(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

toddler bed - is converting the cot to a toddler bed ok? i wonder if the side rails is safe enough?

I also want to get H sleeping in a toddler bed liao, she's still stuck on our bed now..haha

my dream shopping list: (as in can have or can don't have :p)
(1) breadmaker
(2) sewing machine

just bought a laminating machine..haha..since popular already start the sale.

Qingling
If your cot can convert to toddler bed, then convert loh. Can save $$. Mine cannot, it's a traditional cot cot.

Free activities for our toddlers!

National Museum
Sun 24 May, 10-5
Family Fun Carnival
lots of free activities - stone painting, face painting, sand art

All museums open house
Sun 31 May
Admission Free to all 8 NHB museums

An Adventure with toybox
@National Museum of Singapore (featuring songs, dances and puppets)
May 30, 31, 4pm

Asian Civilisations Museum China Fest
Enjoy Chinese calligraphy workshops, martial arts, dance, paper lantern making
ACM
30, 31 May, 12-5pm
Free admission to Kangxi Exhibition

Start planning your next weekends!
Hope to see some of you mommies at these museums.

Long time never post here!! Time flies.. i am coming back soon. :D

Crystal..
Congratulations, actually i also never latch on after 1 month.. i did exclusive pumping till she is abt 7 months then i stopped BF. but jia you k.. i hope to latch on fully if i have the next kid.

Re: breast pumps
Does anyone knows whether medela freestyle is good , thinking of getting it in US even though i am not even preggie... :p. Anyone knows what is the retail px here?

Re: Play dates
Wish i can join in too.. nowadays.. they are so cute.. really enjoy being with her at home.. and i think i am becoming a good SAHM.. haha..

Re: talking
Gwen also babbles but cant hear any real words from her.. think nvm.. slowly they will pick up lah hor..

Re: kissing
Jass.. gwen also luvs to kiss me.. as for her daddy.. haha.. she needs to see her mood.. she gives super wet kiss and inisit on kissing me so many times till i have to turn her away.. haha.
Think she super glued to me for this 3 months... but i LUV it.. :p

vernon sometimes get very disgusting, eg when i stick out my tongue, he will stick out his tongue and lick my tongue... i find it very funny :p

nowaday he use his finger to touch his lip n make sound

cheryl,

haha.. so funny.

Cayenne likes 2 kiss her daddy more, sometimes she can suddenly grab my hb's head and kiss him on his lips when my hb carries her. my hb say die liao, so liberal. next time must keep a watch on her when she starts dating! haha...

i realize tat Cayenne kinda of "ignores" her di di. beginning ask her where is di di and 2 sayang. she will. but of late, she simply ignore di di... ask her 2 kiss di di, she wont. ask her 2 kiss daddy's or grandfather's tummy, she will!

jeannie, jass mei,
hihi!! long time no see!! :D

jeannie
it's definitely cheaper there, last time my hubby bought the medela swing for me. but hor, the transformer is pretty big leh, and lay-chay! in the end i think cos it was only cheaper by about $80, and if i wanted to buy the local plug from medela it's about $50-60, i found it a bit bo hua and a bit troublesome to use the transformer that hubby bought. so u might want to consider that?

also if you preggie next month ok, but if next year, then maybe got other models of breast pumps also? like our time no freestyle right

qingling
i was also thinking the same thing. i find q ma fun to have to bend down over the cot to attend to him. but then, if he can crawl out on his own, i wonder what he will do in the middle of the night in his room if he wakes up and doesn't make noise and is playing all over the room?? :S

Xy, your lady boss so cute. Or she wants u to do her a favour – help her to pass around or bring for recycle? Haha

My GSS shopping list:

1. camera ( actually hubby’s one la)
2. bread machine
3. shoe for shaun
4. new toys for shaun
5. handbag for me

weekend plans: go lim chu kang farm and/or botanical garden

MY GSS shopping list
1. more n more shoe for me n vernon
2. clothes for me n vernon
3. toy for vernon
4. bag for me
5. the list goes on

tongtong
u going botanic garden??
i tempting to bring vernon go. haha

Jeannie
hello! wondering where u went...so quiet your blog.

ooohh...the medela freestyle is so compact! Imagine, no need to lug a big machine around. It's $900 plus in Spore.

