(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Coincidentally, I'm also using Canon Ixus but not 110. I own the 95 model. The casing is also very ugly so I used back my old casing. We also bought extended warranty ;)

Hi, Reena, nice to meet you.
I used to work at Simei so quite familiar with the area. Wow, your kids age gap all 3 years apart. Great planning.

wow a lot happening - can't catch up with everything!

back from melbourne last thursday. got a shock cuz after i left, so many cases of H1N1. Fortunately over there, we don't go to much built-up areas....mostly out in the open and on our own transport (rented car).

abit challenging to update but in general, pretty happy with the trip and impressed with Ruth. After day 1/2, she basically slept everytime we drove for long distance. SO much so that we end up travelling without breaks originally intended and skip our own meals!

Reena, is it easier to handle the kids if they are 3 years apart?

Lezy, wah, good gal ruth! You all had sure enjoyed so much with the smooth journey.

pauline
the person offered me extra canon battery. me too bgt extended warranty. my hubby was more keen about that. if just me, maybe i don't want extend loh. how much is ur extended warranty huh?

re the camera case, i wonder why different places got different type of case. thot should be the same for the same model loh....

reena
during the last IT fair in march, saw ixus 95 on papers. went to look at the camera. but didn't buy in the end cos my ixus 60 was still working fine then (tempted to get a new camera but no justification to do so then).

Re: H1N1
the places that i wanna visit are all hit by H1N1 - japan or melbourne. sian. now cannot travel liao even though air tickets are so cheap.

stephie, i also say. we wanna go somewhere for a little getaway also can't. now i'm thinking of booking a hotel room in town for the weekend.

ladies, alex's on the mend. i finally got some good sleep last nite.

clover
glad to heard that alex is gettting well. ya, me too wanna book a hotel for a weekend 'getaway' liao. hee...cannot go overseas so 'splurge' in singapore loh.

Hi Lezy
Share your itinerary? I planned Melbourne hol this Aug too but it's been added to list of affected i.e. if go on vacay leave, need to do HQO on own personal leave.

Steph
Yeah, no where left to go....even SPore also got so many cases.

Reena
great planning - girl, boy, girl.

Hi, Dor, Reena, sure, next time if we have playdates again, will include you. Yesterday's one was last minute and quite adhoc cos Bx is having school hols, XY happened to be off and initially we wanted to go swimming or library but end up not going there so I asked them to come to my place lor since my PT cleaner came on Sunday so my house is clean. hoho.

BKK:
We did Great Ocean Road 2 days, Phillip Island 2 days and Healesville 4 days.

I think it's quite a challenge to drive all around even though we had alraedy researched the nearest possible driving distance and best possible driving configuration with the places we wanted to go.

From my experience, I think with a toddler, it's more enjoyable to get a self-contained cotage/apartment and stay for 3-4 days instead of 2 days-2days. Our stay at Healesville was magnificent cuz there were animals on the property that made it interesting. birds, rabbits/hares, sheep, goat, chickens. Only thing, it was too cold to bring her out every morning cuz it rained a lot. I highly recommend where we stayed. THey are offering stay 4 pay 3 rate. It's nice i feel.

Phillip Island, we went mainly for Penguin Parade. Froze our ass off at the beach for at least 30 minutes waiting for the penguins to come home. but worth it cuz in the end, while walking back to the visitor centre on the broadwalk, ruth got to walk alongside a penguin and she smiled. My silly hubby was so happy - even happier than ruth probably.

Great Ocean Road, fantastic drive but nothing much for Ruth to enjoy. She slept a lot while we drove. She had a great time walking all around the broadwalk leading to the twelve apostles and running around the little 'visitor centre' area.

I also took her on a scenic flight around melbourne CBD. we let her drink water/eat on the way up and down. She was quite ok with the plane ride. i think they fly up to about 3000m. small 4-man plane.

Photos still not completed uploading but some are up at my flickr page.

