(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Thanks, fairfield.

Bx, don't worry, I put on 15kg for this pregnancy. For RaeAnne, only 10kg. :p You are taller than me, so even if you put on more weight, don't think the weight will show.

Iso, picked only 11 photos out of more than 50. So, okie lar, she didn't smile for most of the photos. Photos only included 6 photos. So, save money since I have to pay $15 for each extra photo. Plus make up $80, total I had to pay $350. :p

Genice, the semi nude shots are not on my blog. My hubby conservative lar. Told me not to put them in. Anyway, there were only 2 and didn't look very nice to me. Figure not good enough and the smile not natural. Hee.

Dor, way to go! Get a rabbit for no. 3 and nice bloom photos too.

Love those pics Pauline! I didn't get any maternity shots during the last pregnancy. Maybe I should this time but I'm shy cos my belly button very ugly :p

Reena
Super mom. wow. have a lot A LOT to learn from you. I can't even spend a day with dd without feeling exhausted keeping up with her energy, what more with 3!

bkkgal, my belly button also protruding and doesn't look nice. But don't worry, everything can touch up. Whatever that I don't like, can just ask them to remove eg. stretchmarks, dark tummy line, pimples, dark patches etc. hee hee.

Thanks ladies for all your compliments and kind words. I won't say I'm a super mom, I can only say I'm forced by circumstances, leaving me with no other options. Like now, DH is in Manila and won't be back till probably end of next week. It is no use to cry bucket so I just have to grit my teeth and do whatever I can. I sleep late and wake up early, no choice. My TV is usually not turned on, unless DH is in town. If I do turn on the TV, I restrict to 30 mins cartoon only. And yes, I have to lug all 3 wherever I go, even walking the dog. I did try leaving the 2 elder ones at home a few times but later found out that it is illegal in some ang moh countries to leave a child under 12 home alone. Ever since then, I never leave home without them.

For those asking about my kids age, they are:
DD1 - Jul 2002
DS2 - Aug 2005
DD3 - Feb 2008

The only ME time is when DD3 takes her nap as she'll be in the sling nursing. So I make use of such time to access to the internet and to update my blog.

Genice,
Thanks for realising that it's not easy to be a SAHM. I get lots of unwanted comments from pple that SAHMs are very free. In addition, they see the way I bake, they really think I'm very free... I do enjoy baking but most of the time, it's because it is so much easier for me to bake than to lug all 3 kids (with itchy hands) to the stores to buy bread/cakes/muffins etc....

Pauline,
They stay at Street 43. My understanding is, if the no. of applicants is lesser than vacancies, then you don't have to ballot. But if exceed and all within 1km, you still have to ballot. I may be wrong though.

BTW, your pics look great! You look very slim and pretty
I too like the one with RaeAnne hugging your tummy
But the one you posted here is cute, we missed her tongue as the pic was too small ;-)

Pauline,

Nice photos! You look radiant, your family looks great!

Reena,

So much to learn from you!

I always tries to observe how mum of 3 or 2 handle them alone at outside. Though the rest of family members have doubt on me whenever leaving me alone to take after E---I am clumsy person, even play with my girl at downstairs, bump forehead , bump leg, I cherish the time spent alone with E most.

Hehe....... You enjoy cooking and baking, who cares others' comments. I also can't understand why people always pick on us when we do something alike. They are testing our belief.

Last time, I juggled spending time between family, job and me. I decided to prioritize me favorites as Reading, friends(Visit friends/invite friends over to my house) , and traveling, and gave up other favorites. At beginning others complain, but I know that I already think through, made choices and stick with them.

pauline,
you look great in the pics! money well spent! you're one of the lucky ones - apart from tummy, the rest of your body/face don't look like you are pregnant at all

err...i also contemplated taking, but no lah i don't think i have the guts hehe and will probably needs TONS of photoshopping

reena,
agree you are SUPER mom! i must draw inspiration from you

recently just had a chat with hb, cos as a FTWM without a maid, i have to juggle work, #1 and now being preggie with #2. on top of that with the recent BP that i organized tog with Bkkgal, wah - i think i really maxed out already!!

