(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Clover, I bought a machine to make cereal, juices and other things else. My mum asked me to soak grains ( like brown rice, wild rice, quinoe, millet, buckwheat etc) overnight then next day, boil the grains for a while, add in rolled oats, then pour into the machine with the water and blended for 3 minutes. Then the cereal is ready.

Genice, yea, oat cereal using grains and rolled oats lor. But just for weekend la. weekdays I still provide instant cereal from HT.

Re: Cornflakes
I also looking for natural cornflakes without sugar one. Havent found yet though. Anyone knows?

Abc mummy: how often do you give avocado and how much each time? I find that shaun will shit many times the next day after eating avo. I gave half. And the poo is greenish. Dunno whether is normal?

Apple: if you want to try other brand of brown rice, you can soak the rice overnight/soak a few hours before cook. And the portion of water have to be 1:1.5, some 1:2

Xiaoyun: I have the list of organic shop in sg, go dig out for u when at home.

Grace: no salt no sugar for home cooked food. Unless I let him try outside food

Hi Leila!
Long time no see! Wld love to meet up with you but central is a bit of trek leh. Come to the East lah! Got new shopping mall, we show you around ;)

Babytown has nice service. I bought stuff from them before

pauline,
RaeAnne doesn't like tomato?
C's ok with it, be it steamed one with fish or the raw cherry tomato. i thought they like something a bit sour and sweet, more appetizing? :p

re: book
iso,
good book right? garfield recommended.

i am now reading the lazy husband book. but very slow as getting very tired and always fall asleep in the bus.

re: outing
leila,
how i wish i didn't sign up for the training. otherwise i definitely take leave and join. my MIL sprained her back, either hb or me got to take leave on Friday.
you can take bus 168 to Tampines. 45 minutes journey. :p

re: organic shop
leila,
blk 305 is quite near MRT. should be able to swing by

tong,
good. email me the list or you post it here, ok?

re: formula
qoosan,
C too. rejected fm yesterday. asked my MIL to mix with ebm and see how.

re: food
tong,
you still blend shaun's porridge?
i don't blend it now. just cook it. and C no problem taking it. but her cereal only has brown rice, quinoa, millet, rice, barley.
for the bean soup base, i wash the beans, grind into powder, then use the powder to cook. hope that it's ok.

normal plain cornflakes has sugar? it tasted blend to

XY, ya, I think she takes after my hubby, doesn't like sour stuff. Once she tastes something that's sour, she pushes the food to us. Today she was directing my spoon to scoop my macaroni then holding my hand to bring the spoon into my mouth. My daughter trying to feed the mummy already. Faint. ;P

xy,
it's so difficult to feed her, now she has phobia to see white color liquid, she will shake her head many times when u pass her white liquid.

XY, haha, ya she is quite sticky to me sometimes, simply cos I can't bear to just snatch something away from her (unless it's electric socket) and make her cry. Usually I'll distract with something else or just let her touch the thing briefly then bring her away. My hubby on the other hand has no qualms about being the bad guy. :p

pauline,
we can't snatch things from C one. she will cry till cannot see the eyes and with tears.
everytime need to get another thing to exchange with her. or help her analyse the stuff on her hand the slowly distract her by exchanging with another item.

qoosan,
i don't know how bad is that for my gal.
she's ok with it last week. but refuse it last night.
she accept bottle previously?

mummies!
this is a cheap thrill for me, but i saw the Duggars on TV (think it's discovery home and health), they have 20 kids! then when i saw that they had a book "The Duggars : 20 and counting! : raising one of America's largest families--how they do it / Michelle & Jim Bob Duggar", i was quite interested in it.

i realised the library didn't carry it, so i wrote in to suggest that they could consider adding it to their collection, and they did! it's now available for loan - one book for each branch :D

Iso
hehe, do you feel empowered as a taxpayer/citizen now?

Just like that time I wrote to LTA abt the bus lanes. They changed it upon my suggestion. Felt so useful as a citizen.

bkkgal,
out of curiousity, what did u ask to chg abt the bus lanes??

btw, i really doubt i can make it to the east wid no car. bus ride for 45mins....doubt L can tahan....or rather the mummy too ...hahahah!! meet up nxt time when there is something located at a more central place.

jurong mummies
there is a 25 mins Madagascar live character musical gg on at jurong pt. Pretty entertaining, my son njoyed it!!! shd go pop in n c since it is FOC.

iso,
u r a fan of the duggars? how abt Jon (i thk???) n Kate plus 8. thot they were pretty interesting too. but recently, heard that the couple might be splitting up b'cos the guy only gets 5 bucks per day to spend even though they r now millionaires. poor fella ....

bkk
yah! that's exactly how i feel. feels good to contribute, right? what was your suggestion about bus lanes?