Pauline,
How fortunate! You stay in Tampines and worked in Simei. I used to work in Jurong East, imagine the time spent on travelling!

Tongtong,
I'll say it's much easier compared to those with 2 years gap. I read somewhere that the best age gap is below 18 months or after 3 yo.

Clover,
Good to know Alex is getting better. Yalor.. in the other forum, only me in the East, so boring

Lezy,
Your itinerary in Melbourne is very much the same as mine. I went there when I was preg with #3 in Oct 07. Miss those travelling days but with 3 in tow, a bit difficult to travel now. Can only start holiday planning for next year.

May I know which apartment you stayed in Healsville. We self-drove too and stayed in self-contained cottages/apartment. Kids love the farm stay in Phillip Island
Penguin Parade, I find nothing interesting as the penguins were all so far away. It was only when we were walking back to the visitor centre where we saw the penguins at close distance. To me, that's the only attraction :p

Reena,
I stayed at Sanctuary Park Cottages in Badger Creek, Healesville. They are very accomodative. Even can borrow DVD from them - they have a huge collection of movies as well as children movies ilke Finding Nemo, Winnie the pooh etc.

It's about 5+ minutes drive into the town of Healesville and very near the Healesville Sanctuary.

Ya, the penguin parade was more of a novelty thing. It's quite amazing that the penguins do that everyday and I think it's good to see, but not something i will go back again and again for.

From healesville, we drove up to marysville to view the Black Saturday fire damage. Quite sad. Cannot go to Steavensons Falls cuz of the fire damage.

I'm also one of those lucky ppl. I work 5 minutes walk from my place. And 10 minutes walk from my parents' place to pick up my girl
Then again it was all planned when i got married. I told my hubby I want to stay near my parents and my workplace. Lazy bugger.

hi reena, i live at bedok reservoir, near dor and xiaoyun. have been a SAHM for a few years... but will be going back to work soon.

pauline, didn't know you have become an SAHM too! i feel reali sad that i've to be away from my kids for so many hours next time. yet i'm quite worried about our family's finances... hope things can get better so by the time my no.2 is born, i can be an SAHM again.

so qiao that we are both having our number 2 in december.
are your parents helping u to take care of your kids? i've had a maid since last year. some times she's a great help, but some times she reali pisses me off. i don't want to have a maid, but dunno whether i can handle...

Reena, I used to stay at bedok res where Xiaoyun stays and work at Simei. Then when I got married, I chose to buy resale flat at Tampines. Ok lar, it's intentional cos I don't like to travel to town, used to do that for my previous job and hated squeezing with the MRT crowds. :p

June, I'll be hiring a maid, still looking for one. Where is your maid from?

re: bread
reena,
so you are the blessedhomemaker!

i tried your yogurt bread recipe, it turns out soft. thanks.
have you tried phoon huat for the flour? do they sell bulk and with delivery? saw the website has wholesale.

bkkgal,
the peanut butter jelly, is that just the bread spread of butter then jam?
please post up those success recipe ok? hope that my sis won't suffer so much. :p

tong,
i need bread for breakfast, so die die got to make loh. :p
my hb didn't say anything about it. just jokingly blame C's yeast infection of her neck (after heat rash) on my bread baking as i am using yeast as well. (siao one lah).
he never give face one lah, nice say nice, not nice say not nice.

re: yogurt
tong,
no need yogurt machine, no need special starter - just any plain yogurt will do. don't get those flavored yogurt, the sugar content inhibits the formation of yogurt in the milk.
it's my secondary school teacher taught us one.

re: funny encounter
stephie,
before attach, sometimes will have ppl approach. cos i am petite and always smiling. ppl thought i am those tame tame kind, haha..
yes. he told me he's 24 and going to 25.

genice,
yes yes. very shiok!
don't want to lead him on lah, very troublesome one..

re: sick
bkkgal,
take care. hope you feel better after taking MC.

genice/clover,
hope gwen/alex is better now.

