(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hehe, sweetpea. Think you overwritten Diana's EDD entry. Good, most have put in their EDD except Gar & Snowbelle. So no one knows if Nag has popped? :p

Genice, here's the consolidated list.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Feb08 2nd time MTB EDD List</font></font>
1. Crystal (popped already)
2. Esther (popped already)
3. Nagsterak (edd 8 Nov 09)
4. blueginger (edd 27 Nov 09)
5. Pauline (edd 8 Dec 09)
6. June or princessgx (edd 14 Dec 09)
7. Garfield (edd Feb 10)
8. bkkgal (edd 9 Feb 10)
9. sweetpea (edd 29 Apr 10)
10. Qingling (edd 4 May 10)
11. Bx (edd 23/24 May 10)
12. Snowbelle (edd May 10)
13. Diana (edd 26 May 10)
14. Isobellies (edd 2 June 10)
15. Genice (edd 16 June 10)

Wow... i din noe so many gave birth at MT A. Blueginger.. yar yar.. must share with me k after ur baby's delivery.

Actually i really want to try out MT A but i am quite concern whther they have lactation consultants there.. As some of u noe.. previously i TBF gwen by expressing my milk for almost 8 months.. i really hope this time round can latch on and not express one.. so wondering whether there are good lactation consultants there.

Wow.. got there;s good.. but now i have mobile broadband so not much diff.. haha.. but if 2 bedder big enuff may consider 2 bedder.. cause e 2 bedder in tmc quite sad leh.. thats y if i stay tmc now i must stay 1 bedder..

iso.. thanks..admirable?? Not that much to admire lah.. :p

clover.. tonight jia you lor.. but must see when ur period.. dun waste energy.. haha

clover.. u sahm?

leila.. go US same place leh.. sianz.. unless i tell my hubby dunno can transit at tokyo or not.. haha than maybe i will go..

BTW, haven see u ard here often.. bz with L?

iso,
work from home - haha...i just shut the door of my study room lor. she does knock on the door from time to time asking for me. but my parents are very good at engaging / entertaining her so she doesn't really "miss" me la.

Blueginger, RaeAnne will flip up my shirt and touch/kiss her Mei Mei at least 5 times a day. Regardless of where we are. So embarrassing. She knows how to burp Mei Mei now. When she drinks milk, will pass Mei Mei to me and made suckling sounds. Haha.

Sweetpea, just asked my maid to wash with bottle detergent, wipe then air dry. Hope it's good. It's quite small though, only about 7 cm long I think.

Gar, good for you. If just me and the maid at home, my gal will bang on my room door or toilet door and cry until very kua chang like 生离死别 if I don't open the door. Wanna update your EDD? I think somehow it got overwritten cos I thought you updated before. :p

Thanks Pauline. Hope to get mine soon

I dun really know how to introduce baby to my boy. I only told him that baby is inside mummy's tummy and once a while in the day, he remembers and will point to my tummy and say baby. Haha I don't dare to give him a doll to play..my husband will think I'm crazy!

Sweetpea, I ordered the "I'm a big sister" book recommended by Gar. Think they have "I'm a big brother" book too. Maybe you can buy and read to your boy.

kitsune, sweet pea,
library got "i'm a big brother", i borrowed already, along with other books about babies, actually more to introduce his new cousin who is about to arrive any day now.

not sure if he understands any of it though, i think we can only see once the baby is out!

gar
so good! i think i wouldn't be able to do that at all. when i'm at home he looks for me quite a bit, but if i'm out he's ok.

Tongtong, can understand how you feel. I don't see my gal for 1 night, I'll miss seeing her sleeping look and bright morning smile liao. But when she's around, I can't rest at all. :p

Never mind, time passes very fast. Take this time to do the things you usually can't do, watch all the midnight movies you want, go for long spa/beauty/hair treatments, go shopping and cheong with your friends etc. Haha.

