(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tong, sunny,
thanks thanks! the ingredients mentioned - any TCM hall will have? i don't think there is any zheng zhong near my place. only a zheng zhong ping (is that the same company?)

sunny,
ya hubby said throwing up is good way to get rid of the phlegm...only thing she threw up on our bed at 6am in the morning hehe...this morning almost threw up we quickly chiong to get a basin but luckily she didn't

Poor Ariel. Last time, when RaeAnne was coughing badly, my aunt gave me some ground nan xing/bei xing and cordyceps powder. We also tried to double boil cordyceps with pork. Got people to clean the mattress in case it was dust mites causing allergic cough. RaeAnne saw PD 5 times in 1 month, she did get better, cough less phelgmy but still coughing at night so PD gave a big bottle of cough syrup for asthma, need to consume over 3 months!?! End up, we switched her to see TCM dr. Luckily, she took 2 bottles of brownish cough syrup over 1 week and recovered.

garfield,
agree that TCM is better in treating cough.
i had terrible cough for 2 weeks during my pregnancy, and the normal cough syrup that GP/Gynae subscribed all cannot help.
end up, i went to TCM and took their cough syrup, it cured within 1 week.
if you think the natural remedies is too slow, can consider chinese sinseh.

gar
yes, any TCM will have those ingredients.
let her sip a bit of warm water everytime she coughs, it will soothe her throat as well. if you dont' mind letting A to take slightly sweet stuff, you can get the almond essence from TCM hall (normally it's in glass bottle) or pi pa gao and dilute it with water. it's good as well.
after she recovers, if you can afford, can buy cordicep/bird nest and double boil to let her drink to strenghten the lung since she has been coughing for quite a while already. cheaper version will be white fungus.

tcm
My friend said there's cough med at eu yan sang. Maybe mummies here can give it a try?

I hv never given any tcm to my son so am wondering if they can take it now?

Xy, u shld post the bread recipes in a blog so tt we can go and look it up when we need.

Bread
The loaf my hb made last nite was a total failure. I think he didn't add the wet ingredients 1st. Haha...

Lezy,
Hahaha... yah.. abit off hor? We decided to stay at 2 places only so we only drove up to Belgrave for Puffy Billy and back to Phillip Island for farm stay. I'll love to go back there again, so rest and relax.

I wanted to visit the blueberry farm too cos my kids love them but it wasn't in season
Nevertheless, we managed to catch some strawberries

Pauline,
What can I say... I've worked in this coy for almost 14 years, with 8 years living in the extreme end of Sgp.

Bx,
The window for bb to learn how to chew is between 9 months and 12 months. DD3 started off not eating solids very well ie can't even finish 1 tablespoon of cooked food even at 1yo. So I couldn't be bothered to cook separately for her since she's not eating. She eats table food and now she's improving, can eat about 1/4 - 1/2 bowl. I know some toddlers this age can eat up to 1 bowl but to me, it's already an achievement on her part. Try to offer coarse food to encourage her to chew. It can be plain rice, noodle, cut fruits etc... If you visit my blog, you'll see whatever I cook for my family, she will have her fair share of them. Jia You!

sunny,
I'm now no longer a supermom kekeke My house is in a mess and I just leave it. Sometimes I don't even bother to pack the beds as the 2 elder ones will play hide-and-seek and mess up the whole bed again. Cushions and toys all over the house. I told my kids, it's ok to mess up when you play but when I say pack, pls pack. Else I'll "help" them to pack ie confiscate.

XY,
I can understand.. I rem those days when I was pumping milk, need to lug the pump, cooler bag and milk! It was madness having to squeeze with the crowd in public transport.

Blk 630 is not near the reservoir right? Then it's abit far for me, what's more I need to rush back to cook dinner... Will have to give this gathering a miss. Thanks!

