(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi tongtong
it's very simple - i just blend the avocado with water until smooth, add in the yoghurt, make it like those yoghurt drink. no additional sugar. i let K drink it from a straw (which is such a novelty for her) and she quite likes it.

It's quite hard to blend half an avocado. need to have "critical mass" of 1 avo to blend properly. So normally, i make more and we adults help to finish it. my mom says the original recipe said to add vanila extract but i think no need lah. just normal yoghurt will do. i use the baby yoplait yoghurt.

june,
still give massage ah. not bad ya.

you can probably call PD and ask if should bring him down with his current condition?

stephie,
no need to paiseh.

re: bb signs
most of the time we are just too enjoyed watching her and never take any video or photo.

bkkgal,
if extremely good, then how? use toes?

i think i need something with stronger taste than yogurt+milk then she will take. better try banana + milk.

pauline,
don't make me gian on the spa ok? SGD100 cheap meh?
last time the one we went is $50. also milk bath and massage.
think SGD100 more shiok right?

tong,
the toilet rolls we are using is the Cutie brand, carrefour don't sell leh. so don't know what other brand to get. i want cheap and good one.
i did my shopping list liao, count count count, only less than $90.

i don't want only increase in salary, i want the title also if you want me to do the job.
in my company, ppl don't listen to you if you have no title.
but, if got choice, i would wish to stay in technical path. easier.

milk powder can be FM lah. at most is yogurt with AA, DHA, Taurine loh. :p

pauline
wow, 2 laptops. is it very leceh to bring laptops overseas? what if the hotel has got no free wifi, you'll pay for the internet service? me suaku in this aspect. if not that troublesome, maybe next time i'll brg my netbook when i go on holidays :p

Xiaoyun, the yoghurt must cover tight in a jar? Where to put in the house? After 6 to 8 days when the yoghurt is formed, put in fridge? Can last for how many days?

lezy,
good that ruth is so accomodating with food. ashlynn dunno how to enjoy good food given to her.

june,
mine also 9+ kg. this morning carry her to weigh, realise she is only abt 9.6kg. i keep assuming she 10kg liao. hope he is feeling better soon...

re: good sign
if it's really good, she will shake her index finger non-stop with every mouth she eats.

BX
Ashlynn is heavier than K. K is only 9.3 kg. I always kept thinking she must be at least 10kg. Haiz, dunno where the food goes.

June
Is it roseola, rather than HFMD?

wa k n ashlynn same birthday wif ruth but ruth like elephant compared to them..almost 11kg liao.

You all should enjoy them being lighter-can carry them longer. Now i have relegate carrying duty to my hubby mostly!

XY, yup agree the $50 is cheaper but I think this one is longer, 2.5 hours so it feels more shiok bah. Also more privacy cos the milk bath is in the massage room and there's a shower stall as well. So after massage and scrub, I can shower then soak in the milk bath as long as I want. Nobody to hurry you.

Stephie, no I checked out beforehand and confirm they have free wireless and wired internet access then we brought 2 laptops. Hubby's laptop is the Asus EeePc that I bought for him last year so it's very small and light. Mine is a HP 14" so it's much heavier. But hubby lugged both in his backpack lor. ;)

Pauline.. wah.. impressed leh.. bring 2 laptops.. but really quite useful when both need to use comp.. dun need to fight over it. My laptops are all too big to bring overseas. When u coming back?

Re: good food sign
Gwen used to use index finger too! I think kids have a problem controlling their hand.. it actually takes a bit more effort to pt thumb up and keep the otnher fingers down.. think that why all the kids are using index finger.. erm.. make sense? Haha..

Xy.. u very gd wife leh.. noe how to jin da xi shuan.. erm.. dunno the hanyupinyin.. but i conclude that having u as a wife is a very lucky thing..
Pei fu!!

Re: teeth
Gwen only got 8.. and she doesnt chew much unless like what pauline says.. when i tell her to chew.. she will make a tiny effort to chew a bit then swallow.. She is abt 10.5 kg... but her tummy very big.. i am actually quite concerned..

XY.. want to see the big tummy giraffe swimwear pic? actually its on my FB profile pic and also my blog.. :p

Here are some photos..