Iso, that's good. I asked hubby to borrow 'I'm a big sister' last week but he said all the books loaned out at Tampines and I'm lazy to reserve so decided to buy from book depository instead. :p

Pauline, that’s exactly how I feel! Very contradictory , so I also dunno what I want .
You are right, these 2 weeks I finally can sit down in front of the tv to watch the 9pm Channel 8 show. And when I saw the baby Olympic I thought of my son liao. Olympic is such a cutie pie!! And yes, finally I went massage yesterday keke. Don’t think got time to do this when shaun is back..

genice
I gave birth at Mt A for both times. Yes, they have lactation consultant who will teach you how to bf, etc. Mt A is a pro-breastfeeding hospital. they will bring your baby to you when it's time for feeding if you are doing bfg. when i gave birth to shawn, they had renovated some of their rooms. i stayed in one of those new rooms and it had lcd tv, very nice toilet, etc.

genice
yalor, me and hubby also feel there's lots of things to buy in US. think becos my colleague doesn't have kids yet. she commented though only have baby stuff to buy. some more she hates coach to the core. if she goes to europe sure burn big hole in pocket.

Anyone knows where can i get mee siam now? haha.. craving.. i am at holland v..

Wah..stephie Mt A sounds gd.. also nearer to my in laws place.. they stay farrer road.. so just dow the road can bring gwen to look for me often.. haha

genice
maybe you go c c look look at Mt A to help you decide. that time when i reached hospital for delivery, i looked very uptight because i know i've already fully dilated and afraid baby will come out before doc arrives. the nurse there was very calm and told me not to worry as i'm already in the hospital and was in good care liao. that sort of made me feel a little less gan jiong. think they are well trained to handle such 'emergencies'.

genice,
i also had craving for mee siam ytd. keke... managed to satisfy my craving.

think i will stick to TMC for this birth since my gynae's clinic is located there. that time i had complication so it was easy for her to come to see me. i was also wheeled up to her clinic to do ultrasound scan.

I went tmc abt 2 months back for the first time. Last time I saw outside I was a abit puzzled-wondering how it's like cuz outside look like no space.

When I went in, was very shocked leh. It's very very cramped I feel maybe cuz me used to SGH's spacious interior, both in terms of ward n general corridors. Can't help feeling that they r out to cramp as many rms as possible.

Aso heard they charge for pads, "pyjamas" etc. Think sgh didn't n even if so, quite nominal. Plus sgh had facility to claim medisave, do birth cert etc. Really v convenient.

Wd love to try my a, but sgh just way more convenient. Aso the midwives n nurses all very nice.

Hi, bkkgal,

Thanks for organizing. I'd like to purchase a caterpillar set.

BUTTERFLY LODGE TOUR, SUN 8 NOV, 9.30AM
1. Bkkgal + hb + K
2. dor11 + hb + G + G
3. tute + hb + C + helper
4. xy + hb + C
5. lezy + hb + Ruth
6. clover + hb + alex
7. bluegin + hb + Channet (provided I din pop on or before 8 Nov)
8. leila + hb + L
9. tubao+hb+E

iso, tks. need all the baby dust. lol.

genice, yah i'm a sahm. my period was just over, so have to wait till the ovulation period. my period is quite irregular so I went by observing the discharge method. that's how I conceived my alex.

tell u all smthg funny. yesterday I told my hb tt we hv to try harder this time round. then he dreamt tt he was v tired during the act n feared for his life. sometimes I think I married an old man. lol.

pauline, iso,
i guess it works out for me since i need more space and A gives me the space since she is not sticky. but some pple wonder why i am not upset that as her mom i am not the center of her universe hehe

re hospital,
actually realize that not many mums in our thread go to KKH. i personally find it v good. delivered #1 there and returning for #2. recently, they renovated the place and streamlined some of their procedures. so the entire customer experience is more pleasant and waiting times shortened significantly.

Clover, LOL, cannot give too much pressure to your hubby lar.

Gar, my antenatal experience with the KK doctors and TPS was good.

But my delivery experience not as good. Frankly I think the nurses are too afraid of the doctors and too by the book. Imagine, 1 hour after I arrived at the hospital, they still refuse to page for my gynae cos they can't find my case notes. I was so hungry but no one except the gynae can assess me and decide if I can eat my BF.