Garfield9,
You may want to try Yu Guo @ Kembangang. I used to bring DD1 there for her cough. It's xiao er tui na ie child massage.

tongtong,
Thanks! I'm glad you've enjoyed my blog

Giving rice
All my 3 kids started eating rice before turning 1. So far so good. I think the concern is more on bb not knowing how to chew correctly.

BTW, bb/toddlers don't chew with their teeth. They chew with their gums since their molars are not out yet ;-)

clover
both my kids take tcm when they were babies, as young as 3 mth old.

you use bread machine? you mean the sequence of the ingredients added in matters? what's the reason? *scratch head*

reena
^5. my house is also in a mess. haha... i always describe it as 'rubbish chute', so, you can imagine how messy is it... me too telling my gal that if she doesn't wanna pack the toys after playing, i will help her to pack and she will never see the toys anymore. :p then, she will guai guai pack it.

Garfield, yea the ingredients are very common, availale at all tcm hall. Yea zhong zhong ping I mean hehe.

Yea the medical hall ppl also say giving cordyceps are good.

Pauline, wah R got asthma meh? Why already giving cough syrup for asthma.

Reena, I see, you worked in the company so long liao then bo bian lar. After my second job in town, I consciously look out for jobs in the east. Luckily, there was opening at my previous workplace.

Tongtong, ya lor, the PD said already so long, cough still not recovered so suspect mild brochioasthma so gave that super exp cough syrup. I gave benefit of doubt lor, but after 2-3 days of that cough syrup, still not recovered. So brought her to TCM. TCM sinseh said it's not asthma. He said PD is like that, rule out everything still coughing then they'll say it's asthma. :p

reena
maybe i did not do proper intro to #1 when #2 arrives. all the while during my pregnancy, i did not talk abt didi to #1, so maybe out of the blue, there is a new member and she is not used to it seeing all of us trying to 'protect' #2. cuz #1 attempts to hit him at times. fyi, they are 15mths apart. im trying to get her more involved and attached to didi, so hope can reduce the jealousy part. just feel so exhausted at times that i feel like dying. haha!

btw, i love reading your blog too!

jeannie
thanks! you have always been so encouraging. cheryl is not back at my home yet, i just have to go over my mom's almost everyday with didi in tow.

with 2kids now, i totally have no more 'ME' time. last time with cheryl, still can leave her at mom's while i could have some 'ME' time. but now i have to definitely look after either one of them myself.

Hi, Reena
Where's your blog link?

Taking care of 3 kids without any help...Pei4 fu2, pei4 fu2......

For playdate,
You gals enjoy a lot hoh.......
Aiyoh....weekday playdate is no for me neh....

Hehe....xiaoyun, work in Woodlands, maybe we can have lunch together at weekday, at Woodlands?

clover,
i've no extra energy to maintain a blog.
need to take picture, design the layout, etc.
you try my recipe, if nice, then put it into your blog then.

sunny,
the sequence of the bread machine is reverse of hand kneading.
you need to mix the flour properly then add in the wet ingredients. this is the prevent the yeast to directly contact the wet ingredients so early, it's said that it will affect how the yeast is performed.
for me, i looking at how the bread machine works, they also just stir stir and stir. i still don't understand does it really make a difference.
since most of the books and manual say so, i just follow loh.

btw, i now add the butter after the ingredients are mixed. about 2-3 minutes after the kneading session. some people do it like 8-9 minutes later.
it's because the dough may not rise so nice if we let the flour coat with butter so early. another reason is that the temperature of the butter (if you put cold butter), it affects the reaction of the yeast too.

reena,
i am still lugging the pump, cooler bag and milk. :p
good thing is that i take the bus near the interchange, most of the time can sit.

blk 630 is not near reservoir, it's the other end of the bedok reservoir road.
nvm, we can arrange again. but don't know when as i won't have anymore Monday off in the next few months.

tubao,
you working in woodlands too?

i don't lunch out. office in rural place of woodlands. somemore, lunch time only 30 minutes.

