(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Apple79,
Have PM you.

Lazy
Any kiddos here get lazy after having their meals or after their bath? V will always want to lay on the bumper mat after her meals or bath. Wondering how to train her.... #1 don't have this habit.

thankful.. i dun think that is lazy lah.. anyway.. there are no 'things' for her to do right? Hehe.. she very smart leh.. enjoy life.. must be very satisfying after her meal and comfortable after her bath.

Thankful, my gal also likes that. She will pretend to sleep or stretch out on the bumper mat. I'm happy, at least make good use of my bumper mat mah (since I paid so much for it. Hee). Maybe she knows that that's her play/personal area so she got positive association bah.

thankful
i get v lazy after eating a big meal too, how to train me too? haha :D maybe some pple just like that?

jeannie
they're getting to be so much fun to be with right? although a bit naughty and always trying to push their luck, but it's so nice when you realise they understand what you're talking about. wish i could be at home more often!

lezy
JWT i want to go!

Thankful sms u liao. So good can guai guai lie down there. My girl is always on the move.

Genice: I am reading the book too. Its really not bad, considering that fact that like you, I can better control myself not to be angry at her cos they are actually not misbehaving and its we adult who misinterpret them.

apple.. haha.. i think all mummies that read it will be 'pyschoed' by the book.. later we let our kids 'roam' free and have their way.. this book is just like Barney show.. invisible power of attracting and convincing..

but at least now we can control a bit more, make ourself happier.. y not.. hehe

I rem one mummy give her darling fresh milk rite? but is it really ok to give?

If wan to prepare scrambled egg, we must add milk rite? Add fresh milk is it?

kids relaxing after meal and bath:

my boy also likes to just lie on the bed with his pillows/blankets after a bath. He'll just have this very satisfied look on him and will just stare at ceiling/out of window....but just for a while lah, after that will want to get off bed to move abt. i see nothing wrong with it le, adults also have times where they just want to relax and do nothing
. To me, i think some quiet time by themselves doing nothing is good to calm themselves.

TGIF! :D

re : relaxing after meal/bath

so nice! i wish Cayenne can do tat. Same as Apple, Cayenne is always on the move. Haha...

nobody wants the Gain IQ vouchers?

I thought why V so lazy... Cos just eat finish meal, suppose to sit up a while for food to travel down before you do other things mah. Not yet finish her meal, she already lean against her high chair and at times eat biscuit till laying down munching! *Faint*

esther,
my PD says it is ok for babies older than 1 yr to have fresh milk. But some babies may get a bit of stomach upset in the beginning becos of the higher fat content in the milk, so must try out small amts first. Also, u can warm up the milk then let it cool to rm temp before letting bb drink. Will minimise chances of them getting stomach upset.
I have tried giving my bb fresh milk a few times. Seems ok for him.

Leila,

Just now went to Amore fitness; saw Mygym closing down. If my memory is right; there's Tumbletots at Sembawang(near Sun plaza??). Hehe.... didn't go to either trial yet. What a pity! I thought to try class at nearest place first---Mygym.

E likes to play sand at Sembawang Park sea side; we also bring her to Yishun Safari for swimming. We plan to bring her to bottletree park some time. There's splash(water play & kids play area) at newly renovated Sembawang shopping center----difficult to find parking lots even at weekdays there. So we didn't bring E there for play yet, but my colleagues took bus there and their kids had fun.

Thankful, I thought Apple wanted the Gain IQ vouchers. Anyway, RaeAnne didn't do well on Gain IQ, kenna stomach flu and diarrhoea (saw PD twice) so I had to switch back to Friso. Luckily didn't buy the vouchers from you back then. :p

Hi, Genice,

Hehe....finished reading "positive discipline book" this week. Good Book, Thanks Garfield.

I saw a book "parents who love too much" at Appendix; and I suggested it to my hubby.

Hi, Thankful,

My gal needs to suck thumb at bed for 10-20 mins after bath, back from outside......

There's one period that she wants to go to bed for hugging blankie and thumb sucking for 10 mins every 30 mins at home.

She is not active; never want to crawl----she never crawled from one room to another, at most crawled for 3 meter to pick up a ball. And she didn't try to walk after being able to walk for some time----good thing is that she seldom fell down after she walked willingly. When we/other people carry her, she never struggled like some other babies---she cried if she disliked. My colleague told me that her son' eyes will blink and start to be super active after waking up; my gal will need at least 10 mins warm-up period---otherwise she will scream.

We think that's in her blood; My hubby and I couldn't think of where she got this genes from; though I feel that myself have something similar, but not as obvious as hers. we may need to descipline/accompany her to do regular exercises when she's teenager.

nicole.. its
'Positive Discipline the first three years'
by Jane Nelson, Cheryl Erwin and Rosalyn Ann

nicole.. i think can borrow from lib.. tubao also borrowed from the lib.

tubao,
wow.. u finished reading.. thats fast.. i dun have much time to read. I bought another 2 books too.