Presenting MS Gwen Pebbles from 'Flintstone'

2590404.jpg
Pose 1: Act Innocent
2590405.jpg
Pose 2: Playing PeekaBoo
2590406.jpg
Pose 3: <font color="0000ff">''You taking pictures of me? Feel free to take anywhere u want!''</font> See her leg.. lift up somemore.. haha

Lezy.. just wanna comment that Ruth is getting prettier.. she looked like she got make up on!!!

Stephie,
No, my 2 elder ones don't drink my ebm now. They used to during the first 2 months when I was still pumping to relieve engorgement. I introduce fresh milk when DS2 turned 1. Not as a meal but just to get him accustomed to the taste. I prefer to give something "convenient" ie in the event I can latch him or if he goes out with DH, there is always another alternative for him. We "travel light" so don't like to lug thermal flask and bottles.

When you say your son doesn't like fm, are you the one to offer him fm? If yes, try asking someone else to feed him, without your presence. They know they can reject since the "cow" is readily available :p

For me, I've already introduced dd3 with fresh milk and UHT milk. She doesn't drink alot but when she sees her siblings drinking, she will ask for it. So we will give her a sip or two. Not expecting her to drink alot but at least she's not rejecting. You may want to try offering as a taste-tester instead of trying to substitute a meal.

Pauline,
Enjoy yourself now while you still can. When #2 comes, you prob won't have so much time for yourself, unless someone else is taking care for you. For me, I have little help so I can't leave my kids behind.

bx,
It's ok if she can't eat alot. Take mine for eg, she doesn't eat well and I got worried. But doc assumed me they will eventually eat. BTW, mine also prefers porridge and soupy stuff. If I give her rice/fried noodle, she usuall eats lesser than porridge/soupy food. Today I cooked claypot chicken rice, first time she finished what I gave her! ^-^ From this, I believe persevere is the key to "success". Hang on there!

xy,
You are indeed "queen of breads"

More work w/o promotion and/or increment
This happens all the time, esp when someone resign/retrench and coy freeze employment due to cost cutting. Good thing you can reject for I know of many that can't reject, it's either take it or leave it situation.

lezy,
That's a nice shot! All kids will start off good with their index finger cos difficult to control thumbs up.

princessgx,
Check his butts, any spots? Usually HFMD will start from butt/throat, I think mainly because these places are hot and wet. Both DD1, DS2 and myself got it before.

xy,
When I bake in the bread machine, once complete 2nd kneading cycle, I will remove the kneading blade so that my bread only has one small hole when baked instead of one big slit.

tongtong,
While fermenting the yogurt, you leave it in a covered jar and place it on the counter top or any warm area. To speed up the fermenting process, you may warm the jar with hot water first before pouring in the yogurt. Also, you may put the jar in a cooler/warmer bag (those like Coleman), but warm the cooler bag first. For me, I usually make it the night before so that it will be set the next morning. Once set, store in fridge. The yogurt won't turn bad if you leave it on the counter after it has set, but it will make the yogurt more sour as the bacteria keeps multiplying. I usually try to finish the homemade yogurt within 3 days.

Weight of toddler
Mine still weighs 8.5kg... like her siblings, all under 25th percentile. Good also, else it will be straining on my shoulder since I sling her alot.

genice,
I like the 1st pic most, look so innocent.

june,
once he has recovered, feed him well again to regain his weight. there is always phases where the children are unwell and lose weight.

bkk,
how u weight K? i carried her to weigh, then i weigh myself and minus off the weight. i thought she looks heavier than ashlynn.

lezy,
wow, ruth is impressive. almopst 11kg! and i remembered she was born almost the same weight as ashlynn. 2.9+kg right?

reena,
thanks for ur advice. i will jia you. juz that my school hols going to be over. wun have as much time to prepare foods for her liao.

re: yogurt
tong,
no need airtight. just cover will do.
i normally put beside my airpot as it's more warm.
the yoghurt no need 6-8 <font color="0000ff">days</font> to form - i think you typo. :p just transfer into the fridge later.
each batch i make is about 200 ml, since i am baking bread now, i use it up every 3-5 days.

re: cooking
june,
i am not good with food. and my cooking skill sucks.

re: bread making
reena,
why am i the queen of breads?
do you find the kneading blade very difficult to remove? i find that mine is. need to soak into water for very long then can remove.
or is it hard to remove only after baking as there are some bread stucked?
i am going to try it maybe tonight.
very tempted to make some peanut butter bread. have you tried before? got tips?

re: bb weight
don't need to fight.
C is the lightest. at most is 8.7 kg only.

bkkgal,
i am self-comforting that all the food goes to her brain - intelligent. haha..

re: massage
pauline,
gian gian gian.. i hope july comes fast, then i can go massage! :p

re: good wife
genice,
?? me good wife? no lah. i am just stingy. :p

re: swimsuit
genice,
aiyoh. Gwen so cute. i can't stop laughing.
tummy not very big. it's the normal kids size.

