(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

I have an idea.

Why don't we book the function room at Hort Park, bring our own food and let the kids play games, someone dress up as Santa, play xmas songs and have gift exchange?

Pauline,
antibiotics cause diarrhea. but no choice got to finish the course.

i've got one funny reaction towards a particular antibiotic - got insomnia through out the course. that's very torturing..

tute,
adverts are tempting us to spend spend and spend. newspaper say recession is over - sure or not? :p

iso,
i can't seem to understand how john little/robinsons earn. they seems to get sales all year long, and their member cards are free + rebate somemore.
I don't blame them for not sending mailers to me as i really spend very little at their stores. :p
what's CRM?

bkk,
why reject? is it because last time you were not in singapore?

tong,
training pants from BP (ida's friend) - 3 layer one 3 @ $7.90.

lezy,
shiok shiok ah.. massage, mani and pedi.
robinsons got cardmember's event somemore! now i get angry they didn't send me the mailer. haha..

stephie,
buy lah buy lah.
there are some not too girly one. but must slowly browse through.

for the pain, do you feel the pain is with your bone/joint/muscle?

tubao,
so you are those get offered scholarship by sg government when you were in china uni?

told my boss i've got nothing to do. now he wanted to pass his project to me liao. :S

XY
i was thinking the same! they always have sales, dunno how they make money on "normal" days, haha.
CRM is customer relationship management. a "simple" example is loyalty cards, but can include mailers, e-mailers, any activities to keep your customers coming back and happy.

genice
google farm stay perth. should give you lots of results. but hor will read till siao. last time when i search, didn't know which to choose so anyhow choose (based on price). end up not very good.

tongtong
wanna go c doctor after i came back. but somehow, no more pain so didn't go and see loh. else can claim from travel insurance :p

xiaoyun
for the pain:
knee - joint
heel - bone i guess since no joints there
fingers - joint

is it feng shi huh? cham.

i go browse the website on weekend then. :p

oh, if i were younger, perhaps will tell boss i've nothing to do. now, sure won't do so unless i wanna kill myself. when busy, really busy like mad. so i take it as a break when it's not so busy.

genice,
what some of us do is...

1. GOogle for options (like what Stephie posted).

2. SHortlist a few that appeal to you.

3. Cross-ref with websites like Tripadvisor.com for reviews. or Google for "<insert> reviews" and see what other customers talk about the place.

in that way u dun get "cheated" by (out-dated) pictures and false promises.

It's definitely not an easy process - but for 'quality assurance' it's worth it. If you are the type that will complain till the cows come home and feel damn fed up that your money was not 'worth it', this is always a good method to ensure that u have done all u can to find out.

The internet is such a great resource. We've used it from pre-marriage trips to our honeymoon and even for the recent Melbourne trip. GOogle-maps also helps a lot in planning routes and expected travel timings...and even tells us where are the tolled roads and etc.

BUt trip planning is not a one-day affair. Takes a lot of time and effort. Erm..since u into financial planning...u can even go one step further, set-up an exccel sheet and format into days (rows) with expected activites and expenditure (columns). In the end u can sum-up the columsn to see how much u will budget on food/travel/accom/POI (places of interest) etc and sum up the rows to see how much u spend per day.

hee. occupational hazard.

stephie,
it seems like feng shi leh.
if joint, ppl take glucosamine. my mil has problem closing/opening palms/finger last time, she took evening primrose oil and it helps.
do you want to try drink yomeishu? dun know it helps or not. i always thought yomeishu can help blood circulation and maybe can help in fengshi.

not me purposely go and tell him that i got nothing to do.
he asked about the workload, i can't tell him that i busy mah.
his reaction when i told him that i don't have much things to do: "I can tell"
ooppps.. i look so idling in office.

iso,
probably their profit margin really a lot. can still earn after discount.

lezy, you are a good planner. Definitely I'm not the one who will plan for the trip. I think the best effort I put in for the trip is to ask for info from u gals in forum. that's it :p

erm..the spreadsheet very simple one lah..not rocket science or some massive formatting required.

every trip will be slightly diff. heh. but if u all dun the messiness...i can send via email to u lah.

bkk..on the way to u.

Thanks Lezy!

Btw, hubs got a traffic summons in Melbourne for driving 4km abv limit!!! 4 miserly KM above 80 KM/H! AUD150. sighz, next time we take a driving holiday, will have to be registered under me liao.

So Genice, be careful when u drive there hor. The aussies are damn strict one loh.

bkk...i also got one...also just a few km/h

APPEAL!