re: hb
tong,
i think i not fierce to him enough loh.
but he already give me black face if i black face to him. and he's those kind cannot quarrel with him one, as he will just stay quite and black face.
not fun. :p

pauline,
yaloh. i think your hb quite good lo. if my hb has 50% of him then good enough.
but not bad lah. he's improving a little. need to appreciate him a bit too.

re: gathering
reena/dor,
sure, join us next time.

i think weekday better as no need to lug hb along. :p but i only have 2 more Monday off.
next Monday gathering, anyone? where?

dor,
you very busy ho? long time never see you here.

bx/pauline,
C played till 'hong xim' already yesterday.
after her nap yesterday, she kept crying and pointing to the door. just want to get out of the house. faint.

re: camera
stephie/pauline,
i had both Canon and Nikon. very old old models, 3 MP and 4 MP respectively.
i can say Canon is good at taking sharp pictures. But i like my Nikon as the colors are more natural.
if i have time, i will use Nikon. if i need to take fast pictures, i will use Canon.

pauline, she's from philippines. so far, still prefer filipinos. can communicate better and learn faster.

xiaoyun, Monday gathering my house? june here btw.

XY, poor Carrie, RaeAnne ah, napped for less than 1 hr lor. Then at night, hubby wanted to experiment putting her on our bed to sleep the whole night and see if she keeps waking up like the previous nights. And no lor, she slept all the way from 10+pm until 510am when she cried for milk. Hubby said she likes to sleep on our bed, cos ours is spring mattress. Faint! :p How to let her sleep on our queen size bed? There's just not enough space. Plus I've got no. 2 coming. No. 2 must sleep with me mah, since I'll be BF.

Ya lar, my hubby always compare with others and tell me he's very good liao. Ok lar, don't want to praise him too much, or else he gets yaya. ;)

I tried to fry rice today for RaeAnne and ourselves, I have never fried rice in my life before. :p The rice was a bit soft and soggy cos I didn't want to waste the chicken stock that I defrosted. Hee. But luckily RaeAnne loves it. Hubby calls it Japanese fried rice though. :p

2574041.jpg

June,
your house is good for me. i can just walk over and maybe can bring C to trim her hair too.

anyone going? if 2 only, C and your boy tian mi mi ah? :p

pauline,
then buy a spring mattress for her then

oh ya. forget i need to post up my 'anyhow pasta' recipe

Ingredient:
(A)
(1) 1 chicken bone
(2) 1 clove of garlic
(3) 1/4 of pearl corn
(4) 1 tsp of chinese barley

(B)
(1) Cabbage, cut finely
(2) Seaweed, cut finely
(3) Long bean, cut finely
(4) Pasta

Steps:
(1) Scald the chicken bone to remove blood residue, etc
(2) Throw ingredient (A) in cold water and start boiling with low heat for 2 hr.
(3) Scoop up the stock include some corn kernels
(4) Throw ingredient (B) in the stock and cook till pasta is soft

That's it. :D

xy, let's see if more ppl wanna join in!

Eastside Playdate on 22nd June 2009, Monday
Time: 2-5pm
Venue: Bedok Reservoir Road
1) Princessgx + BB
2) Xiaoyun + BB
5)

all other easties come join us too!

June/XY, sorry, next Mon not good for me, cos 21 June just come back from Penang. Sure very tired, lots to wash and unpack. Also, my PT cleaner coming on 22 June afternoon. Join you all next time.

XY, thanks for the recipe. Got a lot of ingredients hor, I'm thinking whether I can 'tou gong jian liao'. Don't want to buy a bag of barley just to cook stock. Hee. ;)

I honestly don't think it's the mattress lor. I think it's the 'ren qi' that she craves. Maybe she did wake up in the night, but once she sees us, she continue sleeping lor. I also slept with my mum until past primary school cos we didn't have our own rooms. Hee. ;P

reena
best age gap is below 18mths or above 3yo? but my #1 now very naughty lei. always screaming non stop and throw tantrums. im so exhausted handling one SUPER active toddler and an infant! i tink my #1 is at T2s stage now. =(

or maybe because of the arrival of didi.

