch and dinner for both nights and G ate rice and tang hoon other than her usual porridge. I think slowly can get into the momentum liao but seriously need practice lor.

Re: activities
Instead of letting her watch tv which she does quite frequently, yesterday i played some soothing lullaby and the 2 of use sat down and play thru 8 puzzles. She was quite 'well-behaved' and we had fun and i definitely think that the music helps in creating the environment!

At night we brought her down to the playground to play and she also has a feast of yakult, yogurt plus ice cream ( all shared with me) throughout the whole day so think she was super happy!!

Re:japan

Thanks gar.. i think i also shouldnt think so much book first and see how lah.. haha.. maybe like u get lonely planet and just go lor. G bigger liao should be easier i hope.

Qingling, sure! I ask my hubby to take over this time round!!

Re: Mamil Gold

Xiaoyun, is that for step 3 1.5 kg? and 2 tins for $68? Cause yesterday i went ntuc and saw their promotion is 2 tins for $80 which is their usual promotion.

Tute, tubao, lezy, i googled jin tai tang and found a shop at pasir ris.. hubby went to get the mamil gold step 3.. i thot quite cheap 1.5 kg for $35.80.. but if XY one is true than even cheaper..
Mummies can try this shop at pasir ris dr 6.

goodbb, i will start her in jan.. actually prefer to start her in april, 2 mths b4 the next one comes but the sch says must start immediate.

Pauline.. no worries lah.. by that time.. u will get the hang of the 'timetable' liao.. with helper shld be fine..

Re: carters sale
Btw, there is a carters sale at tampines industrial side.. near safra.. think giliman building.

3 for $10 carters rompers of 4-5 for $7.. think 2nd time mummies to be can go down and see , heard the sizes are quite small not for our tots.. i think i want to go down but noe sure go down today or tmr , it started yesterday. Today also go isetan pte sale.

genice,
i am going to tokyo in early Jan 2010! Will be going to Hakone for 1 night. I booked Sunroute Hotel Shinjuku, heard that it's in a very convenient location.

Itinerary is fully free-and-easy, cos i think with a young one, easier to plan as we go along.

stephie,
too bad u weren't at Polliwogs. Would love to meet u some day, since i remember u from early pregnancy days.

Gar, thanks. Will try my best.

Genice, hope so lor. Thought I got their schedules more or less last week but this week all haywire again cos Mei Mei wants milk every 2 hours instead of 3 hours. Too early for growth spurt mah. Yet she keeps regurgitating or spitting 'sour' milk out. Don't know why. Cheh Cheh also started milk strike on Tues. Ironical, one wants to drink milk but keeps spitting. One doesn't want to drink milk. Take turns to 'dua' me. Duh... :p

Me bioing the pressure cooker from IPS too but no time to go and see. Cos got dental appt this afternoon. :p

genice
yup, me just went japan (package tour) and planning to go japan on F&E next year (depending on where there's promo tickets). now reading up on forums to get better ideas of places to visit. if you are going for 6 days, suggest to spend just in tokyo itself as there are many places to go (based on what i've read). my fren went for 8 days in tokyo and she felt it's just right.

for disneyland, if you like to just bring gwen to visit the place and see the disney characters, no harm going. cos preggy can't take most of the rides. when i went US with Shawn inside my tummy, i only took those boat ride in disneyland. was fine with me as i'm not those who are very keen in rides.

fairfield
ya, too bad couldn't join in the fun last sat. my girl has class on sat morning. long time didn't meet up with the feb mummies liao. thanks and so happy to know you remember me

tubao,
Breadmaking wont be @ my house cos my house really messy, so paisay to invite friends/relatives over :p I can go to Tampines/Bedok (anything easily accessible) as I may need to rush back to fetch DS2 & DD1 after school. And it will be on weekdays when DD1 school ends at 3.30pm. Weekends are out as it's family day esp so now cos DH always travelling. He's only in Sgp 1/4 of the time now.

garfield,
You mean your hubby did your confinement for you ie cook, wash and take care of bb?