leila
not really fan, but seen 1 episode a few times (they always seem to show the same one). do they have a series? Jon n Kate they always seem to be fighting q a bit leh, i dun like it so much. and i always wonder why after getting twins thru IVF (i'm assuming that's how they got the twins), they'd want to go thru again to get another 6. wah liao! heh.

hey my fave show on discovery channel is jon n kate + 8. can't believe the duggars are having more than 20kids! did they count their married first born's baby?

leila, how do u know the gosselins are millionaires? i think the $5 allowance is when the sextuplets were still v young...

i'm sleep training alex these 2 weeks by setting more regular nap times for him. hopefully next time can join u girls.... but... east side is too far for me. i drive, but i always get lost. haha..

mummies, check out " Alex says 'mao'"

I kena a fine for driving in bus lane. So I wrote in to tell them that between the slip road leading into bus lane and distance from there to the entrance of express way is too close which does not give enough leeway for drivers to filter out and can cause a jam in the 2nd/3rd lane during peak hours. They waived my fine but LTA stationed an officer at the bus lane for few weeks to video the traffic conditions. After that, they drew more dotted lines and reduced the bold line. I'd like to think it's because of my suggestion. hee!

Iso
shall go borrow Duggars book then! hehe. can suggest more kiddy boardbooks to library or not? I regularly lug back library books for K to flip.

Leila
L found the show entertaining? pity it's too far for me.

Clover
so cute and u can catch it on video cam some more. always by the time i rush to get the cam, she lost interest to say liao.

bkkgal, it took me 3 wks to capture the video. hard to strike the iron when hot

grace, how is maddy?

my alex suddenly developed a cough n then mild grade fever. I think the fever is teething related.

bkkgal, is the place you are talking about near CGH? Cos it sounds so familiar. haha. ;)

Leila, ya got no car, can understand. For me, it's the same when I'm SAHM when hubby is not around. But I'm lazier than you, will definitely take taxi if I'm bringing my gal unless it's only a few bus stops to interchange. :p

bkk
well, i'm sure even if you weren't the main reason they changed the rules, you definitely helped to create the change, so you should be happy!

hmm i dun really have many books to recommend, that reminds me that i should really read to him more! i quite like the books by Priddy Books, as well as Eric Carle, but not all Eric Carle books are nice - some of them the drawings i find quite "messy".

clover
the duggars q amazing right? that's why i was interested in the book. looking after 1 i already want to peng san, dunno how they look after and feed 20?!

leila
thanks for the link

height & weight
brought hillary for her MMR yest, she cried so badly =( because we woke her up during her nap on the stroller =(
btw she weigh 11.4kg (so heavy?) and 80cm tall... though shes heavy but shes so skinny leh!

Hi , just to check with those mummies who took MMR. THe nurse told me that MMR will "100% confirm" will get fever. Is it true? and it will come a few days later. so avoid travelling for next 2 weeks later. Anyone can confirm? thanks

Hi mummies - friday i am on leave too, but east is definately too far for me,since i not driving. any west mummies meeting? Just to confirm if roseola will not be contagious after it subsides(no more rashes?)

MMR
I've been meaning to ask. Can we take MMR if baby refuses to eat egg??? to date, K has refused to eat any egg, be it boiled, fried, poached or scrambled but she has taken bread with egg content without allergy. So can I take it that she is not allergic to egg?

Re: MMR
My bb was fine after the MMR jab. No fever, although i think PD did warn abt fever and rashes that may appear days after the jab.

bbkgal, i think can take the MMR jab. My bb took the jab a few mths ago, but he hasnt tried egg yet. PD never mentioned must eat egg before the jab leh.

Meet up tomorrow
ermm....so are we having separate eastie and westie meetings or combine 1 in central???

I think Leila, Qingling and Clover mentioned they are free, while Pauline, BX, Jeannie and me are also free. If we wanna do a combine meet up, then let's go to somewhere in town? say - gogobambini in dempsey or fidgets?

isobellies, yah the older ones take care of the younger ones. 20 is quite a feat huh. maybe will break world record.

bkkgal, sorry can't join u girls tomolo coz alex is coughing.

ladies, do u know any natural remedy for coughing? alex just started coughing, like a few times in an hr. I hv cough med in fridge but wonder wat else I can do for him?

hello...

can i ask what car seat you are using for your toddlers now? am looking for one and saw there's a nania carseat selling for 197 at robinsons but not sure if this brand is good. thanks !

bkk: My girl can eat bread or biscuits with egg content but when it come to eggs itself, she seems to have reaction to it (vomitting her whole meal), so I am delaying her MMR..

Nicole, RaeAnne got fever from MMR jab exactly 1 week after the jab although PD said should be 5 days later. That's why we planned her jab on 1 June cos we are flying away next week to Penang, don't want her to be sick when ILs are looking after her.