I appealed and they relented (after almost a month of waiting) to just give a 'warning'.

troublesome thing is to have to write letter and send over.

oh can appeal one is it???? I didn't know. Our "veteran" Aussie holiday driver friends told us just dun pay, next time use another license. they got dunno how many tickets liao. hahaha.

xiaoyun
really ah. hiya, die lah. next time when i'm old, don't know still can walk properly or not. i still wanna travel when i'm old leh. sob

oh, if my boss ask me abt workload, i'll tell him "ok loh". but maybe they only ask when they observe that we are eng hoh? hmm...better be honest in such instance then.

Went for gynae check up just now. Baby Raelynn is already 3kg so even if pop this weekend, she's of good weight. I'm only 0.5cm dilated but gynae said her head is engaged and quite low. But if she drags to next week, she'll be 3.1 or 3.2kg like RaeAnne. :p

Anyway, I don't ask for too much. As long as she tahan and let Cheh cheh recover first before arriving then I'm happy. RaeAnne vomitted her milk again after her last feed and coughed. Hubby said we got to change our usual practice of last milk feed before she sleeps cos she's prone to puke it out when she coughs.

Her diaper rash is still bad. Today still keep pooing a bit of loose stools. Kept crying when we try to change her diaper, wash her butt, and apply steroid cream. Heart pain, decided to skip the antibiotics for tonight since her loose stools didn't get better even with 2.5ml dosage. :p Probably not a rational decision but I really can't bear to see her suffer even more. Cough with phelgm and cannot spit out already kelian enough, really don't need diaper rash to add onto her problems.

kitsune
sounds a bit like E, when he has a cough i try not to give him too much milk at night, and if i do i try to do it earlier so he is still moving around a bit before bed and has time to burp. i always have to cross my fingers when i put him to bed, keep containers handy in case he needs to merlion, and get super edgy when he coughs cos i'm always listening out to see if it'll turn into a vomit.

btw does she sleep in aircon?

poor girl :S

Iso, ya, we should have thought of that. Twice bitten but still blur parents. :p No, RaeAnne doesn't sleep in aircon. But we have a rotating standing fan aimed at her bed.

Actually met a mummy, Celia at ACJ clinic who has read my blog. She said she's Diana's friend and she read my blog because it was linked to Diana's blog. We have 2 Diana among the Feb mummies right? I remember one is Artemis, the other one not very sure. :p

Anyway, Celia's a Feb mummy too but seldom post. Her 20 month old gal, Cadence is so chatty and can talk so well. Even RaeAnne who is older, can't talk as well. :p

kitsune
actually it took me a while also, cos i wasn't keen to get up in the middle of the night to feed him so sometimes i'd still try and feed him the milk, and have to pay the price.. of cleaning up!! sigh

i think artemis is dianah, and diana is er, diana, if i'm not wrong. haha.

my friend's daughter same age as our tots, can talk to her on the phone!! E can't really put more than 1 word together, with the exception of "sea. horse." :/

Iso, oic, I thought there's a Diana Soon? And Artemis is Dianah Soh? A bit blur liao lar... :p

Haha, when I saw Cadence, I keep telling myself, don't compare, don't compare but the ks side of me still keeps wonders why my gal is behind her 'junior' and whether it's my fault.

er.. now i'm confused who is who :D

ya i know we shldn't compare, but i think it's human nature! hee... maybe we just need a bit more patience

Iso, ya lor, I was just telling hubby to ask his colleagues and find out which pri schools they send their kids to and their comments on the schools. Told him maybe we should be more kiasu and send my gal to his alma mater (Ngee Ann Pri) even though it's further. And RaeAnne is not even 2! Faint at my own kiasu-ness. :p

goodbb..paiseh my itinerary not much shopping - cuz we not very big fans of shopping. we didn't buy much.
most of the time we in 'shopping mall' is to go supermarket then we continue to go destination liao.

Think the most time we spent probably at the Queen Victoria Market - where we actually spent most time buying groceries. haha.

pauline,
Ruth doesn't even utter much more than a few words - but i always tell myself also not to compare (even though sometimes i abit paranoid/worried but i know it's unfounded). So far she will call me "bah!" everytime i ask her to call ma4ma4.

She understands everything we say lor, sometimes can utter a rare word here or there. But somehow just refuse to say the words out on prompting. Hse uses a lot of body language instead lor.

I have to remind myself to try not to compare......but somtime can't help it...but have to not think too mucha bout it lest she can sense my insecurity/uncertainty.

lezy, ya i keep telling myself maybe she's slow in development in some things but fast in others. Just that i'm too blur to know what they r. Hee.

or maybe one day they will start to talk and then we'll regret it! my colleague said he has to bribe his daughter to not talk so much, lol!!

kitsune
there are even MORE kiasu parents out there, i know a couple whose tot is 3 months younger than ours and they have already moved house to be closer to the pri school of their choice.
me i'm not even sure where we might still stay when it comes time to go pri school, and i guess also waiting to see if #2 is boy or girl, hee..