Esty, thanks. I'll try next time. For KK, they have open front breastfeeding gowns so you no need to bring. For normal delivery, depends on what time you deliver too, usually you stay 2 nights. Last time when I deliver no. 1, gynae was thinking of discharging me on 3rd day morning but I just had my catheter removed and still very swollen so I told her I prefer to stay and rest 1 more night instead. ;)

Jeannie, medela freestyle no need transformer cos it accepts voltage from 110v (US) to 220/230v (Sg). It's my dream pump too but I need to sell 3 pumps (PIS advance, Mini Electric Plus, Avent Manual) to raise capital for just 1 pump. Haha.

Bkkgal..Hehe.. been pretty bz with my shopping blog.. think some of u noe.. but glad it has ended.. super tiring!!
Bkkgal, i saw ur bread making video too.. pro siah.. must salute u for the effort to make this video.. haha..

Iso.. must buy transformer to stepup voltage har? Then singapore version?But like what bkkgal has said.. quite cheap hor.. here only US310 (amazon) so abt SGD500 max...freestyle runs on batteries?

Hmm.. dun think getting preggie anytime soon.. i am aiming for an august baby so can celebrate birthday with me.. haha... quite sad right, baby's birthdate has to depend on the wishes/thinking of the mummy. But i really hope i can have a boy for my next pregnancy.

Ester and cheryl.. so good.. 1 boy , 1 ger!

having pc time coz my hb is feeding alex.. haha.

i just bought a bluesky bread machine from carrefour last weekend for $39.90. not sure whether the offer is still valid. going to try making the bread this weekend.

Tongtong, not that I'm into photography but I have no choice. RaeAnne's photos all blur blur ones even for her 1st birthday party so I feel guilty lor if no. 2's photos also end up like that. :p

Gar, can tell me more about the D40? I can't decide between DSLR and Canon Ixus. Feel so stupid to buy another P&S camera (which will cost at least $500) when I already have a NikonS50 which costs me as much when I bought in 2007 with extended warranty from Harvey Norman somemore. And P&S will never have such good an effect as DSLR. But DSLR is bulky and very exp and I don't have any photography skills so I heart pain to buy brand new one that can cost easily $1.2k. :p

Pauline.. thks for the info.. mnost prob i will get one... dunno will spoil or not if keep 1 yr plus leh...

Oops.. not cheryl... its crystal!

Pauline.. i think invest in DSLR.. ur hubby got LDS can be used!! quite a bit of $ if he hasnt used any. I also dun have photography skills but using dslr.. can still achieve some good pictures (IMO) even if u use auto mode. .. somehow when u focus on something, those u not focusing will be blur one.. but of coz.. i think the skills are more in depth than this :p.. but still ok lah even for amateurs.. just get the entry range..good investment. No regrets esp now when i am overseas.. But saying that.. there are a lot of gd non dslr cameras too

Re: last weekend
ITs my last weekend here and i am gona go whale watching.. so excited abt it... one of the dream activity that i have always wanted to do.. will share the pics and video k.

bkkgal.. u went florida already?

Cheryl, yea I plan to go, maybe Sunday. But have to see whether we got time or not cuz morning we wnana go the veg farm ma.

Pauline, my hubby said he can sell the body only ( no lens) – 350D @ $350, he wanna keep the lens himself. Let me know if you interested la. anyway there might be pc fair coming right?

bkkgal,

I think i will be interested in this:

<font color="0000ff">
An Adventure with toybox
@National Museum of Singapore (featuring songs, dances and puppets)
May 30, 31, 4pm </font>

who wants to go on 31 May?
will there be lots of ppl?

genice,
long time no see.
there's another place to get a pump. think it's cheaper.
http://www.hackleyhme.com/

C also will automatically kiss daddy when daddy carry her. but her kiss is expressionless one. just ink her lip on daddy's cheek. then that's it. :D

clover,
so cheap!! $39.90.
aiyoh.. no one tell me about it, otherwise sure chiong down to buy.