'The happiest toddler on the block' and
'How to talk so kids will listen and how to listen so kids will talk'

Got a few books to compare whther they advocate the same way of teaching or different ways. Good investment for future babies to come.

re: Little Neuro Tree
Anyone wants to sign up at the Parkway branch? There's a promotion now if you refer another baby, u can get 50% off the fees for the 2nd term. if you are interested, we can split the discount. i.e 25% each.

I am not even halfway thru the book and i need to return it soon.... no time to read leh except on the train but sometimes no seat or i simply need to rest in the train.... thinking maybe to buy it.....

Am very very tired these few days...............dunno why............ feel like taking half day, check into a hotel and sleep the whole afternoon haha

re: work

I'm also very fed up with job. Had told hubby that after i preggie with #2 and enjoyed the 4 mths maternity leave, i will quit and be SAHM.

cheryl: wah, vernon can recognised the setting of clinic and dont like seeing doc liao!! he so small yet he knows the pain of seeing doc, so poor thing..

tubao: you stay at north? i dont know theres a sembawang park and fun park at sembawang shopping centre. will bring my son there explore! hehe. thanks!

Apple,
I'm thinking of getting the book too cos if it's really good, I think I'll need to refer to it on a daily basis. Maybe we can combine with emoments to enjoy discounts?

Find that K is starting to throw mini tantrums already. Cld it be that her terrible 2s are starting early???? She can say some words but usually when she wants something, she will point to the thing and say "mama" or "baby" - as in she wants you to give it to her. Usually, I will bring her away to another area if I don't want her to have it and she'll forget abt it quickly.

But it becomes tricky when she's caught touching something she's not allowed to. I smack her hand and scold her but she will cry or run to my mom and cry. What do you mommies do when you encounter this? Do you continue to reprimand her, talk to her, stop her from crying or institute a harsher punishment? On sat, I caught her touching the stereo, so I took her hand away and said "no. cannot touch." but she touched it again immediately. I did that like 10 times (seriously!) until I smack her hand and said "No". After that, we went for a walk. Came back, I went to my room to put something, then I went to living room and I saw the stereo was switched on and she was standing nearby. So I asked her if she switched it on and smack her hand. Then she ran to my mom and cried and threw a tantrum!

another habit of hers that I hate is this thing when she had enough food or she "sian" of the food, she will ptooi it out or let it dribble out of her mouth. I want to correct it but I don't know how. I've tried 1) scolding her in loud tone, 2) say "Mama don't like that" and tap her mouth, 3) wipe her mouth and tell her to "stop that!". But none of it seems to work. sigh...

Bkk, qingling : okie i am keen too. I am looking at Amazon too but not good with the shipping all that..........

bkk: Amanda also "pui" out food when there is soemthing hard or when she dun want or its too hot to her liking. Quite irritating.haha
She also throwing tantrum nowadays when she can't get what she want.....................helpless....

XY - a bit late ya in posting..hee

2300490.jpg

2300491.jpg

Heidi to Carrie: how come so many unfarmiliar faces ard ah..i hold your arms ok..

apple - for that book is around 400 gm weight.

if using borderlinx, shipping charge is as follows.
1KG $ 14.21 (USD) $ 30.54 (SGD)
2KG $ 20.03 $ 37.20
5KG $ 36.72 $ 48.78
10KG $ 65.22 $ 69.56
25KG $ 142.82 $ 156.26

so shipping for that book is like $12 to $13 bucks? Then its more worth to get from emomoments mentioned one with HSBC promo.

bkk
i think at this age they are testing the limits, i think the suggested discpline is to tell them firmly (more than once if necessary), but also remove them from the item. if he touches something like the power switch, i'm of course more firm and v v serious.

i read somewhere that their brain is not developed enough to "resist" when they want to do something - so sometimes got no choice, must remove them from the situation.

pui food - i will make known my displeasure with a grunt (dunno how to explain, haha) but i think it's ok esp if they are full? also it's quite cute to see that they are growing to become their own person with their own preferences

tantrums, E also starting to do this, so so far i try to be firm (and not give in) and also remove from situation. mummies must have patience ok! don't give in, otherwise they will get spoilt and later you'll have even more headache... maybe after reading the books we can share more tips on how to handle the little rascals

oh, any mummies bring their bbs to the library? mine likes to pull the books off the shelves - he's a menace, making lots of noise and pulling the books off the shelves :p wonder what i can do to stop him from doing that.

Qingling/Apple,
How muchis the book on Amazon? It's $5 for shipping to Spore from AcmaBooks and the book is selling for S$29.30. We may be able to get the HSBC promotion 35% disc.

bkk: acmabooks if with HSBC promo will the 35% off the price of $35.73? plus free shipping above $80? so its like $23.22?