Then they gave me the faulty epi administering device and that keeps beeping cos the back up battery is flat, worse the bedside BP monitoring machine inflates then deflates without taking my BP and sounds its own error alarm every 5 mins. No one even thought of changing the 2 machines for me. End up I can't rest at all despite being admitted from 915am to 1030pm when I finally dilated to 10cm. Grr.... :/

genice,
ya...been pretty tied up, hubs been fly g in and out of the country so no extra pair of hands to help. n by the time night comes, too dead beat to post liao. yes yes, go get ur hubs to stop over in Jap so u can enjoy before u pop

gar,
u not gg for the butterfly farm tour? do u thk u wld be meet g bbkgal these couple of days? if so, cld u pass her the ampoules so that i can pick it up fm her on sat? btw, i've not received ur email on pymt leh...early christmas pressie for me???

pauline,
gosh! ur delivery experience sounds terrible! My delvery was in NUH and only complain was that the person who was suppose to hook me up on the drip, poked me three times in a row n still cld not get my vein! n still dare to ask me if he cld try the fourth time!!!! In the end, my lower arm was all blue blacked. So mad wid that person!!!

oh ya, pauline, i've been wanting to ask u, were u the one who have drawn up rules for the maid as well as a time table? If so, can i borrow it as sample? Tell u, i was so mad wid my hubs jus now. Was jus chatting abt hired helper to do cooking n my hubs commented that won't the helper be overworked if she cleans, cooks n washes all? i was totally stumped!!! i mean, isn't that the job scope of a helper? the only reason i need a helper is so that she cld do all these things n free me fm such work load. *SIGH* i really wonder if hiring a helper wld bring disagreements since hubs n i seem to have different concepts of what a helper is suppose to do. Wonder how on earth m i gonna "educate" my hubs???!!!!! AAAARGH!!!

Or any other mummies wid maids, if u have a time table drawn up, can i borrow for reference pls?

all mtbs,congrats,#1 is mickey, ur #2 will be a tigger :>

genice,
what are the good buys in us?u can choose to stop over at tokyo or hongkong

Pauline,
oh no... Sorry to hear about your delivery experience. Mine was good cos I was admitted on 3rd day of cny n gynae was on hols overseas. But they had assigned prof john tee to cover him so in spite of everything I felt I was in good hands.

Leila,
haven't decided whether to go yet
sure can pass to bkkgal your stuff if I'm not going. Hehe I forgot whom I MSG my account to :p later MSG you.

Re maid - better either you or hb manage the maid less conflict. A bit hard to manage together ESP if standards differ.

Lezy,
I'll also pass your stuff to bkkgal if I'm not going to the tour.

Genice,
your stuff with dor Liao

Hi Leila,
You can check this site: www.singaporemaid.blogspot.com You will find blacklists of maids, timetables, advice on what to buy, how to train.

TMC
I read the TMC annual report - the monthly turnover of beds is astounding (up to 700+ deliveries) and the % of births in TMC is something 30% of the maternity pie in spore. They are severely short of beds and have been contemplating either extensions or a move but it is very difficult in spore to get a good piece of land to build a sizeable hospital. So, pp who choose TMC will have to put up with the squeeze for beds and carpark space. My personal peeve is with the carpark cos everytime u go visiting, u have to contend with the limited space.

I am with NUH and going back again for #2 because my gynae is such a lovely lady, I don't know what to do without her! NUH's maternity clinic was renovated recently and looks very posh. The staff is great, personable and I love the Ward sister and nurses best! So pro-breastfeeding! The maternity ward is also pretty nicely done up and spacey. only downside was no internet but nevermind, we got 3G phones now! hehe.

Tubao
ok, noted your order

Clover, LOL! performance anxiety manifesting! hehe.

morning all,
sigh i came in (after 1.5 days' leave) to see an email from one of my co-workers to my org's no.2 man (whom we prepare reports for and one of the Snr Mgrs present the consolidation of the report).

she sent him an email direct, with her snr mgr and another director (who is in the meeting) that she does not agree with the timeline to submit our next report because of stated reasons (which are valid).

I am also peeved AND pissed off with this particular SM (Snr Mgr) cuz she is the POC to present and she just keeps taking our reports and presenting, sometimes with hidden slides, sometimes make us work lioke hell for the hidden slides but never present.

She also has no consideration for our workload and schedules and just promises things on our behalf. She can even just forward work to us without even READING the preceding email.