Xiao yun,

Yah... near my home.

hehe... handoff project Last Friday, these two weeks I can be lazy a bit. I can look for you, but 30mins seems short. My lunch time/office hour is very flexible. ....

crystal,
You can still salvage the situation now. Just rem to associate GOOD stuff with the NB. For me, I'll play/sing/read to the elder ones when I'm nursing the NB.

Glad you enjoy reading my blog

I can fully understand about ME time. That's one of the reason why I started blogging too. Something away from kids! hahaha

tubao
My humble blog http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/

xy,
You are very adventurous leh... For me, once I find a good recipe, I'll stick with it until I get sick and tired of it :p

Not easy to lug all those barangs right? Worst is when I needed to travel overseas, pump and dump! Sigh.. so wasted but no choice as I don't wish to wean. I'm ADDICTED TO BREASTFEEDING!

tongtong,
Yes, I'm still breastfeeding. All my 3 kids are breastfed. DD1 - 3 years, Ds2 - 2 years and DD3 - till she self wean

XY
can just go to TCM and ask for cough syrup? Must boil or is it in a ready bottle? The cough med that GP gave me finished liao but did not help. thinking of trying some remedies....

Bread
i'm not adventurous like you all. i'm very happy sticking to the zoji recipes, esp those that K likes to eat, that means i will do until she sian then i change. hehe. Here's one that she likes:

GRANOLA BREAD
2/3 cup water
2 cups bread flour (usu i sub with 1/4 cup cake flour)
1.5 tbsp sugar (can use brown sugar)
1.5 tbsp milk
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp butter
1 tsp active dry yeast

when beep sounds: add 1/4 cup crushed granola

Other variation to try:
Coffee Granola bread (add 1 tbsp coffee extract)

Reena
I wrote to the blog to ask for Cynthia's full name so that I can write a cheque but nothing heard from them. I guess they are very busy right now. If your sis knows her name&postal add, pls let me have it so I can send something ok? Thanks much!

Sunny
the sequence matters because the yeast should not come in contact with the wet ingredients first.

XY
I notice the way the bread machine turns, it looks like it forms a column of dry ingredients and slowly the wet ingredients get in. When the wet is outside, the flour need not be scraped off manually. Cos it keeps folding in and in and in. Dunno if you get what i mean?

the butter is the first thing I take out of the fridge cos it needs to soften. And when adding, I put it at the farthest corner of the baking pan, away from the yeast.

tubao,
thanks for your thought of meeting me for lunch.
i really can't go out during lunch time as i need to clock enough hour in the office otherwise my record will be red. (stupid system). and my calculative director is monitoring everyone's working hour.

reena,
i am adventurous because i want to find a way to get a soft and long lasting bread without adding industrial additive.
furthermore, i don't like white bread, that's why always end up adding lots of things in my bread.
the bread i made with the sponge-dough method is even softer than the yogurt bread made by direct method. try it! you will love it too.

i am sort of immune to those barangs. don't dream of going out shopping for long after work with those heavy stuffs on me.
same as you, i am addicted to bf. but prepare to slowly cut down on 18 months and stop at 24 months.

bkkgal,
i went to the sinseh like going to GP. then he will prescribe the cough syrup according to your cough - cold, dry, hot.
no need to boil, just like western medicine.
try it.

what's granola? is it muesli?
coffee extract? nestle coffee? then it's a version not for K right?

i've your zoji recipes. hehe.. downloaded from their website. it's good for me as i always do 1 lb loaf too. :p

btw, are you going to try replacing brown sugar with maple syrup?
heard that it's better.

Bread machines
Do add in your ingredients according to manufacturer's instruction. For Bluesky, add wet, seasoning, flour and lastly yeast.

Remember not to mix yeast and salt together as the salt will "kill" the yeast.

Xy,
Are you referring to 65°C 湯種? I've always wanted to try that, but seems quite time consuming so I'm putting it on KIV till DD3 is older.

