(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pauline, read ur blog tat u were @ isetan yesterday. I was there 2, early in the am. haha...

looks like u got more deals than me!

Artemis - oh dear, sigh, its really a headache with maids. i think i will face it in the short future if there's going to be bb no.2.

nag,

congratulations!

Cayenne now coming 13 mths old this Sunday.

My #1 & #2 will be a gap of 17 mths when #2 arrives in July.

How old is ur #1?

Hi, Genice
If you buy a lot now, later will you feel itchy seeing pretty clothes...haha......
Try to make #2 there lah....

I think E will bully us( bullying us a bit now) when she grows up.....then we will "appreciate" her smart.

Enjoy your stay in U.S!!

jeannie
go ahead and buy those cheap children stuff in US and bring it back. it's a rare opportunity not everyone has. i've a fren whose mum told her to go US with her hubby and leave the kids with her. told her to buy and stock up more clothes for the kids!

Mummies.. thanks for ur feedback.. i also want to stock up leh.. but what age shld i buy till?? 3T?

Scared they turn yellow and e elastic band all become non-elastic.. :p

Re: BJG
i dun like BJG.. think cause our experience wasnt gd like what qingling has said. I think LNT is better in terms of materials and e stimulation althought i think there sre really too many activities in 1 session. But i may consider siging up with LNT, want her to get some mental stimulation though she is seriously in need of some physicsl stimulation.

Re: Baby not walking
SIgh.. my dear ger.. doesnt even want to try to stand unsupported now.. sianz.. dun think she will start walking soon.. skali wait till 15 or 16 mnths then walk...

nag,

my #2 is a boy. Haha.. Cayman ah... I like Cayden or Caden but hor, the meaning of both names is battle! Cayenne's meaning is alreadi SPICY (i interpret it as chilli padi)! Am tinking tat my family will turn chaos man with spicy and battle! later my hb "boh eng" gotta handle three (including me!) haha...

21 mths gap. not bad. at least i suppose ur #1 will be easier 2 handle as compare to Cayenne when she oni 17mths.

pauline,

didnt buy much for #2 cos most things can be re-used again. jz need 2 get milk bottles, diapers, tat all? I bought more 4 for Cayenne, but didnt buy so many toys as u. my hb and dad sure "kill" me with their eyes. haha... bought mainly DVDs, shoes, some clothes 4 Cayenne.

Genice,

no worries on Gwen's walking. u knw now Cayenne started 2 walk, we super "boh eng"! & reali alot of accidents/knocks on the floor etc... heart pain leh.

aso heard frm old folks, bbs walk later "good life" as they still wan to be carried whenever they go. haha...

jeannie
3T is for 3 years old?

LNT is good ah? maybe i should go for trial. i dun q like GUG, but i do like gymboree v much! will discuss with hubby if want to send E there.

Hi, jeannie

Maybe you try to read more story books /talk more with Gwen to develop her outstanding language talent while waiting for her first step...... if that makes her happy and confident....

^_^ what needs to be a great painter, or great fashion designer, or super model, or great sales person .....won't show up at this age......and I hope that any hidden talent of E will show up much later as surprise.

genice,

Not to worry to much. Baby have their own milestones. Besides, sit and enjoy this moment. The moment when they know how to walk, they wanna run. That's the headache part. Will fall easily.

Garfield,
Yes. Ghibli muesuem is a good place. I'm a fan of Ghibli. Beside their DVD collection, I oso have their comic and my favorite is Kiki, the cat. Last time I went Japan, bought a lot of kiki back. hahaha.
Must buy the tickets in advance to avoid disappointment.
Hope the below link helps:
http://www.ghibli-museum.jp/en/ticket_information/

iso,
why dun u like gug? is gymboree more like physical activities? i quite like the kindermusik session and i think cayleb enjoy it too... i feel it's almost like a playgroup activity but the instructor is engaging so quite enjoy it... but i want to try other classes before signing up...