Haha, bkkgal, even my CEO asked one of the staff to talk to LTA about it. It's a bad decision on LTA side, end up the ambulances are stuck at the PIE exit but they can't exit due to the congestion caused by the bus lane. I'm so happy when they changed to dotted lines cos I take taxi often those days and the stupid bus lane adds at least $1 to my fare, even worse when they stationed people at bus stops to take photos and book motorists who flout the bus lane. ;P

Hi mummies, din have chance to log in whole day.. gwen refuses to take her nap till now.

Re: Outing
Sorry to be the bad guy here. Hmm.. its already thurs afternoon and the meetup is tmr. Maybe we can just stick to the east this time round since its gonna be a short meet up.

We can do a bigger meetup when we are more well-planned. This one quite impromptu.. :p

Qingling and leila.. sorry dun blame me
but have to make decision else end up most prob we dun meet at all.....Sorry with capital S k...we meet in zoo next time?

timing: 930 am to 1130 am ( plus minus)
venue: IKEA TAMPINES ( think quite child friendly and got chicken wings.. haha)
Confirmed attendees:
1) Jeannie
2) bx
3) bkkgal
4) Pauline?
5) Leila ( u want to join us?... sorry.. dun angry)
6) Qingling ( not sure whether u still wanna join but really very far.. sorry.. dun angry k.)

Mummies.. can u all sms me to confirm... cause i change hp .. so lost all contacts.. can sms me and identify urself too?

If u dun have my contact can pm me urs.. i will most prob reply tonight cause bz with her.. need to do hh chores.. cook dinner too. sigh..

Pauline,
Oh that's bad - ambulances getting stuck! That should make a very strong case for them to amend the lines.

Ooh, going for your 2nd trimester holiday to Penang? how nice....

Apple
Oh, poor A quite severe reaction to eggs then. Better hold off.

Prob is, K does not even want to swallow the egg...so I don't really know for sure if she has a reaction or not. Even I try to "camouflage" the egg, she will detect it.

Car seat
I buy cheap cheap one from Lucky Baby (Champee), $119 (at that time). I got it from http://babystudio.com.sg/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=27. Free delivery over $100. So far, very good, happy with is as my girl can fall asleep in it. It's nice and padded too.

nicole.. gwen took her jab last friday.. but till now ( touchwood) no fever leh.. erm.. so i am not sure whether its true that its 100%.

bkkgal.. any way to include egg into her diet.. of she still doesnt wanna take u may want to delay MMR first. Better do some reading up.. but it seems that quite a no. of mumies have delayed their MMR too..

RE: Zoo outing

ANyone keen?? This is for the weekend mummies and mass gathering to play water!! :p

Re: Talking
Clover.. ALex is smart!!

isobellies.. i read that in your blog 1-2 months ago.. u mean the books just arrived? Yar.. its truly amazing.. maybe shld go and borrow the book..
So how is calm and compassionate child.. recommended by gar i think.. u borrowed from lib too?

Bkkgal.. actually u talking abt the exit opp the CGH har? PIE towards jurong? Haha.. bkkgal u use ur office email to send har?? They scared when they c ur email.. :p just kidding.

Wow.. this shows that at least pp are really listening to feedbacks.

Jeannie
I thot u stay at HV - central may be better for you? But ok, cool! Good to make a decisive decision now. I PM-ed you already. Can't wait to see all the babies interact and play! Let's put them at the ikea kids' furniture section and watch them play masak masak.

Jeannie,
No lah, u think i so powder ah. I wrote as private citizen and use my own stamp hor...

Now they still station 1 makcik there in the morning, to see whether the same troublemaker (me?) still flouting rules or not. LOL!

Re: car seat
I even more cheapo.. i used our esso milepts to exchange at baby hypermart.. the brand is baby 1st i think.. but so far quite good.. have used it since she was abt 8 mnths. cost abt 170 plus retail px.

Economy bad.. must save $$

Andrea
No cakes or ice cream for her until 21!!! haha, kidding. Seriously, have not let her try cake/ic yet...but I baked bread with egg before and she ate it. No reaction so far.

genice,
i pmed u my hp no. u going to ur mum's place tmr izit?

re: egg
ashlynn always gets this slight redness ard her mouth area whenever she eats eggs. but mil says she is ok leh. i told her maybe she didn't wear her glasses that's y can't see properly. me very bad... hee... now thinking if there's a need to delay her MMR jab.

tute,
u juz bought a car izit? me kpo kpo...

talking about car seats,
any of ur kids refused to sit in the bb car seat?

bkk/genice,
thks for feedback!

bx,
haha...u're v sharp. yeah, we got a car after contemplating for sooo long. at first adamant to survive without one, but in the end we give in to another long term commitment :p now worried if C will sit still in the car coz usually in the cab he will roam free and keep moving around :S

re mmr jab,
C haven't taken this jab coz he's been sick for the past week and this mummy is super slow. i hope to bring him for the jab after he's fully recovered.