Expressing milk
I used Medela when I was express for DD1 last time but find it very noisy. With DS2, I bought Ameda, love it to bits as it's light weight and quiet. Used the Avent Isis (manual) at home so I don't have to lug pump daily unless I need to run events outside. With DD3, a friend from US bought me the Avent Duo but since I'm a sahm, I have no use for it.

genice,
Well done! It may be a bit terrifying at first but once you get a hang of it and stays on your routine, you should be alright.

Holidays,
So envious of you girls going for holidays. I can only dream.

Hi, Reena

It's ok. Weekdays are fine with me.
hehe....often wonder when I can be like you, to look after my kid without help?

re: Mamil Gold
Genice,
I've not yet got a chance to verify the advert from NTUC Marsiling.
It's original price at 2 for $80+. Not sure about step what.
Will check out for you after work today.

any review on the following:
(1) Hungry Caterpillar
(2) Carpe Diem
(3) The Orange Tree
(4) Marvis

I can't find any review on preschool.sg

re: NeoFlam
now they upgraded their pan to induction compatible.
Price increase by $10-$20.
old version all phased out after Isetan Private Sale last Friday.
bought an 26cm with lid at $70 after 30% discount.

jeannie
jia you!!

so you are back in your own home now? what will your plans be when #2 arrives? i am still trying to think whether i should move out and get a helper in april (and send E to playgroup), or just continue to stay with ILs until the end of the year and then later get a helper. i think 2nd option not so good for E because then he will have to wait so long to go to PG, and will have a lot of changes, moving house, starting PG, new helper...

fever
thanks mummies for all your advice! it turns out he has roseola, the fever started v suddenly on tuesday evening, and by friday evening was gone, then the spots started to appear. lucky it's not itchy!

xiaoyun
wat's so good abt neoflam pan? didn't realise there's actually a coupon for neoflam pan for the pte sale. only saw it when i went home after the sale on fri.

stephie,
the neoflam is a ceramic coated non-stick pan. unlike the normal teflon coated pan, it's toxic free. (that's the most important part)
also, it should be able to last longer than teflon coated pan. 1 sales person told me that normal pan use 6 months, neoflam can last 5-6 years. (not sure true or not).
the sales person @ isetan told me that promotion set from the coupon sold out within a few hours in the morning. it's really that popular loh.

the price for neoflam is actually quite reasonable. there's another brand - greenspan also a ceramic coated pan. the price range is more than $100 for a small pan.
probably that's one of the reason that neoflam is so popular too.

mistake ah. i should meet you @ isetan on Friday so that can go and grab the good deals.
my D&D was @ Orchard on Friday night.

xiaoyun
can use metal spatula on the neoflam pan? no wonder the sales person was telling me it's good buy at 40% discount. but i know nuts abt the pan so was wondering why it's so popular. :p

isetan pte sale do have very good buys and it means one needs to take leave to grab the good stuff brigt and early.

ur D&D @ orchard. yahor, could have met up with you.

Hello mummies..

wah so quiet since Fri.. everyone buzy with xmas shopping!!

Xy, thanks k..

Re: carters sale
Sigh.. a bit regret never go after seeing the loot at bx and pauline's blog but really no time. Any idea whether they have this sale only once a yr.

Anyway, i bought quite a bit of stuffs from states. Bought 10 rompers for a baby boy.. haha.. but i still dunno the gender yet..

Iso..yar.. i am back home most of the time.. feel more comfortable!! My plans.. hmmm.. G go ccc from jan then in laws will take care of 2nd one lor while i KIV the CCC and c whether need to change to another.
I am definitely not getting helper at the moment cause in laws can still take care of the 2nd one.