jeannie,
dun worry about gwen not walking... physical milestones for each baby is definitely different... more tiring after bb can walk and for C, whenever we go out he refuse to stay in his stroller and keep wanting to go down :p

good morning mummies,
hehe.. my gal finally can stand unsupported for a few seconds.
that's when she's crying for a hug and didn't notice that my hb has actually let go of her hand when standing. very funny. :p

re: JWT trial
tubao/stephie/artemis,
hope you all enjoyed the session.

qingling/leila,
see you this Sat.

re: LNT trial
attended it on Sun. it's an 1 hour class and in Japanese.
so much activities and I wonder how can young kids can concentrate for 1 hour. C started to show tiredness after half an hour.
she slept so very soundly from 7:30 pm till this morning.

re: pasta
cooked pasta in soup (ikan bilis + beans + carrot + spinach + green peas + chicken) then blend it a while.
she likes it.

so, now i can add more variety for her food.

re: cookware
anyone using Tanyu claypot?
I would like to get 1 small one to cook her soup/porridge.
where can i find good deal?
Isetan was showing $33.60 ($42 with 20% discount) for a 1.5L. Will metro/OG be cheaper? And when will Isetan sale ends?

re: mio TV
i just signed up for the mioHome plan comes with broadband + analogue fixed line + miotv (2 supersaver plans). the monthly subscription is already about $18 cheaper than my original broadband + fixed line alone. so, mioTV is kind of given to me for free.
anyone compared the programmes offered between mio and starhub? is the children programmes by mioTV suitable for our kids? (my mioTV has not been installed yet, would like to get some recommendation first)

morning all...

esty, ya i guess so, gap of 21 months is easier. hopefully she will tone down a bit by then as she super active baby now!

may i know how many times milk your babies drink now? like wat is a typical meal day?

my baby:

- milk at 8am,
- porridge at 11am,
- milk again at 3pm,
- little porridge at 5-6pm,
- milk at 8pm
- milk again at 11pm (cos she is a night owl!)

but she is still only 9.5kg now...

nag,

my gal:

- milk at 6am,
- cereal at 6:20am
- milk at ~ 9am,
- porridge/cereal at ~ 12pm,
- milk at ~ 3pm,
- milk at ~ 6pm,
- soup at ~ 7:30pm,
- milk at 9:30pm,

and she's still less than 8.5 kg!!!

qingling,
how do you make sure that H has enough rest when you have 2 classes on the same day?
i find that i can only plan 1 activity for her each day. otherwise she will be very very tired..
what time will be your LNT trial?

Hi apple79, qingling, Esther,

Apparently, they can quit anytime.
There is no penalty on them at all!?!? We have to pay for her air ticket home or the levy while she waits to be transferred out. HUMPH! I would understand if she wanted to quit cause she was ill treated but her duties at home are like:
- Daily : sweeping/mopping the floor, taking care of Danica and my 2 dogs
- Weekly : washing of toilets, wiping windows, laundry by washing machine/dryer and bathing my dogs
She sleeps at around 10:30 p.m. and wakes up only at 6 or 6:30 a.m. (sometimes she only wake up when she hears me wake up at 7 a.m.) Somemore she can tell me that she will be able to find a better position elsewhere with better pay according to her "friend" who she only got to know in Singapore. GRRR!!! We always close 1 eye cause she can take care of Danica quite okay. Unless she finds a baby sitting position, I doubt she can last long cause she needs at least 8 hours of sleep a day. Otherwise, she is super blur, breaks things and loses her temper. She hates to do housework and only does when prompted. I seriously want to just send her back and not let her torture another family. :p But my HB said must let her stay and learn her lesson.

<sigh> On hindsight, when she did not want to greet us "Sir, Mdm" I think I should have realised that she got attitude problem. Plus the first week when she was here, she made a face when changing Danica's diapers. GRRR... Should have changed then and there and save myself this aggravation now. So my advice is if really not happy with the maid, within 1 month her performance still not up to standard, change. Otherwise, if she decide to quit a lot more ma fan for us.