*wave* how's everyone?

pauline
your fried rice looks yummy!!! i realise that after we have kids, we start learning different things for the sake of the kids. for me, i start learning baking 'cos i would like to let my kids have healthier food.

reena
*wave* wow... 3 kids. how do you cope? do you have helper at home? i dare not think of #3 'cos 2 kids already making me so tired...

Lezy,
I shortlisted Sanctuary Park Cottages then but gave it a miss in the end. Didn't stay over at Healesville but headed to Torquay instead. You said you spent 4 days there, what are the attractions there?

Pauline,
You are indeed fortunate. I used to stay in the west but married to the east, travelled 8 years from east to west and survived 2 pregancies.

Btw, I don't have a maid.

Xiao Yun,
Thanks for visting my blog. I like the yogurt bread too. Another good recipe will be the cream cheese bread. But please use good quality cheese, it makes a huge difference. I ever checked with PH staff on the bread flour but staff not very helpful, simply said around $50+. I even emailed their office, no reply too.

DIY Yogurt
Add some milk powder, the yogurt will be slightly thicker. Best if you can get the starter culture from Mustafa. I made mine without as I don't have formula milk at home.

Gathering,
I prefer weekdays too but will have to be after the school hols as I don't wish to lug 3 out :p

princessgx,
It takes a lot of courage to go back to work. I don't think I'll ever return to the workforce :p

May I know which part of Bedok Res for the gathering?

Crystal,
When you are nearer to your last trimester, the elder child will be even more clingy and will throw more tantrums. Just make sure you do good intro of bb to elder one. For me, I talk alot about the unborn to my elder kid(s). When bb arrived, I don't shoo the elder kid(s) away. I always get them involved with the bb eg help to take hankie/diaper, wipe bb's mouth after milk feed etc... Make them feel helpful and useful hahaha! They will love the bb better. HTHs.

Sunny,
I don't have a helper, I just grit my teeth and try to do whatever I can. I used to be a "supermom" but now I prefer to be a Happy Mom

Reena,
Healesville and Torquay abit far apart?

Healesville was a great place for me to do a couple of things - most important, one day was spent with friends who stayed nearby and in healesville Sanctuary.

The last day can't be counted cuz we checked out at 10.30am.

Spent a day going to blueberry farm, having morning tea/breakfast in healesville town (Cafe Beaz).

Spent another day driving around Yarra region, going to diary farm, Chandon winery (as in moet & chandon) and a few places.

Winter days are short...so no need to spend a lot of time planning itinerary with a toddler. Spent a lot of time in the cottage and surrounds.

Oh one of the days, we left baby at cottage with my mum and we drove up to marysville to witness the Black saturday's devastation.

Wow.. another playdate in a short span of time. Wish i could have joined in too.. but hubby on leave yester so we went ktv.. haha.. have been a long while since we went.

Wow.. quite a no.of new mummies here and all into baking.. so paiseh... not a gd hsewife here.. :p

bkkgal.. thanks for the link and so many nice pics of gwen.
Hope u are feeling better.. gwen just recovered too.

Xy..thanks.. gwen is feeling so much better now.

Re: holis
Now the aiifare really dropped quite a bit.. even to japan the airport taxes is much lower now.. planning to go hokkaido in aug.. dunno whther its a good time or not. ANyone been to hokkaido?

Crystal.. is cheryl back to staying with u now? Maybe she sees u with didi so she a bit bu she de and wants attention.. Does she want to help out like what reena advises? I also very scared that the 1st will not be cooperative if i have the second soon. Hope things will get better for u.. think u have been a wonderful young mummy.. jia you.

ladies i think i should go buy 4D coz hb volunteered to make bread tonight. Lol. The last loaf he made was a failure n he wants to perfect it. Lol.