XY.. want to see the big tummy giraffe swimwear pic? actually its on my FB profile pic and also my blog.. :p

re: more work
reena,
yup. it's good that i can reject. they can't afford to let me go as headcount freeze, if i leave, it's hard to get a replacement for my group.

XY, cutie brand available to Giant Tampines, it was on offer on Thurs before we left Singapore so no chance to stock up. It was $12.75 for 3 rolls, very worth it lor cos normal price, 1 pack already $5. :p

Reena, yup, I really cherish this holiday but I still wake up everyday at 630am cos it's RaeAnne's morning feed time. Faint!?! And we bought so much stuff for her even though she's not here. Toys, trolley bag, clothes, shoes, water filled cot pad. My 82cm samsonite is filled to the brim now. :p

June, oh no, I heard of kawasaki disease from Jan08 thread. One of the mummies' colleague's son also has kawasaki disease. http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/ChildrensHealth/ChildhoodIllnesses/Heart+Diseases+-+Kawasaki+Disease.htm

Luckily your PD is alert and rushed him to KK. I think he's taking aspirin? So heart pain to see our kids sick. Hope he gets well soon. It'll be tiring for you too, expecting and looking after him in hospital. Do take care. Jia you!

princessgx, hope yr DS is fine.

xy, tried feeding with cup n spoon which he all rejected.

TCM
i went to 2 TCM shops this evening and i had quite an unhappy experience with a supposedly reputable TCM shop. they have this powder which cost $66 a small box n recommended dosage is 3 boxes for 3 days. i wasn't ready to pay so much for something that i haven't had the slightest clue wat's in it. then i asked for 川贝 which i said i will boil it with pear. the representative told me that 川贝 is heaty and cannot use for my baby's cough which hasn't been diagnosed the cough type.

then i went to another shop and asked again the same thing. i asked the rep whether 川贝 is heaty and the rep said no. in the end i bought 止咳汤 from them for $3.

i goggled on 川贝 and found that it's not a heaty herb.

i'm quite miffed with the rep in the first shop who told me the wrong information. i tot that the rep wanted to make a fast sale on the powder. i may not have the slightest clue on tcm but dun treat me like a fool and expect me to believe wholesale. *griping*

june,
lucky you bring him to PD. he's under good hands now. hope you fell better...

pauline,
i always go Giant buy the Cutie one. but their free delivery is $200. very hard to meet.

clover,
mm... probably blend with fruit and let him take using straw?

what's the name of the tcm shops?

june, oh no! hopefully jerome will recover soon! i dont know about this disease, but you can try to google search and read up more, so that you are prepared and know what to do to relieve him from pain. take care!

clover, yea 止咳汤 is correct, the chuan bei is supposed to reduce phlegm one. the tcm ppl tell me the pack of 止咳汤 is not heaty or cooling, so it's suitable for all to drink. i think the first tc you went must be the reputable and expensive one eh?

hello mummies - long time not posted much, but actively reading the posts

work is crazy, with travelling almost every week. sigh, i really miss my bb when i fly, tried looking for other job opportunities so that i dun need to fly so much, but with not much success..sigh..today got to fly again..argg..but the only consolation is that it is 1 place i haven't been to yet (NZ), but then..its only for 2 days..zzz

June
Poor boy, he must be in so much pain. Lucky ur PD is alert and got him down to hospital. Hope Jerome gets well soon.

Bx
I ask her to stand on the weighing machine. She was born 3.188 kg - heavier than Ashlynn and Ruth - turned out to be a lightweight.

