(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: teeth
shawn only has 6 teeth since many months ago. ashlynn already have 16 teeth and shaun almost have full set of teeth. wonder why rest of my boy's teeth is still not out.
even though not much teeth, he still eats lots of solid food (chew with his gums).

tongtong
you also gv paul yoghurt? i used to give to my gal, too. keke...
the homemade one is quite similar to paul yoghurt. it can be kept for 10 days. the current batch that i did was using the culture from paul yoghurt. hee...

re: snack
my mil gv wolfberries to my kids as snack as well.

re: trip without kids
so far i have not tried before 'cos will feel guilty of that. and we always wanna get kids involved in our trips.

Maple Syrup,
Can be used for ice cream too, I just made some blueberries frozen yogurt yday, will update my blog soon.

tongtong,
I bought the organic blueberries from NTUC near my place, but don't see them anymore now.

sunny,
As far as I'm concern, I find it easier with #3 since I'm already "experience" mom. What's more, I'm now lax as compared to first timer. I still rem when I had DD1, there were a lot of restrictions. Can't give bb this food or that snack. But with #3, anything goes kekeke

DIY yogurt
I tried once fermenting for 10 hours, the yogurt turned out slightly more formed but definitely way too sour. That's why I'm still sticking back to approx 8 hrs (max 9hrs). I usually try to finish them within 3 days.

Pauline,
RaeAnne's pic is so cute

dorothy,
DD3 loves raisins. I give her prunes and dried cranberries too.

Honey,
The last time I checked, it's not recommended for young toddlers to consume Manuka Honey. Was recommended to give just Clover Honey.

Breadmaking,
I don't thaw my butter to room temperature :p I just dump everything into the machine, even cold eggs and hit the start button. So far so good.

re: bread
bkkgal,
on the turning of kneading blade, probably i observed too late. will take note again next time.

i finished the bread that i made on Tuesday night. don't know tonight got energy to do or not. back home late last night as i had a farewell party with my friend. now still tired.

reena,
another way to make the yogurt thicker is to put more solid (milk powder). for my yogurt, 6 hr can form liao. as thick as the paul's one.

dor,
the Carrefour Bluesky is the most worth it one. Wait for the promotion, should be around $70.
if not, there are also others like severin, princess, phoon huat sell also - i think.
or else, get a 2nd hand one like me. can try gumtree or ebay to search. :p

sunny,
i always use light crust. tried the medium one according to recipe, don't like it.
some ppl also just use breadmachine to knead then transfer out to shape and bake with their own oven.
i tried my best to make the wet ingredients to room temperature before adding in. but sometimes no due to time constraint, so far so good.

qingling,
bread flour 1 cup = 125 g
can find info from internet. post up later if i got time to go and search.

re: fruits
oh.. blueberries. realise that it's everywhere. this is the season of harvest for lots of fruits, e.g., durian, lychee, blueberries, avocado..
mummies, anyway to feed avocado? my gal don't like the taste. i sneak in a bit into the cereal. but it's taking nearly forever to finish one avocado. or, she only take a little then i need to take the rest. very wasted leh.

re: snack
dor,
i feed raisin too. also sunflower seed sometimes.
her snack is mostly baby biscuits (healthy times, pigeon, etc).

tong,
hehe.. C had her dinner about 7:30-8. then milk feed 9:30 and sleep. no snack.
want to find time to feed fruits also difficult.

sunny,
i took wolfberries as snack last time too. end up too heaty and got sorethroat. :p

C has 8 for a long long time. just pop up 1 molar last week. 3 emerging as i can feed the gum is hard.

pauline,
raeanne so sweet. think you also notice, C is a cool cool girl, seldom smile one. :p
enjoy your trip. hope your MS better over there.

Sunny, yea I gave paul’s yoghurt because that is the most natural one ma. other yoghurts comes with sweetener , not so good. But I find it’s sour, so dunno how to make it good for my boy. If pauls’s yoghurt opened already can keep for how long?

Sunny, wolfberry as snack? The Chinese gou3 qi2? Just give raw uncooked one?