I'm the type of person who finds it hard to say 'no" to people when they explicitly ask for help/input. I think it's an act of humility to ask for help from someone else.

But she is so inconsiderate. In order for her to present her report (without telling the whole mgt committee that she can't because she's going on holiday), she ask us to submit 3 days BEFORE she go holiday so that when she's back, she can present on the spot.

This means that the consolidation exercise which normally takes 3-4 weeks, only left with 1 week to do.

i have 500+ projects, 10000+ lines to manage.
You tell me how to do it in 1-2 weeks?

Major pissed.

The other SMs can't do anything despite trying to persuade her. She is the most senior here. Everyday strut in 9+am, by 5pm she's slamming cupboard doors and etc, announcing to the world she's going off and dun disturb her liao.

When she takes PM leave, she will come in also 9+am, then go off before 12.

AND, she NEVER brings her laptop home one. NEVER!

我不服。

but i dun think i'll ever go to the extent of doing a 打小报告 kinda thing - cuz it makes other people look really bad (my AD and perhaps, all the other SMs as well as the whole department.)

my dept is quite problematic la. ppl wise can really suck big time. and these ppl are those 打死不走 type.

Iso,
Mt A carpark parking has dicount. But not free. That's also exclusive of multiple entry I guess.

Mt E so special. Nv heard it before, like this, baby must choose a good timing to come out?

hihihi... I like your sentence on "baby dust" part. Very creative.

Genice,
Yes. there are lactation at Mt A. I heard all nurses and sisters are very helpful. I also scared have block dust, etc. Still can remember very painful.

Sure. Why disappointed with TMC 2 bedded? You mean the size or the decoration?

I'd suggest you still make a trip for the hospital tour. It can clear your doubts in no time.

kitsune,
Tell RaeAnne shame shame to flip mummy's skirt. I did that in my 2nd tri, Channet now dun flip my clothes with pointing to meimei. I let Channet read the book gar recommended. She showed no interested to the book.

Nag should have popped anytime now. No new from her.

tongtong,
For a laugh, you can watch Korean movie "My girlfriend is an agent".

goodbb,
I think garfield and bkkgal will still have an "Ox" bb. CNY falls on 14 Feb next yr.

Child not beside Mummy,
I had planned by confinement at my mum's place. She will be too tired to take care of 4 persons for a month (my grandma, me, my baby and channet) so I decide to leave channet with my MIL. for the past 2 days, Channet request to sleep on MIL's bed. I was heartbroken initially, but I think it is a good practise. Last night, my MIL complained she cannot have a good sleep with channet ard. I cannot imagine what will happen to her if channet need to sleep with her for the entire month.

jeannie
mmm meee siaaaaam.. did you get it in the end? this pregnancy i'm ALWAYS thinking about food! maybe i'll have toast box mee siam for lunch today.

Mt. A
my hubby was so impressed with the nurses in the delivery suite, he said we practically didn't need gynae to deliver the baby! heh.

bkk
agree about the car park at TMC. even if i have to visit pple i will think twice about going there, haha.
btw any idea how long is the butterfly tour? apparently philips is having a carnival sale that weekend and we need to get some stuff for our new place, so we need to go there too. :S

Mt A:
SHould be very pro-breastfeeding too.

TMC 2-Bedded:
I visited my friend who was in a 2-bedder. it's very crmaped and little privacy.

I think i abit spoilt liao. SGH's 1-bedder wasn't too expensive so I decided to just splurge on it and enjoy the privacy. dun think i'll consider 2-bedder.

(my entire hospital bill was about 2.2k, inclusive of 4 day stay. Checked in Thursday night about 10pm, and stayed until Monday then discharge cuz stayed behind to accompany my baby - they kept her for her jaundice levels. but i did not have epi and delivered natural so maybe that part save abit.)

And i checked last night, I claimed entire bill from medisave. Mine is considered "private" as I have an appointed Gynae. Public rates are only applicable if we dun choose specific gynae and make do with anybody.)