Jeannie
Little Miss Pebbles so cute! she looks so innocent in the first photo, plus got that "sian" look - like telling us, mommy is doing it to me again.

princess
oh dear! all the best.. one of my hubby's colleague's son also has kawasaki, now he's doing alright, but will have to be on medication for a long time..

qingling
wow, travel every week, that must be really tiring!

qingling,
wah, get to travel so often. what r u working as? now economy no good, very hard to find job. must be happy that we are still employed. maybe can talk to ur management to make arrangements to travel less as u have family commitment?

bkk,
mine refused to stand guai guai on weighing scale as she keeps moving. u must make sure that k is standing properly otherwise she might be lighter than supposed to be.

anyway i brought ashlynn for her mmr jab le. she is 9.7kg. we told the doc abt her reaction to eggs but he still gave the green light to go ahead with the jab as her reaction is considered mild.

june,
poor jerome. hope he gets well soon. u must take care of urself too.

jeannie,
agree that gwen is really so cute in that outfit

good afternoon all,
C is sleeping now. brought her to cut hair, now she got wa wa head, no longer long hair.
too much heat rash on her neck, cannot tahan.
bought calamine lotion and chinese prickly heat powder to apply on her. hope will be better.

clover,
the tcm name starts with E?

xy
could i have the yoghurt bread recipe? thinking of trying it tonight.

clover
chuan bei is not heaty stuff. the price they quoted maybe is for a good grade. my mil told me that good one can cost more than $15 for 1 liang3.

Xiaoyun,
I also cut hair for my son yesterday, I shaved him rambutan head- not totally botak or bald kind la. he perspires a lot and had heat rashes too.

sunny - yea, the good grade one is song bei and it's $15 for 1 liang. i saw that at ztp

Iso - yea tiring, but its the away from bb part which is more sian.

bx - as a engineer, but actually more operational in the business. Our setup is quite small, so now everyone has added responsibilities. sigh. i doubt its possible to ask for re-adjustment of workload or travel, because we are running very lean on manpower, most of us already cover mountain,cover sea (bao sua bao hai).

hi, I'm back from penang, bought so much stuff for RaeAnne that we exceeded by 4kg, each kg must pay 20RM. The ground crew gave us option to repack into hand carry or pay fine of $80RM (faint!) so we repack into hand carry. Heng.

My MIL said for 4 days, RaeAnne slept at 10+pm until 7 or 9am in the morning without waking up in the middle of the night. Told hubby looks like she only bullies Daddy and Mummy. :p

June, the boy also have to take long term medication. :p

pauline, wow penang stuff so cheap meh? bot so many? hehe. enjoyed the food?
wah R can sleep thru already! dont worry tonight when she is with u she will be sleeping thru too

Tongtong, no lor, yesterday night she woke up at 2.15am lor. Hiaz. :p

Yup, Penang food is the cheapest but we still managed to get good buys for RaeAnne from Toy r Us, Parkson, Reject shop and other shops. Hee. I'll upload the pixs of my buys to my blog tonight. Hee. ;)

princessgx,
OMG! I hope Jerome is recovering well. You rest well too so that you can take care of him.

Pauline,
I can understand. We also shop for kids stuff more than anything else when we had DD1 &amp; DS2.

Clover,
Duno if the staff is being ignorant or trying to smoke you...

qingling,
Hugs to you. I used to do regional too, people around me are envious but if you have a family (esp with a child), you prob hate travelling. I still rem there was a year, dd1 was running a high fever but I had to travel for an exhibition as I was the main coordinator for that event. I couldn't even cut short my trip (went for 5 days 4 nights). Also, I hate airline food! Still rem lugging cups of instant noodles and having them as meals on board. And I get loads of envious eyes! Hahaha!! BTW, enjoy the weather in NZ ;)

bkk,
Yours very guai, mine won't stand on the weighing scale without moving about. She will go up and down, up and down.... so I had to weigh myself + her and minus my weight to get her weight. She's born 2.7+kg (see, mother of 3 can't even rem her birth weight now :p), now still 8.5+kg. My gf's 9 months old bb already weighs 13kg and bigger size than my girl.

GOod Morning!!!

June, hope Jerome is feeling better now.. seems quite serious... did a google abt the disease . Cause unknown and can lead to heart conditions.. is Jerome in hos now? Take care k.. esp now when u are preggie.

Re: Travelling for work
Frankly speaking i do envy pp that can travel for work b4 i became a mummy.. cause its something that i will not get a chance to do. But.. actually i also quite scared to travel alone.. scared of the 'unknown'.. :p

But now that i am a mummy, really glad i dun have to travel.. even going for sch camps make me.. 'sian'.. haha..

Qingling.. har.. 2 days at NZ only.. aiyoh.. wasted.. :p

RE: Ms pebbles
Thanks for the compliments.. everyone seems to like the 1st pic..bkkgal. i agree.. haha.. she got the super sian.. i have to pose again look.. haha..