Xiaoyun, mix avocado with banana, very nice.
if not allergy to berries, i think can feed? but must check what else they add in other than no sugar .

xiaoyun
quite a number of marigold's fruit juice is 'no sugar added'. still taste sweet cos they added juice concentrate or something.

reena
ya, when i was the 1st time mummy, i had lots of restriction for my gals, this cannot eat, that cannot eat. now, with #2, i am more lax.. i am sure that if i got #3, i will be even more lax. hahah.

tongtong
i normally will finish it the next day after it's opened.
ya, just gv the wolfberries uncooked one.

xiaoyun
normally if it's new products, there will be promoters around to let you have juice tasting. tryout 1st and see if you like it.
last time, i bought other 'no sugar added' pdt by marigold, i don't quite like it, 'cos it still quite sweet and got artificial taste.

Sunny: the uncooked wolfberries are so hard, how to eat? Soak with water before that?

Bb teeth: what causes bb to have faster growth of teeth ? does it have anything to do with calcium intake?

tongtong
don't think it's hard leh. if it's hard, maybe it's stored too long already. soak with water before eating can also.

mine is still stuck with 8teeth
duno when coming out others

but nowaday he is abit cranky.
mild fever on sun
den milk alway cant finish....

duno y. maybe teething

xy,
Thanks, I know milk powder will help to thicken the yogurt but my problem is, I don't have any powder milk at home as non of my children drinks formula milk.

sunny,
When I was baking in the bread machine, I also use Light mode. Crust is still thick but definitely better than Normal mode.

No Sugar Added,
When a beverage is labelled "No sugar added", pls read through the contents. They may be using some other artificial sweetener/chemicals to sweeten the beverage.

tongtong,
Wolfberries should not be hard unless they are kept in the fridge. Just thaw it slightly first before giving. If you soak in water, it will become soggy.

Stephie

Dun worry, your boy is not the only one who have 6 teeth. Julian also have 6 teeth.
I actually ask GP and PD, they mention that it is ok for having little teeth and they will eventually catch up with more teeth.

Tong
I think it depends on individual bb teeth to grow out fast or slow. But as long they are eating normally and they are healthy can le.

Reena, oh yea! I keep my wolfberries in fridge, no wonder it’s hard, hehe

Vine, ya agree with u . Diff bb different development, some might walk faster than the other or talk earlier, so don’t think teeth growing is related to diet.

vine gal
thanks for sharing. hehe.. me keep wondering why his teeth stop coming out. just let nature take its course.

sunny
oh, because i think my #1 eats too much junk food and don't like to take proper meals, no good. so now hope #2 won't follow suit loh. i keep asking my #1 not to give her brother sweeets but she keeps giving. haiz..

reena
your 2 elder kids (or just the middle one) drink ebm now too? my boy refused to take fm after being bf for so long. he probably needs to go on a few days' of hunger strike next week or so when my ebm runs out. maybe after that will guai guai take fm.

Feeding avocado
XY, i hv been cracking my head to feed K avocado too but she simply hates it from young. It was one of the 1st weaning foods I tried and she puked out. My mom found a way which is to blend the avo with yoghurt and give to her like a blended yoghurt drink (no ice, i just add room temp water when blending). She seems to accept it better then when I gave her in mashed form +banana, or mashed + yoghurt (more solidy). I really want her to eat avo cos it's a superfood.

Pauline
enjoy yourself! so cute raeanne oso got her version of xiao xi xi.

Bx
seems like Ashlynn is going for yummy taste rather than texture. If she can accept texture of chicken wings and fries, that means she wants food that's more tasty. Maybe time to graduate her to table food? They are like adults - they also wanna eat yummy foods.

Sunny, bx, bkkgal, XY, Reena, Tongtong, thanks, I'm logging in from penang cos got free wired and wireless internet access in our room.
Ya, seeing her photo makes me smile and not miss her so much. Yup, she looks really grown up but still very much like a boy lar. Must really keep her hair long like Carrie's. XY, no leh, Carrie did smile at me leh, she just takes some time to warm up.
Don't think RaeAnne didn't even smile at any of her mei mei at both play dates lor. She's even more cool. :p

Had a nice anniversary dinner with hubby at Rasa Sayang Resort just now. Will try and catch a movie tomorrow if possible.

bkk,
ya agree that she might wanna take adult food like us. but we are worried that she can't eat a lot. maybe juz a few mouthful. later bringing her to sakae sushi, will test out to see if she really like jap rice.

having more teeth doesn't mean it's a good thing. the only thing good is get it over and done with. coz everytime the kids start teething, they will have loss of appetite, restless sleep, fever, diarrheoa, etc. i think that time ashlynn had miserable appetite was when she was teething big time. so it's good that some of ur kids' teeth are popping out slowly.