RE : JWT trial

Sorry, tubao and stephie. Danica had her 1 year immunisation on Friday and developed a fever so I did not go for the trial. I signed up for the trial at Eastgate while passing by to Katong Shopping Centre to shop for a new maid. They are currently having a promotion S$399 for 8+8 sessions. Garfield and Eliaw signed up there too. I saw them there on Saturday. Not sure if anyone wants to share with me cause I kind of like the Eastgate one with the trampoline for babies. I think Danica would love that.

RE : shopping in US

USD is now 1.66!!! I quite reluctant to shop US sites now.

RE : Feeding schedule

07:00 a.m. Latch on
08:30 a.m. Breakfast (Bread with cheese or peanut butter/Cereal with fruits/Yogurt with fruits)
12:00 p.m. Lunch
03:00 p.m. Tea Break (Biscuits/Bread/Teddy Puffs with fresh milk)
07:00 p.m. Dinner
08:30 p.m. Latch on

Friday she was 8.5 kg and 73 cm tall. Not sure if I should be feeding her more.

tute
yah GUG more like enrichment class but gymboree is more like physical. GUG, i feel that they have so many staff and students they not really interested to entertain you (and maybe they're like that to the regulars too). they have a LOT of staff, maybe something like 30?? (cos i saw their punch in punch out cards).
the class itself was quite interesting - storytelling, some singing, zoo-phonics, introducing an animal and some words that all have a similar theme (my class it was jellyfish, jelly, jam..). then they got to try jelly, and then play with it and smear it on paper.
they had 3 teachers to a group of 6 students, but somehow i don't get a nice feeling going there. out of all the other parents, only 1 was nice and would smile to E. in fact, when one boy was playing with E, his mum was actually looking from the corner of her eye!! that really put me off.
when i left no one also bothered about me.

I liked gymboree much better cos the staff are all very warm and friendly, and the teacher Steph (i think some mummies mentioned her before?) is very nice and remembers all the kids names, and gets everyone involved, and you leave feeling good. they do try to ask you to sign up but aren't pushy about it.

XY
LNT is in jap???

artemis,
i think you are quite good with your maid already... my maid also have sort of the same routine. and my mom thinks i'm spoiling her because she doesn't cook at all and she is really bad at multitasking but because she's patient and get along well with my son i close 1 eye. so are you going to get a replacement now?

re: JWT,
is the one at eastgate good?

re : Feeding Schedule,

8.30am : Breakfast (Cereal + Milk) Any leftover milk we will give before his morning nap
11.30am : Lunch
2.00pm : Milk
4.00pm : Fruits + Milk / Custard / Yoghurt
6.30pm : Dinner
9.30pm : Milk

I'm struggling with milk feeding now as C refuse to take the bottle now, so have to feed via mag2 cup. Now feel wasted to have invested so much on bpa free bottles

re: milk intake,
how much does your babies drink these days? Mine only drinks around 300ml i think... prefers solids more.

XY - actually i just signed up for the LNT trial after confirming the JWT trial with you..hee..i think we will have to expect she will be cranky that day. We will try to let her nap on the car. The LNT trial is at 330pm.

xy: you must be happy!! soon she will try to take her first step.. then walk like a penguin... hehe
your gal really superb leh, can sleep for so long!!!
btw, your gal drinks so much milk, 6pm i give dinner and not milk leh.8.5kg cuz is gal gal ma.

nag: my son drinks 3 times milk: breakfast, afternoon teatime, and bedtime feed.

artemis: oh you giving fresh milk already?

iso,
the LNT trial is 3 classes, in Jap, Eng, and Mandarin respectively.
so, will be going to 2 more classes next 2 weeks.

nag,
C is drinking much less.
6am and 930pm feed is latch.
and she's drinking about 180 ml per feed from bottle. sometimes cannot finish.

qingling,
3:30pm is still ok. provided that she can sleep in the car.
it's good for them to sleep more before the class otherwise they can't learn much from it.

tong,
it's mixed feeling...
on one hand, we are pretty surprised she can stand and happy that she's strong enough to stand unsupported now. on the other hand, i start worry about the safety in the house.

nag,

there's alot as compared to Cayenne. Cayenne still on her 4oz to 5oz milk intake! Cayenne last weight is 8.7kg. Hw i wish she can grow more flesh!

artemis,

oh she didnt greet u/hb? I tot greeting is a basic thing to do.

ur maid considered good life wor.. my gf's maid wash clothes everyday by HAND! oni use washing m/c 4 spin dry.