Till now.. haven got a chnace to bring her to the pool.. cause hubby sprained his ankle cant swim..and i dun wnat to swim alone with her..

Re: weight
bkkgal.. kate was more than 3 kg at birth? Gwen only 2.99 kg... ok lah.. close to 3kg liao.. think she ate too much.. catching up too fast.

Re: shopping
Pauline.. u super leh.. penang also can exceed luggage? Haha.. shopping queen.

My FIL very scared she become a fat ger.. ask us not to give her too much porridge.. hmmm.. i think i really overfed her in US. Hope she doesnt have an expanded stomach.. else next time have to eat a lot.

qingling,
i always envy those who travel a lot for work. more exposure. unlike me, from young till now confined in school.

re: travelling
hb will be going tokyo for work this fri. any recommendations on good buys there? never been there b4...

pauline,
LNT at tmp branch is opening soon. u interested to sign up?

xy,
wow! u finally made the decision to cut C's hair. weather so warm plus she has rashes, i tink better for her...

genice,
aiyoh, plump when young is fine... ur FIL very cute... my parents and pil always hope ashlynn can fatten up.

Bx, I'm keen to go for trial but they said only limited to first 10 and I was away in Penang so don't know whether still got chance. How about you?

Genice, hehe, cos we bought a water cot size mattress pad and a water pillow for RaeAnne . Saw it at KK pharmacy before but it was the small chair pad size which they usewhen baby is having fever. They were very heavy. Just these 2 items probably 6kg liao. :p

pauline,
i most likely going to sign up. coz i think ashlynn kinda benefited from her 1st term. and tampines also nearer to us compared to parkway. just feel abit pity coz i quite like the teachers at parkway and ashlynn is comfortable there.

I see, have you gone for trial at Tampines branch? Can you help me check if the referral friend 50% discount is still valid? My concern is that I wanted to start her on opposite block's playgroup next month so don't know if LNT will be too much for her. Thought of sending her to weekday LNT instead of weekend but with no. 2 on the way, afraid that I can't send her there next time.

pauline,
i didn't go for the trial. hb say try out 1 term, if no good then stop. ok, i'll find out for u when i go down this fri.

since u r starting her playgroup soon, maybe just stick to that lor. also dunno whether will be too much for her onot.

bx, let me know how much is the fees and if there's any promotion when you sign up. Thanks. I don't mind starting her cos the opposite block playgroup is not fantastic. If LNT got promotion, I may consider starting her on that on weekdays or weekends. After all, I'll be having a maid so even if I don't send for daily playgroup, should still be able to manage 2 kids at home.

bx,
ya. cannot tahan her heat rash. she's ok as long as we tie her hair up, or put her in air-con room.
but sometimes her hair is not tied up when at home. can't demand my MIL to do it for her all the time.
hence, just cut. everyone is happy.

tokyo? i heard that the children clothes are good quality.
also, if you are into baking, can get those nice cute cartoon cookie cutters from Tokyu Hands.

pauline,
water pad/pillow.
i've got one for the chair previosly. it's really cooling. but after half a year, it leaks.
don't dare to buy it anymore.
btw, i saw the water pillow at the stephanie &amp; toms (correct name) at Woodlands Civic Centre.

XY, oh really, how much was it selling? When I was buying the mattress pad and the pillow, hubby asked me whether selling in Singapore. I told him 'don't know'. Hee, but it's RM80 for the small cot size mattress pad and RM11.90 for the pillow so I told him just buy lar. Aiyoh, leaks ah, then I must monitor liao. :p

I want to see photo of Carrie with short hair leh. ;)

help, how do i read the past issues of Today online?
they changed their interface, i can't find the past issues anymore.

pauline,
the pillow is quite cheap. i think about the price you bought or a bit more expensive. can't remember clearly.

aiyoh. she become very mushroom now. somemore the fringe is very short. the photos are in my hb's handphone.

For mummies borrow books from library,

you can apply a library membership for your little one for FREE. they will make a library card for you on the spot.
just bring the birth cert for application will do.

how do i know? i borrowed the Positive Displine book and found Emma's borrow receipt in it. :p

xy, i think new sign up for bb's lib membership gets a free canvas bag. Think the promotion is still valid. P/s: u r rite aft the tim shop ;)