Haha, Reena, the proximity to home was what made me stay at my previous job for almost 8 years. ;)

Genice, KTV sounds great, can't even remember when was the last time I sang at KTV. :p The next playdate is at June's house for next Monday so you can join in that one. ;)

Sunny, ya, I totally agree. I started learning and trying to cook when I got married and got tired of 'ta pow' food but mostly I follow recipe unless it's really simple stuff. But most dishes only cooked once except spagetti cos it's really idiot proof. But for my gal, I'm willing to go through the hassle of cooking chicken stock, prepare ingredients, cook from scratch and willing to perfect a dish until it's good. Also because my gal will give face lor. Yesterday, I ask her nice to eat or not a few times (I need reassurance mah.) and she nodded her vigorously each time. Hee. ;)

Congrats, clover. Actually, I wanted to ask hubby to fry the rice, I prepare all the ingredients for him, but he just answered me that he never fried rice before, only bee hoon and refused to help me so I bo bian, just anyhow 'hum tam' lor. ;P

re: cooking for baby
yesterday cooked soup pasta for ashlynn kenna rejected again. i even standby some soft rice in case she reject the pasta then i can feed the rice with the soup. also rejected. i think i will juz stick to porridge for now. she got 16 teeth liao still refused to eat more textured food. very sad...

June/xy,
i will love to join but want to keep my leaves for rainy days.

xy,
got lah...just lazy to post....

re:cooking for baby
bx, pat pat... its ok lah.. cos gervaise til now only know how to get congee and rice.
nothing else.

good morning all,
I made another loaf last night. It's a success!!
The bread that i made is raisin bread.
I changed some ingredients and methods of making a bread.

Method Modification:
I used Sponge-dough method instead of direct method.

Ingredients Modification:
Replaced 15% of the bread flour with cake flour.
1/4 tsp added Lecithin as <font color="0000ff">it helps keep bread fresher longer &amp; works with the gluten to make a lighter bread. It also helps make the bread moister and acts as a mild preservative.</font>
Added extra 50% of sugar (prefer sweeter bread).

==================================================

Ingredients:
(A)
100 g water
7/8 cup bread flour
1 1/2 tsp instant yeast

(B)
60 g yogurt
1 tbsp butter
1/4 cup bread flour
1/2 cup cake flour
1 1/2 tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp lecithin
1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup raisin (add after beep)

Steps:
(1) Select <font color="0000ff">Home Made Menu</font> function in the bread machine.
(2) Put in ingredient (A) and knead for 3 minutes.
(3) Let it rest for 2 hours
(4) Reset the bread machine and choose <font color="0000ff">Raisin Bread</font> function
(5) Put in ingredient (B) and choose <font color="0000ff">Start</font>
(6) Add raisin after beep sound

tada!! it's done!! very very soft bread and with very very fine texture.

reena
really salute to you manz... btw, how to be supermum but still remain as happy mum?

pauline
haha... that's the sense of fulfillment when we see that the kids are happily eating the food that we prepared for them... well done!!!

bx
my friend's PD ever advised her not to gv rice to the toddler till 2 yo 'cos they are not so good in chewing and the rice might go to the airway and 'cos infection and fever (that happen to her friend's kid). i told my mil not to gv rice to my boy till 2 yo... but seems that she doesn't follow. i close one eye now 'cos she got to take care of my active boy and my gal alone at home. so, just let her decide what to feed as long as she doesn't add flavouring to the food...
maybe the ingredients you put in the congee can be more chunky to encourage your gal to learn chewing?

dor,
i thought you busy with your work.

sunny,
get the lecithin from organic store/section in supermart. it's about 500 g/1 kg per packet
it's good for ppl who want to control the cholestrol. my mum/mil add it into their daily drinks.
so, i just kapuk a little from my mil since i only need 1/4 tsp for every 1 lb loaf.

reena,
thanks for the info for the bread.
yes. i would like to try the cream cheese bread too. but probably after i perfected the normal white bread.
i realised i ran too fast in making bread as in tried out too many funny recipes without getting the fundamental recipe correct for my breadmachine yet.