Tute, we always warn RaeAnne if we are feeding her 'hard' stuff: Eg, it's meat or it's fish or it's apple etc, Must bite bite bite before you swallow okie. Then we make the chewing gesture. I think it works cos when we don't say anything, she just swallows but when we warn her, she will look at us, and will pay attention while trying to 'chew' instead of just swallowing everything. Maybe you can try? ;)

Reena,
the milk powder i have is for myself. I always mix my own drink with milo, oats, brown rice powder, etc.
at a time, i consumed the full cream milk powder in order to put on weight. and i managed to do so. :D

My mil and a relative-in-law said the last loaf of bread i made is nice!! smells good and taste like the normal bread. and my reaction is: 'should be better than the normal bread right? :p' I am delighted as the relative-in-law sells bakery.

bkkgal,
yoghurt drink? the adult one? or yakult?
i think i will try too.
this week try banana and yogurt drink. hope she likes.

clover,
feed with cup? or spoon?

pauline,
long hair very hot leh. after Aug/Sept bah.
C at home is like an auntie, tie up the pony tail and put on hair band. not nice leh. :p
RaeAnne smiles a lot too. with the dimple, so sweet.

me too, i will warn her before feeding if the food needs to chew. then you can see that she's actually chewing but not completely. can still see some traces of the food in the poo. :p

re: sales
Carrefour has 10% rebate for POSB Everyday Card.
can stock up something, e.g., Prima Bread Flour $2.95/kg after rebate is $2.65/kg.
if purchase more than $150, free delivery too.

Pauline, hehe R so cute! Same, I will also ask S to chew, I will tell him to “bite bite ok!”, then he will chew chew, if I give cereal, usually he just swallow. Think he understands us liao

Xiaoyun/sunny, I wanna try to make yoghurt too, I will take the culture from paul’s yoghurt, can you give me the recipe again?

Xy, carefour 10% rebate sales from when to when? I got to stock up things too

re: sales
tong,
carrefour offer from today till sunday.
the problem is i hardly reach $150. what do you all buy?
i don't need formula, don't need much diaper as C is on cloth nappy.
everytime go to stock up, we will end up making rounds and rounds in carrefour to make it up to $150.

re: yoghurt
here's the ingredient and steps:

luke warm water
milk powder
plain yogurt

the ratio of the water : milk powder : yogurt is 20 : 5 : 1

(1) dissolve the milk powder into water
(2) add the yogurt in and stir
(3) cover the container and put it at a warm place for 6-8 hrs. the current weather is best to culture yogurt. no need extra heater.

alternatively, you can also warm up 250 ml of milk then add in 1 tbsp of plain yogurt.
(1) warm up the milk
(2) & (3) same as above

re: work
my group leader is leaving.
boss asked me to replace him. with increased responsibility, longer work hour, less touch of technical work and no change of pay and benefit.
i rejected him outright. :p

Wa, XY, so it's not a promotion lar since no change in pay and benefit. No wonder your group leader is leaving. :p

Haha, RaeAnne's hair so short now, until Sept also won't be as long as Carrie's. I just trim my hair yesterday at Jantzen, only $15+, half price compared to Singapore.

pauline,
you have not go out play yet?
where are you going today?

my group leader gets the most sh*t work. with 2 bosses with differing opinions on top, 6 uncooperative engineers below. and countless uncooperative managers + deputy directors to work with and he doesn't have the 'manager' title to fight with them. everytime sure lose.
i told my boss, if want me to do the work. i need the power title to help.

good ho. tai tai life in penang.
i feel like going for rebonding next week too. everytime go back malaysia, not enough time to go do rebonding.

for raeanne's hair, take it slowly. wait till their neck gets longer. otherwise will kena heat rash like C. :p

bx,
we are great fans of sushi tei at vivo. We always go during off peak hours. sometime have whole restaurant to ourselves. haha.

They will give us a booth seat, and all the waitresses always play with ruth while ruth is walking on the seat end to end.

We feed ruth our rice with egg, plus the cod fish we will order sometimes or chawanmushi. She eats leh.