genice,

goodnight.

tong,
i think she treats me as recycle bin.
hai.. got to bring back home to put into my recycle bag.
don't have the heart to just throw the clothes into office rubbish bin.

jeannie/kitsune
wah if no need transformer then it's cheap! if i have #2 i will definitely want to invest in a good pump this time round.

i'm aiming for a april onwards baby, lol.

afternoon ladies

was busy at work past few days.

tute
hmm..the gerber cup u described i think i saw before..ooh..its discountinued ehhh..oh well...i was thinking of getting it coz it looks good to let him learn to drink frm cup.

bkkgal
glad to hear good news!!! can u share what is the name of probiotic you bgt at Watsons? I too think Vitakids is too far...

Also thanks for the tips on the free activities
sometimes i can be such an airhead, dunno how to search or isit too lazy...keke

Baby goo gigi gaga
My son is super talkative..i think he even mumbles in his sleep...hahah..takes after the mummy!! Now he has learnt to bend his knees and dance...hahaha
His fav commercial is the Ribena commercial ( with the lemon and the love birds). He will shreak in happiness and be sooo fixated at it!!

Mummies...
dp u get nostalgic whenever u see ur baby now? These days when i see my son..standing straight and walking fast...i get so warm inside...i asked myself...where did my baby go?? Where did his baby limbs so...he look like such a big boy now....dun want to let goooooooooooooo

Pauline,
haha...dunno how to describe it leh. Nikon D40 is the entry level for Nikon brand DSLR in terms of the body. but it's not just the body that determines the quality of pics, the lenses are important too. so even with a basic body, but with good lens, can achieve effects as good if not better than the higher end bodies like D80, D90 etc.

Transformer for Medela,
My medela is from US. Don't buy the transformer from Medela in SG, go to Sim lim only $18. In the end my Medela PIS advanced total cost < $500.

My GSS shopping list:
1. One good day to night bag
2. Day to night dresses (Expecting quite a lot of night functions to attend, esp since i'm planning to wean A off)

Went to a chi chi party last night...wow, some of those socialites really look drop dead gorgeous

XY
I think it's worth it, provided no "internal" probs to the machine lah (cos no warranty right?) Check properly properly.

I'm planning to go for the ToyBox event too! It'll be entertaining for the little ones with song and dance. maybe I see you there?

Purple
The activities were listed in ST's Life page today. I just kaypo and check the NHB website oni lah.

Jeannie
No didnt go to Miami - it was height of H1N1, boss said dun go.

The free style is worth is leh. Half the price, can consider buying if u already planning lah. Breast pump innovation is not that fast lah...dun think will come out new models that soon.

tong - mould, do you mean you want rice mould? Daiso have, but generic designs like bear, rabbit..not those disney or hello kitty ones.

purple,
ya i know how you feel. i have 3 close friends who delivered in the month of May. i go all mushy when i hold their newborn babies in my arms. and seeing the mummies trying to BF, brings back all those memories.

maybe one day we will miss it so much that we will close both eyes and have #2 =)

garfield
tell me at it....nowadays when he plays with me...i try not to get too emotional with him...hehehe..skali he thinks his mummy not right...hahha

purple,
C likes the ribena ads too!!! she will dance with the rythm, even while she's latching. lol

garfield,
wa.. you going back partying!!!

qingling,
how do you know you blacklisted?
i think there's one rules and regulation say cannot spam threads.

re: breadmachine
qingling/bkkgal,
ok. i already inform the seller viewing on Sunday.

re: activities
bkkgal,
i going on Sunday. hope to see familiar faces there too.

Tongtong, huh, just body but no lens? Don't think I'm keen then. I'm a camera idiot. Ask me to go buy lens for DSLR, I'll be totally lost. I've always been a P&amp;S kind of gal, I don't even know what are the different lens for. :p

Gar, I see, let me know how much your hubby is willing to let go, some basic lens included please. Thanks.