Gar, never mind, so long already. But that's part of the reason why I wanted to try TMC this time. hee.

bkkgal, you bought TMC's shares, that's why got annual report? Were you the one saying about the Oct pullback in stocks? I was just thinking whether these 2 days is considered the pull back. Bought a bit of SIA200 shares yesterday and the day before but don't know why it appears on my portfolio as SIA instead of SIA200. Hope I didn't buy the wrong shares. :p

Leila, I did prepare a schedule but never used it after 1-2 weeks cos have to adjust when circumstances change. Eg. every Wed supposed to wash clothes but it rains. End up the clothes are not washed and that affects the ironing as well. I use the second rinse water to mop floor or wash balcony. No washing of clothes means no water for floor so end up schedule always haywire. But my maid is very lucky, she slacks during the weekdays cos RaeAnne not with us, just cleaning, hardly any cooking, and washing. Weekends, usually me or hubby will look after RaeAnne while she cleans, cooks and washes. If we go out on weekends for meals, she doesn't need to cook as well. :p

Blueginger, actually she only flips my shirt, I don't wear maternity dresses at all for this pregnancy since not working, no need to dress up. But ya, I tell her cannot show mummy's tummy to anyone else. Mummy's tummy only for RaeAnne and Daddy to see. Hope she'll get it. :p

SGH:
i delivered without my gynae also. midwife did everything.

cuz my ruth itchy backside, decide she wanna come out like NOW all of a sudden and it's the dinner time change of shift.

midwife told me to hold on (like gek sai like that!) and not deliver yet cuz i'll have bad tears if i do so (gynae not around to do episiotomy cuz my dilation too sudden and he was at a meeting out of the hospital).

then whe nshe say ok, then ruth just came out. no pushing or panting at all. But a lot of pain in terms of the cotnractions lah.

but i cannot remember the exact event happenings now. cuz i was super focused on breathing the laughing gas and shut my eyes closed until i hear ruth crying and the placenta come out and stitching over.

iso...means u have ur own gynae lah. if not public rates means whoever is free, will just attend to u during consultation and delivery.

tongtong, sia200 is for people who cannot afford to buy 1 lot of SIA shares. SIA was trading at more than $18+ for 1 share when I bought it at the height of 2007. :p So, instead of buying 1 lot of SIA (1000 shares), I buy SIA200 lor which is only 200 shares.

im' super sian now. just wanna wait until noon adn go off. taking half day again! heh.

yesterday brought ruth to science centre and let her play the water works. fun. heh. after that she knock out.

science centre also has the free kiddy push car for rent. very cute. ruth sat in it happily throughout the visit. as u can see, me super happy.
3174754.jpg

Ruth at water works. She was mega obsessed with the balls. It was hot - 11-12 noon - but i gathered ALL the balls (trust me it's a lot!) and threw them into the shaded area. She went along and there was even a bench for me to sit down once in awhile.

(But bathing was VERY VERY miserable. The water was ice-cold! Ruth was grumbling like hell!)
3174755.jpg

Lezy: Science centre seems very fun now. Its been donkey years since I last visited Science Centre although I stay in Jurong previously. Maybe the last time was when I was in sec school?

lezy
oh ok, so your gynae is private? mine can do all private hospitals only, can't do public hospitals, not sure why?

zoo waterpark
any toddlers scared of it?? the last 2 times we went, E absolutely refused to go! the first 2-3 times we went he enjoyed it, but the last time i think it was sch holidays so too many rowdy kids. think he's scared now!

Re: Hospitals

I think we normally will go to where our gynae deliver . For me Dr adrain delivers either at TMC or Mt A and i think he did mention that he prefers TMC.. haha.. maybe more farmiliar for him so i chosed TMC for 1st delivery plus my sis also delivered there previously.

But most prob i will try MT A now, will go for the hos tour.. how's the food at Mt A??

Actually i am thinking if fewer pp come see me and if mt A is quiet.. than i can rest well..enjoy my break..haha.. also quite good.

Tute/ISO/BX.. i din get to eat mee siam... but i going town later so will pop by toast box and eat!! I can feel the taste already ..*drool*

Garfield.. thanks for passing the ampoules to dor..

Dor.. i dunno if u meeting pauline but if u meeting her can pass ampoules to her?

Pauline.. can i somehow arrange to collect ampoules from u at tampines?