XY
I got granola from organic store - something like muesli. The coffee version is for adults - my MIL loves it, she a big coffee fan. The coffee extract is like vanilla extract lor - it comes in a bottle. dunno sell here or not. my mom bought a bottle from marks and spencer and gave me, i dunno what to do with it, just experiment with bread. hehe.

Is maple syrup better? I always have brown sugar in the house, that's why i use it. If buy a bottle of maple, dunno what to do with it other than bake bread :p

reena,
the sponge-dough is known as 'zhong1 zhong3' method. it doesn't require heating like 'tang1 zhong3'. still need 2 hr+ time than the direct method.
i read the 'tang1 zhong3' method is even better than 'zhong1 zhong3' as it retains even more water.

so far, i found 3 methods: old dough (lao3 mian4), sponge-dough (zhong1 zhong3), boiled-dough (tang1 zhong3).
tried the 1st and 2nd already.
(1) old dough:
prepare 7-8 portions at one time then can use for the next 7-8 loafs.
just thaw the frozen old dough before use.

(2) sponge-dough:
need 2 hrs lead time.

both methods does help to improve the texture. but i can't compare it apple-to-apple as i didn't use the identical recipe for the 2 methods.

i will definitely give the boiled-dough a try but need to plan ahead. need to boil the dough, let it cool down to room temperature. i guess the effort is about the same as sponge-dough.
some recipe just take some amount of flour and water from the recipe, boil it and cool it. shouldn't be too difficult - i think.

bkkgal,
will take a look at granola then. i've another recipe call for granola too.
it never come into my mind about coffee extract is the same as vanilla extract. hehe.. i always think they are artifial that's why seldom go and browse that section on the supermarket shelf.
if not wrong, maple syrup is the only sugar that is alkaline in nature - don't know how true is that. probably make pancake then can use it?

Reena, i read your blog on making blueberry muffins. looks good! btw, i find that organic blueberry is really sweet, as compared to the normal blueberries (which is sometimes quite sour). of course the price differ =P

bkkgal,
Emailed you the details. Do let me know if you've received my email.

tongtong,
I tried organic once but too ex leh... So stick back to normal berries. Single income, can't spend too much :p If you have seen my blog, that's 5 punnets of blueberries sitting in my fridge!

Reena, ya it costs $3 more! where did you get the organic one from? i saw it from GIant. my son loves blueberries too. this morning after he wakes up, he saw blueberries and taken about 20! luckily he still wanna drink his milk, phew.

re: bread making
wow.. you gals are good manz... i still got long way to go before i can bake a nice, soft loft of bread.

reena
do you find handling #3 is easier after taking care of more than 1 kid? i am still pondering if i want to have #3. :p

reena
saw that you made your own yoghurt. just a suggestion, to make it less watery, you can incubate it longer period, i normally put like 10 hrs and so that the consistency is not watery.

Hi Reena, got it, thanks!

Tong, K loves blueberries too! If dun stop her, can eat a whole punnet.

The other day, some mommies talking about sugar-free cornflakes. May I know where to get? Is the Kellogg's one sugar-free? Recently, discovered K likes to crunch the cornflakes. Thot of getting a small box for breakfast. (I hate cornflakes personally. Wldn't eat it for all the world! Bleah!)

Bx, hehe, I asked RaeAnne this morning about Ashlynn Mei Mei's 'xiao xi xi' expression and she did her own version. Not as sweet as Ashlynn but still cute to me.

2579676.jpg

Flying off to penang tomorrow without my gal. Glad to have a real break with hubby but feel guilty nonetheless. :p

bx/dor,
C is still taking porridge/congee too! I tried giving him something more solid and he reject, almost vomit haiz... so hold back and besides his molars is not out yet... i think he's either lazy or has this impression that anything we spoonfed need not be chewed and can just be swallowed...

garfield,
same here... C been having cough + flu for almost 2 weeks, but showing signs of recovery the past 2 days... pd gave him mucolix which i think works quite well for him... nvr try TCM before so cannot compare.. oh and pd last time also told me for cough need to dilute milk and cannot give orange etc... only can give papaya for fruits... hope A gets well soon!