Amazon is USD11.53. Assuming rate of 1.6
USD11.53*1.6=S$18.45 plus $12 to $13 shipping is more ex?

Please correct me if i am wrong.

iso,
brought C to metro coz i wanna buy some shoes and he happily walks and takes down an entire shoe display along with him... :p i guess it's normal coz they get very excited? i just said no and return it to the original place...

bkk,
not sure if it helps but my mom gave me a tip that last time she used to let us touch the things e.g. books but she then put it in the original location and soon we understand that that is the right place... i'm trying to do that with cayleb too...whenever he turned on the player i'll just say no, and turn it off. over and ovre and over again. when i get tired i will pull him away or obstruct his way there. he usually gets angrier when he's pulled away rather than being obstructed :p

apple,
haha... last time i preggie always very tired. everyday must take nap. thought u same symptom as me.

bkk,
kate lynn very smart. can speak already. ashlynn also throw tantrums by lying on the floor and kicking her legs. like a spoilt brat.

Hi, tongtong
Yah...stay in Woodlands.

Hi, iso,
Hehe.....we also put back every book that E bring down..... we often go to library when there's quite noisy at children's section on weekends; sometimes find a corner where E just practice taking down books, sometimes find a shelf where the books are arranged tightly so that E have stength enough to take one book at a time; sometimes bring E to center play area where parents read kids story books & kids run around. When E gets too excited(maybe too happy)and then too noisy, we will remove her from library.

Hi, bkk
Yah...we kinda of trying to put more baby safety gadgets for her to safely explore. If there's something we didn't want her to touch, we hide them/make them unaccessible. Maybe thinking of educating her not to touch when she is around 2.5 years old.

qingling.. thanks.. hehe..

bkkgal.. gwen also pui out her porrideg.. recently.. angry!! But i very bad.. she pui out.. i will catch with the bowl and feed her again.. scold her and feed her in smaller spoonfuls lor.. cause i think some meat too tough for her. There must be a reason why they pui.. i hope not because the porridge taste awful.. :p

Re: touching
Actually i let gwen wander everywhere and touch anything. I dun really stop her unless its dangerous.I even teach her how to apply powder ion herself. hehe.. I feel that they dun really know when we say dun touch or if we smack her . I will try to carry her away from the location if i dun want her to touch, distract her a bit.. ANyway.. sometimes i let her touch just to satify her curiosity.. i noe once she touched for a few mins.. she will'dump'it and look for new things one.. hehe.. so its ok lor as long as not dangerous/she is not going to spoil anything.

Everyday.. she hangs out at the kitchen with me touch this and that.. so i let her play with the green/red peppers.. ask her put inside bowl and take out.. do 'simple' stuffs with her instead of stopping her lor.so far ok lah.. but today.. she dig into the rubbish dump and take the things and throw on the floor!!!.. i still cannot control myself.. so mack her buttocks.. but she 'no feeling' fake cry a bit then watch tv.. sighz..

hi mummies, a tip!
praise or recognize good behaviors. Ignore negative behavior. U have to be consistent to apply this rule all the time to get results.

Tantrums r part of development. How to deal w tantrums? When child is having a tantrum, ignore the behavior. Wait for child to finish then talk to him. If u start scolding during the tantrum, tendency is they will do tat continually as it warranted an attention. However if u attend to them after tantrum subside, the tantrum will get shorter.

N there's really no need to spank them la!

Uregently need ur advice on filling up of balloons 4 party. i.e those big balloons like bought fr celebrate express or bd express, those in the shape of cupcakes or animals i.e. 30" and above, must we use helium? Can we just use ordinary air pump i.e. pump swimming float pump to inflate it? My boy's bd is this Sun and overlooked the fact. Can some1 kindly advise. Tks heaps in adv!

Bx: haha ya if not for the fact i see red, i would suspect I am preggie too.

bkk/Qingling: oic, so the shipping shld be lower if heavier, maybe u can better advise. I lousy with the shipping stuffs. But i think even with lower shipping charges, it will be more or less the same price.

Genice: Amanda also dig the rubbish over the weekend when she saw I throw the empty bottle that she was playing with earlier on into the bin. Buay tahan.

Eliaw: Thanks eliaw, will try it out. Really need a lot of patience!

Morning mummies.

re : discipling kids

eliaw,

i agree wif u on the no need to spank them but then hb disagrees wif me. i guess most pple will tink that if a child is notti, talk 2 him/her once or twice, if still misbehaves, will resort to spank.

genice,

agree wif u tat our childs still dunno at this stage. So sometimes when Cayenne is notti, hb will carry her 2 one corner and start his preaching. I wonder if Cayenne understands her daddy's preaching anot.. Haha...