I also worried too many changes for G so start her CCC earlier and get her used first, at least 1 concern down. I think u might want to start E a little earlier cause he needs time to adapt at least u will not need to cope with his changes and also the new baby at the same time and u can train ur helper too. Ur hse is ready?

genice,
feel so good to be at home right?
i am sure you can handle it as you have done it in US before.

stephie,
not sure if can use metal spatula. i all the while been using wooden one. :p
40% discount is hard to come by. furthermore, it's selling the old stocks at the private sale.
now all new stocks on the shelf liao.

i am not a Isetan member as i don't think I will be so on to chiong for the sales. the membership is renewable each year right?

xiaoyun
think the isetan membership is for 2 years (more than 1 year that's what i remember). actually i seldom shop at isetan (probably only once a year or once every two years previously). I signed up for the member card in Aug 09. Cos i wanted to get something then and it's worthwhile to get the card. easily recooped the $10 membership fee. i compared some of the promo on fri and sat. some discounts offered on fri were really not available from sat onwards.

stephie, the neoflam salesperson woldnt recommend using metal spatula. I'm using my old teflon spatula.

I found some stains stuck on the pan n asked the salesperson abt it n he said use bicarbonate soda to clean it. Havent try it though.

isetan card
my hb is finally going to get me a supp card aft so many times asking him abt it. *rolleyes

coz he heard fr his boss tt u can reserve the sale items on the day b4 n go down on the sale day to pay for the reserved items. If item oos, still can make payment n collect another time. Convenient n gd cust service huh?

clover
thanks for the info on the neoflam.

wow, so good. can reserve item. next time if something catch my attention, shall try it :p

ur hubby is having isetan credit card?

jeannie
i think our place will be ready by CNY to move in, but i'm not keen to move in until after i stop work (around mid April), cos otherwise i have to put E into full day CC or something...

actually now that i think of it, i think might be better that i dun stay with ILs for confinement and after bb is born, because they are already looking after my nephew and dun think they can cope with so many pple in the house (and they die die dun want helper). now my mum can look after E, but when my sis finishes her ML in March she won't be able to handle 2 liao..

clover
i din know can reserve! so good! then dun need to fight with the crowd or get stress shopping, can just go there and pay?

XY, feels GREAT!! to be at home.. but then my hubby grumbled that i cant keep the hse clean and tidy.. sigh.. he asked me "What kind of hse is this??"
sad siah..

Iso.. then move in in April lor!!
u got 4 mnths to get ur hse ready, source for CCC for him near ur new place and source for helper too. Then come april, everything will fall nicely together hopefully, u can train ur helper while E goes CCC and confinement can get ur help to do chores and cook simple lunch, dinner ( tingkat confinement food).. Hmm.. sounds like a plan! :p

My hubby doing confinement for me leh.. i decided to save some $ and c whether i can survive the confinement by myself.. order tingkat dinner and probably get those 1x a wk part time helper.

Staccato
Iso.. is ur fren Pei Ni? If she is then most of us, lezy stephie, vinegal and myself attended her trial that day and i signed up!! Haha.. cause quite near my hse and i think i like Pei Ni too..

The trial was quite fun.. never attended any music trial b4, a refreshing change from her LNT lesson.somemore i am music illiterate so i think i also learn something!! :p

genice
how much is the package? don't know if i should sign up for shawn :p cherylin wanted to attend the class too when i told her about didi's trial. told her it coincides with her english class so she can't attend. then she said she don't wanna go for her class. ;P

staccato
do u mean peiming?? if so, yes it's her, haha. what's the class like?

jeannie
yay! thanks for helping me think of the plan, haha! now just need to get approval from hubby. he want to stay longer with MIL and last week say if we move out, he wants me to look after everyone on my own without helper, but later he said i'm the mistress of the house, so i can decide.. lucky he change his mind, otherwise i cannot look after the 3 of them, he's v pampered by MIL!

the only part to my plan is, it will be my first helper, so must be prepared in case it doesn't work out also right?

for you i think part time help is good lah! at least 1 or 2x a week. even if it's for a few months, then u can be less stress. anyway pt help can hire and fire, not so much committment like full time ones, heh.

genice,
how to expect the house to be sparkling clean with a toddler around?
furthermore, you are expecting now. how to do so much house work?
get a parttime helper then. just like iso says, can hire and fire if you don't like. then try out a second one.