was wondering if i can continue to cope without a full-time live-in maid, and while that has always been a last resort, i'm afraid that i will be overwhelmed when #2 finally arrives.

but i look at your schedule - and it has helped me realise that it can be done!!! albeit your circumstances as a SAHM are different, but no less challenging.

thanks for sharing....it's really shone some positive light on my own situation

gar
what abt part time help? i think each of us have different capabilities and thresholds also lah, some women 1 baby also need live in maid, you know what i mean? we all try to be superwoman but not all of us can do it

reena
wah! posting at 113am... really peifu you, i will certainly have more questions in time to come next year when #2 is here. I plan to stay home for at least 6 months and then see how after that. i don't mind being a SAHM and if i do we might also have #3 while i'm still at home
you don't want to consider part time help for cleaning the house?

apparently leaving children at home below the age of 10 is illegal too, i was told by a PD, but haven't been able to find anything online about that. but time outdoors is good for them too anyway

kitsune
at least got a few with her grinning away!!

The key consideration to hiring a maid is really because we did not want to tax our mother with the other duties in the house e.g. cooking, so that she can concentrate fully on the little one. Will be very tiring if our caregiver had to take care of sterilising bottles, preparing bath water, washing nappies on top of looking after the little ones.

As long as our caregivers are happy with the arrangement we are happy to continue. Except that recently, MIL had many complaints abt my helper such as answering back to her etc that made us re-think whether we should keep the current (her contract is up soon). If having her ard makes MIL more unhappy than happy, then we are better off with PT help.

I don't know..my childcare arrangements also keep changing like Gars, always have to depend on the goodwill of our caregivers and helpers. If nothing works out, then just quit and be SAHM. Intern with Reena loh!

iso,
yeah...definitely am no superwoman and have told hb so haha...i do have part time help and will be increasing in terms of frequency. but the part time help is weekday day-time help so more for my caregivers than for me =P

internship - count me in too!

gar
yah.. lucky my hubby realises that it'd require superhuman powers to look after 2 kids and clean up after him, so he says we can try a maid first and see how.

he loves to cook (when he has the time) and he loves having an assistant to cut things and wash up (which is mother now does), so i think that gave him extra motivation! hee.

reena,
u r indeed superb. i have ONE ds and now already always super tired out. can t imagine being preggy n not have help, so, also told my hubs that many many times liao :p btw, i love reading ur blog, it is a real inspiration n really cannot comprehend why some pple give u nasty comments. I thk they r really too free :p Also, wanted to ask u, i ve never baked in my entire life n never took home econs in sch. Any idea where i shd look for on baking for dummies??

bkk,
ur maid started answer g back to ur MIL? does she dare to do it too u too?? *SIGH* all these maid issues, but i can t do without help if i wanna get preggy leh

pauline,
v v nice photos, u look really good !!! v v radiant and happy mommy!!!

gar,
go take ur maternity shots lah...esp if this is ur final pregnancy. i took mine for the first one n thk will go again for second one cos at most i wld get preggy twice mah. Speaking of which, mayb i shd show to L my maternity shots soon so that he knows where he was when he was not delivered yet.

Leila
she doesn't do it to me altho sometimes when i point out mistakes, she will pull a long face (but i dun care cos i not ard at home to see, hahaha).

hb and i have no major issues with her but then we don't see her for 12 hrs per day cos we're at work you see. MIL has to be the one supervising her and I can empathise with her. Yet, the maid also has her own pov e.g. MIL always complained that she exercises a heavy hand while cooking (cook too much) whereas maid says that MIL is the one who told her to cook more cos extra can eat for lunch next day. But I think maid misunderstood that the purpose is to cook more and more so that can have for lunch whereas MIL's point is that nvr mind if we get extra, can eat for lunch. You know what I mean right? The original intention is not to cook so much such that you can have for lunch. It is an "in-case-we-hv-leftover-still-can-hv-for-lunch" idea but maid misunderstood it.