I think she and ashlynn have similar teeth situation and love for porridge - she never rejects porridge. I also think like what the mummies say here, they are getting curious and want to try different things when the opportuinty presents.

Just last night, my greedy girl fniish dinner liao (at my mum's) and then my mum 'tabao' her home-cooked chicken rice for me and bring over before they go out. She look at me eat and went "AHM!". In the end gave her some chicken rice. She eat until shiok.

Today went TIong Bahru Market for breakfast...she had her favourite chwee kway. Sigh.

Before leaving melbourne, she had cheeseburger...(but not the pickles).

XY, I'm waiting for the hotel spa to open. hehe. Thinking of going for nice bak ku teh near my hotel for lunch but my massage time clashes so need to call them to see if I can start my treatment earlier. ;)

XY
wow interesting recipe for the yoghurt! milk powder is not FM right? normal one?

jeannie
not plump lah, she looks soooo cute, buay ta han!! :D some more she is really good at posing, LOL!!

iso,
it's adult milk powder. just normal one will do.

genice,
curious about how gwen looks when you are keep talking about it.
where's the photo?

pauline,
massage ah. i want too...
long time never go liao. i miss that..

Pauline! So good life!

Here's a recent pic of Ruth in Melbourne. She is saying GOOD (to cheesecake yogurt!) Her good is using index finger - and very limited edition one.

2587854.jpg

lezy,
C's good/nice is the same sign as Ruth!
they still can't do the thumbs up sign ya?

any plans or surprise for father's day?

XY,
my mum says quite a lot of toddlers will express Good with index. I think as long as 'the idea is there', it's a matter of time or even preference which finger they wanna raise - as long as not MIDDLE finger!!!

dunno leh. jialat. never plan for father's day.

xiaoyun
happy to know that others find our bread nice hoh. a sense of man3 zhu2 gan3. last time when i used to bake quite often. very happy when pple commented that the cake/cookies is nice

maybe next time you can start supplying bread to your relative-in-law's bakery liao.

pauline
u surfed using ur wifi phone or what?

lezy/xiaoyun
shawn says good by pointing his index finger on his nose. damn funny.

lezy,
ha.. ya. as long as not middle finger.

her ok sign also very cute. with all finger stretch out and index finger bended.

don't tell me the father's day celebration will be shopping for grocery at carrefour? my hb will be sian then.. :p

june,
hope jerome is better today. what doctor said?

stephie,
bread made by breadmachine doesn't look nice.
it has holes at the bottom because of the kneading blade and rod. cannot supply to her. also, their shop is not in singapore. :p

he means smells good?

father's day is this sunday. don't know my fil wants to celebrate together or not.

princess
rashes + fever... go to PD!!

if he does have HFMD, would probably also be good if he gets diagnosed early? hope he gets better soon, poor boy :S you take care too! sometimes adults can get it worse than the kids..

xiaoyun
hehe... paiseh, didn't know shop not in sg.

shawn points fig to his nose when i ask him 'good?' and do the thumb up gesture. so i think it's his way of saying good.

iso
yalor, find it cute. next time must try to video it down if i'm quick hand quick leg enuf.

Lezy
K does the "good" action like Ruth! Index finger instead of thumb. For "very good", she uses 2 hands.

June
what happened to Jerome? If he has high fever, pls bring him to PD ok?

XY
I use the normal yoghurt + avocado + water = avocado yoghurt drink. I suppose can use milk too lah.

XY, Lezy, went to the spa just now, 90min massage 30min and 15min milk bath for only RM240, ie. SGD100. Quite cheap lor.

Stephie, we brought two laptops to Penang. Faint! I wanted to use hubby's laptop but he said he wanted to do work so I decided to bring mine as well. In case, I get bored when he's doing work mah. Hee. ;)

June, is the rashes look like blister? Got ulcer in mouth or not? Bring him to see PD again as he looks really sick

Xiaoyun, last time they have pamper offer so I bought 4 boxes. Then bought toilet rolls la, kitchen towel, tissues, other groceries, make up to 150 hehe. Yea but it’s hard to make up to 150 if you din buy big items.

Xiaoyun, if got increase in salary will u take on?
Also, thanks for your recipe. The milk powder can be FM or not?

Re: bb saying yummy
My son will point his finger down when it should be another way round. His yum yum is like our boo boo (fingers down) hahha.