iso,
i think if you intend to send to childcare, got to start early.
prepare a few weeks kids will fall sick when expose to new environment. *touch wood*

genice
maybe ask your hubby to be stay at home dad for a couple of days while you are away. see if he can keep the house clean and tidy with a active kid around. :p my house has not been clean for many years liao. think only time my house is 见得了人is when we had 1st month and 1st birthday celebration. other times are really at a mess so we never invite pple to our place (so paiseh mah). so can tell your hubby my case is worse then yours ;)

isetan card
my hb heard abt the reservation bit fr his female boss n i heard b4 too, but nev done it. Hehe.

genice, if my hb say tt to me i will blow my top n ask him to sleep in the living rm =p

iso, then u must factor in time to "house train" yr hb..

finally I can open my lappy. have been trying to latch on Shenon, but her schedule go really haywire, almost like every hourly. Now I give up. Giving Shenon a bottle at least she can sleep after drinking 90ml per feed and sleep immediately after feed. Now I can do my work.
Should I still try to latch on?

XY,
I'm reading your books now.
Like "我的工作是母亲". Cannot stop reading it, now already half-day.

hi bluegin,
i remember there was a time C also latch every hour.
not sure why. but i just latch on demand and watch tv lo.
this is just a phase, i can't remember when it ends. latch until scare sometimes too.

glad that you like the book.

XY,
Thank you for the encouragement. I wish it will be over soon.

Garfield,
I use PISA to clear the block duct problem. Very effective.
I heard my friend who is using the freestyle. It works the same. But can be used handfree.

tubao,
Being a sahm with no helper is tough but once you settle into a routine, everything will come by naturally.

XY,
I don't know about the rest as I've not visited them but I shortlisted The Orange Tree last time. My impression is teachers seem to be of better calibre. Didn't enroll there in the end as logistic was a problem so I put DD1 in the childcare in my office premise. Very good school too but far for you.

genice,
My hubby also asked me the same question when I first stayed home. He expects a cleaned home with toys all packed aside, house swept and mopped. I told him to try staying home one day and he will know what I went through. After that, he dare not comment leow ;)

Stephie,
Hahaha! Same here! My house also cannot "open house", not even to my siblings :p

blueginger,
I believe it is growth spurt. When I had DD1, I actually recorded her nursing schedule and there was a week where she suckled almost every hourly. I recorded, it was 22 times within 24 hours.

Hi, Blueginger/xiaoyun
Hehe....we can have book club for that. I will read one article of her blog, when feel that my maternal strength is dropping.

Hi, Reena,
Thanks for encouragement!

When I chitchatted with my high school classmates in Shanghai weeks ago, we shared similar thought that we were so lack of , or rather have no confidence on domestic work, as brought up mostly as one child in family, and emphasized on studying only.

Well, we realized it now. Hehe.... My friends and I think that it helps train ourselves much better and faster when our parents are not at nearby to help anytime.

reena,
i just called up The Orange Tree and they do not have vacancy till June.
can only visit them in Jan as supervisor is not around.

went to one near my place - thinkerstar. feel the place is so so but like that it's non-aircon.
not sure about the teachers as the kids already left when i went.

Thanks for the encouragement!Maybe my hubby feels that i can do better since only 1 kid at home and sometimes even when G is at my in laws place he feels that i can tidy the hse even more.But i really very tired to do things on my own and so many 'barng' have to climb up and down to arrange. Sigh.Hope on his off days he can help me do together..i am a bit jia lat.. i cant evne find my maternity wear cause all my stuffs are packed on top of each other and we dun have a store room so using cupboard as our store.

BTW, can anyone tell me why my hse so moudly? is it because i never open the windows in 2 of my rooms??Anything can also grow mould in my hse.. even my bags.. upset..

Reena.. i think u got 3 kids so probably more difficult.. in fact i also use u as eg to my hubby saying how well u can cook.. i think i brought misfortune on myself.. haha.. he remembers and use that as a basis for comparison.. i cant cook, cant clean....

Anyway these 2 days i had my 'revenge'.. everytime he places something out of place, i will purposely say " what kind of hse is this?" Heng, he takes it as a joke now .. Yesterday i also asked him: "would u rather i quality time to teach G at home or spend my time keeping the hse clean and tidy" He says "Teaching G of coz" and he feels that i reallly need help with the chores..