And then MIL says the new frying pan she bought kena scratched. Maid says it's scratched cos cooking prawns, the feelers poke poke poke make holes. MIL says why dun u cut off. Maid says cos you say dun cut and MIL shouted at maid. AIYOH! I come home to listen to all these stories lor. End of the day, I just said ok, no more new frying pan, cut prawn heads when frying or else, everybody dun eat prawns.
Aiyah, ma fan.

Thanks, Gar, Leila for the compliments.

Gar, go for it lar. You'll look good, don't worry.

bkkgal, LOL, this are the kind of stories that I tell my hubby everyday. Luckily, he has learnt to filter it out. Cos he knows I'm just ranting. At the end of the day, I'm the one dealing with the maid so he does not intervene with my decisions.

bkk
wah, the stories, almost sound like it could be a drama DIL-MIL story, haha! maybe they just don't have chemistry, and can't work together?

Sometimes the -ve comments came from close friends/family members, and I thought they should understand better than acquintance... Oh well, I always tell myself, its MY family and I'm responsible for them so I usually brush it off with a smile and ignore unwanted comments.

It is not easy juggling work and family, which was the reason why I left my job. Actually, I left my 14 yrs job in Feb 2007 to be a sahm. But my ex-boss started his own business and asked if I wanted to help him. After discussing with DH and MIL, I joined the company in May 07. MIL helped to take care of DD1 and DS2, in addition to my niece (9) and nephew (7). It was a struggle for both of us and when I was preg with DD3, I decided it is time for me to really stay home and look after all 3 kids.

I've engaged PT help once but never again. In fact, I find it's more of a hindrance than help as my 3 kids will be busy kaypohing with the PT helper and I felt so obstructed. Anyway, DH helps alot in doing some housework. Now, I only get PT helper to clean the window grills and other cleaning chores.

I sleep as late as 2am and wake up as early as 7am (6am if DH is not in town).

My apologies if I've bored some of you with my background :p

Internship
No internship as I'm learning to be a good mother myself ;-) Everyday is a learning ground. Take yday for eg, DS2 dropped his WHOLE bowl on noodles on the floor, he only ate less than 1/4. And during dinner, DD1 toppled DD3's soup bowl, splashed and all soup on the floor. Imagine the clean up I have to do... Oh well, we just learn along the way. Important thing is, I always tell myself to be a HAPPY MOM and not a capable mom.

Leila
I'm a technical student and have no experience with cooking/baking. I learn from food forums/bloggers. But if you are interested in taking up a course, I think you can look out for them in community centres.

And thanks for visiting for blog

MIL vs Maid
We hear lots of such stories, ie the caregiver and maid issue. Sometimes don't know whether to believe or not... Just like my sis's ex maid, MIL always complain she not working but use phone and watch TV everyday. But as far as my sis is concern, as long as the maid finished the chores she assigned, she's okay with whatever the maid does at home.

Preg pics
I don't have the courage to take studio photo shots, but I always envy those who did! Wish I'm preg with #4 and I'll convince DH to take with me

Ah dor.. my serum.. i forgot.. :p will check with my sis and get back to u ..paiseh.

Re:SAHM

Reena.. i think i will go crazy and start scolding my kids if things topple everywhere.. sigh.. headache but honestly speaking i think being a SAHM actually involves a lot of considerations, i was actually browsing some threads on the discussion abt being SAHM or FTWM.
And some things discussed are really true not sure how u all think.

1) Finance-
To be honest some pp can chose to be SAHM cause economically it makes sense.. probably hubby is earning a decent income to support the family and if the family have 2 or more kids and childcare arrangement ( assuming not much help from family) is gonna cost quite a bit with infant care.. than its a bo pian thing to stay at home or go out to work.

There are some families not earning a lot so both couples have to actually go out to work as the net income is still +ve if they put their kids in childcare compared to just the father going out to work.