Iso, haha, nowadays my gal keep chanting/whining Mummy, Mummy, Mummy or Daddy, Daddy, Daddy when we are already carrying her. Faint! Feel like bribing her to shut up too... ;P

this old aussie couple told us - when we were waiting for penguins to come out at the penguin parade -
When they can’t, u pray hard for them to talk.
When they start talking, u can’t stop asking them to shut-up.

XY,
My hb used to be Taiwanese. he converts to singaporean when he was 18.

Travelling,
My next yr F&amp;E destination is CAnada. Being there once, miss the salmon sushimi at C$11 buffet. Yum. yum yum.

Kitsune,
Channet chanting like RaeAnne 2 months ago. Find her very noisy, but fun.
For Taiwan, my 1st trip there was 10yrs back. That time no budget air. Total expense included air ticket, food, hotel stay, souvenir and books abt $1000 for 7 days. After that, other trips I din count as I mainly take at relative's place.

Naked Hotspring:
I dun feel shy nake in front of others and relatives liao. SO used to it when everyone is doing the same.

lezy,
Dun have to be too worry abt Ruth. Let nature take its course. Channet talkative mainly followed her parents gene as both of us also very talkative. =P

Summon oversea
last time when we r in state, also stop by police twice due to speeding. We just pretend we lost our way and asked for direction, then thank the police officers and Voila. We're safe.

But speeding is realli dangerous. I was in Tasmania when I had a terrible car accident. We were negotiating a sharp bend when my friend hit the brake very hard n the wheels are knocked. Our car ran up a shrub and went top-down. Fortunately, we wore our safety-belt, so we escaped unharmed. We crawled out of our rented car just to see that it is just 10cm from the external wall of a house. That's very closed. and the 3months car was scrap.

hi mummies, today's weather is lovely!

We went jalan kayu for brekky this morn n i suddenly remembered animas resort is just down the road n we popped in for an impromptu visit. There are some animals (goats, 1 big horse, fowls n rabbits) to see and rabbits to feed. The mosquitoes are quite fierce even more so butterfly lodge, so we r all bitten. So must rem to bring yr mozzies patches.

Then we went to a mushroom farm 2 doors away n have a mushroom tour n bought fresh mushrooms! If anyone is interested n it's more for the adults, i can arrange for the mushroom farm tour.

ps: the farms are more accessible by car.

Clover,
WOow. SOunds like u have a lovely morning outing today.
I'm still counting down my confinement days.

Anyone still rem how much does bb drank (MILK) a week after born?

lezy, yup, agree with what the aussie couple said.

Blueginger, Most of the times, I'm still quite patient cos I can decipher her garbled language and guess what she wants. But when she starts chanting again and again, even though I'm already making efforts to carry her and get her what she wants, I'll also get frustrated cos I can't stand 'noise'. :p

Clover, only knew jalan kayu has nice roti prata. Didn't know that they have mushroom farms there.

bluegin, i rem it's 60ml then abt 75-80ml by 1m. Counting down to yr confinement!

pauline, the mushroom farm is off jalan kayu. Abt 2mins by car, 15mins by "kah". Hehe. There's koi n orchird farm on the same road as the mushroom farm n animal resort w i think not as interesting.

Iso, bx, hehe, actually even though I have 2 gals, the 2 schools I'm considering are co-ed schools (Poi Ching and Ngee Ann Pri). Don't know why but I think gals schools better in their teenage years. Less distraction from the boys, but I don't think there are any good gals school near me. :p

Clover, thanks. We seldom venture to different parts of Singapore because hubby not very good with road directions.

By the way, Anyone using GPS system? Can share the brand/model of a good portable GPS system (must be accurate and idiot proof) that can be kept away when not in use? Thinking of getting one for hubby as Xmas/anniversary present. Thanks.

pauline,
how is RaeAnne?

I also think i will prefer to send ashlynn to a all-girl sec school. coming from a co-ed sch, i was always distracted. haha...

check with u, at which week was dr wong able to tell that RaeLynn is a girl girl?

Bx, RaeAnne is still coughing (phelgmy) and runny nose but better cos not as frequent. But her med is running out so may bring her to see PD for review or switch to TCM. Dr Wong told me it's a gal at 12 weeks. Her guessing quite accurate.