Tute, RaeAnne only has 8 teeth but she has some ways to mash up the food that she wants to eat. Maybe she's greedy bah. So far, I've tried mee suah, abc pasta, fried rice. All ok. But her staple is still porridge cos mummy lazy to cook new things for her everyday. :p

pauline,
what we notice if it's food that he has to bite himself, he will tend to chew - a bit (though big chunks he will still choke) and if spoonfed, most definitely direct swallow so he always got choke... we try giving a more textured porridge/side dish and he will choke or reject... so back to soft texture

tong,
got try si sen fen for awhile during that time she was not eating at all. then she improved her appetite. now she eats, but not willing to try textured foods.

pauline,
RaeAnne so cute! can really pose! haha... very sweet hor? btw, enjoy ur penang trip. haiz... i kena recall back to office for a meeting on h1n1 virus outbreak today. but applied "leave" from mil to go facial after the meeting. keke...

aiyoh, ashlynn got double of RaeAnne's teeth but refused to eat abc pasta, mee suah, etc. haiz... neng2 chi1 shi4 fu2. mil always say that i din eat enuf when she is in my tummy. that's why she can't eat alot now.

tute,
C exactly the same as ashlynn. she merely swallow the food which we spoonfed her. once she feels that the food is too textured, she will spit out. never chew with her teeth. dunno her many teeth for what. but if we give her fav food like fries and meat from chicken wing, she will eat properly.

can we feed our kids raisin?
cos i run of ideas for snack...

re:teeth
tute, think gervaise's molar also out... still refused to chew

re:honey
lezy, ya hor... how abt raw honey?
re:berries
gervaise loves strawberries.. will fight with germaine for it.

rheena, u really can cook!

re: breadmaker
that day i saw the elephant brand one. $400++ ver nice n tempting!but out of budget. any brand to recommend?

Manuka Honey

I was told that babies below 2 cannot be fed manuka honey, esp with high umf level.... Eu Yan Sang and also those promoters selling Manuka Honey from New Zealand told me so. Whenever I buy Manuka Honey with +15umf level for my older boy, I just double-check with them and they will say no. They will recommend those normal honey for me to give to Davier instead.

So please double-check the manuka honey with that umf level, is it suitable for toddlers under 2.

tongtong
i mixed with fruits or use it as part of the cupcake ingredients.

most of the time, the yoghurt is finished by my kids.

pauline
haha.. so cute. she looks so grown up.

enjoy your trip!

re: breadmaker
i used the breadmaker, princess, 1st time. 2nd or 3rd hand from my relative. the crust is hard and dry... and the texture is also not soft. i think my handmade one still better than that though my kneading skill is lousy. :p
maybe next time, i should try the light crust mode and see if there's any improvement.

ladies, must the wet ingredients be room temperature when we add into the flour?

Bkkgal, I am looking for sugar free corn flakes too, but din see any even at health store.

Pauline, wah Raeanne looks quite grown up liao! Because all baby fats are gone hor? Hehe. Btw why need to feel guilty? I will also do that when I plan to travel overseas :p enjoy your trip!! Penang lots of good food, can try to ask the penangites on where to get good food – they know the best, hehe

Dor – raisin sure can!! I have been feeding raisins for very long time. Ya I dunno what to give as snack too , everyone pls share ideas!

Re: snack

After our tod’s dinner at 6+, what do you give before his bedtime milk? Pls share! other than giving our rice and fruits/yoghurt, dunno what else to give leh.

Emoments, oops! I let my son had manuka honey when he had slight cough.. erm…

Sunny, is the diy yoghurt very sour like the paul’s natural yoghurt? How long can we keep the yoghurt in fridge?

tongtong
i'll also feel guilty if i were to go on holidays without my kids. doubt i'll ever travel without them until they are grown up and refused to travel with me loh.