So in a way, whether suitable to be SAHM is one thing but whether ur finances allow is another thing.If i really become a SAHM, i think i can forget abt trips overseas, the most prob malaysia and i can forget abt other take for granted luxeries like massages/ pedicure or even just going to restaurants like jap food/ buffet and hotel getaways.

I am not sure how much HH income is needed to support a family but if u consider all the bills and things u are so used to like car.. $4k-5k /mth would be necessary. There are families that survive on probably 2k HH income per month and with probably more kids .. but can i be like them.. i really dunno..

2) Family support-
I think sometimes other than $$, if theres no family support also very difficult to manage kids and work.. so a bit bo pian sometimes have to take care of kids by yourself. Good thing is that u can teach them the way you want them to be teach and no questioning of why this and that not done.

3. Choice-
Some pp can afford not to work and SAH but this may not suit everyone also. Sometimes life may be happier if u actually work.. helps to keep ur sanity ( Of coz, doesnt apply to everyone, it boils down to choice)

My hubby thinks that i cant stay at home no matter how many kids i have.. this is also quite true lah.. i need to talk to pp to keep myself sane..and also i think i am not doing a good job when i stay home.. so at the end of the day i actually feel quite depress that i am such a lousy housewife... thats makes me feel even worse..

Sorry for the long post.. just sharing my thoughts after reading thru so many discussions..

reena
this might sound like a silly qn, but when do you bathe, or do you bathe when "bathe all"?? i have to shower twice a day (used to it lah), so i'm always so grateful that ILs can look after while i have a short breather and at least can have a decent shower...

jeannie
wow, not bad, now we dun need to read all the threads, got a summary here already ;)

JTS my experience, after i had E i took a retrenchment package, so i felt q shiok to be SAHM (cos kind of still got "income"). then got job opportunity came along so i q reluctantly went back to work, and hb was v insistent i go back. i was q resentful at first, but eventually like now i feel good that i can contribute to the family income, so i don't mind working as much as i can now. but like u said i think w 2 or 3 kids the infant/child care costs would really outweigh the $ u earn & save!

tongtong,
I'm quite used to sleeping late and waking up early so it doesn't bother me ;-) And in such a situation, I can only think positive. I always tell myself, thinking positive = winning half the batter. Just like whenever DH travels, I don't count down based on how many more days to survive, instead I count down based on how many days I've survived. It's the same logic as a half filled cup, is it half full or half empty? I like to think it's half full

genice,
I do agree with you to a certain extend but I'll like to share my encounters. I have a friend, her hub is a blue collar worker, takes home around $1.2k, supports a family of 3 (wife is sahm too). They don't drive, neither do they visit restaurants, not even fast food chains. When I look at them, I always ask myself, how can they survive on $1.2k monthly?? With this scenario, I've learnt to take things more positively.

Also, my salary is sufficient to cover their childcare expenses BUT I do not spend time with my kids. My previous job requires frequent travelling and I get more reluctant to travel when I have more kids. After weighing my pros and cons, my best option is still a sahm.

Before I had DD1, I "mock" at graduates resigning to be a sahm. I simply cannot understand why a graduate would quit their high salary job just so to take care of their kid(s). At that time, I thought they were "crazy". As years passed and I became a mother myself, I felt that I should have spent more time with my children as I need to travel every month.

Not trying to create a havoc here but just voicing out my thoughts.

Iso,
Yes, when I say bathe all, I mean bathe myself plus 3 kids altogether. Sometimes I forget who has shampoo-ed and who hasn't :p Usually for morning and evening shower, we will bathe together. Sometimes I take an additional afternoon shower with DD3 as she's self feeding and I usually give her a rinse after her lunch.

kitsune,
Nice photos.
Dun worry abt the smiles. U got very lovely smile. =)
I suddenly rem I also take maternity shots. I wonder if my friend have them really cos he was on reserve after our shooting for 2weeks.
Must look for him. I like one one the family photo.

Just wondering if our Christmas outing on 12 or 19 dec confirmed?