Tongtong, thanks, are you using Garmin? Is it responsive? Cos I tried my friend's GPS system before. Came out of the carpark already, still no instructions on where to turn to go to our destination. :p

morning mummies !!

had a very tiring weekend... so many things going on and a lot of more activities I have got planned for the next few weeks.. guess it's the holiday mood...

bx,
for gender usually can be confirmed post detailed scan at 16-20wks?

btw... anyone's thinking of bringing their tots to see any live shows? there's quite a lot actually...

am thinking of bringing C to see Thomas show but since quite ex still thinking if he's gonna enjoy it... but he does get very excited whenever he sees Thomas.. :p

lezy,
after the class last Sat i was dead tired... hahaha... i think now i know why you say very tired after each class...

Pauline, my brother is using garmin, and i'm getting mine tomorrow cuz hubby renewed his plan and can get garmin at $1 only. I used my brother's garmin before. it's pretty good! although sometimes we know some short cut. but if we take our own direction, they will recalculate the direction and redirect u again. i think it's pretty good. er is your friend using garmin? i think mine doent have such problem leh.

oh yea, i think better switch to tcm.

Re: Aussie trips
Stephie and lezy.. so i guess theres no easy way out hor.. must google and read a lot to compare.. sigh.I hate this part..Now older and very lazy.. dun like to spend too much time to do research.

Lezy.. pm me ur melbourne itineray leh.. haha.. can c c and use if i go melborne.

Reena/stephie.. pm ur perth one if u manage to dig out info k..

when i was younger ( just finished uni) still can sit down every weekend to plan for me and my hubby's graduating trip. I think basicaly i was the one researching lor..down to booking hostels and checking the train schedule.. but that time not much things to do on weekends so ok lah.. i even managed to plan a 30 day trip to Europe across 6 countries and abt 10 cities..really miss the days and we only spent $5k /pax all inclusive.. not bad hor.. :p.. dunno how to repeat this again..

tute u not bad...still plan a lot of stuff fro the next few weeks. I'm just living week-to-week now!

i dunno why but i'm always very mentally and emotionally exhausted after each class. Perhaps it's our expectations of them and how they seem to be all out to do everything to irk us during class! My hubby not keen to continue cuz he say i look so 'sian' after the class even though i know it's good for her to learn how to "SIT DOWN".

Actualy I should be happy that when told so, sometimes she just sits down! But being human and all, i expect more!

I think I'm still very insensitive to her needs sometimes. it takes a lot to be continually engaged to a child's needs/moods/temperaments ALL the time! N I think that's what the class helps us to do - which is what really tires me out! So much easier to just ignore her sometimes. :p

Re: speeding
bkkgal and blueging.. states is quite strict too, we were also caught speeding on the highway.. my hubby's colleague was driving.But i can understand sometimes on the highway quite shiok to step on accelerator and just speed esp when u are on long roadtrips.

But above 4km/hr also fine.. i think that can be excused lah.. so did u all pay the fine?

Ours was expensive!!! Abt US$300 for speeding.. OMG.. and we never thot of giving some reasons cause too nervous already.. plus was bz trying to strap gwen down.. otherise another fine..

tak abt fine.. i kena fined $50 for parking at red lot when i attended my malay friend's wedding.. at least half the lots were red lots lor!! and i realise simei traffic wardens are super hardworking one..anyone know can appeal?? i thot they normally dun ka jiao when there is wedding??

Re: GPS
Pauline, i am using the garmin one also brought from amazon.. much cheaper than buying from retail but i am not sure abt the postage to sin cause i bought when i was in US. I think its normal that they take a while to locate after coming out from car park. Garmin is one of the more popular brands from what i know.

Re: Calling mummy and daddy
Pauline and bluginger.. my ger also!!! she has been repeating it non-stop until i buay tahan.. When she waskes up in the morning.. she will say 'yeye, mama, papa, popo' and she repeats againa and again or she will climb on top of me and start to pt to my nose and say nose, mouth, ya, eyes..

When we carry her.. she also repeat yeye, mama, papa, popo..aiyoh.. what developmental stage is this? :p

Although she can be quite 'irritating' at time sometimes i must agree that gers are more endearing, recently i have vomiting badly and coughing a lot because of MS, sometimes have to squat at the toilet bowl.. then gwen will come from behind and start to pat me whenever i vomit or whenever i cough.. i thot thats very sweet of her cause we never teach her to do that.Probably she picked up from some shows or when we pat her when she cough a bit.

And now she also knows the 'power' of the word PLEASE. Yesterday, she was seated on the car seat and she wanted me to unbuckle for her.. but i told her 'No, cannot'.. than she asked again..'Open'.. i said 'cannot, dangerous' then she said..'Please?'.. haha..me and my hubby laughed and rolled.. tots can be really funny ..