PH staff not friendly ah? too bad.
in this case, i might just buy some loose packs or check with the mini-markets downstairs if they can offer me good price and delivery to my door step. :p
but the Prima $25 for 25 kg is very attractive leh.

Reena,
i stayed bedok res and work at woodlands. already 4 yrs.
travel till sian. bonus point is that i get to read some book and listen to music on the bus ride. not too bad. just that if need to OT, then very tiring.

btw, the gathering is near the Blk 630 market. do you know where it is?

long time never post cos very busy.

i need some help and advice urgently!!

A has been coughing for a while and recently developed a lot of phlegm. Yesterday, there was so much phlegm + the coughing that she vomitted twice

The medicine PD give is Prospan, but doesn't quite work. Anyone knows of natural remedies or medication to get rid of phlegm for babies?

Tong, you mentioned a few natural remedies previously, anything for phlegm?

Thank you very much

Hi Reena, I like what you said about being a happy mum and used to be a supermom! Hehe. I felt very tired too as need to juggle with work, home and kids. Btw I like reading your blog!

Bx, it’s quite strange when bb has so many teeths already yet not interested in food ? did you try to give her si4 shen2 fen3? Can improve her appetite

Sunny, oh! Cannot give rice ahh? I had been giving rice for very long already because shaun always snatched spoon from us when we eating rice. I saw him chewing leh, cuz he nearly had full sets of teeth liao.

Xiaoyun, yea lecithin is very good. Good choice to add lecithin in your bread! It’s actually one of the 3 treasure food for vegetarian which makes up of wheatgerm, lecithin and nutritional yeast.

Garfield, oh hope ur bb will recover soon! yea chuan1 bei4 ,mu3 川貝母 or the varieties of chuan bei like song1 bei4 ( more effective) is very good in getting rid of phlegm, and also pepper mint leaves. You can go to the medical hall like zheng zhong to buy the pre-pack herbs and make the drink for ur bb. Very effective, though it takes longer time. Ingredients are natural herbs like the south and north Chinese almonds(nan2 xing4/bei3 xing4) they also called it Chinese apricots, plus ji2 bing3( dried Chinese mandarine orange), chuan bei/song bei/ , and figs. The chuan bei or song bei is good in getting rid of phlegm, if you want you get song bei ( more expensive) but more effective. I saw it was selling at $15 per liang. Just get half liang , can make the soup 3 times. You can go to zheng zhong, already prepack, very conveninent, but get the song bei over the counter as substitute for the song bei.

xy
thanks, i will try it in my next 'experiment'. :D

tongtong
that's what my friend told me. so, i try to follow. if shaun is chewing well, i think should be ok bah.

garfield
vomitting is one of the ways to get rid of the phlegm but it caused discomfort. hope your gal gets well soon.

what tong tong has mentioned is the method which we use to get rid of my both kids' phlegm. very effective.
you can double boil the ingredients stated by tongtong: chuan bei + ji bing + chinese almond. ask the TCM hall to pound the ingredients (except ji bing) for you 1st.

Garfield, when you go to the medical hall, remember to ask the ppl there how many times can our bb take, I let Shaun took for 3 days( gave him half a bowl, the rest of the soup I drink, hehe) times then he recovered as his is very mild dry cough. For phlegm if might take longer. Actually the soup has sweet taste already because of the dried mandarine orange but if A doesn’t wanna drink, you can add in Sweet dates ( mi4 zao3) then the soup will be sweet. If still don’t want, can try to use the soup to make her milk, although not as effective but better than none, I did that for shaun too when he refused to drink.

Shaun even refused to drink honey water, so strange! Maybe too diluted:p

Too sooth her cough, let her have 1 tablespoon of lemon juice with 1 tablespoon of manuka honey. Add water if still sour. But I’m not sure whether this helps for phlegm though. But for dry cough, it was pretty good.