Free music trial @ Staccato, Horse City, 19 Dec, Saturday, 10am.
Anyone keen? They will start the trial class once we have 8 kids

1. Shaun/Tongtong
2. gwen/genice
3. Shawn/Stephie
4. Ethan/isobellies
5. Channet/Bluegin

Thanks, blueginger, show us your bloom shots for no. 2 too lar.

Where is horse city? I never heard it before. Suaku. Are there real horses there? ;P

pauline
nice shots! the make up was good. think the bright colours made you very radiant.

genice
think i don't hv full itinerary for perth. did half half only and planned the rest while we were in perth. keke. let me search for the info that i've compiled previously.

hi ladies...

Its been madness at work...thank goodness for the holiday!

Maid Issues
Bkkgal, ur post came at the right time! im experiencing the same problems with maid n MIL (same nature just differnt 'content'-mine's abt her speed of washing clothes..blah blah, u get the pic)
honestly, to date i dun have any conflicts with my maid but perhaps it's cos im not home 12hrs a day to deal with her. also worried what if she takes 'revenge' if i scold her? currently im staying with ILs but will be moving to our own place and taking maid with us, really wonder how things will be like then, since i'll have to deal with her more im sure.

kitsune,
nice pics..

genice,
umm... i am on the same boat as you for point #3, i am a ppl person and i didn't even enjoy my maternity leave after the 4th month... so i told hb i can never be SAHM. though when all the child's arrangement issue comes, i do wish at times i can be SAHM.

re: household expenses,
i believe you make do with what you have... so it again boils down to options... if you are willing to settle for a simpler life then i think living on one income is possible. for me another factor comes into the picture and that is i need to support my parents, if i were to rely on hb alone i think it will be difficult to still support my parents...

reena,
after having a kid, i admire SAHM because i really have no courage nor patience to do that

btw, it's amazing how you keep up with your daily chores...and still have the time to bake! really look up to you!

maid issues,
i have similar issues... what i have try to do is talk to my maid separately and talk to my mom too... for my maid i told her to be patient with someone of an elder age, asked her to be more understanding when dealing with my maid... at the same time, i asked my mom to not be so harsh when talking to her as i pointed out that she does talk loudly at times... also, i remember this tip i get from my boss when we are dealing with difficult ppl during appraisals i.e. when there are 2 bosses around, one can be nasty but you can't have both be nasty or else the person sure will get defensive and leave. so i try to be the nicer one when my mom is around as she tends to have her opinions while i am more carefree, but when i'm the only one at home i'm also stern to my maid... i don't shout at her but i am stern. dunno if this helps... it may be easier in my case because i'm dealing with my mom :p

hello mummies - earlier on the discussion on probiotics, can any1 tell me where to get them? recently Heidi has been having constipation and very hard stools. sigh, yesterday she had super hard stools, had to "help" her with the process, she was crying so badly, in the end she had some minor bleeding. sigh, heartpain.

Hi qingling,
I've been giving K Culturelle probiotics when her constipation was very bad and it helped her alot. Culturelle dissolves in the milk. You can buy from Vitakids. Leila intro-ed to me chewables which K also liked, it's like a sweet to her. Leila helped me get from her PD as it's not sold outside.

Qingling, after some trial and error, we find that papaya works best for RaeAnne. Banana does not work as well. When she has constipation, we'll buy a small papaya from fruit stall and give her 1 slice (cut up into small squares) after each meal, and she'll usually poo the next day. Hope Heidi's constipation will resolve soon.

qingling..i heard about papaya before too. we just give her more yakult and water when she doesnt really poo on some days.

but def not banana. i read somewhere it's not meant to relief constipation actually but i can't remember where i read it.

ql, ic then she's sensitive to that brand of yogurt. Just curious what's the brand? My son cant that meiji fresh milk coz it brings on phlegm. I also find papaya works well for him. Otc... When there's yogurt n fruit, my son's poop smells not as bad. =p

Qingling, Papaya and fruit juice + yoghurt shd help the constipation. If not give fresh prunes or prune juice. for long term constipation, it's due to insufficient beneficial bacteria in the intestine, thus should get prebiotics to help.

re :SAHM

Am gg 2 be one after getting bonus. In fact, been a heart and head battle 4 me during my ML. Was struggling 2 mk a decision 2 send my Cayenne 2 CC while maid tk care of Cayden.