Atermis: your maid sounds bad. Sometimes getting a good maid depend on luck also.

Qingling: wah. Amanda is attending LNT every sat and I dun dare to let her go for another class or trial that day again cos I am afraid she will be overstimulated.

XY
wow so interesting, so u can attend the different languages and decide which one u want to sign up for, or when you sign up full time it's always 3 languages?

apple - ya, just happen that the free trial for JWT ends in March, so that's why, otherwise, normally i don't arrange so many things in 1 day.

Hi tute,

That's what I thought too. Yeah, I am also changing agency cause the current one simply bo chup cause her maid loan finish already.

According to Garfield and Eliaw, the teachers are better and more sincere than the Kallang branch. I will feedback again after Saturday or you want to join me for the trial this Saturday?

Hi tongtong,

Danica doesn't seem to like formula milk leh. She take 1 mouth and phew out already. Fresh milk she will at least drink about 50 - 100 ml depending on her mood.

Hi Esther,

No wor. When she first came, the way she talk to us is like normal stranger talking to another stranger but more bo chap. I could not take it and called the agent to complain. He sent his maid to counsell her then she slowly started calling us after about 2 weeks.

You think? Yet she can still keep all the clothes in the laundry basket for 2 weeks until I got no clothes to wear and still dare to go for her day off and I had to wash the laundry myself or come Monday I really no clothes to wear already. (I have a limited wardrobe as I still not down to pre-pregnancy size <sigh>).

Hi apple79,

Yeah but she seems to think it's our family's problem and not hers. She thinks she never do anything wrong and now always black face.

RE: maid woes

On Saturday, my husband discovered a bruise on Danica's waist and yesterday I discovered 2 bleeding scratches on her calf. When questioned, she replied she doesn't know how they got there. Now I a bit nervous about keeping her but there is no one else to look after Danica. ARGH!!! Headache.

artemis,

scary! scary!

4 2wks never wash clothes! my god! seriously tink ur maid got the attitude pro. btw ur maid is indo or filipino?

ur inlaws or parents didnt help u taking care of Danica? all along u left ur gal alone wif maid while u/hb work?

tongtong &amp; XY,
MioTV:
My sis subscribed the $24 package. Home phone comes free. MioTV has kids programme last time, but ytd I viewed it. No more kids programme liao.

Artemis,
Wat time is the Eastgate? This sat?

re : Feeding Schedule
7.30am : Breakfast EBM (150ml)
11.30am : Lunch (Porridge)
3.00pm : EBM (150ml) (sometimes can skip it meal by substiting with snack like biscuits and foods)
6.30pm : Dinner (Porridge)
10.00pm : FM (150ml)
Channet weighs 10.2kg and height almost like a 2yo girl.

artemis: wah your maid really jialat. better dont let her take care of your gal now.
do you give danica fresh milk from fridge?

Atermis: think your hubby can work from home right? Maybe someone should watch over until u get a new maid.

Qingling: actually its my husband decision. Cos that time read up some comments that Shichida has managment problem and the teacher keep changing etc and there were good reviews on LNT and its 3 lang so we thought we give it a try.I started since Jan 09, one term liao. I think Amanda quite enjoy the lessons although once in a while she gets cranky also.

Hi, Xiao yun

Attended JWT trial on Saturday at UE square, met Stephie and Vine_gal.... my family enjoyed it. Thanks for helping registration.

I am thinking to attend different trial once every 3 weeks to see which class is suitable for E.

Hehe.....this JWT trial is 1st one. Any mummy wants to tag me along? On weekends I still prefer to bring E to zoo/nature parks for our relaxing also.