Gar/Purple. Go for no. 2 lar. Can start planning liao. No. 1 will be at least more than 2 years old even if you strike immediately. ;) Hehe, I also missed my baby's newborn cuteness too. Can't imagine she was so small that I can carry her in my arms and nurse her too.

Lelong sale, anyone or anyone that you know needs 2nd hand breast pumps. Check out my WTS thread leh http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2340741.html?1242965450. Price slightly negotiable for fast deal and self collect at my block.

pauline
we are still deciding on when to have nbr 2..hehe..perhaps when our son has settled down in childcare? keke....

xy
really...she is get distracted while latching on. my son is get super excited and will bang bang the table. then he smile very widely..maybe he imagining himself as one of the characters...macam hindi movie...hahahah

activities
im interested to for this weekend. hopefully hb is keen also.

the one on 31 may sounds great too..as long as have music my son will enjoy

Xiaoyun, the first item – small oats?? I know the second item is buckwheat ( I gave this to shaun too), 3rd item qianshi ( is a Chinese herb – available in the si4 shen2 fen3 – I got gave some too), 4th item mai pian should be oats? The last item I only gave barley but not red one leh.

Pauline, ya sorry leh, cuz myhubby hor, wanna keep the lens he said can change and use interchangbly wor. I think you can start with a model which is good for basic learner la the camera shop should know how to advice u.

XY,
no lah, not partying - it's work related. need to attend these social "business related" events in the evening. i've been avoiding ever since i got preggie, so it's been two years of being anti-social. now need to come out of my shell again.

Pauline,
#2, hmm...i won't lah, cos don't think boss will be too happy if i disappear again so soon. he's been v nice and understanding re my need to suddenly take urgent leave now and then, as well as working from home, leaving office on time etc. i better don't take advantage sekali no job hehe =P

re camera, i'll check with hb and let you know ok?

XY - i got to know when abc's acc got suspended, she saw my name in the blacklist thread and informed me. i just drop a line in other threads for 2009 mummies abt my fren's blog business, if that's how they defined spamming. so i suppose if we organise bulk purchase internally, better not post here, but communicate via email

Tongtong, it's ok. I can understand, your hubby is a true blue photography enthusiast mah. Must be difficult to let go of things that he researched for best lens at best price. Those guys that I know who are into photography are also like. They have like more than 1 DSLR, and so many lens that it's mind boggling. :p

Gar, it's ok. Take your time. Childcare arrangement -
Plan A is to send no. 1 for 2 hr daily playgroup from Aug 09 and hire a maid around that time (so that RaeAnne has time to get used to the maid) and the maid can help me with baby and bring RaeAnne to and back from playgroup after bb is born.
Plan B - If maid option does not turn out well, ask ILs to pick RaeAnne after her playgroup and look after RaeAnne in the day. While I look after baby alone.
Plan C - If I can't do it alone (esp worried about BF cos if no time to eat or cook or rest, very difficult to sustain BF), then got to pack myself and baby to ILs place every morning so that got additional pairs of hands to help.
Plan D - If ILs can't tahan looking after RaeAnne whole day then will consider sending her half day CC or even full day CC. :p
Actually, got Plan E, which is to ask MIL to help me in the day until BB gets bigger but I don't think she'll like the idea, they are used to their own house etc. Last time, we tried doing this during my ML for RaeAnne, FIL and MIL ended up very grouchy cos they don't have time to cook, clean the house and 'look after' my BIL who is still a bachelor. :p

Qingling, you mean there's actually a blacklist thread?

purple
E loves the ribena commercial too!!! :D

qingling
not yet, cos if i want April onwards baby, can only conceive in July. hee!!

kitsune
wow, so many options! i think having baby is easy but looking after isn't hor? the logistics can be a bit mind blowing :S

XY,
Channet also loves the Ribena ads. She also likes the music of News weather forecast.

Kissing:
Channet likes to mouth-to-mouth kissing with me. I told her might hv H1N1. She dun understand.

DSLR:
Everyone own DSLR. I dun mind getting another DSLR body. But first I need to mount-on flash. Good for indoor shotting and a macro len. Anyone offering a macro len?