Had my tough time when hb not in SG & me scolding Cayenne almost every day. So was tinking will i be a GOOD & PATIENT SAHM? I hv my fears & worries on being a SAHM.

After long discusion wif hb, decide 2 be a SAHM though i scare i cant be a gd SAHM. Well, like wat Reena had summed it all up, tink positively. I been telling myself tat.

genice/tute,

same as u, i tink i cant face my kids 24/7, will go "crazy" man! BUT 4 the sake of my kids + other issues 2 consider, I tink i mk the right decision. (though havent materialize yet) ;p

crystal,

wat happen tis time? care 2 share abt ur maid issues?

so far mine is quite gd. u wan me 2 recommend my agency 2 u? PM me if u wan.

Esther, all the best to you ! Don’t worry, if you are stressed, come to the forum , you will feel better after ranting okie.

Crystal, wah! so this is your #4 maid liao? What happned?

tong,

thanks! i hope i hv +ve stuff 2 share rather than -ve when i visit the forum. keke...

jz 2 share abt having my "ME" time last thurs evening. I never leave Cayenne alone wif hb since she's born.

but decided 2 do so. so last thurs evening was having dinner wif my friends. had reali a great time catching up wif them. miss my friends so much.

sms my hb, he told me cayenne kept looking 4 mummy mummy. aiyo, heartached leh. lucky cousin was ard 2 distract her. i oni reached home ard 11pm. she jz slept. & the next morning, glued 2 me like super glue! fri nite, i tink she dreamt abt me, cos she was calling mummy in her sleep! haha...

bkkgal
what's the name of the chewables? sounds interesting! i've been thinking about probiotics but no action so far. E can be a bit inconsistent in his poo and recent months not so interested in fruits, although fruit juice like orange and apple he'll gladly drink up.

Esther
must have confidence! all of us have to learn to be parents, we all start from scratch, so we just have to do the best we can. plus, i always think, if i can't do it, who can? I'm the mummy, so no one else has responsibility for my children but me

jia you, ok? and there's always lots of experienced mums here like Reena with advice

i'm so sian at work. counting down to taking early ML! 4 more months to go!!!

Hello mummies,thanks for all input.actually the constipation started these 2 months. She has been eating yoplait and meiji yogurt. We managed to get the probiotic (chewable) at paragon level 3, vitakids. Hopefully it helps.

blueginger,
Do share your pics here, I love to look at maternity pics

tute,
I was like you, thinking I can never be a sahm, even after having DD1, I don't believe I want/can be a sahm. But things took a turn when my maid decided to go back for good (only with us for 1 yr) and I had to take care of DS2. Don't speak too soon, you never know ;-)

I agree the household spending depends on your comfort level. Some pple are used to "luxurious" lifestyle so they cannot change to a simple lifestyle. For me, it's no additional enrichment courses for the kids.

Constipation,
Can give yogurt, yakult, papaya, prune juice and lots of fluid. Banana is among the top 10 food that causes constipation. However, this is from ang moh site and my guess is they only have delmonte kind of bananas. Not sure about local bananas as some parents swear by it.

Esther,
Yes, I find that thinking positive really helps me. For the past few days, I'll shout "JIA YOU" as DH is not in (away for more than a week and wont be home till Sat, but still keeping fingers crossed his trip doesnt get extended). I find that it helps boost my confidence :p Hahaha!

HI,

It's called BioGaia Probiotics chewable tablets.

Lezy, i read the same too - bananas cause constipation.

K is a fruit monster - she can whack fruits all day but still no results. That's why need probiotics.